Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you wash your bike

• 11-10-2014 9:04pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭

high level, how do you wash your bike.

Do you apply wd 40 to chain and back and front derailers before washing

do you then wash with hot and soapy water

then rinse, anybody use a power hose ?

Do you then apply wd 40 again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Never wd40 never ever!

Bit of degreaser first let it soak and give it a good scrub. Then give it a rinse. No power washer. Let it dry and line the chain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

bazermc wrote: »
    Never wd40 never ever!

Bit of degreaser first let it soak and give it a good scrub. Then give it a rinse. No power washer. Let it dry and line the chain.

so degreaser before a wash. Can you recommend any and where sold ?

What do you mean by line the chain -put some lubrication on is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

Power washer, wd40 on running gear, wash with soapy water, power washer, lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Remove wheels, damp cloth, wipe down thoroughly. Dry off with clean dry cloth. Degrease chain (usually GT85) wipe with a cloth, relube. Refit wheels. Done.

What product do I re lube with ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I use Halfords BikeHut dry lube for my good bike, BikeHut wet lube for my winter/wet weather bike.

so degreaser before a wash. Can you recommend any and where sold ?

What do you mean by line the chain -put some lubrication on is it ?

Ha, yes, lube not line. Damm phone.

Muc off do full range of what you need and can be bought online Halfords of any local bike shop.

Ha, yes, lube not line. Damm phone.

Muc off do full range of what you need and can be bought online Halfords of any local bike shop.

Ok but do you mean that when everything is done, I need to SPRAY the chain with some type of lubricant ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

Put bike in bike stand and use muc off on everything and then dry and lube moving parts and then spay the dry frame with furniture polish and wipe off with a cloth, (aldi furniture polish cheap and full of wax )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭funnyclub

Never wd40 never ever!

No WD40 really?
    http://youtu.be/QvzVRxlIUL0

Thanks for all the replies.

I should have said at the start, this is not for an expensive or a fancy bike :)

from what ive read, I think im going to go with this

- give the bike a light spray down with water to get big dirt off, loosen things up a bit
    - then apply degreaser to chain and and front and rear gears........spray on and leave it do its thing for a few minutes.
    - then use a sponge and wash bike FRAME with warm soapy water
    - Then use some kind of a brush to wash the gears etc with the same warm and soapy water
    - then rinse off the bike
    - leave the bike dry off, maybe give it a wipe down with a dry cloth
    - apply lubrication to the chain and front and rear gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Grand apart from the soapy water bit. Far as I know washing up liquid is full of salt which will corrode parts unless you ensure that it is thoroughly rinsed off after. I have never had a problem with just (very) hot water, with degreaser on the chain and cassette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

NBar wrote: »
    Put bike in bike stand and use muc off on everything and then dry and lube moving parts and then spay the dry frame with furniture polish and wipe off with a cloth, (aldi furniture polish cheap and full of wax )

Sounds like a good plan to me!! Is the furniture spray just to give a coat which helps repel grime from sticking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

funnyclub wrote: »

Surely WD40 getting on the rims (leaking off from the cassette) and breaks makes them not work, but he seems to know what he's at...

Actually I had a look at this muc off stuff and it seems to be excellent. had never heard of it before.
    I think I might go with this plan instead

- apply muc off to bike frame and front and back gears, chains, wheels etc........spray on and leave it do its thing for a few minutes.
    - Then use some kind of a brush to brush down all the parts.
    - then rinse off the bike
    - leave the bike dry off, maybe give it a wipe down with a dry cloth
    - apply lubrication to the chain and front and rear gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭outfox

Wet wipes are great for the frame, wheels and metal bits. They also get oil off your hands.

BenEadir wrote: »
    Sounds like a good plan to me!! Is the furniture spray just to give a coat which helps repel grime from sticking?

Yeah I have always used some type of wax/polish on my bikes after cleaning and makes future cleaning alot easier, started using the furniture polishes a few years back and have had no probs and it keeps the new look on your bike all year round, it doesn't cost much and nothing ventured nothing gained in my books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I tend to clean my bike regularly - maybe once every week or two which would be every 100 to 300km depending on how often I get out.

1. I mount the bike in the stand and degrease the chain, front derailleur and rear derailleur with a degreaser I got in the local hardware store. I use a chain cleaner that I got in LIDL.

2. I wet the bike with the garden hose. It's not high pressure as I have the hose set to a 'shower' setting but it wets the bike. Then I spray Muc-Off or a kitchen surface cleaner and let it stand for a few minutes. I do my best to remove the degreaser from the chain as I don't want any remaining degreaser to undermine the oil I'll apply at the end.

3. I remove both wheels and liberally apply degreaser to the cassette. I'll hose off the degreaser after a few minutes. I don't apply any cleaner to the rims as it usually results in a very loud brake squeal for the next 20km or so - especially if I use Muc-Off.

4. I clean the bike down with a clean cloth and give the chain a rub with a dry cloth to remove any excess water. I also wipe dry both derailleurs.

5. I refit both wheels and oil the chain one link at a time - I also apply a drop of oil to the moving parts of both derailleurs. Then I check for correct gear changing, braking and trueness of the wheels. I also examine the tyres for damage/wear.

6. Last but not least, I go for quick 1km test spin to make sure everything is OK.

It might sound like hard work but it takes me about 30/40 mins.

OCD maybe, but the bike is reliable and I'm a firm believer that prevention is better than cure. I'm too many years in the motor trade to turn a blind eye to maintenance.

EDIT: Every time I see a new paint scratch or stone chip I usually utter unrepeatable expletives.

EDIT 2: My old 1980s Raleigh Road Ace had a peg welded to the bottom of the drive side seat stay that you could hang the chain from when the rear wheel was removed - this kept tension on the RD. This was a great idea as it stopped the chain from rubbing/scratching the chain stay. Why don't newer bikes have this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

crosstownk wrote: »
    ... and oil the chain one link at a time ..
    I find that a drop on every 3rd link is sufficient (unless it's going to be excessively wet out with flooded roads etc.).
    crosstown wrote:
    OCD maybe...
    Not at all! :pac:

I remove the cassette and clean each individual sprocket. I also remove the chain and completely degrease each link it until it's silver again.

I find that a drop on every 3rd link is sufficient

I couldn't handle that. I need to know that each pin/roller is lubed up. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Wash?

Bike?

What?

I've had my bike… oh, gosh, let's see, around 1998? Should I wash it, you think?

As has been said in a few posts it is recommended to take the bike for a quick spin or work all the components while on a work stand so as to drive all the water out of everything and then lube the lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

and oil the chain one link at a time - I also apply a drop of oil to the moving parts of both derailleurs

What type of oil do you use?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,894 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i just urinate on mine every time i come in from a spin.
    it's not for no reason i've not had to post to the stolen bikes thread.

What type of oil do you use?

I can't remember the name but it's a wet lube I bought in Eurocycles earlier this year.

I'll check the name when I get home and post it up.

I been using muc off products but have only been using the dry weather oil lately

Now here is another question........
    I now know how to wash my bike.

My next problem is that I live in an apartment block on the 5th floor, I have no access to a tap in a suitable location and there is no tap in the apartment complex. And before anybody starts mouthing, its nothing to do with water changes etc etc

Anybody aware of any bike cleaning facility or public tap to clean a bike in Dublin city / Dublin 3/ Dublin 4 ? ( I know strange question )

Now here is another question........
    I now know how to wash my bike.

My next problem is that I live in an apartment block on the 5th floor, I have no access to a tap in a suitable location and there is no tap in the apartment complex. And before anybody starts mouthing, its nothing to do with water changes etc etc

Anybody aware of any bike cleaning facility or public tap to clean a bike in Dublin city / Dublin 3/ Dublin 4 ? ( I know strange question )

I use to live in apartment myself with no outdoor tap. I stuck the bike in the bath and washed it from there - worked out well

ah herself would go cracked so that's not an option, plus its the babies bath too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

... I stuck the bike in the bath and washed it from there - worked out well
    ....and you're now single again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

I've done that in the past. Takes longer to wash the bath afterwards than the bike.

an updated one with questions and newly added stuff

- wet the bike with water (from official muc off instructions)
    - apply muc off to everywhere on the bike - frame, front and back gears, chains, wheels, brakes, just everywhere really........spray on and leave it do its thing for a few minutes.
    - Whist muc off is still doing its thing, use a brush to clean the bike
    - then rinse off the bike with water

At this stage should the bike just be simply left drip dry overnight and indoors ?
    OR
    Should it be wiped dry with a towel ?
    OR
    Should it be taken for a 5 minute spin to drive all the water out and then dry with a towel ?

I presume the bike should be completely dry before starting the lubing process ?

- apply lubrication to the chain, front and rear gears, anywhere else ?

At this stage should the bike just be simply left drip dry overnight and indoors ?
    OR
    Should it be wiped dry with a towel ?
    OR
    Should it be taken for a 5 minute spin to drive all the water out and then dry with a towel ?

I presume the bike should be completely dry before starting the lubing process ?

- apply lubrication to the chain, front and rear gears, anywhere else ?

I dry the bike down with a dry cloth. If it's left to dry then the beads/streaks of water can leave stains and takes from the look of a clean bike.

I dry the chain with a cloth and leave it to continue to dry while I'm fitting the wheels & checking the tyres.

I only take the bike for a spin when I'm finished lubing the chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

AA4DA4B1B6BE4E2EAA7F315163D769E0-0000365274-0003681351-00800L-0820235DAF30464AAC74ED7BDF7DF919.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I dry the bike down with a dry cloth. If it's left to dry then the beads/streaks of water can leave stains and takes from the look of a clean bike.

I dry the chain with a cloth and leave it to continue to dry while I'm fitting the wheels & checking the tyres.

I only take the bike for a spin when I'm finished lubing the chain.

Thanks. so essentially after the rinse, |I need to dry the bike down with a cloth and then maybe leave it for 5 minutes or so, just to be sure.

and then after this, I start the lubing process - - apply lubrication to the chain, front and rear gears, anywhere else ?

And after lubing, should I run the chain through a towel to take off excess stuff ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Velotogo

Go to YouTube and search for "OPQS Tech & Training: How to Clean Your Bike". It's a vid uploaded by the Omega Pharma Quick Step pro cycling team and shows how their mechanics clean the team bikes.

....and you're now single again!

Yeah how did you know?

and then after this, I start the lubing process - - apply lubrication to the chain, front and rear gears, anywhere else ?

And after lubing, should I run the chain through a towel to take off excess stuff ?

If you are conservative with the lube then there should be no need to wipe off excess oil. I never oil the cassette - just the chain.

Every now and then I put grease/vaseline on the inner cables where they pass through outer cables. Moisture can get in and make the cable run stiff so it's no harm to ensure that they move smoothly. I had a problem a few weeks back where my rear brake wouldn't disengage fully because the inner cable was fouled by crap. If your cables are sufficiently fouled you will hear the grating if you listen carefully as you work the inner cable.

Oiling pivot points (sparingly) on the brakes can help but you need be sure that any lubricant is kept well clear of the braking surfaces for obvious reasons. If you have standard caliper brakes, a drop of oil where the spring moves is also a good idea but lubricating the braking mechanisms should be an infrequent procedure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Hani Kosti

Baby wipes (Tesco brand proven itself the best)!!!
    Seriously, using them for a year now, also degreaser (for derailleur) and coconut smelling polish (the two for €16 or so)
    Wet lube (we live in Ireland after all) when chain nice and clean, finishing with coconut thingie on the frame

In the shower with me like every other normal person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The lube needs to go IN the chain, and nowhere else. Getting lube on the outside of the chain (the plates) and the sprockets should be avoided as it just attracts muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

infrequently...

I was my bike with a rag on stick
    rag2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Velotogo wrote: »
    Go to YouTube and search for "OPQS Tech & Training: How to Clean Your Bike". It's a vid uploaded by the Omega Pharma Quick Step pro cycling team and shows how their mechanics clean the team bikes.

What is that little thing he inserts to hold the chain up?
    And where might one get one if one were so inclined?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

infrequently...

I'm with you, bro. I spend less time or effort washing myself, or my family than these lads spend washing their bikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

mathie wrote: »
    What is that little thing he inserts to hold the chain up?
    And where might one get one if one were so inclined?

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/morgan-blue-chain-keeper/?sku=5360381912

so for me to wash a bike FULLY , id be using muc bike cleaner to clean it and then rinsing and then lubricating the chain with oil.

My question is where does a degreaser come in to play ?

is degreaser a thing that's only used between washes to keep things kinda clean ? or something that's used after you have got teh bike very dirty

My question is where does a degreaser come in to play ?

is degreaser a thing that's only used between washes to keep things kinda clean ? or something that's used after you have got teh bike very dirty
    Degreaser is used to remove gunk and crap that is attracted to oil so the chain and other parts are completely clean and ready for fresh lube.