Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cup Champions ball in the face on a frosty day

• 23-09-2014 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭

yKFlOi3.jpg

Jumpers for goal posts hmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Even better when its a burst one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Being in goal on a wet day and wearing soaking wet yellow Mikasa gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I actually flinched :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Astro-turf burns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Getting hit in the bollox by a semi flat, freezing cold, cup champion ball was no fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Being in goal on a wet day and wearing soaking wet yellow Mikasa gloves.

The stink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

and Sally O'Brien and the way she might look at ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Oh, those Brazilians, you know? Circa 1970? Broke the mould. Theory out the window. Free expression of football. Uncategorisable. Is that a word? It is now! You know? Far cry from small boys in the park, jumpers for goalposts. Rush goalie. Two at the back, three in the middle, four up front, one's gone home for his tea. Beans on toast? Possibly, don't quote me on that. Marvellous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's not a ball.

This is a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The same ball getting smashed against you in the inner thigh just at time of night in the summer when the sun was going down and it was getting dewy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Getting your ears flicked on an icy cold day

Getting your white runners christened? Not on my watch bud!
    Mitre football boots!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Teacher starts ringing the school bell, "next goal wins!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

131spanner wrote: »
    Teacher starts ringing the school bell, "next goal wins!"

And chases us into the showers wiping us with his white towel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Staying out late in the summer playing ball until eventually the midges hunt you indoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

What's this? Foreign games? We'll have none of that nonsense here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Those balls had a particular reverb to them. Even the lightest of touches resulted in a high pitched pinging sound, added to the cold weather made to unwanted contact with cold ears even less pleasant.
    As I remember they could float like nobodies business as well, football was a somewhat different sport when played with one.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If one got lost, and sat for a few weeks, when re-discovered, it was like kicking a block of concrete. Still bate having no ball at all though. Shyte for keepie-ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

I remember getting one of the orange ones thinking it would be great for playing with at night. Dunno what I was thinking - turned out to be very difficult to play with under orange street lights!

Once saw similar plastic footballs that had some sort of light inside them that you could switch on. Alas I didn't have the 4 quid on me at the time and I never saw them for sale again. Would have been class!

nullzero wrote: »
    Those balls had a particular reverb to them. Even the lightest of touches resulted in a high pitched pinging sound, added to the cold weather made to unwanted contact with cold ears even less pleasant.
    As I remember they could float like nobodies business as well, football was a somewhat different sport when played with one.

Ah man, you'd hoof one up the field and it would make a deadly sound while curving like no-ones business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

The pinging sound from one of these bouncing off someones face was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

Goal or a Penalty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

"Goal!"
    "It was over"
    "No it wasn't it was in"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

The pinging sound from one of these bouncing off someones face was brilliant.

Except when the sound came from your own face :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If one got lost, and sat for a few weeks, when re-discovered, it was like kicking a block of concrete. Still bate having no ball at all though. Shyte for keepie-ups.

Even worse was when it was crossed in you knew it was going to hurt but you had to put your head on it anyway, to save face in front of the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

razorblunt wrote: »
    Even worse was when it was crossed in you knew it was going to hurt but you had to put your head on it anyway, to save face in front of the lads.

"Token nodding". Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

We used to play with one of the O'Neills GAA balls in school.

I took one of those to the ear on a frosty November morning.

I tried not to cry, i really really tried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Slide tackling on the grass and knowing immediately you've slid in dog sh1t. A guy in school actually got it on his face and was immediately christened sh1te savage.

nullzero wrote: »

They had a really metallic pinging sound if you lashed t hem off a wall in a space with a slight echo like an alley or a gable end with walls .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There he goes now, being a ballhog as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Giblet wrote: »
    yKFlOi3.jpg

I feel violated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

wprathead wrote: »
    "Goal!"
    "It was over"
    "No it wasn't it was in"

'Give you a peno on it then'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

There he goes now, being a ballhog as usual.

Or being a goal hanger

Blay wrote: »
    'Give you a peno on it then'

Always smacked of guilt, that one did.

Another:
    "Foul throw!"
    "What's a foul throw?"
    "When you don't have your feet on the ground."
    "No, it's when you throw the ball after it's passed the top of your head."
    "Or before?"
    "Doesn't matter now, they've scored."

To this day, still don't know what a foul throw is.

Or being a goal hanger
    Was always the one who'd get about ten tap-ins and go on about how he was the new Cantona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Anyone remember the balls that weighed a ton and had dimples on them..bit like this;

http://2.imimg.com/data2/WG/LF/FCP-2949821/data2-ak-cu-fcp-2949821-enkayballs-golty-250x250.jpg

Like a ****ing cannonball coming at you :pac:

Also one of these old veterans being dragged out for one last lap;

http://lastwordonsports.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/1309957427QJ14n4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Playing with the orange ball with snow on the ground was the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Aubrey loves Joe

If you kicked it in July it would be still bouncing in September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Kicking what you though was a snow covered Cup Champions ball and finding out it was a old kettle full of ice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

if you were lucky, your record was 2.
    3 and you were a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

DIYers, hatchers, bagsy keane/cantona/fowler, bash-ins, 'CAR!' and Names with a tennis ball on a crisp morning before school.

Or being a goal hanger

Hatcher

Fly goalie

Hospital ball

Have a ging

Man on

Watch your house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Citroen2cv

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8f2-Hw8ukqc

Cheesy peas at half time, mums at home making the tea.
    Match of the day - da, dat da da dah da daa da da
    The Arsenal, isnt it?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Blay wrote: »
    Anyone remember the balls that weighed a ton and had dimples on them..bit like this;

http://2.imimg.com/data2/WG/LF/FCP-2949821/data2-ak-cu-fcp-2949821-enkayballs-golty-250x250.jpg
    Those balls were for the posh rich boys. :pac:

Remember these yokes?!

http://thumbs2.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/maWun3-svEhmqBS_XYGPrVw.jpg

Impossible to play football with. If you smashed one it would travel like crazy (while moving all over the place) for about ten metres and then stop. Good craic all the same. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Giblet wrote: »
    yKFlOi3.jpg

I broke my toe with one of these. It had been sitting outside for a year or two. I can't tell if it had deflated and the plastic kept its shape or what but it was rock solid.

Screamer of a goal though, apparently.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

circadian wrote: »
    I broke my toe with one of these. It had been sitting outside for a year or two. I can't tell if it had deflated and the plastic kept its shape or what but it was rock solid.

Screamer of a goal though, apparently.
    Were you one of those bull toers?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

cournioni wrote: »

No Bull Toeing!

One lad at school was famous for calling for a penalty because the keeper picked up the ball outside of the box

Also, 6th class vs 5th class at lunch time, 150th consecutive victory for 6th class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus that brings me back. Playing football in the park ( a big green patch in the centre of our estate, it was built in the 1960's so they didn't pack houses everywhere!). I think I broke one of my neighbours windows with one of those balls back in the early 80's. God bless single glazing :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The sting of a Wavin hurl and the pins and needles in your arms after you flake a wet leather sliotar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

cournioni wrote: »

30 yard toe pokes were my special move.