Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maynooth Ring Road

• 15-10-2014 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭

Does anyone know what the latest plan is for the ring road?

Is it included as a condition in the building of the two new schools. I know its been in the works for longer than most have been alive!

Any links to where it actually runs from / to?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Does anyone know what the latest plan is for the ring road?

Is it included as a condition in the building of the two new schools. I know its been in the works for longer than most have been alive!

Any links to where it actually runs from / to?
    Last I heard is they'd run out of money to build it..., but I think the route would have been from Lidl round to Black Lion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Here's the route on the Maynooth LAP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It was also a condition of Moyglare Hall being built. I wouldn't be holding my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They're reliant on developers building it (as with the bits and pieces which are built running towards hoardings or in to fields...) so the reality of if is that it won't get built until that land is needed for housing.

The Celbridge-Straffan roads section is about 50% built and from memory the remaining section is to run through a small estate of large houses, which if Castlepark's sales are anything to go by would probably be quite popular. The Celbridge Road to Blacklion section is far longer and needs an expensive bridge so we're gonna be waiting.

The western section is pie in the sky, and the north-eastern arc runs through Meath so we'll be waiting for ever for it too. The bit that will eventually get built will still be a huge help in removing traffic from the Main Street and Straffan Road though.

The idea of the council building it themselves seems to have died sometime around the time I was born (I've found a drawing of the route from the Newsletter from before then, anyways!)

The Champion reports that 'very good progress' is being made on the Meath bit of this and seems to think it'll actually start soon - this is the Moyglare Hall to Blacklion arc. This won't relieve the town hugely but will provide a quicker way to the motorway for people in Moyglare Hall/Village/Manor anyway.

I'll see if I can dig up the status of the planning apps its connected to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

Youse can wait your turn. The athy bypass comes first - only waiting since 1973!!!!

VincePP wrote: »
    Youse can wait your turn. The athy bypass comes first - only waiting since 1973!!!!

Ours is intended to be built entirely by private developers (which is why we're waiting about as long), your getting some exchequer funds :pac:

I think its the proposed Moygaddy Park business park - just over the county boundary - that is what is being expected to build this bit of the ringroad. Meath's planning site sucks compared to KCCs and that takes some doing!

Champion shows an indicative map of the Meath section, which will be going in with a planning application for a business park it seems.

If the college keep the north campus gate to the Moyglare Road open I could see this taking a fair bit of traffic off the Main Street but the Kildare sections are what are really needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

One problem lies with the Straffan to Rathcoffey section is funding, due to no development land there. Possibly changes if they move junction as I described elsewhere as NRA would fund it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mileycactus

L1011 wrote: »
    Champion shows an indicative map of the Meath section, which will be going in with a planning application for a business park it seems.

If the college keep the north campus gate to the Moyglare Road open I could see this taking a fair bit of traffic off the Main Street but the Kildare sections are what are really needed.
    any online link to that or is the champion only paper copy?

Champion is paper only bar a few, mostly Leixlip, stories on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Here's a picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

If the college keep the north campus gate to the Moyglare Road open I could see this taking a fair bit of traffic off the Main Street
    but the Kildare sections are what are really needed.

how so? there's already a road (Moygaddy Rd?) between the Moyglare Rd. and Dunbyone Rd.
    If people wanted to avoid the main street to get between Moyglare Rd. and Dunboyne Rd. then surely they're already using that? It's certainly what I and several other people I know already do....

Yes, but, when two secondary schools fo there, it will clog up beyond use while also being lethal.

how so? there's already a road (Moygaddy Rd?) between the Moyglare Rd. and Dunbyone Rd.
    If people wanted to avoid the main street to get between Moyglare Rd. and Dunboyne Rd. then surely they're already using that? It's certainly what I and several other people I know already do....

Its crap and quite far out. This will be shorter and not crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭shoehorn

Stealthirl wrote: »
    Here's a picture

What's the thinking on where the planned Gaelcholáiste will go? There seems to be a good chunk of land behind the Educate Together marked Educational/Community. There?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

shoehorn wrote: »
    What's the thinking on where the planned Gaelcholáiste will go? There seems to be a good chunk of land behind the Educate Together marked Educational/Community. There?

What planned Gaelcholáiste? There is none planned for Maynooth and won't be in the near future. There is an Aonad now in the MCC but that's all there will be for the foreseeable.

That chunk of land behind the ET school is now seeking PP for residential.

€14.5m funding for this, apparently

edit: http://www.labour.ie/emmetstagg/news/14907127842850372.html not much on news sites

Great. Something finally, hopefully a drip feed of other sections soon. Still waiting for the traffic management plan.

Leinster Leader has it.

Also James Lawless TD suggests Cairn Homes may fund part of Dunboyne to Moyglare. Check his facebook.

ixus wrote: »
    Leinster Leader has it.

Also James Lawless TD suggests Cairn Homes may fund part of Dunboyne to Moyglare. Check his facebook.

There is a plan for an inner arc on that segment that i think Cairn will need to build to make full use of their land bank. The ring road is far too far out

Yeah, i knew that. Read his piece incorrectly......assumed he meant the OOR..... on second reading it's not so clear if he means the OOR or from carton square to Satchwell's...

Lawless:

Good news on roads today as €21 million released for Naas & Maynooth ring roads and Sallins Community Facilities. This will allow the Naas ring road to finally complete, comprising that section from the Blessington road out to the ball. Maynooth will also now see progress on the ring road, that part from the Leixlip road behind Parklands back onto the Celbridge road. I am also dealing with Cairn Homes on the construction of another section of the Maynooth ring road from 'old Dunboyne road' to Moyglare. The funding also includes the million euro acquisition of land bank in Sallins for community and playing fields and is very welcome and was a long time in the making.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

So from reading the statements it won't be the full ring road

Leixlip and Cellbridge roads linked

Moyglare to Dunboyne road (prob at the existing roundabout)

Again I'll believe it when I see it finished. Some many new homes have gone in close to the original proposed route. Meaning anyone there can object to it and hold it up.

All land beside the N4 and most parts of it is zoned agricultural. Prices of which have gone up a **** load in the last 5 years.

Can see it being a shambles.

Council is likely hoping that the NTA or whatever acronym decides to build new interchange and shift its location further West along with funding that section of ring road to college. Could be argued you wouldn't need the Laraghbryan to Moyglare section.

Moyglare Hall to Dunboyne will be completed one way or another. It is just too dangerous to have the schools and that traffic at Moyglare Hall current entrance.

lordgoat wrote: »
    Again I'll believe it when I see it finished. Some many new homes have gone in close to the original proposed route. Meaning anyone there can object to it and hold it up.

The entire route from the Straffan Road to Dublin Road has planning permission. Some is extremely close to expiring; but its not as if this is a new proposal

The Dunboyne to Moylgare Roads bit is completely urelated to this. The plan for that arm of the actual ring road is that it will go from over the county boundary to Moyglare Hall and that is still on track with Meath County Council and also has planning (http://idocswebdpss.meathcoco.ie/iDocsWebDPSS/listFiles.aspx?catalog=planning&id=P816003). Its just another newsbite that Lawless threw in which shows he has fairly poor knowledge of Maynooth.

Land right beside the N4 can't have houses built on it anyway, as there's rules about that. The property line of Straffan Wood/Hayfield shows you what has to be left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭shoehorn

I've heard the current post primary building may house the new gaelcholáiste, once the new education campus is built.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I've heard the current post primary building may house the new gaelcholáiste, once the new education campus is built.

A 3rd school on the same campus, I suppose it could make sense.

Moonbeam wrote: »
    A 3rd school on the same campus, I suppose it could make sense.

It wouldn't be on the same campus - the two current schools would be on the new campus and the Gaelcholaiste in the old one (likely demolishing the 1971 buildings as they're in rotten condition and the site would be vastly too big)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

sorry, read it wrong.
    I am still angry about the 2 secondary schools.
    I thought the old building would get torn down and something else build on the land.

They're talking about it opening in 2019 and it being on the same site where MPPS/MCC are now. Seeing as that building needs to be rebuilt as it's no longer fit for purpose and the new buildings won't be completed until May 2019 I can't see that happening unless they utilise the existing buildings. There's no way they'd get a new building ready in 3 months for September opening.

http://kildare.ie/CountyCouncil/RoadsandTransportation/TrafficManagementPlans/Main%20Report%20-%20Feasibility%20Study%20and%20Assessments%20Report.pdf

Anyone else read this? It's long and detailed and some of the recommendations for the ring road include.... signalled junctions at the M4 interchange... that's right folks even more traffic lights

that's exactly what we need - more f*cking traffic lights.

and shared pedestrian/cycle path. When are they going to realise that these are unsafe for both cyclists and pedestrians which is why cyclists will ignore them and stay on the road. The ones from Maxol to the 67 terminus are the way they should be - segregated from both path and road. I use those ones - ignore the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

posted in the Maynoth Past - Present - Future facebook group:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/maynoothpastpresentfutrue/permalink/2086366274723871/
    Informative detailed Transport communication from
    Cllr John McGinley

The following is an update on the proposed Maynooth ring roads, and other road projects, that I got from the Council’s Director of Services today:

“Maynooth Northern Orbital Route

This section will link the Moyglare Road with the Dunboyne Road.

The Rathoath MD members approved the Part 8 for this section of the Outer Orbital Route, however subsequently a Judicial Review of this decision was lodged in the Courts. No date set yet for the hearing.

Representatives for the owners/developers of the land on the Meath side of the boundary have always maintained that they will build the entire section from the Moyglare Road to the Dunboyne Road if the Judicial Review is heard in Court and the Part 8 planning approval is not overturned.

Mycette Homes have already lodged their contribution to the cost of the Kildare section of this route with KCC.

Maynooth Eastern Orbital Route and Bridge (Section 1)

This section will link the Leixlip Road with the Celbridge Road and includes a bridge crossing the Royal Canal and the rail line.

The Minister for Housing Planning and Local Government has informed us that he is agreeable to signing a funding agreement with KCC under the Local Infrastructure Housing Activation Fund, (LIHAF). I am awaiting receipt of the funding agreement.

This will be a difficult project to deliver in parallel with a review of the Maynooth LAP, within the timeframe set by the Minister i.e. that the 800 residential units which are a central condition of the funding must be completed by the end of 2021.

Maynooth Eastern Orbital Route and Bridge (Section 2)

This section will link the Celbridge Road with the Straffan Road.

The owner/developer of the lands which contain this link received planning approval for a residential development including the road earlier this year.

However it is my understanding that the owner/developer intends seeking planning approval for a revised layout on site and therefore the timeframe for delivery of the road is unclear at this time.

Maynooth South Western Orbital Route and Bridge

This section links the Straffan Road with the Kilcock Road and includes a bridge over the Royal Canal and rail line.

No funds have been identified for this section of the Outer Orbital Route.

Maynooth North Western Orbital Route

This section links the Kilcock Road with the Moyglare Road.

I have had discussions with a land owner/developer and a representative from St Patricks in regard to planning how this section of the Orbital Route could be delivered.

Agreement has been reached between the land owner/developer and St Patricks in regard to the crossing of lands owned by St. Patricks.

The review of the Maynooth LAP is now awaited.

Moyglare Road to Dunboyne Road Inner Relief Street

This street will form part of a planning application which is due to be lodged in the near future. A number of pre-planning meetings have taken place including a pre-planning meeting with An Bord Pleanala as this planning application will be submitted directly to An Bord Pleanala.

Second Interchange on the M4

Discussions between KCC and TII are at a very early stage in regard to the possibility of securing a second interchange on the M4.

Maynooth North South Corridor Project

Phase 4 which covers the section from the Traffic Lights at the Glenroyal Hotel through the Harbour Field and up to the Garda Station in Leinster Street commenced 6th November and is due to be completed in late February 2018.

Phase 6 which covers the section from the traffic lights on the Moyglare Road at the Kilcock Road junction out to the new school will commence detailed design within the next few weeks. The commencement of construction of Phase 6 is dependent on NTA funding.

Phase 5 which covers the section from the traffic lights on the Moyglare Road at the Kilcock Road junction to Mill Street is dependent on NTA funding.”

Regards,

John

Am I right in my understanding that nothing is actually happening on any sections of the ring road? Wow. All I see is more developers changing planning to squeeze in more houses...

Yeh. Whatever about Millerstown being on a flood plain, at least GarraReilly are building the link road from Maynooth side to Summerhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mileycactus

Am I right in my understanding that nothing is actually happening on any sections of the ring road? Wow. All I see is more developers changing planning to squeeze in more houses...

Shocking there was a big dance over 6 months ago about funding been allocated for the black lion to celbridge section and not a thing has happened. Money is there and there seems to be a paralysis to spend it! The traffic in the town is beyond a joke

Minister is willing to give the funding but he wants to see there will be actual gaffs there to support it. Like houses along the route. Last thing he wants is something that is thrown at him as a white elephant with no housing there and that could have been used elsewhere. Be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Sounds like the countryside around the town is going to be destroyed for the sake of more pollution. :rolleyes:

Minister is willing to give the funding but he wants to see there will be actual gaffs there to support it. Like houses along the route. Last thing he wants is something that is thrown at him as a white elephant with no housing there and that could have been used elsewhere. Be my guess.

I don't get that argument. There are loads of houses there already and lads of new estates (within last 5 years) on the route. It's like he's trying to fill in the gaps with houses and possibly levy the developers to contribute to he RR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Am i right in saying that the fields from Griffin Rath to Lidl will be built road on?

Yes. Planning approved with builder gone back for adjustments is my understanding.

Not aware they've gone back at all.

More critically importantly; the variation to the LAP required for KCC to draw down the state funding for the expensive and critical bit - the Celbridge Road to Dublin Road section - is going on public display on the 7th of May. Supportive comments may be required as its inevitable there'll be some loons against it despite it being planned since before I was born (and I'm not young, take a look at how long ago I registered here!) and utterly needed.

Not aware they've gone back at all.

More critically importantly; the variation to the LAP required for KCC to draw down the state funding for the expensive and critical bit - the Celbridge Road to Dublin Road section - is going on public display on the 7th of May. Supportive comments may be required as its inevitable there'll be some loons against it despite it being planned since before I was born (and I'm not young, take a look at how long ago I registered here!) and utterly needed.

Same for me. I can remember hearing talk of the RR for a very very long time.

It's odd though for me the critical part would be getting the north campus/moyglare to the motorway but via the kilcock road. I think if you could turn left immediately after off the motorway and go all the way around beaufield/meadowbrook/ newtown court etc it would bring the largest benefit...

On the Celbridge to Dublin RD bit am sure a councillor said to me the Minister was looking for evidence that area was going to be developed soon to have funding go ahead. I.e they didn't want to be ploughing money into infrastructure that wasn't supporting rapid development.

That was 6 months ago or so.

With that in mind. May need a proper objection to Cairns citing poor infrastructure and the impacts on town without that link. Get a bit of media attention.Timing fits.

On the Celbridge to Dublin RD bit am sure a councillor said to me the Minister was looking for evidence that area was going to be developed soon to have funding go ahead. I.e they didn't want to be ploughing money into infrastructure that wasn't supporting rapid development.

That was 6 months ago or so.

The funding is available once the land is zoned; it currently isn't. The rezoning is what is going on display in May

Think there's a meeting in the Glenroyal at 8 tomorrow about town planning.

There will be absolutely nothing at that meeting that hasn't already been discussed on here. And nothing will come from it either.