Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford AC Half Dec 6th, 2014

• 29-09-2014 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

I am involved in the Waterford AC Half this year and didn't see a post about it so said I would pass on some details.

Following feedback from last year it has been moved back to the Saturday however to make this work and get approval from the relevant bodies it does start at the earlier time of 10am.

Along with a goodie bag and hat finishers will also receive a medal this year which is something we received a lot of requests for previously.

The route will be similar to last year however we do have to look at changing one small part to avoid one of the junctions for traffic management reasons. Once the new route has been signed off by the guards we will make it available for viewing on the site.

As with previous years there will be over €3000 in cash prizes, pacers, great spread of refreshments, chip timing, number posted to you, top class facilities and showers in the WIT Sports Campus Carriganore, AAI approved, and athletic club run event.

More info and registration is available on www.waterfordachalf.com

Last years thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057048254

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Loved this last year, good crowd & proved to be a good day out in fairness.
    First weeks training for this done and dusted :D...9 more to go :eek:

Mr.W~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Anyone know if this still finishes in the Stadium? I ran it a couple of years back and thought the stadium finish was great craic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭araic88

Im looking forward to this, did ten miles yesterday for the first time at the solas run & had said if I survived I'd aim for this! I've heard Good things about it and it seems well timed with the solas yesterday and winter league starting soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Duanington wrote: »
    Anyone know if this still finishes in the Stadium? I ran it a couple of years back and thought the stadium finish was great craic...

Nope. Finishes at wit carriganore sports complex. 12 changing rooms so plenty of showers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

Did this last year. It was great weather that weekend. A grand race, well organised with loads of stewards and the grub was top notch afterwards upstairs. Plenty of showers in carraignore and no problem with space to get changed. The bobbly hat was the business too!

I came down the country last year with the family and we made a weekend of it. The Winterval festival is on that weekend also and it was great craic and I'd recommend that too for those of you with families - make the weekend of it. We are going to do the same this year.

The route was grand taking us into country roads for most of it which was nice and airy. One complaint, was the state of the roads on in the middle of the race. However, overall, I'd recommend the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Whatsthisabout

@HuntingDrog this is one of the primary reasons to move back to a Saturday which hopefully makes it a more appealing day to those that want to make a weekend out of it.

Also the Viking Hotel Waterford is only 2k from the start/finish area if you are looking for accommodation.

The route for 2014 has been published. It is almost the same as last year but changes had to be made between miles 2 and 3 and miles 4 and 5 to accommodate traffic restrictions. We will be getting the route official measured and certified over the next couple of weeks.

Not too long left before registration closes.

www.waterfordachalf.com/race-info/route-info/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Anyone know when the closing date for this is? Want to wait and see how I feel after DCM before committing.

We are aiming to close registrations on November 12th so that will give you a couple of weeks after the DCM to ponder. As we post the race packs we need to close a bit earlier then normal collection on the day races to give us time to handle missing packs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I got my Email confirming registration for this. Good to see the organisers are very clear than headphones are banned in the race and wearers may be Dq'ed. Well done Waterford AC

menoscemo wrote: »
    I got my Email confirming registration for this. Good to see the organisers are very clear than headphones are banned in the race and wearers may be Dq'ed. Well done Waterford AC

I've often wondered about this one Meno - are headphones an issue because the race is out on the roads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Duanington wrote: »
    I've often wondered about this one Meno - are headphones an issue because the race is out on the roads?

That's probably the reason they are explicitly banned in this case, but to be honest I can't see any positive reason from a health and safetly point of view to allow headphones in any race. Having been a pacer in many the race, I have seen participants doing some stupid and ignorant things. 99% of the time the perpetrators have been wearing headphones.

From an organiser perspective feedback we regularly get from our stewards is that some people wearing headphones just don't hear instructions. On open roads this can be dangerous as you may have someone cross at the wrong point or miss warnings.
    As someone who wears headphones on the treadmill I personally feel not hearing/being aware of your surroundings is not always just down to the volume of the headphones but they just add to putting you more in "the zone" and help you switch off what is going on around you. Granted this is the very reason some people wear headphones but Road running is a place you need to be alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

Im in for this aswell, looking forward to my blaa already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Cona

Is there a closing date on this event? After Dublin, still not sure how I will recover and whether to go for this just yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭RegisteredMice

comment above says:
    "We are aiming to close registrations on November 12th" so two more weeks before taking the plunge!!
    We all know youre going to do it!

Im having a look at the route on the Waterford ac half website. It's tricky to see it closely on my phone though, I can't figure out which direction to follow the red line! Is there a written description/ different map anywhere? Thanks!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

araic88 wrote: »
    Im having a look at the route on the Waterford ac half website. It's tricky to see it closely on my phone though, I can't figure out which direction to follow the red line! Is there a written description/ different map anywhere? Thanks!

here you go

http://connect.garmin.com/jsPlayer/411300094

Cabaal wrote: »

One or two small changes from last years course, I'll run it over the next few days and throw it up here.

Thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

Gavlor wrote: »
    One or two small changes from last years course, I'll run it over the next few days and throw it up here.

You're gonna bike it aren't you!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

fair enough, :D
    I only had a quick glance at the course on the website v last years and they "appeared" the same :)

Cabaal wrote: »
    fair enough, :D
    I only had a quick glance at the course on the website v last years and they "appeared" the same :)

Barely noticeable!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Signed up this morning. Figured it was easier than buying a hat for winter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

dintbo wrote: »
    Signed up this morning. Figured it was easier than buying a hat for winter!

Snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Cona

Legs seem to have recovered well after Dublin so will sign up for this tonight...looking forward to it now

Can anyone give a brief course preview I.e the fast parts and slow parts?

New Route.

Hilly first mile, really hilly mile 6-7, drag from 11-12 and downhill from there before a ramp at 13 and a fast downhill last .2 miles.

All in all a tough enough course but some nice flat/downhill breaks in between the 2 main hills.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/624931869

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

New Route.

Hilly first mile, really hilly mile 6-7, drag from 11-12 and downhill from there before a ramp at 13 and a fast downhill last .2 miles.

All in all a tough enough course but some nice flat/downhill breaks in between the 2 main hills.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/624931869

Are you running in this race yourself G?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

currently weighing up this or clon thou clon is twice the price of waterford!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Looks tougher than I thought!

araic88 wrote: »

We put a map with arrows and the water stops marked on the website now (keep the shows on your left). We are looking to get a mile by mile description from one of the committee that has run the course up soon. Initial feedback is that there are some hills but they are broken up with some nice downhill sections and is all in all a fair course.
    www.waterfordhalf.com/race-info/route-info/.

We are somewhat restricted in our course selection, as an Athletic Club we do not have the budget or clout to run any route we like but think we have come up with and tweaked a nice course for 2014. To help you through any tougher parts you can work towards a medal, goodie bag, the best showering and changing facilities you are going to find, top class professionally catered refreshments and all for a fair price.

Registrations are going well now but will be closed by November 16th or if we hit 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Oscar Invitation

Hi I ran the new half marathon route yesterday. It's a nice challenging route,the first few miles are slightly up hill and are the hardest. When u get over first few miles the other few drags are not bad. The second half of the route is flat and fast.The last mile is very fast.
    The facilities is the WIT sports campus are state of the art. Eack changing room has 12 showers which are brand new .
    The food laid on after is worth coming for alone !!
    We have a lovely winter hat as well as the new WAC medal specially designed .
    If u want to make a weekend of it,check out Winterville ,it's a fantastic way off getting into the Christmas spirit.
    It's a great event so hope to see as many of ye as possible!!

We put a map with arrows and the water stops marked on the website now

thanks that's great, really easy to follow. Now just to run it ;-)
    Do ye need volunteers beforehand to help with race packs etc?

The mile by mile description has been added to the route section of waterfordachalf.com. as promised.

Thanks for the offer. We may need some help with the goodie bag pack. Can you send an email into info@waterfordachalf.com and we will be in contact with details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭quinlivan

Really excited for this - 2000 runners limit, pretty impressive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

Just want to check that the 12th Nov is definetly the closing date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭RegisteredMice

Andalucia wrote: »
    Just want to check that the 12th Nov is definetly the closing date?

Comment above from Whatsthisabout:
    "Registrations are going well now but will be closed by November 16th or if we hit 2000."

The last push is on. Registrations for the 2014 Waterford AC Half Marathon will finish on Nov 16th at midnight. So now is your last chance to be part of one of the best club organised races in the Country.
    For €25 you will get a bespoke medal, iconic WAC hat, chocolate milk at the finish, professionally catered refreshments, world class changing and showering facilities, sports massage, goodie bag, chip timing, race pack posted to you, pacers, friendly atmosphere, accurate course, AAI approved, over 3k in cash prizes, and much more.

As an added bonus this year's event takes place during the Waterford Winterville festival. Participants will also be able to avail of discounts in certain retailers around Waterford City after the event more details to follow on that.

Registration is available on www.waterfordachalf.com

Signed up and looking forward to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

world class changing and showering facilities

Looking forward to this, one of my favourite races on the calendar. But I'm intrigued, what does world class changing and showering facilities have that normal changing facilities don't have? :D

Size is one thing 6 full size team changing rooms and endless hot water. The WIT sports campus is a new and purpose built center of excellence sports complex it really is quite something not your normal community Hall or GAA ground. Check it out www.witsportscampus.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Size is one thing 6 full size team changing rooms and endless hot water. The WIT sports campus is a new and purpose built center of excellence sports complex it really is quite something not your normal community Hall or GAA ground. Check it out www.witsportscampus.ie.

very true, they hosted the National Novice XC last year and the excellent facilities made the day (almost) enjoyable :)
    Ideal warm up areas, parking, showers, lots of space upstairs to have a cuppa and a sandwich afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

first long(ish) run since DCM done this morning, decided to enter for this as it will be a good gauge to see where the body is in terms of speed etc and what I need to do for Dungarvan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Anyone know when the race numbers are being sent out?
    Only a week to go and some niggels have sidelined me all week. I'll get to the start line, what state god only knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

They said on Facebook they were posting the numbers out this week. I've not received mine yet so hopefully early next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

They said on Facebook they were posting the numbers out this week. I've not received mine yet so hopefully early next week.

Got mine today so expect you'll have it Mon or Tue latest

Everyone should have their numbers by the middle of the week. The first batch went out Thursday and the 2nd batch is going Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Mikey101

how strict is the "no headphones" rule.. Im a newbie to running and very reliant on headphones mainly for running apps , havent splashed out for a Garmin watch etc yet and also a bit of music to get me through... cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Mikey101 wrote: »
    how strict is the "no headphones" rule.. Im a newbie to running and very reliant on headphones mainly for running apps , havent splashed out for a Garmin watch etc yet and also a bit of music to get me through... cheers

According to the rules

All participants are instructed not to wear headphones as this can impede your ability to hear instructions, approaching traffic, and fellow runners. Offenders will have their name removed from the results.

so i would not risk it.