Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It’s time for an “American jihad”

• 31-10-2014 2:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭

"The Constitution, along with the miracle of our nation's founding and the providential history of America fighting and winning war after war against oppressive regimes, proves our manifest destiny not only to preserve our borders and safety and national character at home, but to spread around the world our love of individual freedom and insist on its reflection in every government."

Nearly 200 years later and they're still pushing the "manifest destiny" crap.
    We would urge our leaders, after their service in the U.S. Senate and Congress, to seek dual citizenship in other nations, like France and Italy and Sweden and Argentina and Brazil and Germany, and work to influence those nations to adopt laws very much like our own. We might even fund our leaders' campaigns for office in these other nations."

Yes, these countries definitely need to aim to be more like America. Especially Germany, France and Sweden.
    An American jihad would embrace the correct belief that if every nation on earth were governed by freely elected leaders and by our Constitution, the world would be a far better place. And an American jihad would not only hope for this outcome, but work toward it."

An 'American Jihad' actually happened in numerous South American states. The resultant puppet states weren't very free.

Full article here; http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2014/10/28/its-time-for-american-jihad/

Yes, it's Fox. But more on the author, Dr Keith Ablow:
    He graduated from Brown University in 1983, magna cum laude, with a Bachelor of Science degree in neurosciences. He received his Doctor of Medicine degree from Johns Hopkins Medical School in 1987, and completed his psychiatry residency at the Tufts-New England Medical Center. He was Board Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology in psychiatry in 1993 and forensic psychiatry in 1999.[4]

The good doctors credentials imply that he is at least somewhat intelligent. Yet this is what he believes. 'Murica.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Didn't we have our own jihad a few years ago with that Riverdance thing.

Nearly took over the world too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

No thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

The US used to rule the world and is now freaking out that they're losing everything. Big deal. Let 'em burn, no great loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hasn't America been pretty much doing what he's asking for, for the best part of a century? It's part of the reason that so many people want to blow them up.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

In before "Murica"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Freedom??? It's practically a police state

• Registered Users Posts: 18,094 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Thought this was a Team America 2 announcement page, AMERICA **** YEAH!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Coca cola, Disney, and McDonald's all americanised the world a very long time ago. The likes of MTV then finished the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,067 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The good doctors credentials imply that he is at least somewhat intelligent. Yet this is what he believes. 'Murica.

Being intelligent and bat-shit crazy aren't mutually exclusive

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

In before "Murica"
    'Murica.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

What the **** does he think america has been doing pretty much since it was founded? Has to be a troll, or an escaped mental patient assuming the identity of one of his former psychiatric doctors

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It’s time for an “American jihad”

And here was me thinking they've been waging a 'freedom' jihad for quite a few decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

...seek to fund an international mercenary force for good and provide our veterans unparalleled health care.

Why not give it to all your citizens...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

That oxycontin really fucks people up.

c_man wrote: »
    Why not give it to all your citizens...?

Communist!!!!! Kill! Kill11!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Nodin wrote: »
    Communist!!!!! Kill! Kill11!!!!

You should probably head outside for a walk or something. Take a break from being an online social justice warrior.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Another thread about America on After Hours.

It seems to be an unhealthy obsession for many, just let g and get on with your life, you'll be a lot happier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

But more on the author, Dr Keith Ablow:

The good doctors credentials imply that he is at least somewhat intelligent.

If you watch The Daily Show or Colbert Report you'll see this guy Ablow featured almost weekly for the comedy gold he comes out with-this article is quite a mild demonstration of his stupidity. My guess is that he cheated in his exams or got some kind of brain injury after graduating.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=keith+ablow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Another thread about America on After Hours.

It seems to be an unhealthy obsession for many, just let g and get on with your life, you'll be a lot happier.

A lot of people who have experienced "American Jihad" would love to do the same.

Fox News is the most popular cable news channel in America. When they stop spouting insane bollix such as this;
    We would urge our leaders, after their service in the U.S. Senate and Congress, to seek dual citizenship in other nations, like France and Italy and Sweden and Argentina and Brazil and Germany, and work to influence those nations to adopt laws very much like our own

Then people will stop bashing them and Americans who share similar viewpoints.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Paging MadsL...
    Massive 'Murica spill in aisle 9...

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭pawdee

Ye had.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭Wompa1

A lot of people who have experienced "American Jihad" would love to do the same.

Fox News is the most popular cable news channel in America. When they stop spouting insane bollix such as this;

Then people will stop bashing them and Americans who share similar viewpoints.

How many people watch Fox News? Out of over 300 million people, how many people are actually watching it?

Fox News is popular because it's an entertainment network. Not for it's news content. Have you watched CNN and CNBC in the states lately? They are the exact same as Fox, only with a left stance. All of it is crap. Television News, Radio News and Print Media are dying here.

Out of 300 million people, Fox probably gets less than an average of 2 million viewers and that's a guess because the Nielsen ratings system that's used is complete and utter ****e...Jon Stewart gets about 2.5 million viewers. John Olivers new show which to me, is probably the closest thing to an actual news program on the air...and it's a comedy show is getting over 4 million views.

So, go ahead and write off everyone in America because a tiny percentage watch Fox News.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

The ass-hattery of the US and Russia's foreign strategic one-upmanship is what has much of the world in the shytter today.

Financing dictators and fuelling rebellions so they could have a port here or a border there.

Didn't matter who their ally was, dictator, lunatic, war-criminal. Long as one part of the board didn't get too red or blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

So, go ahead and write off everyone in America because a tiny percentage watch Fox News.

I wasn't aware that I did. Just the good doc and those that share his views.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

You should probably head outside for a walk or something. Take a break from being an online social justice warrior.

Angry over something?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'm kinda disappointed in this thread, I was expecting something about some batshit crazy Christian fundamentalists.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Who is your wan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

sabat wrote: »
    If you watch The Daily Show or Colbert Report you'll see this guy Ablow featured almost weekly for the comedy gold he comes out with-this article is quite a mild demonstration of his stupidity. My guess is that he cheated in his exams or got some kind of brain injury after graduating.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=keith+ablow

Yeah, this is the guy who claims Gangnam Style is a drug...

He comes out with some of the whackiest, most ridiculous, off the wall bull**** you could imagine. However I don't think he's stupid, far from it in fact, he's just tapped into something that's payed off for him. He's been around for a good while, had his own Rikki Lake style chat show didn't have much of an audience, but he didn't say the same outragous nonsense that he does now, in fact he's completedly flipped on some issues. With Fox News came the ridiculous crap he's now known for, and you can see now that he's just finally found an audience so he plays up to that.

I don't think he believes any of the **** he says, he's just selling hysteria and nonsense to Fox News viewers.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Fox...worst than Hitler Ted.