Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Wouldn't mind playing Tipp. They have a lot of problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind playing Tipp. They have a lot of problems.

Just about to say the same thing! Liam Sheedy just said no one will like playing them. I thought I am not so sure about that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

What channel is it on?

SeaFields wrote: »
    What channel is it on?

Sky Sports Arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭The White Feather

SeaFields wrote: »
    What channel is it on?

Sky Sports Arena 408 or if you are like me on your computer!!

I might need a pint or six after watching this...

Paul Kerrigan is the biggest waste of space. How he is captain is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭munster87

Sky Sports Arena 408 or if you are like me on your computer!!

If you could be of assistance there!? Alot of pausing going on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Jesus I've all sky sports except arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

Is aidan o shea ever pulled for steps?

keano25 wrote: »
    Is aidan o shea ever pulled for steps?

The ref is giving nothing to either team tbf.

Gave us a black card there..

keano25 wrote: »

Well deserved. Deliberate body check. It was stupid from O Sullivan.

Aidan o shea can take a fella around the neck and yellow. Man can do no wrong

Ref.. Kerrigan.. Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Jesus I've all sky sports except arena

Have you tried Sky 474, I don't have it on 408.

Not good enough done have the scorers. Threw the game away.

Pride restored. At least they contended.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Peadar Healy has resigned as Cork Manager, they have been under achieving for the last three years. I'd like to see Conor Counihan or Billy Morgan although age might be against Billy to come back and put the pride back into Cork football.

Throughout the 2000's Cork were consistently the second best team in Ireland and were unlucky to meet a great Kerry team who ended many of their campaigns. Cork beat Tyrone in the 2000's an achievement Kerry could not do in the same years.

Is John Cleary not the obvious choice?

And after that, maybe, just maybe, try Jack O'Connor...though he's a long way from Cork and so rooted in South Kerry that he might not fancy the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭zetecescort

And after that, maybe, just maybe, try Jack O'Connor...though he's a long way from Cork and so rooted in South Kerry that he might not fancy the job.

nobody will fancy it as long as the footballers are treated as 2nd class citizens. this may change with the new gym facilities at PUC but I wouldn't hold my breath

Cleary might, if he gets the assurances about back room, selectors etc.

It could be a wonderful opportunity for any manager confident in their own abilities, massive pool of players, huge tradition, low expectations. Good league runs, Munster titles, maybe a run to the AI semi final...I've said it before, but a good manager should be able to do that just by picking players west of Clon.

As for the Kerryman internet stuff, if Cleary doesn't get it, Cork friend just reminded me of Tomas O'Se with his Nemo and UCC background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I was at the game today supporting the Kerry Juniors and cheering on Mayo (due to a Mayo OH).

I have to say I was gutted for some of the Cork lads out there who put their heart and soul into that game. The fitness let them down a bit at the end with cramps costing them some vital players- especially Powter. Those lads died on their feet for the Cork jersey today and ye should be ****ing proud of every last one of them, whether you give a **** about the footballers or not. They did the jersey proud.

These lads have been hounded in the media for their effort and their willingness to perform on the big day, but I hope they shut a few people up with that performance. Im happy that Mayo won for my own reasons but with the right guidance this Cork team has show it can mix it at the top level.

Its just unfortunate for ye that the management team isn't (or wasn't now I suppose) quite up the level needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

DDC1990 wrote: »
    I was at the game today supporting the Kerry Juniors and cheering on Mayo (due to a Mayo OH).

I have to say I was gutted for some of the Cork lads out there who put their heart and soul into that game. The fitness let them down a bit at the end with cramps costing them some vital players- especially Powter. Those lads died on their feet for the Cork jersey today and ye should be ****ing proud of every last one of them, whether you give a **** about the footballers or not. They did the jersey proud.

These lads have been hounded in the media for their effort and their willingness to perform on the big day, but I hope they shut a few people up with that performance. Im happy that Mayo won for my own reasons but with the right guidance this Cork team has show it can mix it at the top level.

Its just unfortunate for ye that the management team isn't (or wasn't now I suppose) quite up the level needed.

I said more or less the same to a few Cork lads in front of me after the game last night.

Everyone was on the bandwagon letting us know what they lacked for the last few weeks but last night they stood up a fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I'm glad to hear that some pride was restored in the jersey by some of the players yesterday but I tend to hate this kind of thinking - that they put in one good performance in Championship, lost and somehow that's enough, that will be accepted and go again next year, the year will be remembered by their last performance rather than the absolute shít that preceeded it. That is not good enough for Cork GAA tbqh and I'm glad to see Healy stand down immediately so that work can begin post haste to correct the issues with the team.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,940 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Very happy with the footballers performance. I did feel that we could push them and we really wouldn't have taken a whole lot more to beat that Mayo team. The pride in the jersey has most certainly been restored.
    Sad to see another manager go but it was definitely the right move.

As always with Cork, the rumour mill will start doing the rounds as to who will be the next manager. We honestly need the right man in charge, not the right county board man.
    Cleary would be my first choice, without a doubt. He should have got it the last time in my opinion but I doubt he will get it.
    Anyway, just arrived at Disneyland so better go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

It was announced on Friday that Jack O'Connor will be manager of the Kerry U20s for 2 years so he's clearly not an option.