Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plans for Europes second largest Roller Coaster

• 03-11-2014 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭

So the Tayto Park is planning on building Europe's second largest roller coaster.

Info here:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/inspectors-concern-over-theme-parks-8m-coaster-30712644.html

Now in my mind this seems like a good idea, the park is doing very well and expanding at a nice rate.
    It's about time Ireland starts getting these sort of parks, even if it's the only one in the country.
    I can see however that they will need to battle their way through the approval process which is per usual in this country.
    Apart from that, I would gladly go to this if it opens next May.
    Anyone else think think this is a good investment for the country?
    We may not have the weather but I've seen these parks in Europe and they are always jammed full of people.

EDIT: I just Googled the wooden roller coaster that it is building at the minute, below is an artists impression. Looks great!

http://www.evoke.ie/travel-2/tayto-park-rollercoaster-will-be-second-largest-in-europe/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Always the bridesmaid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

kneemos wrote: »
    Always the bridesmaid.

Never a bride :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

They need to invest in installing this, will bring in massive revenue.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    They need to invest in installing this, will bring in massive revenue.

We have that already, it's just outside of Galway. Serious craic to be had there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

manufactured from old pallets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Why would you decide to build europes second largest rollercoaster? WHy not go the extra mile and build the largest one?

Beano wrote: »
    Why would you decide to build europes second largest rollercoaster? WHy not go the extra mile and build the largest one?

Don't you dare bring your ambitious ideas here!!
    I'd say it's the space that is available to them that doesn't allow them to get the biggest one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Because Meaths days of being first in anything are long behind them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

Call it the Celtic tiger and end it with a massive plummet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Second comes right after first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

When are they getting a Spiderbaby?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I really hope this goes ahead and Meath Co Council don't apply any restrictions to it.

Its about time we had nice things.

Lapin wrote: »
    I really hope this goes ahead and Meath Co Council don't apply any restrictions to it.

Its about time we had nice things.

+1.
    I'm curious though, if they are planning on having the roller open by May then they must already be in the process of building it?
    I thought these sort of things take a long time to build.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Where have ye been - it was announced ages ago!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Dear Tayto Park: 2nd place is just another phrase for first loser!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

bear1 wrote: »
    +1.
    I'm curious though, if they are planning on having the roller open by May then they must already be in the process of building it?
    I thought these sort of things take a long time to build.

Yep, the building has started.

Cheers. I'm looking forward also to the wooden roller :)
    105kph and a max height of 32 meters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

deadly. that is all

Just after reading the article. In what respect is it europes second largest rollercoaster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Just after reading the article. In what respect is it europes second largest rollercoaster?

It's smaller than the biggest & bigger than the others.

From what I can see the biggest one in Europe is in Spain, then in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

However, neither of these are "potato-themed", and so will not be of any interest to serious roller-coaster fans.

Hmm.. so inadvertently we are building the worlds largest potato themed park!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'll never understand people building the second largest of anything. Jaysus, if you go that far just go the extra bit and build the largest, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭poolboy

Cool, just a pity this will be so close to dublin and hence any day out will inevitably be ruined by track suit wearing skobies

poolboy wrote: »
    Cool, just a pity this will be so close to dublin and hence any day out will inevitably be ruined by track suit wearing skobies

Well, where would have it put then? It would make more sense imo nearer to the capital where many tourists start their trips.

Yes but biggest in what respect? Highest? Longest? Biggest Drop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Well, where would have it put then? It would make more sense imo nearer to the capital where many tourists start their trips.

Overhanging the Cliffs of Moher would be really cool.

Hmm.. so inadvertently we are building the worlds largest potato themed park!

In fairness it is the worlds ONLY potato themed park.

The Spanish one is the tallest in Europe anyway.

kneemos wrote: »
    Overhanging the Cliffs of Moher would be really cool.

Something like this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWJATqU1WGk

Tourists are not going to visit for one rollercoaster, this is for fun starved irish people.

Was on that, front seat, new pants please

The Spanish one is the tallest in Europe anyway.

Except that is a steel rollercoaster. The one is tayto park is a wooden one. There are at least 3 taller wooden rollercoasters in europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

poolboy wrote: »

I think it's perfect location. Close enough to the biggest city in the country, but far enough away that most tracksuit wearing skobies won't be bothered going to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

tallest wooden coaster in europe is colossos in germany at 60 metres..nearly twice the proposed height of this tayto park ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Most amount of wood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Have they actually started building this?

They have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Meself and herself sometimes head to Alton Towers when in the UK, I love and would always go on a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) said it was concerned that the roller coaster would be built "within sight and hearing of animals"

I thought that was a bit of a harsh way to describe people from Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

What's the point in building the 2nd largest anything. Surely ta fúck you'd be better off going for the numero uno spot and hold onto it for a while.

On another note.....Poland has the 2nd oldest constitution in the world, after the Americans.

Do you know why not a lot of people know that?
    Because nobody care's about '2nd' anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

I can see however that they will need to battle their way through the approval process which is per usual in this country.

I for one prefer my rollercoasters to have gone through a long and thorough planning process.

Me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

zerks wrote: »
    It's smaller than the biggest & bigger than the others.

You should be the minister of explaining things.

Oh me too when it comes to safety, but they haven't aired any concerns over safety.

So you don't think anything other than safety is relevant when undertaking relatively sizable developments such as this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

So this is 1.3km long and a height of 33m.
    Here's the top 10 in europe by height:
    http://rollercoaster.wikia.com/wiki/Tallest_Roller_coasters_(Europe)
    Here's the longest:
    http://rcdb.com/rhr.htm?m=2&l=25852
    Even longest wooden and highest wooden in europe, this wouldn't get near the top 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

In fairness it is the worlds ONLY potato themed park.

Ahem! :P http://s1.thcdn.com/productimg/0/600/600/32/10310332-1296218504-855000.jpg