Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

--Three J's Tavern's Ltd --

• 29-10-2014 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭

Hi

Has anyone had any dealings with the Three J's Taverns Ltd? They have had a lot of ads up looking for all sorts of people to do all sorts of jobs.

No website I could find/no phone no. etc.. seems odd.

That said a quick check shows they are based in Navan and have filed tax etc...

Can anyone enlighten me?

MOD-Note: Please do NOT put the person's name into any posts in this thread. It is highly likely that the person behind this little scheme is not the person whose name is on the letters. So please don't make life difficult for him.

I will shortly be editing it out of a number of posts. If you see it posted again, please report the post.

Mrs OBumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Harmony7

I've been thinking the same thing. I've been offered a seemingly too good to be true job offer at 11pm at night. I can't find much information from them, but I suspect they'll ask me for my bank details tomorrow so they can lodge the money required for me to carry out this task, or am I becoming too suspicious in this world :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

Harmony7 wrote: »

I've been thinking the same thing. I've been offered a seemingly too good to be true job offer at 11pm at night. I can't find much information from them, but I suspect they'll ask me for my bank details tomorrow so they can lodge the money required for me to carry out this task, or am I becoming too suspicious in this world :)

Same feeling here. Strange tehre's no phone number/website etc...

I would advise anyone who receives an email form these guys to read this in full first.

It is uncannily similar to the 'job' being offered.

https://www.scamwarners.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=77992

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Wellred

I have also recieved an invite to do research for them, the renumeration is too much. i am quite sceptical and as a reult have questioned myself repeatedly! This has to be a scam. No company as large as western union is going to employ an organisation without a telephone number or online presence to conduct surveys for them. how did the companies that are employing them become aware of three j's. I feel sick that nearly got back to them. I am going to make my local gardai and newspaper aware of the money I was offered without an interview or even a phone call. Sucks y'all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Wellred wrote: »
    I have also recieved an invite to do research for them, the renumeration is too much. i am quite sceptical and as a reult have questioned myself repeatedly! This has to be a scam. No company as large as western union is going to employ an organisation without a telephone number or online presence to conduct surveys for them. how did the companies that are employing them become aware of three j's. I feel sick that nearly got back to them. I am going to make my local gardai and newspaper aware of the money I was offered without an interview or even a phone call. Sucks y'all.

If you have any emails from them can you post the text after removing your own information that way anyone googling for similar text may find your post and this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Wellred

This is a copy of the email without my personal information. did not even use my name in the greeting!

Greetings,

Thanks for your interest in our job offer.

We would like to bring to your attention that all positions are no longer available however, we have chosen you to be one of our survey agents.

We would be delighted to have you join our team.

Three J'S Taverns Ltd is an organization that specializes in running/conducting surveys on several companies in other to help them improve and better their services to the public.

Your role as our agent will be to run/conduct surveys on the following companies;-

1)Western Union outlets

2)Restaurant locations

3)MoneyGram outlets

These companies have received complaints based on both reports that customers had forwarded anonymously and phone calls which were made to their head offices.

The Western union, Restaurant and MoneyGram outlets are being reported for the following reasons;-

Western Union and MoneyGram outlet:

-Transfers not going through

-Funds being debited even after customers have cancelled the transfer

-Funds taking longer than they should to reach their destination

-Minimum and maximum amount for transfers not being enough

-Overly priced sending charges

-Anomalies with the website's sending and receiving service

-Language barrier

-Offices/Outlets not having enough money to pay out transfers

-Customers having to call to complete transactions

The 2nd(Restaurant)associations were reported to be rendering;

-Poor services

-Unfriendliness to customers

-Excessive charges

-Late opening and Closing before time.

Your first assignment will be the survey of a Western Union outlet while the 2nd assignment will be on Restaurant dining and the 3rd assignment will be a MoneyGram survey.

All the outlet's addresses will be sent to you once you have received your assignment funds.

Your Secret Evaluation will take place in a STEP-BY-STEP manner:

1)The funds needed for you to carry out your assignment/task will be sent to you once your details have been received.

2)From the assignment funds, you will have to deduct your commission of €360.

3)After receiving the assignment funds, we'll send you the name and address of whom the transfer will be made to.

4)Your first assignment will be at a western union outlet.

5)You will have to record the time on which it took you to have your assignment completed.

6)You will have to provide me with the name of the cashier which attended to you.

7)You will be paid €360 per assignment and it will be increased depending on your work performance.

8)You will be receiving 2-3 assignments per week depending on how fast you are in completing your assignments.

9)You will have to keep a comprehensive report on every activity you carry out during your assignment.

10)No special skills are required.

11)This job will not disturb your current work schedule.

12)You will only work when there is an assignment to be carried out.

15)All assignments are within your local area/area of choice.

16)After completing 3 assignments, you will be able to choose between a Permanent, Part time & Fixed Term Work Contract.

17)No telemarketing

To get started, kindly fill in the below with your details and we will get back to you shortly with an assignment:

First name:
    Last name:
    Full Home Address:
    County:
    City:
    Mobile Phone:
    Home Phone:

After you have emailed your information to us, you should make sure you check your e-mail at least 2-3 times daily to read updates from us.

Thank you and I look forward to working with you.

Best Regards,

<name mod-snipped>

Thanks for posting that.

Reads like an obvious scam to me but then I'm just such a cynic.

Oh my God... thats unreal John.. the poor guy, how good of him to post the whole transcript for others.. thankfully we realised it wasn't sounding right..

Yes my3cents...

I'll put the name here Three J's Tavern Ltd threejstavernltd.org so it'll come up in searches.

I've posted it on facebook as I'm sure many have received this great job offer

Thanks again seanaway :)

Seanaway,

Have you posted this scam on the scams board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭gingergirl

Yeah, received same follow up mail today having answered to good to be true ad in local paper. I had the same thoughts "when will I have to give my bank details". I am wondering what will happen to my e mail address?

gingergirl wrote: »
    Yeah, received same follow up mail today having answered to good to be true ad in local paper. I had the same thoughts "when will I have to give my bank details". I am wondering what will happen to my e mail address?

You replied to a scam with a valid email address a list of your email address along with others that did the same is worth money to other scammers so you might get a few more emails for other scams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 xlolly5x

I replied and got same instructions and I had to reply to say I got mail and understood lol but this email was from a Gmail account ill keep ye posted he won't be getting my bank account no though ☺

Oh I was offered a survey agent job too... I did learn from go ogling that three js tavern has something þo do with taylors three rock.ie ?

They had our email addresses anyway from our CV's so replying again wasn't really an issue?

Nope and I already confirmed in first email I understood ?

Exactly, so no harm done.. :)

And hopefully no harm will be done to others once this gets spread around

Hi Guys

Delighted you realised the same thing.

The Gardai have the info and are looking into it.

I did some more checks and it's out of Lagos Nigeria.

Keep telling people about this guys.

Hate to see someone get stung like this. Especially, people who can't afford it and clearly need the work.

I haven't posted it on scams board. Where is it?

Exactly, I posted it on FB last night, you posted a link to a scam board here John? which showed a similiar scam in US.. There must be one we can post to also?

Just got another mail from them, saying they'll be in touch on Monday, gonna play with these suckers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Where can one apply? I had a Nigerian chap ringing me a couple of years ago as I was stringing him along so far..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 MissJack

OMG I got the same one... well fair play for ye all to be posting here as anyone cud get caught with that.. I decided to google the company also and came upon this....all I can say is God bless technology.....:)

Just got another mail from them, saying they'll be in touch on Monday, gonna play with these suckers :)

Ha I got that too shall post more on Monday before 11 am aparently lol

I haven't replied to them at all.. might just leave it to see will he email me again. scammy feckers.... but sooooo gald I got this page as i might've been a victim aaghggghhhh.... thank you guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Patricia1969

Hi I have got numerous emails since last week one of which to confirm name address tel no and if I understood job requirements and to await further instructions before 11 am tomorrow nov 3.
    I too thought pay was too high and googled them and they claim to be an irish
    Company but I feel they are scammers but I am just curious as to email tomorrow. I shall be going to local garda station. I have original cut out of ad that was in paper.
    Will keep you posted on any developments

Hi I have got numerous emails since last week one of which to confirm name address tel no and if I understood job requirements and to await further instructions before 11 am tomorrow nov 3.
    I too thought pay was too high and googled them and they claim to be an irish
    Company but I feel they are scammers but I am just curious as to email tomorrow. I shall be going to local garda station. I have original cut out of ad that was in paper.
    Will keep you posted on any developments

I have got ip addresses from both his mail ac and one is located in Canada that's the three js one and the other is located in ireland that's the gmail one

Okay so got another one he is sending me chequestions apparently fund's have been a proved have to confirm address again?.?? Warning though if he is sending cheques make sure the fully clear first before taking any money out cause that scam has been done before :) I will keep ye posted

xlolly5x wrote: »
    I have got ip addresses from both his mail ac and one is located in Canada that's the three js one and the other is located in ireland that's the gmail one

I've spent a fair bit of time in the past chasing scammers around the internet and afaik there is no source IP address information in a Gmail email headers. Its one of the nice things that scammers like about Gmail, you can't tell where in the world it was sent from.

xlolly5x wrote: »
    Okay so got another one he is sending me chequestions apparently fund's have been a proved have to confirm address again?.?? Warning though if he is sending cheques make sure the fully clear first before taking any money out cause that scam has been done before :) I will keep ye posted

If he's sending cheques then don't even think about banking them, in one scam the scammer sends out fake or stolen cheques and you are requested to send some of the money back leaving you with a profit, thats until the chargeback hits your account which can happen long after they have cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭dare2dream

Apparently I get 360Euro to be a survey agent to Western Unions/Restaurants, MoneyGrams.
    Well I feel a little exposed now after giving them my address, I just sent an email off to them telling them I wasn't interested after I did my research...
    Hopefully that's the end of it.
    I'll post further should I hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 RosieJ

I've also got exactly the same but I didn't give my proper address but if there's a cheque sent like I was told today it will still get to me but I'm also going to play them at their own game. I asked in one email about the transfer of funds and I was told the following

Please await further updates on Monday the 3rd of November before 11:00 AM.

Keep in touch always and have a great weekend.

Regards,

<<name mod-snipped>>

Thanks for that.i got same email as well saying cheque would be sent to my address and must verify my address again.i didnt reply cos down alongvthe email it seemed to contradict needing to verify address that cheque would come anyway.
    We are being seduced into somethibg peculiar.so I will see what happens next...
    Thanks for all the info guys ... much appreciated. .

This is getting interesting I'm gonna keep going with this as far as I can and then present to the guards... least this thread shows up now any time you enter his so called company name others can be warned but I do fear for those who have fallen for it and no question it... my guess is the cheque will be sent but will won't actually have money in ac once you put it in most banks will usually provisionally straight away or in day or two but not actually clear he will then get you to do your survey before time to clear leaving you owing the bank the money... It happened a while back on car selling sites... so if your like me and want to see how far it can go then please do not take any money out unless it has definitely cleared (which it wont). Or maybe it could be all of our dream jobs hahaha hah

I have found this its the same as us...

Secret Shopper or Mystery Shopper Scams

How the scam works

Many news reports are referring to this as the “newest†scam variation, but we have been seeing reports of these scams on our message board since 2005. The job description can be Secret Shopper, Mystery Shopper or Customer Service Evaluator, but it is all the same scam.

The scammer will either place an ad in a legitimate classified listing, online or in print, or they will collect their victim’s names and email addresses off of resumes posted online. Some of them are even making “copy cat†websites of legitimate Secret Shopper companies to use in their scam to help convince the victim that this is all legitimate. For a listing of legitimate Secret Shopper companies,

The victim will be told that they have been hired as a Secret Shopper and will be sent a cashier’s check or money order to cash and use on their assignments. One of the assignments is to review the service at a Western Union or Money Gram location. They are given a name and address to wire money to, from the check that was sent to them, and told to fill out an evaluation form on the service received and email or fax that back to the company they are working for.

Everything seems fine, and some victims may even complete a few “assignments†before the check is discovered to be counterfeit. On average, it takes about 10 business days for the bank to realize that the check is counterfeit, but we have seen some cases where it has taken over 6 months. Once the bank dose find that the check is counterfeit, they will contact you demanding the return of the money and deduct the full amount of the check from your bank account. This sometimes leaves the victims with negative bank accounts.

How to Protect Yourself

For a listing of legitimate Secret Shopper companies,

We have spoken with representatives at both Western Union and Money Gram. Money Gram does NOT use Secret Shoppers as a normal business practice. Western Union does use Secret Shoppers, but the shoppers are NEVER paid by cashier’s check or money order. If you have been contacted to shop Western Union or Money Gram, and it involves you receiving a cashier’s check or money order, IT IS A SCAM.

Often, the email address used by the representative of the company “hiring†you will be coming from a generic email address, and not one associated with that company. For further assurance, search out that company on your own and contact them for verification.

Resources for Victims

Victims for these scams can report it to all of the same places as a Counterfeit Cashier’s Check Scam, including
    Sorry had to delete links as I'm new

Look up boards mystery shopper scam our email is there too

Heres my newest email to john

Hi John

I have a few questions for you, if you don't mind? As stated in your previous emails you said that I would get maybe 3 assignments a week?
    If you are sending a cheque it is gonna take at least 15 day to clear in my account before I can take money out, how am I expected to more than one assignment every 15 or so days if the cash isn't in my account? My bank doesn't allow me to take money out until it is fully clear.

Also I wonder if I could get your website address and a contact phone number for you in case I have any questions that I need answering.

Kind regards

Laura

It will be interesting if he gets back to you.i havent replied re confirming my address and I will see what happens.

I haven't either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 gera 64

hello i am just letting those other people know that i have got same email as them about assignments with a company i know nothing about have never met any rep from the company .i have given them my home address and i am told i will recieve a cheque next week from them to help carry out my assignments 3 in a week.I smell a rat here as it seems a bit too easy to get money from somebody i dont even know.i will keep ye updated with the sit next week .
    gerard

gera 64 wrote: »
    hello i am just letting those other people know that i have got same email as them about assignments with a company i know nothing about have never met any rep from the company .i have given them my home address and i am told i will recieve a cheque next week from them to help carry out my assignments 3 in a week.I smell a rat here as it seems a bit too easy to get money from somebody i dont even know.i will keep ye updated with the sit next week .
    gerard

Just don't bank the cheque. If there are any charges when the fake cheque transaction gets reversed then you'll be paying them.

Hello people.
    I am 100 percent sure that this <<name mod-snipped>> is a director of the pub in rathfarnam <<name mod-snipped>>and he lives in an estate in <<name mod-snipped>> ,i wont put up his address yet till we see what happens with the cheques.This company could be ok so we will have to wait and see .

Hi Gerard.
    there is no website for the Three Taverns Ltd, these guys are possibly using his name perhaps. very much doubting that they are legit anyway. He mightn't even know that his name is being used. JMO thou!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Hello people.
    I am 100 percent sure that this <<name mod-snipped>>is a director of the pub in rathfarnam <<name mod-snipped>>and he lives in an estate in <<name mod-snipped>>i wont put up his address yet till we see what happens with the cheques.This company could be ok so we will have to wait and see .

I would give that guy a call and see what he says.

Hello people.
    I am 100 percent sure that this <<name mod-snipped>> is a director of the pub in rathfarnam <<name mod-snipped>> and he lives in an estate in <<name mod-snipped>> ,i wont put up his address yet till we see what happens with the cheques.This company could be ok so we will have to wait and see .

Well there you go folks thats how these scams work - there's always some that think it could be ok :rolleyes:

I doubt <<name mod-snipped>>if he has any connection with a genuine company has a clue that his name is being used. Rather than waiting for a fake or stolen cheque why not get on to <<name mod-snipped>> and ask him if his name is being used without his permission?

If you get a cheque of course it will look genuine it would be a pretty useless scam if it didn't.

The scam is that you get a cheque pay it into your account then thinking the money is in your account you send the same amount back by Western Union to the scammer. Only problem is you never paid any money into your account because the cheque was fake or stolen.

I posted earlier a link to this scam in the States. It seems they are based in Nigeria, according to whta was found there. I tend to believe an innocent businessman's name is being used here. I have reported this to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Gill8000

I have been sent all the same email you have talked about. I am receiving the check and other details tomorrow. I have been very vigilant about this and wanted to see what I would be sent. Will keep all posted.

I just received cheque for 2300 lol and email telling km to deposit cheque and when it's fully cleared take money minus my payment plus fees and the cost to clear cheque and send him the rest lol cheque is from bank in France Paris

another cheque landed today to this man here for 2300 euro ,what should i do with it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

Bring it to the Gardai. This is a scam.

Where are these cheques posted from?

my3cents wrote: »
    Where are these cheques posted from?
    they are posted from UK but french bank and the letter I it is signed <<name mod-snipped>> Has anyone who said about the <<name mod-snipped>> being owner of pub actually contacted him to let him know his details are being used ?