Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slow drivers.....¬!

• 01-10-2014 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭

So, I was back at the folk last week and a good time was had, but not out driving. Its really a awful experience driving in Ireland with muppets holding up so many cars, this would be in or around Munster. Is is the same in other regions?

I am talking of people doing 50mph or less on roads, the worst drivers are the ones who are constantly doing a crap speed and totally oblivious to the huge tail of traffic they have in their rear view mirror. They should at least pull in and let others out.

christ.!,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

h2B4C8C9D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

I agree. The standard of driving in this country is very bad.
    There should be a refresher style driving test every five years.
    The other major problem is drivers pulling out of side roads onto 100km roads and crawling along causing drivers to have to brake or overtake.
    If you cannot match the speed of the road and traffic then dont drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i was driving out of the tesco car park the other day behind a yaris.

driving through the carpark with no acceleration whatsoever !

onto the roundabout onto the main road, while on the roundabout the yaris stops right in front of me and lets the other car coming towards go ahead !

off the roundabout and onto the 80KM/h road and the muppet is doing about 40.

i overtake and away i go but ofcouse i get beeped and flashed for being a dick ?

i hate idiots !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

i was driving out of the tesco car park the other day behind a yaris.

driving through the carpark with no acceleration whatsoever !

onto the roundabout onto the main road, while on the roundabout the yaris stops right in front of me and lets the other car coming towards go ahead !

off the roundabout and onto the 80KM/h road and the muppet is doing about 40.

i overtake and away i go but ofcouse i get beeped and flashed for being a dick ?

i hate idiots !

Yaris drivers are actually the worst! Never go past 40 either, ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

It is the car immediately behind the slow car is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I hate slow drivers as well. I hate if you get passed one and then further up the road you meet another pile of cars held up by another slow driver. And they think they are great drivers, no indicator turning off or pulling in some where, braking going into a corner dispite the fact they are not even driving fast. (NO NEED TO BRAKE IF YOUR NOT GOING FAST)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

50 mph is quite fast enough for some drivers.However they should have the cop on to see the q behind and pull over and let people by. I agree it's often the second person in q the bigger problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

It's the people behind who don't overtake or leave sufficient space between them and the car(s) in front for people behind to overtake that are the problem. Not the initial car going at a speed that suits them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

Hachiko wrote: »
    So, I was back at the folk last week and a good time was had, but not out driving. Its really a awful experience driving in Ireland with muppets holding up so many cars, this would be in or around Munster. Is is the same in other regions?

I am talking of people doing 50mph or less on roads, the worst drivers are the ones who are constantly doing a crap speed and totally oblivious to the huge tail of traffic they have in their rear view mirror. They should at least pull in and let others out.

christ.!,

50Mph is roughly 80KPH. Outside of a motorway that's as fast as some people are able to drive given their ability and the car they are in.

Fuh Q wrote: »
    I agree. The standard of driving in this country is very bad.
    There should be a refresher style driving test every five years.
    The other major problem is drivers pulling out of side roads onto 100km roads and crawling along causing drivers to have to brake or overtake.
    If you cannot match the speed of the road and traffic then dont drive.

Most people who think they'd pass a driving test wouldn't. Granted there is a progress element to any driving test but the standard of hazard perception amongst many drivers is extremely poor.

It's up to the driver behind to operate their car safely, stay back and over take when safe to do so. Again outside of motorway driving, 80KPH is perfectly acceptable given the competence of the driver and the conditions.

What's of a bigger concern as far as I'm concerned is dozy pricks not concentrating on driving holding up traffic at lights, not indicating so as to allow people to plan maneuvers and generally concentrating on other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Ah here. Took a Yaris all the way to 100mph once. Just about made it back :pac:

ironclaw wrote: »

I topped mine out at 160km/h, it was.........interesting :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hachiko wrote: »
    this would be in or around Munster. Is is the same in other regions?
    It's the same everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

My in laws have a yaris. They were away, so I had to take their dog to the vet. The yaris is used for that cos nobody stresses about dog hair in it. Anyway, on the way there, I overtook a fat, middle aged man in a jeep. This was fine because of the car I drive. Met him again when I was in the yaris. He was behind me while I waited to turn right onto the main road. Got lots of engine revving, beeping and light flashing while I waited for the steady stream of traffic to ease up. Anyway, he obviously thought he was going to be held up by the stupid woman in the tiny car. The yaris takes off like a bullet from a stop and I am an aggressive driver at the best of times. Saw him fade in the rear view mirror within a minute. Idiot. I always save my best beebs and engine revs for him.

Anyway, moral of the story is, yaris owners may be slow but not all drivers are slow. Important info for anyone planning to go over 70, it rattles unbelievably but it is easy to get to speed and fun on narrow, windy roads. :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

It used to be the old Micra mostly dawdling along at 40-60 k with some doddery aul' wan behind the wheel.
    I'm glad my commute is mostly motorway and during morning traffic it's mostly very well disciplined, people know what they're doing.
    It's only later, after 9 all the zombies wake up. And driving to Lahinch on a Sunday feels like this:

shaun_of_the_dead_1.jpg?itok=qnaLcgmV

And obligatory:

863903f2fa251f0867cddcb4beb41665_30356.jpg__thumb

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭roofer1988

Micra drivers are the worst. What is it wit people not pulling into hard shoulder it not illegal only on a dual carriage way or motorway not on a primary road. Stupid drivers should not be left near a road. Not so long ago everyone pulled into hard shoulder until some twat who has a state driver and not having a clue how to drive bought in a rule that everyone misunderstands and what is it about some people driving around wit their park lights on.You cant see them put on your dipped headlights it wont burn anymore petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Yarisbob

Not all Yaris drivers drive like that.. A vast majority perhaps .. but not all !

A Yaris will sit at 120k no sweat on the motorway so I dont know why people molycoddle and carbon them up... They wouldnt terrify you power wise in fairness but they are adequate

Todays challenge is to get the overheat light in the dash to come on and tell you youre being a naughty boy

Yarisbob wrote: »
    Not all Yaris drivers drive like that.. A vast majority perhaps .. but not all !

A Yaris will sit at 120k no sweat on the motorway so I dont know why people molycoddle and carbon them up... They wouldnt terrify you power wise in fairness but they are adequate

Todays challenge is to get the overheat light in the dash to come on and tell you youre being a naughty boy

Yeah it is adequate alright, I'm sure mine has lost a few horses in the meantime. That light only came up in once in my ownership last week when my brother took it out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I actually don't mind slow drivers if they're of the older generation. Eg. an elderly person who needs their car for getting out into the community, shops etc, who doesn't feel comfortable going 90/100km/h. I don't mind them going 50 or 60. If they are on an open road, then overtaking shouldn't be a problem. Both of us can continue on at our own paces.

Erm, no we can't, not if you're car 23 in the queue.
    Someone not capable of exceeding 60 km/h (for example whilst going down the wrong way on a motorway, as so often is the case with old dears), should not be driving.
    80 should be manageable for everyone, but 100 km/h should not be unobtainable for any driver, otherwise they're unfit to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Another I am the best driver get out of my way thread and if you don't drive a 1.8 litre car stay off the road :rolleyes:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Another I am the best driver get out of my way thread and if you don't drive a 1.8 litre car stay off the road :rolleyes:

It's not what you got, it's what you do with it. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

I am 71 and hate slow drivers, especially the one's that hold you up when there is a derestricted road ie 80/100kph and they don't slow down for the 50 kph so they get ahead of me, I then catch them again in the 80/100kph zone and get held up again

Erm, no we can't, not if you're car 23 in the queue.
    Someone not capable of exceeding 60 km/h (for example whilst going down the wrong way on a motorway, as so often is the case with old dears), should not be driving.
    80 should be manageable for everyone, but 100 km/h should not be unobtainable for any driver, otherwise they're unfit to drive.

Ya here I'm not on about motorways or dual carriageways, where you should be up on the speed limit, no exception, I'm talking about national/regional roads where 1 driver approaches a slow driver, you indicate, and overtake. Now, if there's a queue of 20 cars, then the slow driver should have the manners to pull in.

Most r roads aren't safe for overtaking never mind finding a place to pull in.

You're not going to get a queue of 20 cars on a regional road though. I travel on lots of r roads, and I generally never have an issue with overtaking/finding places to pull in (obviously not the little roads with the grass in the middle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The N4 after Mullingar is particularly bad for this. Locals 'only goin a few miles' won't exceed 70/80kph. Won't use the adequate hard shoulder and usually jam on in the driving lane to turn left or swan neck to get their imaginary trailer around the corner.

No point getting worked up about it tho. If I'm car 10 in the queue I've no hope of passing them.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Actually with the exception of the middle lane morons on the M50 I find this less of an issue than it used to be. It takes less effort to drive a car quickly now, new cars make previously high speeds feel pedestrian.
    However I find things like red light jumping getting worse than ever before.

You're not going to get a queue of 20 cars on a regional road though. I travel on lots of r roads, and I generally never have an issue with overtaking/finding places to pull in (obviously not the little roads with the grass in the middle)
    They are L roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

As one gets older one gets less freaked out by such things, and just go with the flow a bit more... Except for the days when I'm dead late and anyone doing less than 110 kph is a feckin granny slowing me down ...
    Seriously though most R roads, and L roads can't really handle 60 kph let alone anything else,

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Gasherbraun

I agree and think this is getting far worse and I do not understand why there are no cameras on key traffic lights to catch people at this? the technology can be retro fitted and I know in the UK it used to pay for itself very quickly via fines.

If traffic enforcement is really a cynical exercise in revenue raising then maybe raise some at the same time as stopping a dangerous suburban driving practice as opposed to just concentrating on speeding drivers on primary roads and motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Actually with the exception of the middle lane morons on the M50 I find this less of an issue than it used to be. It takes less effort to drive a car quickly now, new cars make previously high speeds feel pedestrian.

We don't have a Red, Amber, Green sequence here. The Green, Amber, Red one equates to a signal to many drivers to stamp on the accelerator to get through during that sequence, rather than a warning to brake and wait. That means that the drivers in the next stream of traffic sees their light go Red-Green and still have to wait up to five seconds to have a clear road on which to travel. The people further back in that queue see the green light and the light-breakers and feel justified in perpetuating the cycle.

Until the Gardai enforce traffic law the gob****es will rule the roads. Don't even get me started about drivers trying to queue-jump from the right-turning lane into the straight-on. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

It always amazes me that only exceptionally good and competant drivers (in their own opinion) feel it is their God given right to find fault with other less fortunate drivers and write about it on forums. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

You're not going to get a queue of 20 cars on a regional road though.
    Try the R755 from the N11 at Kilmacanogue through to Glendalough on a Sunday afternoon when the American tourists are out in force in their hire cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I agree and think this is getting far worse and I do not understand why there are no cameras on key traffic lights to catch people at this? the technology can be retro fitted and I know in the UK it used to pay for itself very quickly via fines.

If traffic enforcement is really a cynical exercise in revenue raising then maybe raise some at the same time as stopping a dangerous suburban driving practice as opposed to just concentrating on speeding drivers on primary roads and motorways.

I'd much prefer see them introduce the: red-> red & amber -> green, sequence that the UK has.

The amount of time lost because the first person at the lights has the handbrake on and car in neutral is crazy.

Caliden wrote: »
    I'd much prefer see them introduce the: red-> red & amber -> green, sequence that the UK has.

The amount of time lost because the first person at the lights has the handbrake on and car in neutral is crazy.
    Then the second or third car will leave a gap of 3 cars after the car in front of them :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Alun wrote: »
    Try the R755 from the N11 at Kilmacanogue through to Glendalough on a Sunday afternoon when the American tourists are out in force in their hire cars.

That road is actually one of the busiest in the country. Your talking millions of people per year. 20 cars, try 50 on a bad day!

That said, one of my favorite roads when its clear. Absolute straight with some lovely bumps :pac:

Riva10 wrote: »
    It always amazes me that only exceptionally good and competant drivers (in their own opinion) feel it is their God given right to find fault with other less fortunate drivers and write about it on forums. :eek::eek:

Well, put it this way. If a driver is capable of driving at 100 km/h without breaking a sweat whilst keeping to their lane, keeping a constant gap to the car in front, observe and anticipate and also (almost non-existent here) read the road ahead, one could argue that that is a competent driver. And I'm not just speaking for myself. This is pretty much uniformly the case on the way into work, everyone keeping with the flow of traffic.
    Except for asshat in his red 00 VW Caddy, who insists on driving on the motorway at 70-80 km/h, causing massive chaos in his wake.
    Once you drive in such a way that trucks and buses as well as some of the faster tractors are forced to overtake you, you shouldn't be on the road.
    This guy keeps to his speed no matter what, regardless of circumstances, doesn't give a blind bit of notice to the trail of cars behind him and doesn't strike me as someone who reacts to his surroundings in any way, i.e. if you stepped out in front of him, I wouldn't have any faith in him stopping.
    I can argue that that guy is a bad driver and he should either modify his behavior or get off the road.
    I only thank the FSM that there is a motorway and if he drove that way on a national road and I would have to put up with him every day and be stuck in a massive tailback, I would have been done for murder a long time ago.

And one more thing:
    Speaking of God given rights:
    The first thing the 60 km/h brigade should get out of their thick skulls, is that driving is not a God given right!
    You are allowed to drive as long as you fulfill certain criteria and behave in a certain manner.
    It is not "I Have A Right To Be On The Road!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Well, put it this way. If a driver is capable of driving at 100 km/h without breaking a sweat whilst keeping to their lane, keeping a constant gap to the car in front, observe and anticipate and also (almost non-existent here) read the road ahead, one could argue that that is a competent driver. And I'm not just speaking for myself. This is pretty much uniformly the case on the way into work, everyone keeping with the flow of traffic.
    Except for asshat in his red 00 VW Caddy, who insists on driving on the motorway at 70-80 km/h, causing massive chaos in his wake.
    Once you drive in such a way that trucks and buses as well as some of the faster tractors are forced to overtake you, you shouldn't be on the road.
    This guy keeps to his speed no matter what, regardless of circumstances, doesn't give a blind bit of notice to the trail of cars behind him and doesn't strike me as someone who reacts to his surroundings in any way, i.e. if you stepped out in front of him, I wouldn't have any faith in him stopping.
    I can argue that that guy is a bad driver and he should either modify his behavior or get off the road.
    I only thank the FSM that there is a motorway and if he drove that way on a national road and I would have to put up with him every day and be stuck in a massive tailback, I would have been done for murder a long time ago.

And one more thing:
    The first thing the 60 km/h brigade should get out of their thick skulls, is that driving is not a God given right!
    You are allowed to drive as long as you fulfill certain criteria and behave in a certain manner.
    It is not "I Have A Right To Be On The Road!"
    Does anyone use the overtaking lane on that motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

ironclaw wrote: »

Took a friend's Daewoo Matiz up to these speeds once. I finally figured out how Hikaru Sulu must have felt when he was ordered "maximum warp!". Never smelled such a strong burnt plastic/rubber scent before nor since.

This morning, 09.20am, South Link Road in Cork, tractor in the middle lane doing maybe 30 Km/h, mayhem around. Fun.

It's one of the most effective road rules enforcement systems, junctions are the single most dangerous spots on the roads (especially suburban and extra urban ones); It worked even in Naples and outskirts - nobody jumps a red light anymore there, day or night (~350 Euro fine!).
    However, after a while nobody jumps the lights anymore and the revenue goes to zero. Can you spot the problem?

Then the second or third car will leave a gap of 3 cars after the car in front of them :mad:

Exactly. I do not think a "red-red/amber-green" sequence will change anything; The slow drivers will still wait for the green to come up before even thinking about engaging first gear, and still wait until they have a 50 meters gap in front of them before starting if they're not the first car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Riva10 wrote: »

It's very easy to find faults with drivers in Ireland.
    You see it everyday, we all make mistakes.
    However, what I can't stand are the drivers who think sitting in the outside lane whilst overtaking sweet f all is acceptable whilst they hold others up or force them to undertake. I admit, I have had to undertake a few times.
    I had an argument once with a driver who just wouldn't move from the outside lane.
    I was coming into Galway, the M6, and I had a driver who was just stting there. Doing about 100/110. Popped the indicator on to show I want to go passed but got saluted with the finger.
    Flashed and still no movement. Arrived at the roundabout and the driver was giving it all he had to justify that he was entitled to stay in the fast lane even though he wasn't overtaking. Astonished.
    Or the other gob****es that just can't stand being overtaken.
    As Fuzzy said, it is not your God given right to drive. You have to earn it and you need to know discipline whilst on the road.
    Driving along at 60 in a 100 and refusing to move for traffic is just pure effing ignorance.

bear1 wrote: »
    It's very easy to find faults with drivers in Ireland.
    You see it everyday, we all make mistakes.
    However, what I can't stand are the drivers who think sitting in the outside lane whilst overtaking sweet f all is acceptable whilst they hold others up or force them to undertake. I admit, I have had to undertake a few times.
    Or the other gob****es that just can't stand being overtaken.
    As Fuzzy said, it is not your God given right to drive. You have to earn it and you need to know discipline whilst on the road.
    Driving along at 60 in a 100 and refusing to move for traffic is just pure effing ignorance.

Problem is that I found out how some of these drivers are in fact VERY aware of what they're doing and see themselves as some sort of vigilantes/enforcers. If you try to undertake them they will cut across, accelerate and even squeeze you to the left.

Unless the situation becomes unbelievably ridiculous, I try to refrain from undertaking as this kind of behaviour seems to be rampant, at least in the Cork area. And in their heads, they are "safe drivers" and working "against the lunatics". Go figure.

Does anyone use the overtaking lane on that motorway?

In heavy traffic this can be quiet amusing, especially if there's a tailback behind asshat, so people flying past him on the outside and people stuck behind him getting more and more desperate to get past, resulting in trucks pulling out, etc...
    Point remains, by the time trucks are forced to overtake a driver, that guy shouldn't be on a motorway.
    Thankfully he is not one of those self-appointed road warriors and tries to block everyone from overtaking, but it's still less than ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Gasherbraun

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    It's one of the most effective road rules enforcement systems, junctions are the single most dangerous spots on the roads (especially suburban and extra urban ones); It worked even in Naples and outskirts - nobody jumps a red light anymore there, day or night (~350 Euro fine!).
    However, after a while nobody jumps the lights anymore and the revenue goes to zero. Can you spot the problem?

But playing devil’s advocate it is about enforcement not revenue as the powers that be keep saying ;)

In reality restrictions on speed, jumping red lights, parking etc should be in the interest of safety first and foremost but obviously there is a huge element of revenue collection involved.

It is a fair point about the revenue stream drying up when no one offends any longer but at that point I would guess the capital cost of installing the camera’s would be covered and any residual fines still collected could go towards ongoing maintenance of the system. Obviously the big gain in this is that safety on traffic light controlled junctions would be greatly improved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

H3llR4iser wrote: »

Exactly. I do not think a "red-red/amber-green" sequence will change anything; The slow drivers will still wait for the green to come up before even thinking about engaging first gear, and still wait until they have a 50 meters gap in front of them before starting if they're not the first car.

What you're describing doesn't happen in England, what makes the Irish different?

Initially people would be slow to take off but would quickly learn when they start getting beeped at.

What you're describing doesn't happen in England, what makes the Irish different?

Initially people would be slow to take off but would quickly learn when they start getting beeped at.

Well, the traffic lights sequence in Italy is the same as Ireland (green-green/amber-red and then red-green directly), but people largely do not "fall asleep" at the lights, nor wait to have a prairie between them and the car in front before taking off.

There are a lot of factors involved in this difference: much heavier traffic that makes people more inclined to "seize the opportunity" to make some ground; Also, driving schools essentially stress out the importance of "getting out of the way" as a safety measure.

A light sequence system alone would not necessarily change the behaviour and habits of the drivers until a mentality change happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

bazz26 wrote: »
    h2B4C8C9D

Actually one of the reasons for traffic jams at rush hour is people driving too fast.

Hence why they have variable speed limits on the continent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

[QUOTE

And one more thing:
    It is not "I Have A Right To Be On The Road!"[/QUOTE]

The last time that I checked the rules of the road, No Minium speed limit was quoted for roads in the Republic of Ireland. and just because someone is in a hurry and wishes to drive at the maximum speed limit stipulated for a particular road, this is not a reason to find fault with drivers who do not wish to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

they are blocking the whole damn road, and they are idiots. They also most likely cause crashes due to others trying risque manoeuvres to pass said useless drivers out.

The last time that I checked the rules of the road, No Minium speed limit was quoted for roads in the Republic of Ireland. and just because someone is in a hurry and wishes to drive at the maximum speed limit stipulated for a particular road, this is not a reason to find fault with drivers who do not wish to do so.

Anyone not capable of driving at 100 km/h, shouldn't be on the road, because they are clearly not able to drive a car safely at any speed.
    Why does a driver drive at 60 k? Because he's clearly incapable to go faster, so has to be viewed as incompetent and unfit to be on the road.
    There may be a medical reason, or just never took a test and got their license from a cereal box.
    All the more reason to retest and do medical over 65.
    Driving slowly will fail you on your driving test, because we don't make up the speed limits, if a road is 100k, I can't decide to drive at 200, so deciding to drive at 40 k is just as unacceptable.
    It is the same for me, I am allowed to drive because I am qualified, insured and all that jazz and I drive within the rules and keep up with the flow of traffic. I don't decide to go 30-40 slower than anyone else, because I am not an asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Shout out to the one on the Blanchardstown bypass who went across three lanes of traffic without indicating, to keep me from passing him. Was foot to the floor and getting up to the limit while he was just barely managing sixty... then promptly rattled on up in the outside lane.

Some people just can't stand the idea of being passed, it seems.