Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 | Episode 4 | Slabtown [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Just googled slabtown the name of episode

Slabtown or Slab Town was a red-light district established in Atlanta in the 1840s, and located off Decatur Street (on the present site of Grady Memorial Hospital)
    Largely built with abandoned concrete plates used in construction, called slabs. This wicked development was of great annoyance to the good citizens of Atlanta, as crimes were often committed there, and many of the young men fell into bad habits from frequenting Slab Town. In these places, occurred scenes of debauchery and indecency that shocked the moral sense of the community
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slabtown_(Atlanta)

Grady Memorial Hospital
    Grady Memorial Hospital, frequently referred to as Grady Hospital or simply Grady, is the largest hospital in the state of Georgia and the public hospital for the city of Atlanta. It is the fifth-largest public hospital in the United States, as well as one of the busiest Level I trauma centers in the country
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grady_Memorial_Hospital

220px-Grady_Hospital.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭haro124

That was good, though not as good as some of the other episodes. That woman is quite nuts! Probably the most interesting story that Beth has ever been in. And I cant wait to see
    How Carol reacts to being there! Hopefully something like her actions at terminus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

If I'd been asked beforehand how much I'd be looking forward to a Beth-centred episode I'd probably have said not a lot. But I enjoyed that to a certain degree. I've never really warmed to Beth, all that singing around the campfire nonsense just put me off. But her character definitely became more rounded here.

I hadn't seen the preview so I knew nothing about the hospital. It was fairly obvious early on that Beth wasn't there simply to recuperate. After a while I got the feeling that this was basically Woodbury in a hospital and on a much smaller scale and that this Dawn woman was their Governor. It played out pretty much as you'd expect but I honestly thought
    Beth was going to get away. But then to see Carol being brought in
    ...well, this makes things a lot more interesting. So many questions now.

I hope we move on fairly quickly, I'm not too sure the hospital characters are that interesting enough to keep around for too long.

It was great to see a destroyed Atlanta again, it brought me right back to season 1. And it was good to hear the doctor's account of how things went pear-shaped at the beginning of the outbreak. By the way, anyone else keep looking at him and seeing late-stage Walter White?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

That was a bit too slow for my liking.

I was hoping they had wizened up to that fact this season with the three episodes weve seen so far moving at a decent pace but this felt unnecessarily long.

The idea, the premise was sound but the execution was sloppy. Too much faffing about. They could have accomplished that 40 minute episode in half the time and had carol roll in at around the 20 minute mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

yup was disappointed with that episode myself, far to much filler to what has been an excellent season so far. Next weeks does look better just from the trailer alone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Awful episode and once again we have another bunch of crazies in a place that Rick and co. will have to murder.

This show is really starting to spin its wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I wasn't too impressed with the episode.Bit too slow for my liking.

I like Beth though so I'm happy out that she's alive.

Delighted the creepy rapey guard got his commupance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Lost interest in that episode and started tidying my room, had to put it on again to catch Carol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Liamalone wrote: »
    Lost interest in that episode and started tidying my room, had to put it on again to catch Carol.

I was browsing the net in a different window with the show playing in the background :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I actually kinda hope Everybody Hates Chris survives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Ha knew I knew him from somewhere! Decent episode overall, nice to have a new arc. Plus the ending definitely gave the episode a bit of a bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Didn't realise Beth's story would be a 2 parter. I didn't watch the trailer for next week, so I'm assuming it's the rest of the story.

Glad she got to let the other woman kill the guard. Was sure Daryl would show up during the escape at the end when she was being overwhelmed by zombies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Quite disappointed in that episode. There wasn't a lot of explanation to this hospital. Also, did I misunderstand or was it not a lie when Hospital Governor told Beth that they found her at the side of the road, collapsed and about to be attacked? Was it not that she was just outside of the gaff her and Daryl were in and was taken? But still, her new pal seems nice but the hospital was rubbish. Carol being there at the end makes me wonder about the spoiler we saw at the end of E03.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Might have been said before but I reckon
    that he is the guy Daryl is bringing back and will tell them how to find beth/carol

Also does anyone know was there a "next time on walking dead" mine just ended with Beth seeing Carol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Might have been said before but I reckon
    that he is the guy Daryl is bringing back and will tell them how to find beth/carol

Yeah, I reckon that's what it'll be alright, meaning another invasion scenario...

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Also does anyone know was there a "next time on walking dead" mine just ended with Beth seeing Carol.

Didn't see one either, although I avoid them anyway.

One thing I'm wondering. If the hospital people found Beth while out on a supply run or something ... are Rick's gang not supposed to be quite far away from Atlanta at this stage? They've done a lot of walking but maybe they've had to backtrack at times so they're still relatively close to the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Urgh. For the thousandth time every episode can not be all action all the time. Kirkman made the comic (and therefore the TV show) to focus on characters and how they react to the new world they found themselves in. If anyone found this "slow" there is something your clearly missing about the premise of this show.

Anyway, onto analysis of the episode.
    This isn't in the comics (much the same way terminus isn't) which was something new for me
    . I had to say I greatly enjoyed it. I still hate how immune main characters seem to be to zombies though, Beth going all bad ass on the walkers even though she was surrounded is just ridiculous. That took a few points off the episode for me. However, the hospital itself is super interesting. It's also a pretty great story, the fact Dawn wants to preserve it and will do anything to keep her guards happy (definitely not similar to The Governor like others have suggested, not as sociopathic but the stress of keeping everyone alive gets to her and she has clear anger issues) make for an interesting dynamic. The whole payback system is also intriguing. It's a way for them to try and bring normality back into the world. Instead of paying money (like you would in the pre-zombie world) labour is the way of paying, which is very interesting.

I wish we had seen more of the other women there (apart from Joan) to see what they are going through. Would have made for an interesting story. Also, anyone with half a brain cell would have coped that the guards were raping the women when Gorman comes out of the room near the start and a random female closes the door, looking pissed off and defeated. Made the shock value of the story a lot less impactful. Dr. Edwards was fantastic, properly self-serving. He realises his limitations and isn't afraid to use others to get what he wants (using Beth to kill Trevit and save his own hide). It's really interesting to see characters having more than one dimension to them-perfectly capable of being good, normal people but also having no problem manipulating others if they feel threatened.

All in all, very good episode, adding a new character, really fleshing out Beth and actually making her interesting (a problem they had in season 1-3), adding some interest by having Carol in the hospital as well. 7 outta 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I loved that. Maybe my favourite of the series.

Seriously grim Nazi vibe off the whole thing.

It'll be interesting to see how they resolve it.

Just having Rick and the gang storm in and kill everyone would be a bit anticlimactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The worst episode of the walking dead ever.
    Absolute tripe.

Episode 1 aside, so far this season has been crap.

Decent enough episode. I don't think they have once picked a right song though for scene. That one playing while she is first walking around the hospital. It just doesn't fit.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Very disjointed epI side. Felt like we missed 5 minutes at the start. Like when Dawn slapped beth. I know we've all wanted to, but Dawn never even heard her sing!

In the last scene, Beth is healing, so a little time has passed at least. Looks like Noah hooked up with our favourite crew, and Dawn is in for trouble.

I reckon Carol is either perfectly fine, or maybe (unlikely) sedated, in order to sneak her in.

Anyone else think beth was going to slit the rapey guys through after the lollipop thing, and shoot her way out? I was kind of disappointed.

Hop along gets away, and beth gets caught?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I didn't enjoy that. It's just another aside that going to be resolved with Rick and the gang rescuing them and nothing else progressed 2 episodes later. I know all the story doesn't have to be centred around the same 10 people, but they could do with killing off a couple, introducing more danger and integrating new people into their group, or have them join a bigger group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Anybody notice that Joan was played by Kiwi actress Keisha Castle-Hughes? I only copped it half way through myself.

Hmmm...not sure that Beth's character is strong enough to carry off a whole episode, although she did show some balls by having the cop on to let Joan attack Gorman and finish him off. She seemed very much like an observer in this episode, with some of the back story of post-apocalyptic Atlanta, and the survivors left behind taking more centre stage...and letting her inject people with medication? If they didn't know her dad (RIP Hershel!) was a vet and she possibly had some basic medical training (and I can't see why she would tell them that) it seemed like a weird move to let her basically act unsupervised in the role of doctor or nurse just after her arrival. But that's just a niggly point that struck me.

I'm not sure where the whole Carol thing will go...I wouldn't hazard guessing whether she is genuinely injured or faking it. Tune in next week! :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If Atlanta was as infested as we saw in season 1, and from the hospital grounds and ground floor, how are they still regularly getting in and out for food/ammunition and what not from nearly the centre of the city? How do they sill have generator fuel after all this time also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Was this episode running after the Termites got their just desserts and Carol & Darryl fecked off?

Speculation -
    Could we see next week Darryl coming to the rescue I wonder then bringing them back to camp. Or Darryl finding black lad and having him fill in Rick and the gang?

Slow enough episode, enjoyed it well enough though, we cannot have break neck pace every week. Joan an interesting character but I was hoping for more back ground, same with rapey cop but seeing as both are toast Im not expecting too much of a reveal, its been hinted whats going on anyway.

Didn't watch previews for next week so please dont mention them without spoiler tags!

Slattsy wrote: »
    The worst episode of the walking dead ever.
    Absolute tripe.

Episode 1 aside, so far this season has been crap.

Did you skip season 2?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I can't see them having Darryl losing another companion so I assume Carol is there under some under-cover operation.

I think the overall episode was weak but not without its own good points - albeit lost among the rushed explanation of the hospital's history. Whatever happens I feel it will be quick - possibly serving just to add more "roles" to the group - possibly the doctor now they've lost Herchel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I don't know if I enjoyed that or hated it ... more surprised with it then anything - it was almost like it was dropped in from absolutely nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 johnbon1234

I think daryll is bringing one of the guys back from the hospital, gorman mentioned that one of his fellow cops was gone following a lead on guns.

They took carol as hostage to trade for guns from the main group. Rewatched the break out scene from the hospital by beth and everyone hates chris, I was trying to see could I catch a glimpse the car daryll and carole went chasing after in the parking lot, couldn't see it though

I wish they could intertwine the stories rather than just dedicating entire episodes to specific plot lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

think they are knocking people over the head and kidnapping them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭marvsins

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    Anybody notice that Joan was played by Kiwi actress Keisha Castle-Hughes? I only copped it half way through myself.

Ya spotted her name after the opening credits (when doc turns off machine) She has had a mixed life since Whale Rider.

I wish they could intertwine the stories rather than just dedicating entire episodes to specific plot lines.

I don't agree. I think the pacing is far better this way.

It's jarring in shows like GOT where they're constantly cutting to a half a dozen different plots every episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Gbear wrote: »

It's jarring in shows like GOT where they're constantly cutting to a half a dozen different plots every episode.

TWD couldn't cut to half a dozen different plots even if it wanted to. I agree, a whole episode on that was balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭defrule

Carol is undercover for sure, they chased after the car in episode 2 because Daryl recognised it as the car that took Beth. I'm pretty sure at the end of Ep3, when Rich meets Daryl in the dark, Beth and Carol are there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I really enjoyed that and I've always liked Beth especially last season. It's interesting to get a look at things from another perspective.

It was a nice change of pace after the first 3. If every episode was high octane then people would eventually get used to that too. This season has been very good. It'll be great to see how Carol reacts to such an environment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It was an alright episode though very.slow. it offered a different dynamic of how people are surviving. Looks like it could have been a pretty sweet deal if there wasn't all the raping going on.

We'll probably have this bad guy for the next few episodes, which I'm not all that excited about really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'm guessing Carol went in deliberately to rescue Beth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

They could have done it with this episode and episode 2 since both were pretty much the same time line. I guess budget wise they need some slow episodes and also they probably need to develop story lines.

Gbear wrote: »

I was going to use GoT as an example of intertwining done somewhat well. TWD isn't nearly as dense so you wouldn't get that jarring effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

EVERY SINGLE other group they come across has some weird megalomaniacal leader up to no good, trying to control people for reasons.

It doesn't really matter what those reasons are, we know Rick's group are eventually going to triumph, it's getting a bit TWD-By-Numbers truth be told, they need to mix it up a bit somehow.

I still enjoy it, don't get me wrong, but this idea of a new Baddie-with-a-plan in every place they go is getting tiresome - why not have some friendly people for a change?

Even the priest had a dark story. Now the cops and the doctor do too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

Whether or not Carol intended to end up in the hospital is somewhat irrelevant, the important thing is that it just turned into a really bad time to be holding Beth prisoner!

I would guess that Carol & Daryl tracked the car close enough to the hospital that they crossed paths with the guy who escaped and he told them Carol could get inside, then they formed a rescue/annihilation plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

the first ep ever that gave me nightmares.............odd!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

think they are knocking people over the head and kidnapping them

This for sure.

Once we saw the cars out front with the crosses then it was confirmed that the main cops story was BS and they just didn't come across Beth at the side of the road. Probably drugged her to get her in the car hence the lack of memory of the incident.

So saving people in preparation for a rescue is not the main point of their existence - looks like they just want slaves.

How did the girl die in the office actually? I missed that. Suicide was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

How did the girl die in the office actually? I missed that. Suicide was it?

yes she pulled the dresings off her arm and made herself bleed out.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Anyone else find it odd that Beth never asked Noah "What the hell is going on here?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

yes she pulled the dresings off her arm and made herself bleed out.

she turned pretty quickly then, compared to say, Bob, last week.

I know it's inconsistent, to suit the plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I only started watching Walking Dead in May, and watched the first four seasons in about 2 months, so maybe it skews my view.

While this season is quite watchable, there's the feeling that the "recycling" of stories has begun. This season just feels all too similar to what I've seen before. Maybe this season is about to take a turn, but I hope this isn't a sign of things to come.

I was expecting something a lot fresher than what I've gotten so far.

she turned pretty quickly then, compared to say, Bob, last week.

I know it's inconsistent, to suit the plot.

To be fair, I'm sure there's plenty of variation between different people suffering from real diseases.