Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grossest injury you've ever had/seen?

• 25-09-2014 8:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭

Title says all!What's the most disgusting or cringe injury you've ever seen? Im kinda odd, in that I like stuff like that, used to be this MTV show called 'scarred' that I loved!

Not disgusting per sae but my inspiration for the thread - was cleaning out my bathroom yesterday and put my had in one of the jars, there was a razor in it which caught on to my fingernail pulling a chunk of it off, the middle of my nail, right down to the nail bed :( the cringe it gives me still thinking about it is worse than the pain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Playing soccer match many years ago, ball spilled by goalkeeper and one of the opponents slid in to try and knock it into the net. Keeper tried to dive on it.
    Strikers boot made contact with the keeper's "personal area."
    Blood starts to appear very fast - he'd managed to tear the sack. :eek:

Other than that, I've seen a broken leg that came through the skin - more than one person threw up after seeing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

When I lived in town and coming home one night there was a scene outside my apartment complex.
    A girl had been trying to climb the railings to get out of the courtyard and had impaled her self on the spike. Right under the arm.
    She was drunk and had not seen the big red exit button that would have opened the gate for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

When I lived in town and coming home one night there was a scene outside my apartment complex.
    A girl had been trying to climb the railings to get out of the courtyard and had impaled her self on the spike. Right under the arm.
    She was drunk and had not seen the big red exit button that would have opened the gate for her.

Lynn, i've pierced my foot on a spiiiiiiiiiike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I saw a truckdriver take a tumble climbing down from the cab of his lorry one time over ten years ago.He was holding the keys in his hand and whatever angle he had them in the sharp end of the key went straight through the palm of his hand and out the other end,it was the strangest thing I've ever seen there was no blood and it looked like some sort of elaborate joke shop gag.Some lads led him off to a garage and I think I heard them say they were going to try and cut it with a bolt cutter or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

A man's hand after he put it on top of a post while the the post driver was in operation.

Mashed beyond recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Slice my ear off in an incident that could be described as a very close shave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

blackwhite wrote: »
    Playing soccer match many years ago, ball spilled by goalkeeper and one of the opponents slid in to try and knock it into the net. Keeper tried to dive on it.

Something very similar happened to me (I was the goalkeeper) except the player made contact with my arm smashing my ulna into my radius requiring surgery and bar and pins placed in arm forever :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Ach! This is one of those threads that I regret clicking on.

Can't stand human blood/pain. Give me an animal any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭olly_mac

Other than that, I've seen a broken leg that came through the skin - more than one person threw up after seeing it.

Saw something the same once. We were out shooting one day and one of the party was climbing over a barbed wire fence and ripped his combats, and then his scrotum... still makes my eyes water to think of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Working under a car alone.. Spanner slipped and my right hand impaled on a protruding bolt... Had to pull hand away myself.. Initially no.pain...

Not a lot of blood either but had to concentrate not to pass out!! Put skin flap back where it kind of should go and walked to local doctor.. Couldn't drive as my car had its timing belt lying on the driveway.. Doh.

Hindsight should have phoned neighbour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Fell off my bike when I was a kid and the end of the handle bar went through my arm. Almost a perfect hole in my left bicep .
    Course at the time I thought the scar was the coolest thing ever :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Lego on unprotected foot.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Young lad in a A&E cubical beside me a couple of years ago had a bad football clash that resulted in twisted testicles. They were going to operate to untwist them.

He wins all prizes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Had: chemical burns to a good percentage of my body - skin dropped off like molten wax.

Seen: earthquake recovery, pulling people out from under rubble, often in multiple pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Young lad in a A&E cubical beside me a couple of years ago had a bad football clash that resulted in twisted testicles. They were going to operate to untwist them.

He wins all prizes!

Ohhh, that just made me cross my legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Bone petrusion. ..

Vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

^ You can cross your legs, and then cross them again? What kind of injuries have you had???!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Compound fracture of my collar bone, yes it was sticking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭thejaguar

Not gross but still makes me cringe when I think of it.

Worked in a saw mill and need a measuring tape. Saw a broken one all unraveled in a skip. So I grabbed the tape part and pulled but it wouldn't budge.
    So I grabbed it tighter and pulled it harder.
    Think hot knife through butter as my hand slid up the tape while the tape didn't budge.
    Ugh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Deathwish4

Nothing beats the sheer horror of an Ingrown Toenail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Iv seen a few nasty ones but the three worst were:

The aftermath of a guy standing on a land mine.

A fella jump off a bridge in front of a commuter train going at a fierce speed.

A guy with an upturned plug embedded in the sole of his foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

I saw a guy get run over by a truck that delivers petrol to garages. Poor fella's legs were stuck under the wheel and he was screaming in agony I was only about 10 or 11 when it happened but it has always stuck with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I think it's only right to link to this infamous thread again.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055626095

It contains a NSFW video of a man being hit by a train.
    Watch at your own risk.
    I prepared myself for it, but nothing can prepare you for that :(

(Mods - please don't delete / ban me. I think it's only right people make up their own minds and decide to watch it if they wish).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Paper cut. Ouch.

The wrestler Sid Vicious had a nice dose of leg break. Sure have a look!:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Someone who had put both arms through the glass pane of a door. I put my fingers into one of the wounds by accident :puke:

Someone else sliced the top of their head open. Back to front, 11 staples needed. It looked like a kebab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Oh Jesus I'm feeling weak reading this!!
    When my daughter was 10, she got her bag caught on a railing, climbed on the low wall the railing was on to get it , and slipped. She sliced open the inside of her upper arm, it was flapping open, you could see all the fat inside:'(. Very little blood though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

My friend dislocated his knee during a soccer match. Fcuking thing was at a really weird angle to the rest of his leg.

Me, i got lashed in the bollox by a mitre size 5 going at full bet on one of the coldest days of the year in Terryland Park. My dick turned pure blue/purple and my balls swelled up. Fcuking ball was like a lump of ice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

I saw a cyclist just after he got hit by car only two weeks ago, cúnt of a driver must have drove off. He hit the ground so hard he cracked his helmet, body bent all over. Looked like someone twisted his pelvis until his legs were nearly facing backwards and his back looked as if it was snapped in half. Ambulance hadn't even turned up yet so I got a good look, unfortunately. Poor guy :(

Got sick shortly afterwards, wish I didn't see it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

I was 18 on a leaving cert holiday in Crete. We rented mopeds and were driving down to the beach. Went around a bend to fast on a narrow road and a car was coming towards me. Pulled the breaks and tried to avoid it but that just caused the bike to skid onto its side and for it to smash into the front of the car. I went flying in the air over the car and landed on the road. Luckily i didn't hit my head but I looked down at my left ankle and could see the bone. It hadn't fractured or anything. I just had a 6 inch slice from the bottom of my foot up over the ball of the ankle that was over an inch wide in the middle.

Other than that it was a brilliant holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I think it's only right to link to this infamous thread again.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055626095

It contains a NSFW video of a man being hit by a train.
    Watch at your own risk.
    I prepared myself for it, but nothing can prepare you for that :(

(Mods - please don't delete / ban me. I think it's only right people make up their own minds and decide to watch it if they wish).

Naaahhhh....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I fell at work onto a corner of a fireplace, put my hand out to stop myself and missed, its okay though, I stopped myself with my face, 2 inch scar across my eye and the bottom eyelash totally ripped and hanging on by a small piece of flesh, cue 2 days in hospital to repair the tear ducts and reattach the eyelash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

He wins all prizes!

I had that when I was 12...not much fun.
    worst part was having to show my mum my then tennis ball sized left nut, apparently > 50% you will lose it, but mine soldiered on like a good left nut does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

My friend came across an accident where a pedestrian was hit by a drink driver. The poor guy lost both his legs from just above the knee, but thankfully survived.

When they were putting him on the stretcher they had to tilt it so that the blood wouldnt run out of his legs apparently. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Unread brain, unread unread unread!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

My knee replacement after a motorcycle accident :eek:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I've seen plenty of nasty things

Many moons ago I seen a cyclist run over by a double decker bus, the poor fella was folded in two under the bus.

I've seen a lad skateboarding and grinding a rail only for the board to fly off, when he got up his trousers were covered in blood, he tore the sack off himself.

I also remember a lad trying to climb over a fence in to our school as a kid, we all heard screaming to run out and find that he had slipped and impaled himself on the spike, it went right through his chin/cheek :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

That video where the kid has the lower part of his head blown off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Saw a lad getting a slitor travelling at high speed straight into the ballsac. One of his testicles popped out of the purse and was hanging down the side of his leg by a cord. He was brought to hospital but lost his right bollock.

It was always amusing to go, 'Aidan, you're a right bollocks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Young lad in a A&E cubical beside me a couple of years ago had a bad football clash that resulted in twisted testicles. They were going to operate to untwist them. He wins all prizes!

Dude I was in school with years ago was working at home on the farm one day. On his own putting cattle into a pen/crush he needed to get from one side of the pen to the other in a rush to close a gate. Quickest route was by walking along the top bar of another gate. Mucky boots, slips, goes straight down on top of the gate, leg either side and only his ball sack to cushion his fall.

Result; Twisted testicles and he passed out from the pain. When he came around he in a few minutes he was lying in the sh1t with the face of an inquisitive cow looking down at him. Had to drag himself through the sh1t to get help as walking was out of the question.

I don't think they were able to fully undo the damage to one of his nads and it stayed twisted. Either way he was forever known as "3T" (Tommy Twisted Testicle) after that. He showed us the results in the changing rooms after a football game. Scars where there should never be scars on a mans body.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

DLMA23 wrote: »
    My knee replacement after a motorcycle accident :eek:

thats your knee? from a motorcycle accident?

http://www.istockphoto.com/photo/knee-replacement-incision-16259716

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Way too many testicle injuries on this thread... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

Not my knee, what it looked like after i got my bionic replacement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Went to school with a lad who had a plastic testicle implanted. He'd lost the original to a wickedly fast moving cricket ball :eek:

Makes ye fukcing eyes water, don't it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I work in a theatre and had a school dance show on stage. There was a loud POP just like when you pop out your cheek with your finger only at shot gun volume!!!!!, followed by a scream and a girl hitting the deck. She had popped her knee out and it was flopping about like a rag dolls leg. What was worse was a doctor in the audience simply stepped up on stage , grabbed her leg and popped it immediately back into place with and equally sickening sound. Apparently its much easier to do straight away!!! Arrrgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

A couple of injuries come to mind.

1) Growing up in Chicago, I was at a Chicago Police Dept softball game. On of the cops was trying to stretch a double into a triple. When he slid into third his metal cleat caught and snapped his leg. When he put his leg up in the air his foot was facing the wrong direction.

2) Lifeguarding at Oak Street Beach back in '86 - man on a motorbike was racing down Lakeshore Drive at a very high rate of speed (obviously not knowing about the S turn coming up). He misses the turn and hits the wall sending him through the air onto the concrete ledge below. As we run over to assist, we see a trail of blood where he hit the ground. When he turned over, he was holding onto his intestines. He nearly gutted himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Dave Buust

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Compound fracture of the thigh bone. Bone actually sticking out from the skin. Remarkably little blood.

Motorbike accident where the guy had his arm ripped clean off and was laying about ten feet from the rest of him.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Is it weird that the post that gave me the most 'ahh' reaction so far was the ripped, flapping eyelid?
    My eye is twitchy in sympathy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Horse breaking it's leg, Because of their light bone structure and the massive weight they carry the bone just shatters completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

My son's head injury. Cone head is a very accurate description!

He also caught his foot under the front wheel of a car that struck him. His foot was dragged along the road, sloughing most of the flesh off his instep. He needed a skin graft to cover the resulting hole.