Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

decent wages

• 27-10-2014 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

what jobs are there in eire that pay well without having a college degree not afraid of hard work or woudlnt be squemish if u know what i mean will do anything once the pay is good any info welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

How do you quantify good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 anonymus1268

I am also interested in the answers. In my case, "good" would mean making 400 net per week, as a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Colonial

I am also interested in the answers. In my case, "good" would mean making 400 net per week, as a minimum.

If you can talk & sell - call centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭FarOn

Working in Medical devices as a process operative. Wages would be very decent in some of the better places. Leaving Cert is minimum standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭EIREAROEIRE

sorry i mean 500 after tax min

and would work at least 50 hrs in 5 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Jesus you've fair high expectations if you want 500 after tax straight off the bat. Recently got a job with Fexco earning €10 an hour before taxes and getting maybe 5 days of 9-5 a week. Whatever that boils down to.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's illegal under the working hours act, can't do anymore than 48 per week, 40 normally.

Have you any quallifications or experience?

To net €500 per week, you'd need a gross salary of €32,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

ah here, you should be an astronaut because your heads on another planet. if jobs like that existed there would be no need for college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

Lidl/Aldi/Dunnes assistant managers earn that plus.

Don't need a degree. But will work hard.

sorry about u folks but doin 50 to 60 hrs a week as it is at a flat rate of 11euro so tryin to get better no overtime or anything like that involved

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

sorry about u folks but doin 50 to 60 hrs a week as it is at a flat rate of 11euro so tryin to get better no overtime or anything like that involved

It's illegal to work those hours week after week, are you self employed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

theres no where you can just walk into and get a job like that.

Stick with the imaginary job you have i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

Armed forces - pay can be pretty decent after a few years service and it's an easy life.

have kids at home want to be around to see em lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

RossieMan wrote: »
    ah here, you should be an astronaut because your heads on another planet. if jobs like that existed there would be no need for college.

I didn't go to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

no w
    no workin for a company if u want money u work thats my story lazy people go on the dole so it looks like i should stay where i am i start 7 and finish around 5 or 6 every day

Is this a poem or rap of some sort?

ha thats my story mofo be a poem if u like to be gnome just lettin u know where im goin tryin to change my job so shut your gob u nob ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭mcw92

ead80d7a19b6e8767be4fe726764d186f739066074054d3c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

what jobs are there in eire that pay well without having a college degree not afraid of hard work or woudlnt be squemish if u know what i mean will do anything once the pay is good any info welcome

€500 after tax jobs are few and far between unless you became a manager or have some sort of skill/degree. Have you any skill so to speak or some experience in anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

What are you working at??

dont want to give out too much info on job sry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Lads - behave.

No abuse, eg calling people nobs. No text speak, eg "u" instead of "you".

Keep it civil and literate, or warnings will be given.

sorry mod was tryin to be funny not offensive that post shall be retracted sorrrrrrrrry all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Legally the Max you can do is an average of 48

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

dont want to give out too much info on job sry

Fair enough but jumping straight into a €500 after tax is not realistic unless your either skilled or got degrees stuff like that lidi or aldi are offering €11 an hour or you could go for the managers jobs they often offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Stheno wrote: »
    That's illegal under the working hours act, can't do anymore than 48 per week, 40 normally.

Regularly do 72hr weeks, the tax is unreal though. That was working in both the public and now in the private sector. Average 50hr weeks atm.

A 4th year apprentice electrician still takes home over €500 net per week for a flat 39hr week. That's a €16.47 per hour but you can't exactly just walk into it but you don't need a degree, just understand some basic maths, physics and chemistry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

I see a lot of folk referencing the fact that it is illegal to work more than 48hrs. I can tell you in the real world that piece of legislation doesn't matter one iota.
    Successful people are literally always at work. 12hrs a day, weekends, you name it. The money goes to those that are 'engaged' in what they are doing and engaged means overtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭ted1

bilbot79 wrote: »
    I see a lot of folk referencing the fact that it is illegal to work more than 48hrs. I can tell you in the real world that piece of legislation doesn't matter one iota.
    Successful people are literally always at work. 12hrs a day, weekends, you name it. The money goes to those that are 'engaged' in what they are doing and engaged means overtime

It's an average over the year, not just 48 hours max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Point still stands. There are laws about how much break you should have but these days lunch is for wimps etc. Companies won't force you to work hard but they can refrain from promoting you.

For most people it becomes a personal choice between work and life, for some people work is life

sorry mod was tryin to be funny not offensive that post shall be retracted sorrrrrrrrry all

To get the money you want you are talking about roughly a job that pays 40k to 45k a year, now I am not saying its not possible to get a job that pays that kind of money with no qualification's and lets you be around for you children, but I would say its very rare.

Realistically you are going to have to face the fact that you will need to do some sort of training to get a job that pays what you.

Years ago jobs in the ESB or Eircom unskilled worker got money like that but those day are long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Successful people are literally always at work. 12hrs a day, weekends, you name it.
    Thats not success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

ESRI will tell you the average industrial wage is still over 35k/yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

The bar on working over 48 hours per week might not be enforced, but it bloody should be. It's there for a good reason: to prevent employers doing more or less exactly what bilbot79 argues employers are doing. Promoting only people who are willing to work more hours per week than is legally permissible is an abysmal way of treating staff. There's a vast disparity of power in the negotiation between employer and employee regarding how many hours of work they're expected to do, and the 48-hour maximum is there specifically to make sure that employers don't use promotion as a tool to get huge chunks of their workforce to do illegal unpaid overtime at the expense of their personal lives.

Aside from that, there's evidence indicating that the quality of work produced during long shifts deteriorates to the point that an average person doesn't get any more done working sixty hours a week than if they worked 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 l19861986

@billbot79, Modern employers actually care about their employees and encourage a healthy work - life balance. Nera do enforce the 48 hour rule (over 4 months) and the penalties are heavy. As a "successful" HR Manager, my colleagues and I are well able to complete our work to a high standard within our rostered hours. The sign of a good Manager is one whose department runs as good as if s/he were there, when they are not. This concept of "lunches are for wimps" is outdated and hardly motivating people to give their best in work. Drive and Ambition are really important but should not be confused with modern day slavery i.e. working 60 + hour working weeks (outside of a once off) well rested and being appreciated by your manager etc is the best source of motivation. A highly motivated workforce generally gets the most productivity.

l19861986 wrote: »
    A highly motivated workforce generally gets the most productivity.

Agreed, I've worked the past 5 years in jobs which are based in multiple locations or working from home, and grown to enjoy the freedom.

It's a given that some days you have to be somewhere, but my jobs have been flexible to the point that you can announce "I'm driving home now" at lunchtime.

Benefit to me? Avoiding traffic.

Benefit to the job? At 5pm when I'd normally finish, I say "feck it, I didn't spend an hour and a half in the traffic, I'll give the job another hour".

They get a return three times on their flexible work practices from me as I appreciate it :) and it suits me personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Depending on what industry you work in the 48 hr week is enforced it can be broken down to an average 48 hr over a 17 or 26 week period,If an employee was working in excess of those hours and had an accident were by the HSA gets involved the employer could face prosecution.
    As for the decent wage it really depends on a number of things like experience & qualifications the person has and the job they do,In a previous life the job I did required a lot of experience & qualifications no margin for error what so ever.
    I got paid well but the industry is a 365 24/7 so not suitable for everyone.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

All well and good saying 48 is max, realistically a lot of people do more. But I doubt you would get one paying for each of those hours. It would come part and parcel with the job. So 500 after tax doesn't seem easily attainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm on €10.65 an hour, about as good as you will get for most jobs that you don't need a college degree for.

Although a good stonemason makes good money, you might not be working every week though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I got paid for every hour worked sometimes I might go 10/15 mins over my finish time and would get double time for my troubles,I know of other people who work on a annualized hours that means they are contracted for x amount of hours per year.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

sorry i mean 500 after tax min

If you want an employer to provide you €500 net per week you will be expected to have some sort of skill.

What can you offer?

I'm on €10.65 an hour, about as good as you will get for most jobs that you don't need a college degree for.

That is simply not true.

I earned over £20 per hour + expenses as an electrical foreman in 2000 (in ROI).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

OP. You said in a previous post that you were a cleaner getting 600 a week. That's a pretty good rate for a cleaner. What happened to that?

To expect 500 after tax a week with no qualifications or particular skills is Not going to happen. Well not in the short term anyway.

That would assume a salary of 32,000 a year. I saw another thread and a qualified environemental officer with a 2.1 degree can count themselves lucky if they get a starting salary of 26,000.

Not trying to have a go but you need to rethink your expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

2011 wrote: »
    That is simply not true.

I earned over £20 per hour + expenses as an electrical foreman in 2000 (in ROI).

That's 14 years ago though. A lot has happened since then :)

What's the rate for the same job today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

There are laws about how much break you should have but these days lunch is for wimps etc.

Is sleeping for wimps too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Tzardine wrote: »
    That's 14 years ago though. A lot has happened since then :)

What's the rate for the same job today.

An electricians rate is around the €23 per hour mark.
    He gets travel time on top of that.
    We can call it €950 roughly for a forty hour week.

I would assume the foreman would get more.

edit: an electrician is a qualified tradesman so would have completed a four year apprenticeship so is not unqualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

2011 wrote: »
    That is simply not true.

Which is why I said most jobs, and I doubt anyone would be an electrical foreman these days without at least some time spent in a college.

My bad, I misread your post and did not see "most".

However, I know many people earring well over €15 per hour and they don't hold a college degree. This includes a mechanic, a tool room supervisor, a crèche manager, a horse riding instructor, a salesman and a plumber.

Just to clarify: Electrical foremen are generally qualified electricians that are not degree qualified. During an apprenticeship trainees spend some time in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

Have a mate that recently started working in C&C. Hes working weekends and nights but coming out with 600 a week after tax. No qualifacations