Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beats headphones

• 31-10-2014 10:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭

Probably some parents being pestered for these for Christmas?

Apparently should be €199, available for €139

http :// www .grabonestore.ie/beats-solo-headphones

(sorry about the spaces, can't post links yet)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

More a fashion statement product than good quality headphones. The Chinese 'fakes' sound identical. Better off going with a proper brand of headphones with good quality sound, Seinheiser are very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Save your money for a set of real head phones. Like sennhesiser or akg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Its a bargain alert for beats (which is a big discount off of normal price).

Its not an audiophile thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

Took 5 minutes for the headphone police to arrive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

Jeepers calm down folks. It's coming up to Christmas, it's the "in" brand that the kids want, there's money off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Luke92 wrote: »
    Its a bargain alert for beats (which is a big discount off of normal price).

Its not an audiophile thread!

Fair enough. If you fancy an inferior product, knock yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

True that. Kid walked into a shop I worked in and said he wanted the headphones with the b on the side. I knew instantly what he meant, but was amazed, he couldn't even tell me the name of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Deenie123 wrote: »
    Probably some parents being pestered for these for Christmas?

Apparently should be €199, available for €139

http :// www .grabonestore.ie/beats-solo-headphones

(sorry about the spaces, can't post links yet)

Cheers op, good find for someone who has to have beats, especially coming up to Xmas.
    Contrary to the usual idiot posts, they are a quality product, are they worth the rrp probably not imo, but when there's a significant difference in the price how bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,757 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Old model. Not really a bargain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Others have already said it all ITT already so no need to explain, really. If anyone is asking for headphones for Christmas and you're willing to spend the price for beats: get these instead, you'll be buying totally superior sounding and quality headphones while also possibly even saving money.

Audio Technica ATH M50's - beautiful, amazing headphones. Check any reviews or ask any audiophiles for confirmation

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Audio-Technica-ATH-M50-White-Headphones-Special-Offer-Whilst-Stock-Lasts-/291105898589?pt=UK_AudioVisualElectronics_HomeAudioHiFi_Headphones&hash=item43c743805d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

ATH-M50's are too bulky to carry around, nobody aside from audiphiles and office workers want them.

Beats solo 2 are actually pretty tight headphones. As to the OP for that price they are reasonable but not a real bargain. Expect to see them drop to 99 euro after Christmas. Yes they have crappy sound quality but when you're streaming YT videos at 128kbps it won't make the slightest difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

54kroc wrote: »
    Cheers op, good find for someone who has to have beats, especially coming up to Xmas.
    Contrary to the usual idiot posts, they are a quality product, are they worth the rrp probably not imo, but when there's a significant difference in the price how bad.

Apologies for my clearly idiotic post. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭laneooo

Got OV-X8 off tmart for a tenner would take it any day of the week.
    Would never pay this much for a pair of headphones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

I know people give out about the money you pay for them versus the quality you get. Most people forget that kids will be streaming their music or listening to 128k rips of tunes.

No Sennheiser gonna save you from that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,146 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If you're being pestered for the brand, buy a good Chinese fake - the real stuff is so bloody bad that nobody is going to notice. Actually, the fakes are usually better quality.

Seriously, as someone who is gainfully employed in the industry, Beats are great at nothing else than identifying bluffers - no actual professional will ever use the over-bassed messes that they are unless they're egotists determined to show off how much money they have. Any serious musician using them is being paid to - nobody uses them by choice.

For a third of the price or less you can get Irish-built precision manufactured Sennheiser cans. If the logo is all that matters you may as well buy the cheapest fake you can get - nobody is going to know.

Another thing to remember is that any "offer" site takes such a huge percentage commission that even the "offer" price is a terrible deal for the consumer. If they're selling something on "offer" for €139 that means that in a realistic, non-distorted retail environment it should cost you well under €100. The alleged retail price on these sites is fantasyland and if it ever existed, it was advertised in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a closed jacks with a sign on the door saying 'Beware of the Leopard'. (points for anyone who gets the reference).
    54kroc wrote: »
    Contrary to the usual idiot posts, they are a quality product

If you're half deaf, perhaps. The audio "quality" from the cheap Chinese crap that they are is atrocious. They are built to over-amplify bass frequencies and nothing else. The "idiots" when it comes to critiquing this junk are actual professionals.

Beats are up there as one of the worst cases of style over substance - terrible sweatshop muck with a logo is considered better than anything else due to said logo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

It may seem like a bargain for something that seems to be the in thing these days but honestly compared to other headphones on the market they are a poor choice, you can get a pair of AKG K451's for 70 euro ( down from 170 euro ) on Amazon and the audio quality is far superior.

With beats you are paying for a brand and style over any kind of quality, even with the discount your getting ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

MYOB wrote: »
    If you're being pestered for the brand, buy a good Chinese fake - the real stuff is so bloody bad that nobody is going to notice. Actually, the fakes are usually better quality.

Seriously, as someone who is gainfully employed in the industry, Beats are great at nothing else than identifying bluffers - no actual professional will ever use the over-bassed messes that they are unless they're egotists determined to show off how much money they have. Any serious musician using them is being paid to - nobody uses them by choice.

For a third of the price or less you can get Irish-built precision manufactured Sennheiser cans. If the logo is all that matters you may as well buy the cheapest fake you can get - nobody is going to know.

Another thing to remember is that any "offer" site takes such a huge percentage commission that even the "offer" price is a terrible deal for the consumer. If they're selling something on "offer" for €139 that means that in a realistic, non-distorted retail environment it should cost you well under €100. The alleged retail price on these sites is fantasyland and if it ever existed, it was advertised in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a closed jacks with a sign on the door saying 'Beware of the Leopard'. (points for anyone who gets the reference).

If you're half deaf, perhaps. The audio "quality" from the cheap Chinese crap that they are is atrocious. They are built to over-amplify bass frequencies and nothing else. The "idiots" when it comes to critiquing this junk are actual professionals.

Beats are up there as one of the worst cases of style over substance - terrible sweatshop muck with a logo is considered better than anything else due to said logo.

This post kinda turned me on tbh. Much love!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

MYOB wrote: »

What do you make if the Jabra Rox wireless ear buds?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Heisenberg88

They are very good headphones and high horse headphone brigade would want to get off their high horses. If you listen to hip hop and dance these are very good headphones. If you listen to stuff like greenday, pop music, rock music they are not that good of headphones. If you read any reviews on the internet they tell you this. Bass in the headphone are good. Ever notice there called beats by dre, there optimized for hip hop music.

Any decent review site gives them a decent rating and tell you to only purchase if hip hop is the primary music you listen to.

Hip hop on these sound much better than any sennheizer headphones!

They are very good headphones and high horse headphone brigade would want to get off their high horses. If you listen to hip hop and dance these are very good headphones. If you listen to stuff like greenday, pop music, rock music they are not that good of headphones. If you read any reviews on the internet they tell you this. Bass in the headphone are good. Ever notice there called beats by dre, there optimized for hip hop music.

Any decent review site gives them a decent rating and tell you to only purchase if hip hop is the primary music you listen to.

This isn't true, but I also think the guy up there who claims to "work in industry" is talking out of his rear end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Now let's not get carried away Walt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Kobe

I have a hundred something audio-techinca m50 and I think the sound quality is way better than any beats headphones, people pay the high price on beats for all the advertisements but not product research.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Heisenberg88

Dietsquirt wrote: »
    Now let's not get carried away Walt

Thread lightly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Thread lightly!

Live Free or Die me auld matey

Thank you for joining us, Dr. Dre.

Youre just missing the "brah" from the end of your name to complete the perfect gym muppet apparel

Etnies wrote: »
    Youre just missing the "brah" from the end of your name to complete the perfect gym muppet appreal

Appreal

Appreal

Fixed just for you hunni x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭dan786

Shops like smartspot were selling Beats Solo HD for half price 99.99 few months back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I also think the guy up there who claims to "work in industry" is talking out of his rear end.

I can verify that what he posted is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭balfe1990

This isn't true, but I also think the guy up there who claims to "work in industry" is talking out of his rear end.

His post is completely factual whether he's employed in the industry or not.

Its not a secret that you're paying for the brand with Beats, not the quality. Their entire budget for their headphones is skewed heavily in favour of marketing and PR, not build quality and R&D.

If you want to be buy Beats, grand, don't let anyone stop you, but please don't defend them when someone pits them against a company like Sennheiser. Its not a contest and never will be.

The sound on beats is perfectly fine on their earphones, if you want a professional headset Youre not gonna get beats, I have a senheisser headset and the quality is great and a pair of earphones from them reality is most people don't use them professionally or even for gaming so it suits their needs perfectly fine

balfe1990 wrote: »
    His post is completely factual whether he's employed in the industry or not.

Its not a secret that you're paying for the brand with Beats, not the quality. Their entire budget for their headphones is skewed heavily in favour of marketing and PR, not build quality and R&D.

If you want to be buy Beats, grand, don't let anyone stop you, but please don't defend them when someone pits them against a company like Sennheiser. Its not a contest and never will be.

Have you done any research about the new Solo 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Have you done any research about the new Solo 2?

They are getting reviews but the problem is according to several audiophile forums is that there are quite a few sennheisers at much lower price points that both match and out perform the solo 2. Why pay full whack for the new solo 2 when a sennheiser at half the price offers slightly better audio experience?

zarquon wrote: »
    They are getting reviews but the problem is according to several audiophile forums is that there are quite a few sennheisers at much lower price points that both match and out perform the solo 2. Why pay full whack for the new solo 2 when a sennheiser at half the price offers slightly better audio experience?

Because a lot of people care a lot more about image than they do about a minimal increase in sound quality, and it won't matter a fart anyway when they're streaming youtube videos at 128kbps.

Out of interest, what Sennheisers are these? I own both the amperior and HD-25 II both of which have been put at being in or around the same quality, give or take. Some might prefer their Sennheiser signature but that is by no means conclusive. That leaves you with the on-ear momentums as the main competition and although they are cheaper the Solo 2 blows them out of the water quality-wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

I think the point of the op raising awareness of this bargain is due to the fact that kids are going to want beats regardless of how they are rated amongst audiophiles.it's the classic image over substance conundrum that image conscious younger people don't really care about. In saying all that, I'd agree with some here that say this isn't a real bargain.they might be if you want cheaper beats but I'd certain shop around before pulling the trigger at that price.

To give my tpence worth on head phones that happen to be bargains that are actually well regarded, I recently bought akg k451 from Richersounds.ie for 67 yo yos.very highly regarded and sound great.the kids will never have heard of akg but they are serious players. These cans retailed at £129 when they first came out and were what hifi headphones of the year a couple of years running. As a sneaky good buy if you're not a brand snob but want the look and sound of beats then you can get logitech ue4000 in white for only £18 on amazon. They retailed at £99.they're big on bass like beats. I picked up a pair cuz I read good reviews and at that price I figured they'd be a good back up pair to keep the akgs in good condition.they are a bit dearer in black but it's just the cans that are white with the band black so they're grand.if you want a real bargain,save yourself 115 yo yos and get the ue4000 instead off amazon.get a book to top up to £25 for free delivery!

MarcusP12 wrote: »
    I think the point of the op raising awareness of this bargain is due to the fact that kids are going to want beats regardless of how they are rated amongst audiophiles.it's the classic image over substance conundrum that image conscious younger people don't really care about. In saying all that, I'd agree with some here that say this isn't a real bargain.they might be if you want cheaper beats but I'd certain shop around before pulling the trigger at that price.

To give my tpence worth on head phones that happen to be bargains that are actually well regarded, I recently bought akg k451 from Richersounds.ie for 67 yo yos.very highly regarded and sound great.the kids will never have heard of akg but they are serious players. These cans retailed at £129 when they first came out and were what hifi headphones of the year a couple of years running. As a sneaky good buy if you're not a brand snob but want the look and sound of beats then you can get logitech ue4000 in white for only £18 on amazon. They retailed at £99.they're big on bass like beats. I picked up a pair cuz I read good reviews and at that price I figured they'd be a good back up pair to keep the akgs in good condition.they are a bit dearer in black but it's just the cans that are white with the band black so they're grand.if you want a real bargain,save yourself 115 yo yos and get the ue4000 instead off amazon.get a book to top up to £25 for free delivery!

If you really are only buying for kids for the image alone, you are better off just buying some chinese knockoffs for about €15. Plenty of time to get before christmas if ordered now. I wouldn't normally recommend the chinese route but it's ridiculous buying for kids to listen to 128kbps audio,who only care about having the "b" on the side of the headphones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

If you really are only buying for kids for the image alone, you are better off just buying some chinese knockoffs for about €15. Plenty of time to get before christmas if ordered now. I wouldn't normally recommend the chinese route but it's ridiculous buying for kids to listen to 128kbps audio,who only care about having the "b" on the side of the headphones

You could get the beats knock offs for 15 and tell them to wear them when theyre with their mates only and then get them a decent pair like the akg k451 for 67 or the ue4000 for about 25 to wear everywhere else and still come out with a load of change from that offer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭clickhere

MarcusP12 wrote: »

To give my tpence worth on head phones that happen to be bargains that are actually well regarded, I recently bought akg k451 from Richersounds.ie for 67 yo yos.very highly regarded and sound great.the kids will never have heard of akg but they are serious players. These cans retailed at £129 when they first came out and were what hifi headphones of the year a couple of years running. As a sneaky goodhem buy if you're not a brand snob but want the look and sound of beats then you can get logitech ue4000 in white for only £18 on amazon. They retailed at £99.they're big on bass like beats. I picked up a pair cuz I read good reviews and at that price I figured they'd be a good back up pair to keep the akgs in good condition.they are a bit dearer in black but it's just the cans that are white with the band black so they're grand.if you want a real bargain,save yourself 115 yo yos and get the ue4000 instead off amazon.get a book to top up to £25 for free delivery!

Fair play MarcusP12,i got a 3 sets of them on Amazon for christmas presents.The sound is excellent. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

good deal, ive had 3 or 4 different high end brands of head phones and beats are the best by far.
    anyone saying otherwise do not or never have owned a pair.

because a 15 year old kid doesnt want sennheisers, nor do they want a knock off pair.
    easily spot the singletons in here.:rolleyes:

Hugh Cream wrote: »
    good deal, ive had 3 or 4 different high end brands of head phones and beats are the best by far.

Or maybe they, you know, have different opinions than you? Hilarious statement.

if i spent €350 on head phones that were shyt id be furious, if i wanted to dissuade someone from wasting their money i wouldnt quote magazine reviews.
    id give them my own personal opinion.
    go back through the tread and high light the post where the poster gave their own opinion based on their own experiences.
    they are inferior to so and so, the fakes are better are the views of popular big brand haters so that wont do.

if i spent €350 on head phones that were shyt id be furious, if i wanted to dissuade someone from wasting their money i wouldnt quote magazine reviews.
    id give them my own personal opinion.
    go back through the tread and high light the post where the poster gave their own opinion based on their own experiences.
    they are inferior to so and so, the fakes are better are the views of popular big brand haters so that wont do.

What were the other 4 brands of headphones you owned by the way, and how much did each cost

It is clear then that the headphones you owned were not high end. I've had many high end sets both open and closed and the quality from beats is sh*t in comparison so you are not comparing like for like. I've never bought beats but i have tested in store and borrowed a pair for comparison from a friend. The lows are just amplified way too high and the mids too hollow for me. EQ really is awful on them.

Oh and regarding your point about kids not wanting knock off, they haven't a clue and cant tell the difference. I bought a pair for €13 from china for curiosity and visually they were excellent but aurally they were sub par. I sold them to a teenager to for quadruple the price as i didn't want to keep them and he was delighted with the "deadly" sound from according to himself and toddled off thinking he got an incredible deal on his amazing sound beats :rolleyes: - so no, kids really cannot tell the difference, if he was anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

I sold them to a teenager to for quadruple the price... and toddled off thinking he got an incredible deal...

Nice one, so you ripped off an unsuspecting kid with fake Beats but are now trying to protect us from being ripped off by Dr Dre :rolleyes:

It is clear then that the headphones you owned were not high end. I've had many high end sets both open and closed and the quality from beats is sh*t in comparison so you are not comparing like for like. I've never bought beats but i have tested in store and borrowed a pair for comparison from a friend. The lows are just amplified way too high and the mids too hollow for me. EQ really is awful on them.

Oh and regarding your point about kids not wanting knock off, they haven't a clue and cant tell the difference. I bought a pair for €13 from china for curiosity and visually they were excellent but aurally they were sub par. I sold them to a teenager to for quadruple the price as i didn't want to keep them and he was delighted with the "deadly" sound from according to himself and toddled off thinking he got an incredible deal on his amazing sound beats :rolleyes: - so no, kids really cannot tell the difference, if he was anything to go by.
    proves my point and you obviously have no kids, younger brothers/sisters, or nephews or nieces.
    i dont know where you are from if the kids dont know the difference, unless your talking about 4 or 5 year olds.
    oh and why is everyone buying these knock offs from china when they can be got off any stall in any city in any country?

Nice one, so you ripped off an unsuspecting kid with fake Beats but are now trying to protect us from being ripped off by Dr Dre :rolleyes:
    brilliant, i suspect youve rumbled him, i suspect hes lying, but if hes telling the truth and he did rip off a child hes............ well i wont say what he is because i may get a ban, but ripping off a child.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Well this has turned into a total train wreck of a thread. Who actually cares who buys these beats headphones, if you do 2mins of research you will find out that you can get better sound quality for cheaper, if you still want to spend that much on a fashion statement then fire ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Turtle beach