Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will the hour time change make a difference?

• 25-10-2014 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭

Mornings will be brighter so thats no harm, but hate dark evenings, what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Make a difference to what? apart from the length of daylight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

vicwatson wrote: »
    to your work on farm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

whelan2 wrote: »
    Mornings will be brighter so thats no harm, but hate dark evenings, what do ye think?

Pain in the arse for me this year as I can't move until I drop herself to school, so that's an hour wasted in my case.

If I wasn't on the clock, then happy days. Usually made no odds to me as I work to the job not the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

will be dark when I'm finished nights, and dark when I get up!! have to take extra vitamins. sunlight is good for you apparently. the cows deserve an extra hour in bed in the morning, they worked hard for me all year in fairness

Speaking of the extra hour in bed, I remember getting that backwards in Spring. Was run a bit ragged and looking forward to the extra hour in bed, until I discovered I was to lose an hour in bed, wasn't much talk out of me that day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Dark going to work and dark coming home.....its gonna be epic alright :(

Reggie. wrote: »
    Dark going to work and dark coming home.....its gonna be epic alright :(

Good excuse to buy a new toy...... torch, I meant torch, or headlamp.

Can recommend Nitecore HC50 and Thrunite TN30 (but get the warm white LED for detail).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

He probably has lights on his car!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Pain in the arse for me this year as I can't move until I drop herself to school, so that's an hour wasted in my case.

If I wasn't on the clock, then happy days. Usually made no odds to me as I work to the job not the clock.

Do u work off the farm aswell con or are u dependent full time on the farm

Good excuse to buy a new toy...... torch, I meant torch, or headlamp.

Can recommend Nitecore HC50 and Thrunite TN30 (but get the warm white LED for detail).

State gives me them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Hate it !!
    Wish they left it alone, I would definitely prefer an hour more daylight in the evenings that early in the morning !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Finished up at half six this evening and was just about still day light, unfortunately that's the end of that! Pain when we have to bring cows across the road, will have to be done by five now. But we're lucky to have cows out still I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Hour extra daylight in the evenings is more productive IME, you can do a few things that aren't possible in the dark.
    Even to get the kids out for a while is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Doing the jobs before I go to work in the dark and again when I get home in the dark. Doing jobs by shed tractor and jeep light, yepee.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Hour extra daylight in the evenings is more productive IME, you can do a few things that aren't possible in the dark.
    Even to get the kids out for a while is good.

You'll have an hour less daylight in the evenings, not an hour more im afraid.

Was there talk of getting rid of the hour changeover for a few years on a trail basis

I've a picture now in my head of Reggie wearing a lit head torch driving home from work next Tuesday evening cursing the glare off the windscreen!!! :D:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Muckit wrote: »
    I've a picture now in my head of Reggie wearing a lit head torch driving home cursing the glare off the windscreen!!! :D:D

No windscreen in his tractor, it's one of the old ones.:p

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Muckit wrote: »
    He probably has lights on his car!! :D:D

He wouldn't have lights like that on his car :cool:
    sea12 wrote: »
    Do u work off the farm aswell con or are u dependent full time on the farm

100% farming, if not on my own, then helping the ould lad too.
    State gives me them ;)

*Something derogatory about Government jobs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

C0N0R wrote: »
    Finished up at half six this evening and was just about still day light, unfortunately that's the end of that! Pain when we have to bring cows across the road, will have to be done by five now. But we're lucky to have cows out still I guess!

Absolutely nothing wrong with been finished at 5 Conor,all cows back grazing by 5.30 here for last 2 weeks or so and I've the stove lit and house cleaned up before 6 when the 2 boss women come home(wife and daughter)hate working late unless it's neseccary think it's just a bad habit.much prefer to be up early and finished early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Doing the jobs before I go to work in the dark and again when I get home in the dark. Doing jobs by shed tractor and jeep light, yepee.

Sorry, don't make sense - there's pretty much the exact same amount of daylight tomorrow as today - so if it's dark earlier in the evening, then it's brighter earlier in the morning. Has to suit you one way or the other!!

You're in good company though - I read a piece by Nuala Carey who is supposed to do something with the weather in RTE in todays paper and she had the same convoluted thinking.!!

BarryD wrote: »
    Sorry, don't make sense - there's pretty much the exact same amount of daylight tomorrow as today - so if it's dark earlier in the evening, then it's brighter earlier in the morning. Has to suit you one way or the other!!

You're in good company though - I read a piece by Nuala Carey who is supposed to do something with the weather in RTE in todays paper and she had the same convoluted thinking.!!

Sorry for your troubles barry. But I was referring to the time of year more which is compounded by the short evening's. It's already dark still when I get to work. Now it will be dark when I get home aswell.

And no there won't be "the same exact daylight tomorrow as today.

I applaud your optimism tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Lads this lack of daylight is making you all grumpy

Miname wrote: »
    Lads this lack of daylight is making you all grumpy

Sure it's that time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Was there talk of getting rid of the hour changeover for a few years on a trail basis

They did for 3 years in the 60s, then went back again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Sure there would be cribbing about the lost daylight in the summer if the clocks didn't go back or forward.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I find the sunrise/sunset and daylight length times interesting.

There are several shortest days.
    The sun doesn't start to rise earlier until Jan 2nd.
    The sun starts setting later from Dec 18th.

326398.jpg

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Absolutely nothing wrong with been finished at 5 Conor,all cows back grazing by 5.30 here for last 2 weeks or so and I've the stove lit and house cleaned up before 6 when the 2 boss women come home(wife and daughter)hate working late unless it's neseccary think it's just a bad habit.much prefer to be up early and finished early

Oh I mean bringing in for milking at five! Cows all back in paddock for six and back in house for 6:30. I'll start at six tomorrow just to even out the time change a small bit but normally 6:30. Any earlier and it will be to dark to put cows across the road!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Hate it to be honest. It means herding cattle in the field with a flash lamp. Wasn't it brought in so that kids wouldn't be going to school in the dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

vicwatson wrote: »

Length of day light won't change just the time.

I love it as am morning not evening person. Love the mornings being brighter. I would like it to change back to summer time earlier say mid Feb as every hour of daylight needed them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

to your work on farm
    I milked through a few winters and kept the clock in the parlour to summer time all winter and worked by those hours, back in the house we had normal time. If you had no school runs it would be like summer time all year round :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

I love it as am morning not evening person. Love the mornings being brighter. I would like it to change back to summer time earlier say mid Feb as every hour of daylight needed them

+1 on the Feb bit, even 1st March would be a help and 2 weeks later in November also as mornings aren't too bad yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

thought it would be a bit brighter now tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

thought it would be a bit brighter now tbh

Fair point.
    Didn't seem to make that much difference this morning, but it will kill the evening.

Try pulling the curtains! :D

ah it's a dirty morning here so that had a lot to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Big sleep in here this morning tis great! Cows won't have much this evening, might take the evening off, head for the pub n leave them til early Monday morn on the way home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Kind of like it as one of my pet hates is bringing in the cows in the dark and I can kind of set up my day to do a few jobs in the dark in the evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

For those that have jobs and farm as well over next few weels hour lsot in evening is a nuisance. However in 3 week it make no difference as evening would have closed in anyway.

The real sting is in the spring They fail to reset the clocks until ;ast weekend in March. This is the equivlent of putting clocks back the 14 of September. Ideally clocks should be reset late February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

I wish they'd just leave changing the time alone. its a twice yearly upset to all of our routines. Maybe theres a hidden agenda, to keep us all compliant ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Woke at six old time and couldn't go back to sleep so headed out herding. Put in 15 of the first of the spring Calvers and had all finished with loads of time to spare . It's nice having the long evenings but it's also nice this time of year getting animals sorted and feeding , dark or not the days are what you make of them, there's plenty of wee jobs that can be done on every farm in sheds and even if you don't it's good to spend time with the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Made a big difference here this morning...... Feckin children jumping on the bed!! Didn't get the concept of a lie in .

foxylock wrote: »
    Made a big difference here this morning...... Feckin children jumping on the bed!! Didn't get the concept of a lie in .

Neither did the dog here. Howling to get out she was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Neither did the dog here. Howling to get out she was

yeah but you can kick the dog! The children....... Well....

foxylock wrote: »
    yeah but you can kick the dog! The children....... Well....

If no one sees ya :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Yeah, I'd be with you Frazzled and appreciate the bit of brightness earlier in the morning in winter.

Apart from which, 'wintertime' is our natural time. Midday is more or less just that with roughly equal amounts of daylight either side, with the sun being more or less due south. The 'more or less' bit has to do with us being west of Greenwich or 0 degrees longitude - takes 15-30 mins longer for the sun to reach us in the morning.

There was an interesting radio documentary on RTE a while back about different towns in Ireland in the 1800s I think, which all had local times. So you had Dungarvan time and Galway time and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

BarryD wrote: »
    Yeah, I'd be with you Frazzled and appreciate the bit of brightness earlier in the morning in winter.

Apart from which, 'wintertime' is our natural time. Midday is more or less just that with roughly equal amounts of daylight either side, with the sun being more or less due south. The 'more or less' bit has to do with us being west of Greenwich or 0 degrees longitude - takes 15-30 mins longer for the sun to reach us in the morning.

There was an interesting radio documentary on RTE a while back about different towns in Ireland in the 1800s I think, which all had local times. So you had Dungarvan time and Galway time and so on.

And each town train station had its own time east to west

Has a ring of Irish Water about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Remember my father telling me of a time when we had a different time to the North. There was a local politician who managed to go to two funerals both of which were set for 12 noon! Now that must have been a bit strange if you lived near the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

its a balls going to and coming from work in the dark!! were all wrecked here int he house, feels like its 10pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Feck it's been dark hours and not half nine yet !!

Long stretch of dark evenings ahead. :(

_Brian wrote: »
    Feck it's been dark hours and not half nine yet !!

Long stretch of dark evenings ahead. :(

Agreed. Pitch dark here at 1730hrs