Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darndale Edge of Town

• 22-09-2014 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭

Darndale chosen as the estate for TV3 docu series this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Why would anyone agree to be on a show like this?? It's a given that the show will show the people in the worst possible light .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

pisses me off these type of shows,

"there's nothing for the kids in the area, Joe"

there's as much to do as any working class area (feck all) doesn't excuse kids going around acting like little scum bags.

no rearing in them, that's all it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

The two lads riding the horses down the road with the hip hop music playing was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Hilarious but also very sad. They don't have the knowledge or resources to properly care for those animals :(
    Owning a horse is considered a luxury by most rational people.

did you see the massively overweight mother taking a rubber bucket full of crisps and crap down from the top of the fridge and giving it to her overweight child??

this is why kids are overweight in this country.

Scarleh for them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

bubblypop wrote: »
    did you see the massively overweight mother taking a rubber bucket full of crisps and crap down from the top of the fridge and giving it to her overweight child??

My other half asked was she teaching the child life skills. Made me lol.

It's depressing stuff watching this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Ahh the old 360 degree life turnaround

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

bubblypop wrote: »

It was a laundry basket full of crisps :p

Sorry but none of them two (mother and child) had signs of starving which she claimed they did sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Noel's on a program. Hopefully he won't have to smoke joints infront of his children anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This is TV3 Gold, will be their most popular show this winter.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    It was a laundry basket full of crisps :p

Sorry but none of them two (mother and child) had signs of starving which she claimed they did sometimes

Over fed but under nourished !
    Cheap carbs are very over used by a lot of people as a cornerstone of their diet.

how in the name of jaysus can she bring her kids to eurodisney??

i grew up in a single parent family and my mother could never ever afford us to go on holiday, and she worked as much as she could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭wdmfapq4zs83hv

Loan sharks!

Lisha wrote: »
    Over fed but under nourished !
    Cheap carbs are very over used by a lot of people as a cornerstone of their diet.

cheap carbs are one thing, but surely cheap carbs are potatoes,rice and pasta, that you can buy in any discount supermarket for basically nothing!!

crisps are just crap food, why would you buy them when you can buy actual vegetables cheaper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

exactly,

it's cheaper to buy good food in Aldi than buy crap.

all the Aldi stuff is brilliant I love it

Crap food tastes better than veg, and crap food is easy requiring no preparation.
    I saw a kid in playground other day eating a tall tube of Pringles. :(
    The cheap Shiite kids in general are eating is shocking. Big bags of malteasers and giant chocolate bars now seem normal for primary kids to snack on. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Beechfiled

Think I'll move to Darndale, my kids are missing out, they've never been to Disney and dont have a horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

I used to work in Coolock and hired a lot of people from Darndale. I gave lots of them from Youth Reach and Boys homes a chance to make a start in life.

Most of their parents never worked all their life so they could have followed them, but they didn't.

I had the honour of meeting some wonderful people and I am delighted they have successful live's now.

TV3 is piss poor at the best of times and you can be sure they will exploit these people for ratings. Watch out for TV3 rerunning the same series and renaming it over and over..

Its amazing how many posters never gave their kids crisps!! Funny!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Uncanny similarities to the Channel 4 programme Benefit Street. Even the camera zooming in on tatoos, smoking and the like. Sure to provoke righteous indignation. Exploitation of people's circumstances. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anyone want a chip?

tubtrugs-chip.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

madmaggie wrote: »
    Uncanny similarities to the Channel 4 programme Benefit Street. Even the camera zooming in on tatoos, smoking and the like. Sure to provoke righteous indignation. Exploitation of people's circumstances. :mad:

TV3 did a familiar programme last year set in an estate in Waterford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 best_worst

Lisha wrote: »
    Why would anyone agree to be on a show like this?? It's a given that the show will show the people in the worst possible light .

most of the people on the show came across as decent enough skins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    TV3 did a familiar programme last year set in an estate in Waterford

Thanks for reminding me JP Liz, two counties down, only 24 to go. (Or 30?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

RFOLEY1990 wrote: »
    pisses me off these type of shows,

"there's nothing for the kids in the area, Joe"

there's as much to do as any working class area (feck all) doesn't excuse kids going around acting like little scum bags.

no rearing in them, that's all it is.

I want to type a very spirited reply to this agreeing with you. Anyone know where I should post it ? as I consider mods might delete it and warn me to post it somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

so this id your shadow account then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

What's the big deal with the mother giving her child a packet of crisps? She didn't say it was replacing a meal so why jump on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

lukesmom wrote: »
    What's the big deal with the mother giving her child a packet of crisps? She didn't say it was replacing a meal so why jump on that?

Did you see the size of the kid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Unbelieveable! The Irish version of "Benefit's street" Starring "The Clinch" from RTE's "Love/Hate".. that about sum's it up...

She could barely lift the kid, he was probably a lot younger than he looked due to being obese...
    But teaching him to open a bag of crisps is a start in opening many 1000's he will eat over the next few years is a disgrace! Show the kid how to peel an apple instead could save him from a lifetime of obesity..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Well given that she had a laundry basket full of packets of crisps on top of the fridge and that the child, who's only about 3 or 4 is already on the way to developing a serious weight problem, I think it's safe to say that he gets more than an occasional packet of crisps.
    I admit that when she first said she had borrowed money so that Santa could give her sons a trip to EuroDisney for Christmas my first thought was FFS. But I suppose if you're living a life of quiet despair on a bleak estate surrounded by crime and addiction you might be desperate to have something to look forward to and to create some kind of happy memories for your kids.
    Looking at it objectively, yes she should be using any money she has to buy better food and get her kids involved in activities that will keep them off the streets, help them find any latent talents they might have, and look to a life beyond Darndale in the future. But it's easy to say that when you're just looking at it on telly. When you're in that situation it's probably hard to see a path out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Yeah your right I was forgetting the size of him. Maybe he's like his mam and just big boned ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

You know what they say - fat kids usually have fat (or at least overweight) parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

2l9jztv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    She could barely lift the kid, he was probably a lot younger than he looked due to being obese...
    But teaching him to open a bag of crisps is a start in opening many 1000's he will eat over the next few years is a disgrace! Show the kid how to peel an apple instead could save him from a lifetime of obesity..

Why would you want to peel an apple, the skin is the best source of fibre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    Why would you want to peel an apple, the skin is the best source of fibre

A peeled apple is still healthier than crisps...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Ah yes, the old chesnut of "ders nothin to do in this area for de kids".

How are they allowed to keep horses in the middle of a housing estate? Shouldn't the DSPCA be looking into this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

I think a lot of us have a six pack in the press, I know we do, but the poor woman had a large garden trug full to the top, I don't even want to think how long it would last them,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I grew up in darndale in the mid 70's for 15 years and it hasn't changed at all, same things going on, horses and motorbikes. The folks/neighbours were very nice people, if you were ever stuck for anything they would help each-other out no problem. It's not a bad ole place really, it's just a bit rough at times.

I will say this though...They have a great community spirit that is lacking in most other places.

Maybe people used to have more pride in where they lived. The reality is many ''deprived'' areas have an unbelievable amount of supports from big government but they dont appreciate it, vandalize it and leave trash all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

It reminded me of Benefit Street. Here's Charlie Brooker's take on that show

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkrX5J73Vi4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭RachelDDD

I have to say I thought the show portrayed the majority of the people of Darndale as very respectable. The recovering addict was admirable in his determination to get on a drug treatment programme. He really loved his kids and you could tell he wanted to get his life back on track for the benefit of his family. I know it is easy to knock the woman for buying her kids a trip to Eurodisney, but you have to consider that she is getting that money from a loan shark. She is putting herself under incredible financial & emotional stress to give her kids a dream holiday. Most parents would do anything they could to make their kids happy and she is no different. In regard to the show being like Channel 4's 'Benefit Street', I disagree. That show portrayed people are being social scroungers and getting as much as they can from the system. The people on TV3's show about Darndale mostly came from homes with previous generations working in Cadbury's etc. They are unemployed because of the state of the economy and massive drug problems associated with the area. I think if anything I hope this show will make people appreciative of the struggles going on for our neighbours in less affluent areas.

RachelDDD wrote: »
    I have to say I thought the show portrayed the majority of the people of Darndale as very respectable.

I would disagree in so far as the producers ignored the people who never took drugs, or committed crimes or fit into the stereotypes of people on benefits.
    Because they don't make "good t.v"..

McGrath5 wrote: »
    Ah yes, the old chesnut of "ders nothin to do in this area for de kids".

How are they allowed to keep horses in the middle of a housing estate? Shouldn't the DSPCA be looking into this?

Theres plenty for the kids in most deprived areas. I can think of a half dozen 'deprived' areas where there are vandalized litter infested youth centres, vandalized litter infested playgrounds, vandalized litter infested sports grounds, vandalized litter infested Parks, vandalized litter infested after school clubs, and subsidized full time childcare 'for locals only' which someone struggling to bring a family up in bedsit sized proportions would give his right arm for. Then to add insult to the rest of us the council wont evict those who dont maintain their free houses and leave bags of trash openly on the street. Its a funny world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭iceblue

The people living in Darndale, or any other social housing area in Ireland pay rent, they don't have free housing. ........They pay a % of their income for their home .......it just seems like it's a nominal amount due to the fact that their income is so low. ........If someone gets 190 euro per week, their rent is 30 euro. Which is reasonable based on their overall income.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Wasn't as bad as I'd expected it to be, not nearly as exploitative as that Benefits Street show anyway. Most folk featured came across well (young mother, lad with 5 kids trying to his best to get clean but left waiting months for a detox bed, the actor auld lad afraid of falling into old habits)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

it's the irish version of the scheme set in kilmarnock
    The Scheme is a BBC Scotland BAFTA-award winning[1] documentary series which follows the lives of six families in the Onthank and Knockinlaw housing schemes. The series has been the subject of some media criticism, with the series being labelled as "poverty porn" [2][3] and described as giving a "misleading impression" of life on the estate.[4][5]

The programme makers have denied allegations that their series exploits the residents of the estate.[6]

which led to this
    There was a similar series aired on BBC One Northern Ireland named The Estate, set in the Ballysally Estate in Coleraine. This show began on Monday 23 January 2012 and ran every Monday ending on 12 March 2012, it also ran throughout the UK from 27 March 2012 to 15 May 2012 airing every Tuesday with the exception of the week commencing 1 May when it aired on Monday 2 May 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

I grew up in darndale in the mid 70's for 15 years and it hasn't changed at all, same things going on, horses and motorbikes. The folks/neighbours were very nice people, if you were ever stuck for anything they would help each-other out no problem. It's not a bad ole place really, it's just a bit rough at times.

My teenage years were spent growing up in Darndale in the mid 70's & I have to agree with everything Bongalongherb says, a great community spirit

Remember Joe Whelan's disco on a Friday night Bongalongherb? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

just watching this now, haven't seen the previous episodes... don't find it in anyway exploitative... the people on the show come across very well... all taking positive steps to improve their lives...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭RachelDDD

boardie100 wrote: »
    just watching this now, haven't seen the previous episodes... don't find it in anyway exploitative... the people on the show come across very well... all taking positive steps to improve their lives...

I totally agree with you, it has changed my perspective on what I ignorantly previously thought people from Darndale were like. I am so impressed at Noel trying to get his life back on track and beat drug addiction. I also thought the lady last week who was helping her son with his Leaving Cert. studies was amazing. The young guy who loved his horses so passionately really brought a tear to my eye, especially borrowing the €70 vet bill from his mother. It just shows that programmes like this can have a positive influence on society and not ridicule people like Benefit Street on C4. Best of luck to them all.