Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Putter refurbishment

• 14-10-2014 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭

I've seen a thread or two before about getting clubs refinished, but never any end results. So here's mine.

Bought a neglected version of my current putter (Scotty Studio Design 1). (Bought for £58 delivered on ebay and then sold headcover for £32, so £26 net for the putter)
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a74e0c300000038100CcuGjdozaOA
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a7561f200000038100CcuGjdozaOA

Sent it off to the UK. From the word go, I was receiving regular updates/photos of the work in progress

47a4ce34b3127cce98548a7761f000000038100CcuGjdozaOA
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a72e0c500000038100CcuGjdozaOA

And then finally the finished product

325266.jpg

There's a video of it here (and on the home page of his website)
    http://cf.cdn.vid.ly/i9u4g7/mp4.mp4?t=140935221554010217de4f4

The refurb cost £60 including postage to a uk address (I used Parcel Motel). Several other finishes available which are cheaper, such as oil can.

I think he did a great job and am really happy with the result.
    If anyone is interested, his name is Andy and his website is here http://golfclubrefurbs.vpweb.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

For £86 total price that is brilliant, love the finish and it looks like it just came out of the wrapper.
    Any chance of selling it for £87????? Profit for you !!!!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Do you have the 'before' photos?
    Nice bit of budgeting there, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

slave1 wrote: »
    Do you have the 'before' photos?
    Nice bit of budgeting there, well done.

Having difficulty getting multiple photos uploaded, keep overwriting the previous. "Before photos" there now I think, will try and get rest up

newport2 wrote: »
    Having difficulty getting multiple photos uploaded, keep overwriting the previous. "Before photos" there now I think, will try and get rest up

Finally sorted (I hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Finally sorted (I hope)

Savage job, hang that on your wall, almost to good to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Thanks Newport, every since this thread I've had my mind set on doing a similar project :)

So, I picked up a Scotty Studio 1.5 today for a bargain of €50 with headcover.
    Plenty of rust on it but it's already taking shape.

Photos of purchased condition:

Started off getting the rust away with some vinegar, a toothbrush and plenty of elbow grease.
    (I'll have to pop out tomorrow to replace her toothbrush :) )

Began to break a sweat and then had the bright idea of getting some WD40 from the shed along with a Brillo pad (not an actual Brillo pad, a softer version).

Very happy with results so far. Only about an hour of grafting and it's beginning to take shape.

Nice one Parlance, keep us posted on progress! What are you planning to do to it?

Cheers Newport, currently just stripping off all the rust and the old finish to leave it as clean as possible. I have it wrapped in a rag that has been soaked in vinegar at present. A bit of scrubbing afterwards and that should hopefully take off all the previous finish.

Next step then will be to remove the paint fill. I need to look into that a bit more, but a soak in white spirits or acetone nail polish remover should do the trick.

So by tomorrow I hope to have a fairly bare but clean looking putter head.

Will start to really think about the finish then.

What finish did they put on yours? Did they "blue gun" it?

Impatience got the better of me, had to have a look at how it was getting on.

Very happy with the results, the vinegar just lifted all the rust and previous coating. No elbow crease required. Probably wasted a bit of time yesterday, if I'd have know the results I would have just started off doing this.

Just those hard to reach places tucked in near the corners of the alignment line slot where you can still see the original finish

Nice, I like DIY jobs with photos like that, keep them coming :pac:

It might grind to a halt!
    I've a small IKEA table for our daughter to assemble, herself flipped when she spotting my messing with the putter. The table has been in the shed for 5 weeks!!!!! :):(

Got a hour free there so got the vinegar out again and removed all the previous coating.

Then moved onto removing the paint fill in the lettering. Dipped it in some aceton (nail polish remover) for half an hour and most of it just fell out. A quick scrub with the toothbrush got any remaining bits out.

I'll be giving it a little fine sanding and a final clean before applying the new coating (need to look into that a bit more) and then it's onto refilling (need to finalise my colour scheme :) )

PARlance wrote: »
    What finish did they put on yours? Did they "blue gun" it?

Black oxide was the finish.

Nice pics of yours, coming along nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭jod1983

Black oxide was the finish.

Nice pics of yours, coming along nicely!

Beautiful pics of your putter. I have the same one and contacted Andrew Saturday to cost mine. Could you answer a few questions for me?
    How long were you without it?
    How did parcel motel work, as its too big for the locker?

jod1983 wrote: »
    Beautiful pics of your putter. I have the same one and contacted Andrew Saturday to cost mine. Could you answer a few questions for me?
    How long were you without it?
    How did parcel motel work, as its too big for the locker?

Andrew was away on holidays when I sent it (he let me know this in advance), but once he was back he started on it and I received it within 2 weeks. I'd say let him know what you want done and he'll give you a turn-around time.

For my putter, Parcel Motel texted me when they got it telling me to collect it. They charged €7. You can collect oversize parcels anytime from 8am to 9pm Mon-Fri and 8am-2pm on Saturday from their depot in Finglas. Alternatively, I think they'll deliver to your door for a fee too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

It might grind to a halt!
    I've a small IKEA table for our daughter to assemble, herself flipped when she spotting my messing with the putter. The table has been in the shed for 5 weeks!!!!! :):(

Ha, see you got back to the putter later the same day. True golfer!

I've never managed to complete an ikea product so fast ;)

If you thought that was a sign of a true golfer... Then you'll love this!
    This is what I normally come home with whenever I'm dragged to IKEA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yes feck all use in the house and not in the bag :P

That is very true ;)
    Bag is stocked up with them now. However, I'm sure I'll manage to lose them without going near the bag.

Snap, we went to our first Ikea in Spain a few years back and I told my 3 little girls to grab some pencils for me, when we got back to the car they spilled a massive collection into the car, each one had got as much as you had in that photo and the missus and I picked some up also, I was too embarrassed to bring em back:p

That coating in black is cool looking.

What are you going to do - coat or keep as is Parlance ?

That coating in black is cool looking.

What are you going to do - coat or keep as is Parlance ?

I've got it cleaned (wd40) up a bit better than before now and I like the look of it now. Really like the look of it now tbh.
    Final photo for a while attached :)

But saying that, I'm probably going to go ahead and coat it. I can always get the vinegar out again if it goes wrong.
    I've researched the finish a bit and there's a process called "blue guning" (as far as I'm aware, it's the same as black oxide) that's fairly easy to apply. No heat required which might save me a few 3rd degree burns.

Newport2, is there a slight tint of blue in your finish?
    I don't know if my eyes are playing tricks but it looks like there's a hint of blue where the light catches it in your photo.
    That's my desired result if so.

I've seen a thread or two before about getting clubs refinished, but never any end results. So here's mine.

Bought a neglected version of my current putter (Scotty Studio Design 1). (Bought for £58 delivered on ebay and then sold headcover for £32, so £26 net for the putter)
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a74e0c300000038100CcuGjdozaOA
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a7561f200000038100CcuGjdozaOA

Sent it off to the UK. From the word go, I was receiving regular updates/photos of the work in progress

47a4ce34b3127cce98548a7761f000000038100CcuGjdozaOA
    47a4ce34b3127cce98548a72e0c500000038100CcuGjdozaOA

And then finally the finished product

325266.jpg

There's a video of it here (and on the home page of his website)
    http://cf.cdn.vid.ly/i9u4g7/mp4.mp4?t=140935221554010217de4f4

The refurb cost £60 including postage to a uk address (I used Parcel Motel). Several other finishes available which are cheaper, such as oil can.

I think he did a great job and am really happy with the result.
    If anyone is interested, his name is Andy and his website is here http://golfclubrefurbs.vpweb.co.uk/

Ok so,
    Following this post ive sent my putter to Andy.

From my first enquiry a fortnight ago to the moment i sent the club the communication has been brilliant.
    He described every finish he has done or can. Being me i was abit overwhelmed and decided to word what i was thinking it would look like finished and he understood and described it back in his language.

I now must learn how to post pics here to you all the progress...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

Senna wrote: »
    For £86 total price that is brilliant, love the finish and it looks like it just came out of the wrapper.
    Any chance of selling it for £87????? Profit for you !!!!!!

Great service was this putter a model you were particularly after?
    It's just £86 works out about €108 and I got my Scott cameron fastback 33" with the correct weights in Mitchell's Waterford for €125 which was a great price. I halpenny and mcguircks were dearer.
    You put in a lot of work too but super finish I have to say. Well done.

Ok so,
    Following this post ive sent my putter to Andy.

From my first enquiry a fortnight ago to the moment i sent the club the communication has been brilliant.
    He described every finish he has done or can. Being me i was abit overwhelmed and decided to word what i was thinking it would look like finished and he understood and described it back in his language.

I now must learn how to post pics here to you all the progress...

Looking forward to seeing it! (how sad am I? Have a thing about putters)

Here's 2 before pics.....

Here's 2 before pics...

During

During

Looking good!

What finish did you go for?

Looking good!

What finish did you go for?

Went for a black oxide as well but with a brushed face. Going for a red/white paint.

I got the face bead-blasted, think it's quite similar to the brushed effect.

Looking forward to seeing the end result when you post it.

I've got it cleaned (wd40) up a bit better than before now and I like the look of it now. Really like the look of it now tbh.
    Final photo for a while attached :)

But saying that, I'm probably going to go ahead and coat it. I can always get the vinegar out again if it goes wrong.
    I've researched the finish a bit and there's a process called "blue guning" (as far as I'm aware, it's the same as black oxide) that's fairly easy to apply. No heat required which might save me a few 3rd degree burns.

Newport2, is there a slight tint of blue in your finish?
    I don't know if my eyes are playing tricks but it looks like there's a hint of blue where the light catches it in your photo.
    That's my desired result if so.

Any update there?

There pictures of your putter up on Facebook, looks great!!

https://www.facebook.com/Golfclubrefurbs

Any update there?

Still have it as it was in the last few pics Slave, like the stripped down finish and probably a bit sceptical about putting a finish on it.

I'll probably leave it as is for another month or so.

Still have it as it was in the last few pics Slave, like the stripped down finish and probably a bit sceptical about putting a finish on it.

I'll probably leave it as is for another month or so.

Just a suggestion....

GLEEFS_Putter_Golf_Putter_Golf_Golf_Gift.jpg

There pictures of your putter up on Facebook, looks great!!

https://www.facebook.com/Golfclubrefurbs

Saw that, only got it back yesterday. Well impressed.

Grand Christmas pressie!!

I will post some more pics later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

I followed this thread with interest.

I have an old Ping Anser (Slazenger, not the Jack Nicklaus version unfortunately :-( ) and am mulling over whether to get it refurbished.

It has languished in the shed/car/spare bag for a number of years now and it could do with some TLC. His work looks great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SevesThreeIron

Just sent off an old Tel3 Scotty for a full 'back to new' job at the Scotty Cameron custom shop in US. Christ, it is not cheap. At all! Putter cost me 100. All in with the customisation - including my name engraved on face (I know, but feck it's a once in a lifetime thing to do) - it's costing around 250, taking total cost of putter to about EUR350.

For that, you get; brand new grip, shaft, shaft band, brand new paint job, Scotty head cover and, of course, customised paint job on head. You can make up your own mind whether it's worth it or not. It does look stunning at the end of it and it's brand new, one of a kind. Putter originally came out in '97 or so and has a terrylium face insert. Rolls beautifully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Saw that, only got it back yesterday. Well impressed.

Grand Christmas pressie!!

I will post some more pics later.

Any pics JOD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

fearruanua wrote: »
    Any pics JOD?

Same goes for Sevesthreeirons when he gets it

350 smackeroonies!!! You could get 3 years distance membership for that :-)

(If I had it, I would too,enjoy!)

I hear ya, it's a ball of money alright. Considering I actually quite like the putter I have already! Ah, it's more to put as part of a small but hopefully growing collection of Scottys. I may not even use it to be honest. I'd say it'll hang in my office.

Dumb question but how does one go about posting a picture? I presume it's handy enough.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Dumb question but how does one go about posting a picture? I presume it's handy enough.

handiest thing to do is attach it to a reply here and then i can embed it in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Is there any issue with the putter being conforming if you apply anything to the face of it?

None that I've heard of anyway. Certainly not if you go to any restoration outlet or to the manufacturer themselves. I suppose you could have an issue if you did something radical to the face of the putter.

fearruanua wrote: »
    Any pics JOD?

Will throw some up later? Forgot all about it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Are these Scotty Cameron putters actually really that special or is it more a sentimental thing?

Boskowski wrote: »
    Are these Scotty Cameron putters actually really that special or is it more a sentimental thing?

Just a matter of what you like really. Technically I'm not going to hole any more putts with it that any other decent putter. But I like them - easy on the eye - which is why I bought mine.

Boskowski wrote: »

Agree with above.

I admire some of the workmanship, but some of the designs on facebook are awful looking yolks , just refurbished. Taste and all that. Sanded, coated, some tacky painting.

As for Scotty Cameron , a piece of milled steel is milled steel. A blade is a blade , a ping is not far off by design, Odyessy putters are number 1 on tour.

So it is more of a hobby is what i'm picking up.

Maybe im speaking as a bad putter.

But have far more admiration for old car or steam engine refurb and preservation.

But we all have odd hobbies/ projects on the side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thanks dammit. :D

And here I was thinking I found a new golf item I can sink my money into.
    My problem is I love all my gear and haven't bought a thing in ages :(;)