Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I wonder would it be possible to do this kind of mad saving?

• 01-10-2014 5:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭

My wage is pure sh1t. It is 240 euro a week. So it is pretty sh1te. I. Find it just melts away so easy on bills and other bits.

3 weeks ago, I became an Aunt and I love the new baby. The baby is the first on our side, so I am a first time Aunt. The baby was born in Australia to my brother and his girlfriend.

I would like to visit and I have been invited over there for springtime.

I knew this baby was on the way for a few months and all I managed to save was 400 quid which actually disappeared very quickly on a night away to Dublin and a baby gift.

At a guess I'm going to need 800 or 900 for a plane ticket. About 2500 spending money for 3 weeks. Accommodation is sorted.

Would it be possible to save 150 euro a week?

My diet is poor muck. It is mainly porridge for breakfast. Lunch is a can of red bull or lucozade. Dinner is crackers and cheese or poach egg on an oat cake.

If I was to but aside 25 euro a week on bills, 30 on food.

Two of my biggest expentitures is the smoking which I need to give up for this. Like no more. I have one cigarette at home and I hope to not buy anymore.

Another outgoing I have which is something I very much need is to go to a hotel or pub for lunch or dinner and have one proper meal a week where I don't rush it.

I'd need to give this up.

Would this mad saving be possible? Would it be doable? Say for example if I was to pick 3 weeks in October to save, and 3 in November and give myself a break for one week each and for december.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

The big expense you are leaving out is the cost of your rent/mortgage ...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How the hell do you live on that diet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Why is your lunch Red Bull?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

It is very possible if you put your mind to it. Fruit is a good example. You can get 18 pieces of fruit in supervalue at the moment for €2.
    Cut out the smokes and the redbull/lucozade. Generally healthy food is better than junk.
    Best advice is to try it for a week and see how you are fixed at the end of it. It does not need to be a miserable experience and you have a great carrot at the end of it.
    There is a frugalist forum on here....check out these lads! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1530

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

Also how on earth would you need €2,500 spending money for three weeks, if you don't need to pay for accommodation? That is mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

personal issues forum?
    ____

best way to do it, is to set up a direct debit to an account you don't have easy access to, that way if you don't have, you can't spend it.

and quitting the fags would be a major income boost, like for reals, stick up pictures of the new baby around where you can see them, to remind you why you're quitting. Do you really need over 2grand for spending money though? O_O .. That's quite alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Lottery tickets. And lots of 'em!

It's your only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think it's doable, good luck with it. Like you mentioned giving up the smokes will save a nice bit considering how expensive they are.

Also you can eat well quite inexpensively if you shop smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

Credit union loan?

That's what I would do. What you are talking about doing is just nuts!

Giving up the fags is a must though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If you cut back any more, you'll keel over, either from hunger or Boredom. Is there no way of boosting your income?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you cut back any more, you'll keel over, either from hunger or Boredom. Is there no way of boosting your income?

What are you implying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You should be able to feed yourself much better than you are on €30 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Can definitely be done op. You just need to shop smarter I'd say. And not be too fussy about your meals :) great motivation to give up cigs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

http://agirlcalledjack.com/category/recipes-food/ The woman who writes this blog came to prominence because of her low-cost recipes. Apparently she had to feed herself and her son on a really low budget.

You must have the physique of a stick insect if that's what you're living on. Can you not cook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

kneemos wrote: »
    What are you implying?

No idea?:confused: What was I implying? Elucidate.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

My butcher sells a bag of meat for a tenner. That includes steaks and chicken breasts and pork chops. Would nearly get a week out of that if its just yourself.
    Failing that, I think ALDI do about 10 chicken breasts for a tenner, or something like that.

For a week, you could live off a dozen eggs (scrambled for breakfast/Omelette for lunch/dinner), the fruit mentioned earlier, get some cheap veg somewhere like ALDI and then get a bag of meat in the butchers (see if there's any special deals on).

So ye, it can be done, but it won't be pretty.

Look out of cheap nutritious stuff like tins of chickpeas (69c) in Aldi. Mix them with a main, for dinner.

Or go the student route. Cheap noodles, or pasta with a bitta sauce on top.

I'd price the flights first though, so you know exactly how much money you'll need. Doubt you'll need $2500 spending money for 3 weeks. I went through 3500 in 2 months over there, and that was paying accommodation and petrol and goin mad with the drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The baby was born in Australia to my brother and his girlfriend.

I would like to visit and I have been invited over there for springtime.

My diet is poor muck. It is mainly porridge for breakfast. Lunch is a can of red bull or lucozade.

You are a Lonesome Dove, and you drink red bull, so why the fuck can you not just use your wings and fly over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

It might be doable but doesn't sound healthy. Can you look for a new job or a new position with more pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

hmmm wrote: »
    It might be doable but doesn't sound healthy. Can you look for a new job or a new position with more pay?

Seeing as she's surviving on a p*ss poor diet as it is, things couldn't possibly get any worse. Or could they? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Hi OP

You could certainly shop more frugally.

Bags of pasta (4 huge portions) are 49cents in Lidl
    They frequently do some veg for 5c a bag

You could eat better and cheaper.

Give up the smokes - its doable ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

It's certainly mad, I'll give you that.

Back on topic, I'm saving a sh!tload more since swapping smokes for an e-cig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Aubrey loves Joe

I think you are going to put way too much pressure on yourself by trying this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

I bought a pack of fags on Sunday and just smoked the last one of the pack an hour ago. And I didn't buy another box today. I swear to god, no more. I need to save so bad.

Thanks for the replies and encouragement.

The_B_Man wrote: »
    My butcher sells a bag of meat for a tenner. That includes steaks and chicken breasts and pork chops. Would nearly get a week out of that if its just yourself.
    Failing that, I think ALDI do about 10 chicken breasts for a tenner, or something like that.

For a week, you could live off a dozen eggs (scrambled for breakfast/Omelette for lunch/dinner), the fruit mentioned earlier, get some cheap veg somewhere like ALDI and then get a bag of meat in the butchers (see if there's any special deals on).

So ye, it can be done, but it won't be pretty.

Look out of cheap nutritious stuff like tins of chickpeas (69c) in Aldi. Mix them with a main, for dinner.

Or go the student route. Cheap noodles, or pasta with a bitta sauce on top.

I'd price the flights first though, so you know exactly how much money you'll need. Doubt you'll need $2500 spending money for 3 weeks. I went through 3500 in 2 months over there, and that was paying accommodation and petrol and goin mad with the drink.

Thanks for your reply and your spending money figure for 2 months. I'll cut down my spending budget to about 1500 or thereabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The smokes are where you're gonna get the money back OP. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

My diet is poor muck. It is mainly porridge for breakfast. Lunch is a can of red bull or lucozade. Dinner is crackers and cheese or poach egg on an oat cake.

Porridge is a good breakfast. You could make it healthier by adding raisins or bananas. A 375g bag of raisins cost 89c in Dunnes and bananas are extremely cheap.

I bought a pineapple today for 2 euro, cut it up into chunks in 5 mins. It's my lunch for the next four days. A lot cheaper than your energy drink and it has enough (low gi) sugar to satisfy any craving. Gives a nice little pick me up. If you insist on having a can/bottle make sure you buy a multipack of them, you'd save loads. (you must be spending almost a tenner a week on red bul if you buy single cans in the shopl!!):eek:

Crackers can be fairly expensive. How much do you currently spend a week on food? You don't mention meat so I'm wondering if your vegetarian?

A 400g tin of kidney beans cost 23c in Lidl and that's two big portions. 50c for a bag of pasta and 2 tins of kidney beans (protein) will last you 5-7 days for just over a euro. Sauce is cheap to buy too.

Meat is cheaper from the butchers in general, mince beef and chicken are very versatile. I made 3 days worth of chilli con carne for only 4 euro this week (although I had the spices already) but on the third day I made burritos out of the leftovers by adding some cheese & putting it in wraps, cos eating the same thing for 3 days is boring. Easy to heat up though.

Tommoro I'm going to have chicken w/ peanut sauce (2 TB peanut butter, 2 TB juice from my pineapple, 1 TB sweet chill sauce and 1 ts soy sauce, all mixed with some water until I get the consistency I like). All those ingredients are staples in my kitchen but you could leave out the sweet chilli sauce if you don't have it. Just add veg & rice.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

I'd do a credit union loan if I were you - you can pay them back at like a tenner a week once you already have some savings in there (if you saved 400, you can borrow three times that amount) I did it for college and paid back 5,000 over two years at a pretty reasonable rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Super-Rush wrote: »
    You should be able to feed yourself much better than you are on €30 a week.
    I was thinking the same, plenty healthy food for €30/week for one person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Red bull at about 2 euro a pop you could save over a tenor a week if you got rid of that expensive mouthful and a half of sugar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Red bull at about 2 euro a pop you could save over a tenor a week if you got rid of that expensive mouthful and a half of sugar

Yeah, I mean, most tenors look like they eat a lot.

So I smoked what I hope was my last cigarette on Wednesday night at about 9.

I usually like having a cigarette with a cup of tea in the mornings but I didn't yesterday. I got on great for the day. I don't smoke at work but yesterday I was wishing I had a pack at home for after work such was the day I was having. I got home after 9 wishing to fùck I had something to smoke. I was so fùçked with tiredness I fell into bed before 10.

I got up this morning. Didn't miss my morning cigarette but I am wishing for something to smoke for tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I shall also not smoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I do what I call "Super Saving" every now and again. I invented it when I was in college and needed to save some cash (around a grand). I was only earning around €250 a week and had expenses like rent, food, bills etc...

Basically, I sat down and wrote out all the things I spend money on. Dublin Bus tickets, phone credit, chewing gum, clothes, drink, food, Netflix etc....

No matter how big or small, write it down. Then just start crossing things out until you meet your target. Actually, cross everything out.

For three months I walked the hour and a half to college and back (3 hours a day!), only topped up 5 euro credit a month, limited myself to 3 moderate meals a day (cheap healthy food like rice, bulk bought chicken, kidney beans etc...), no buying lunchs/coffees etc...

My social life definitely took a hit. I didn't have a pint for months on end. But I found ways to hang out with friends that was free (museums are great).

There are positives too. I found myself listening to podcasts and audio books when I walked everywhere which is a great habit to get into. I also noticed that I never worried about money because I KNEW I had more coming in than going out, and a decent buffer that was growing in size should an emergency come along. Scraping out the bank account at the end of each week is no way to live. Money stress is the worst kind.

The first two weeks are the hardest. You're making all the sacrafices but seeing no return. By week three you'll look at your bank account and be shocked to see such a big number. After that, it becomes like a game. Not spending money becomes fun. Everytime I was tempted to buy a coffee or go for a pint I just thought about having to go to an ATM and ruin my savings streak.

When those three months were over the first sip of a pint was better than sex. :pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't understand how the hell you're spending 30 quid a week on food if all you buy is porridge, crackers, cheese, a few eggs and oatcakes.

Not to mention that you'd probably have been hospitalized with severe malnourishment if that's genuinely all you eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ressem

On less than that food budget.
    Steamed carrots or green beans, potatoes, an onion, beef stock cube

1/4 lb per serving (120g) minced / stewing beef alternated. Butcher might put it in serving bags of this size for you. Freeze them, and take out the night before use to thaw.

(mince cooked steamed or fried with some onion.)

(for stewing beef, Get a saucepan turned up to high with a drop of oil. When hot add the beef pieces and stir, sear and seal the beef outsides, add a cup of hot water with a stock cube and turn down the heat to low, leaving to simmer for an hour or more)

Use a staple that'll keep in the cupboard like rice / spaghetti / soup to mix it up a bit.

During the day tea with plenty of milk if you can get away with it in the workplace. Or if you can spare, a cup-a soup is cheaper than the lucozade.

On about the same and the weight remains stable over a few years.

Going below that tends to have negative effects on the head (headaches, disrupts sleep)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Also how on earth would you need €2,500 spending money for three weeks, if you don't need to pay for accommodation? That is mental!

you go through money in oz very quick. everything is very expensive. the oz dollar is weak at the moment so the exchange rate is good. at the very least 1500 for three weeks would probably be enough to have some fun with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Not possible in that length of time.
    I had an interview fot a Job on that money and I'm not sure I can live day to day on it, never mind save for a holiday

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I do what I call "Super Saving" every now and again. I invented it when I was in college and needed to save some cash (around a grand). I was only earning around €250 a week and had expenses like rent, food, bills etc...

Basically, I sat down and wrote out all the things I spend money on. Dublin Bus tickets, phone credit, chewing gum, clothes, drink, food, Netflix etc....

No matter how big or small, write it down. Then just start crossing things out until you meet your target. Actually, cross everything out.

For three months I walked the hour and a half to college and back (3 hours a day!), only topped up 5 euro credit a month, limited myself to 3 moderate meals a day (cheap healthy food like rice, bulk bought chicken, kidney beans etc...), no buying lunchs/coffees etc...

My social life definitely took a hit. I didn't have a pint for months on end. But I found ways to hang out with friends that was free (museums are great).

There are positives too. I found myself listening to podcasts and audio books when I walked everywhere which is a great habit to get into. I also noticed that I never worried about money because I KNEW I had more coming in than going out, and a decent buffer that was growing in size should an emergency come along. Scraping out the bank account at the end of each week is no way to live. Money stress is the worst kind.

The first two weeks are the hardest. You're making all the sacrafices but seeing no return. By week three you'll look at your bank account and be shocked to see such a big number. After that, it becomes like a game. Not spending money becomes fun. Everytime I was tempted to buy a coffee or go for a pint I just thought about having to go to an ATM and ruin my savings streak.

When those three months were over the first sip of a pint was better than sex. :pac::D

Thanks for the super saving idea. I didn't go near my wage last week, so that's that saved and I made the wage from the week before stretch. I'll need to dip into my wage this week to pay some bills but here's hoping I'll be able to save a bit.

I'm not having a great time giving up smoking. I was hoping last Wednesday night cigarette was my last, but I caved on Friday night and bought a box but I made them stretch out to Monday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

While the saving idea is commendable I do think you should look into taking out a CU loan. If you were to travel early next April that only gives you 6 months to save 3 grand or so. With Christmas in between now and then I just don’t see how that can be achieved on your wages, unless you are living at home and handing up no rent at the end of the week.

First of all sit down and look at flights, when could you go, what times, routes are cheaper and aim for these.

If 3k is still your figure, then look into borrowing say half of this, this would mean you still need to save €250 a month between now and then but that should be achievable without killing yourself and it will get the saving discipline going. It will also mean that when you return you have a lot less to pay back and allow you enjoy the holiday more without this hanging around your neck.

By the sounds of it the smokes are not a huge draw on your wages – 2 boxes a week is what? €20? It will certainly help to give them up but ask yourself where the other €220 is going? Sit down and write it out then cut out the optionals. Try get more value out of what you’re spending on food and you’ll save here.

Also de disciplined at Christmas, tell the family and friends you’re not doing gifts this year as you want to go see your sister and they’ll understand.

It certainly can be done but given your timeline and income I’d look at borrowing some of the cost and spreading it over a longer period as above.

Enjoy

Coat22 wrote: »
    While the saving idea is commendable I do think you should look into taking out a CU loan. If you were to travel early next April that only gives you 6 months to save 3 grand or so. With Christmas in between now and then I just don’t see how that can be achieved on your wages, unless you are living at home and handing up no rent at the end of the week.

First of all sit down and look at flights, when could you go, what times, routes are cheaper and aim for these.

If 3k is still your figure, then look into borrowing say half of this, this would mean you still need to save €250 a month between now and then but that should be achievable without killing yourself and it will get the saving discipline going. It will also mean that when you return you have a lot less to pay back and allow you enjoy the holiday more without this hanging around your neck.

By the sounds of it the smokes are not a huge draw on your wages – 2 boxes a week is what? €20? It will certainly help to give them up but ask yourself where the other €220 is going? Sit down and write it out then cut out the optionals. Try get more value out of what you’re spending on food and you’ll save here.

Also de disciplined at Christmas, tell the family and friends you’re not doing gifts this year as you want to go see your sister and they’ll understand.

It certainly can be done but given your timeline and income I’d look at borrowing some of the cost and spreading it over a longer period as above.

Enjoy

This is what I hope to do. Save half of what I will need around 1500 and borrow the same as in 1500. I have an account with the credit union but I haven't saved in ages and it's empty but I hope to go to the credit union some Saturday soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

You need to budget properly. This means actually adding up how much you spend on items, not just listing the items by name. Budgeting is about maths, not English; do the figures, they won't lie; then you'll know what's achievable and what's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

This is what I hope to do. Save half of what I will need around 1500 and borrow the same as in 1500. I have an account with the credit union but I haven't saved in ages and it's empty but I hope to go to the credit union some Saturday soon.

if you do somehow manage to save this money....why bother coming back...it is a miserable existence??
    Australia...you will surly find some work....esp since you have place to stay

*assuming you have no /commitments here

if you do somehow manage to save this money....why bother coming back...it is a miserable existence??
    Australia...you will surly find some work....esp since you have place to stay

*assuming you have no /commitments here

It's tempting but doubt it very much for a few reasons. I'm over the age for the working holiday visa. Cut off point is 31. Australia is doing a huge crack down on other visa's and I wouldn't be able to meet the criteria. The weather as well would be hard on me especially their summers. I find Irelands heatwave of summer 2014 and summer 2013 hard. I don't really like much sun or heat.

I have no commitments here except for my work. I'm a free woman aside from that. Work does rely on me a lot.

You gave me an idea. Working holiday visa for new Zealand is 35. I'm tempted while I'm over in that side of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's tempting but doubt it very much for a few reasons. I'm over the age for the working holiday visa. Cut off point is 31. Australia is doing a huge crack down on other visa's and I wouldn't be able to meet the criteria. The weather as well would be hard on me especially their summers. I find Irelands heatwave of summer 2014 and summer 2013 hard. I don't really like much sun or heat.

I have no commitments here except for my work. I'm a free woman aside from that. Work does rely on me a lot.

You gave me an idea. Working holiday visa for new Zealand is 35. I'm tempted while I'm over in that side of the world.

you might aswell sure...deosnt seem much to come back to....you only live once

esp if you have nothing tieing you here....you wont get any thanks/anyb health benefits for living the life you are when you get older

try the NZ forum for advise/job hunting websites before you head on over

I nearly have the price of a ticket saved up. I'm about 200 to 300 euro to go for a ticket.

I'm dreading Christmas coming up. Christmas is being kept low key within the family. No presents. House decorations and tree - we may or may not put up. I haven't done a grocery shop in months aside from the bare essentials but may do a small one at christmas. The Christmas food shop will be minimal. I'd be happy with just a pizza and Ice cream. I have plans made for new years eve that I want to cancel and just in. I don't want to do Christmas at all but I'd be happy with that and feel like I'm not missing out on anything. Unfortunately, I have a few people that I can't really cut out for present buying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Lunch is a can of red bull or lucozade.
    I bought a pineapple today for 2 euro, cut it up into chunks in 5 mins.

Not to be mean but why do you both eat so little for lunch? I'm a bit horrified tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Squeedily Spooch

Jesus Christ learn how to feed yourself, if you're in your 30's and can't manage more than porridge and an egg as meals that's pretty sad. You can get 10 chicken breasts for a tenner or so in most butchers, a bag of spuds for a few quid and some frozen mixed veg or a few fresh ones for a few more. Eating healthier than you are on a budget is not that hard. Red bull is more expensive than what you'd spend on at least one big proper meal a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

That is a terrible wage for someone your age. Can I ask why you have not moved on to something which pays a decent, even normal salary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I bought a pack of fags on Sunday and just smoked the last one of the pack an hour ago. And I didn't buy another box today. I swear to god, no more. I need to save so bad.

Thanks for the replies and encouragement.

Give up the red bull and fags asap. Save ya money and make sure your around to see you niece grow up!as regards the trip,don't worry about the spending money so much,they'll just be happy you're there plus its oz and you don't have to spend a lot of money if you don't want to.trips to the beach are free!best of luck by the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭duckcfc

Get a loan and while your at it, get a bigger one and start eating right. That diet is a disgrace and you'll be run down and sick if you keep that up.