Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blood bikes

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Scatter Cat

Pataman wrote: »

What they didnt say was they(BBL) told us(when we met at the top of Grafton St) they were trying to pick up the Bumbulance convoy to lead it in, however the route was changed at the last minute.

According to their Facebook and the photos on there on 19th September they had a "team member" actually pushing the Bumbleance! And that the fact that the push was tracked live by gps on a public website for the public to follow progress, I frankly find your story blaming others quite unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Pataman

Why are you talking about this in the 3rd person, You were there at the top of Grafton St. You said hello to me.

????????? what are you on about? I think you've lost your marbles!

You come out with all these wild theory's and conjecture about others. Yet you expect people to believe you despite there being photos of ye for all to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Blood1

The reason we dont have a siren is we dont need it. We dont use blues operationally. There is no need.

Looks like someone has been seen driving a Blood Bike on the N4 at Palmerstown today on blue lights even though they dont use blue lights, looks like the run started in the Midlands and was running to Dublin, i suppose someone else will get the blame for this, its all been said on esf htt p s://w w w.esforum.org/showthread.php?tid=6384&pid=162662#pid162662

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

Recently I've seen a certain blood bike group being thanked for marshalling a charity cycle....and this wasn't in Dublin/Leinster

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Blood1

Recently I've seen a certain blood bike group being thanked for marshalling a charity cycle....and this wasn't in Dublin/Leinster

For which their is "No" insurance cover for any bike to do as if you look at any policy.

I seen that group advertising that they can provide that service with lights.

From their website!

Marshalling
    We have been asked several times to provide motorbike marshals for Bicycle Races and large group ride outs.

We are delighted now to be able to offer this service to you.

Should you require motorbike marshals we would like you to consider us.

We will provide:
    * High-Viz Blood Bike with flashing warning lights
    * As many extra motorbikes as your group requires
    * All riders will wear high-viz (Blood Bike) jackets
    * Efficient, Professional service

We do not charge for this service, we do this to promote Blood Bikes and increase people's awareness of our organisation, we would of course welcome any donation towards our charity.

Groups we have already provided motorbike marshals for include:
    * Croi Lough Corrib Cycle
    * West Coast Wheelers
    * Celtic Series - Tour De Connemara
    * Galway Bay Cycling Club

.bloodbikewest.ie/marshalling.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I will point out that BBW did have Garda and Civil Defence help as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Broken Arrow

Pataman prob doesn't know that Mr Ambulance has a medic style bike also.

Why does he have these things???

Pataman prob doesn't know that Mr Ambulance has a medic style bike also.

Why does he have these things???

I don't think he can be held accountable for what one of his volunteers does or has to an extent outside of hours
    What he does need to do is to define to his members what is acceptable in how they behave while representing their organisation and if not possible he needs to be able to say thanks for your time but it's not working out.

This ambulance and now this bike should not be near any blood bikes in any official capacity.... Photos, exhibitions etc.

No Facebook photos or YouTube videos unless they have a set purpose and filtered first.

I don't think he can be held accountable for what one of his volunteers does or has to an extent outside of hours
    What he does need to do is to define to his members what is acceptable in how they behave while representing their organisation and if not possible he needs to be able to say thanks for your time but it's not working out.

This ambulance and now this bike should not be near any blood bikes in any official capacity.... Photos, exhibitions etc.

No Facebook photos or YouTube videos unless they have a set purpose and filtered first.

These 2 vehicles are are official events and were photographed there.
    I would be concerned if my neighbour was not a paramedic and just bought himself an ambulance and bike. I find it very strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

I would be concerned if my neighbour was not a paramedic and just bought himself an ambulance and bike. I find it very strange.

Why would you be concerned. Why would it have anything to do with you

lighterman wrote: »

I think it's scary! Sure maybe he could get a fake Garda car also.

But why. What harm can he do it with.

A garda car is different.

But why. What harm can he do it with.

A garda car is different.

It's not normal!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭ratracer

I seen that group advertising that they can provide that service with lights.

From their website!

Marshalling
    We have been asked several times to provide motorbike marshals for Bicycle Races and large group ride outs.

We are delighted now to be able to offer this service to you.

Should you require motorbike marshals we would like you to consider us.

We will provide:
    * High-Viz Blood Bike with flashing warning lights
    * As many extra motorbikes as your group requires
    * All riders will wear high-viz (Blood Bike) jackets
    * Efficient, Professional service

We do not charge for this service, we do this to promote Blood Bikes and increase people's awareness of our organisation, we would of course welcome any donation towards our charity.

Groups we have already provided motorbike marshals for include:
    * Croi Lough Corrib Cycle
    * West Coast Wheelers
    * Celtic Series - Tour De Connemara
    * Galway Bay Cycling Club

.bloodbikewest.ie/marshalling.htm

And what exactly is the problem with this?

Didn't say it was. Just don't see why you'd be concerned about it. There's alot worse going on you could be concerned with

ratracer wrote: »
    And what exactly is the problem with this?

Never said there was a problem, it was relevant to the discussion regarding marshalling.

My point being that he can only be responsible for what happens operationally. That said association with individuals who purchase their own vehicles is clearly not good for your image

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Schindlers Pissed

This is the problem I have with it. When is enough enough? When do these lunatics decide that the Waltism is gone far enough? I was at a seizure once where a guy who was on scene shoved a spoon into the victims mouth (to stop her swallowing her tongue, which can't happen!!)……this resulted in broken teeth. The person stated he was a doctor. I asked him to stay on scene because I wanted his name and medical number after I treated the casualty.

Needless to say when I turned around he was gone. There are enough idiots around without them claiming to be something they aren't…….it's a danger to the general public and it shouldn't be allowed. What percentage of the general public know the difference between the NAS, DFB or any of the private or voluntary ambulance services?? Answer: Very few.

It's hard enough do your job properly and safely while transporting and treating sick people without clowns like this making up fairytale vehicles with full markings and blue lights……..I wish the law would come down and take them off the road.

This isn't about Blood Bikes……..this is about these other vehicles being used. It's f*cking ridiculous.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeuJ_6skbF4

What's next? Will he get a fire engine and stick a logo on it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

What's next? Will he get a fire engine and stick a logo on it?

Like this one maybe? http://www.absolutelimos.ie/portfolio/the-fire-engine-limo/

Seriously, why do you care what someone collects?

This thread has been a bit of an eye-opener. There are three or four new accounts with the same agenda all backing each other up trying to generate a bit of controversy for whatever reason. It's all a bit sad if you are grown adults.

I hadn't heard of blood bikes until I read this thread, but I think it's a good idea. As I already have an advanced qualification (one that teaches blue lights) I decided to volunteer.
    Based on what I read here I decided that BBE was the saner option in my geographical area.

Well just to clarify my position Dermot in case you're wondering……..I have no problem with Blood Bikes using blues when carrying blood, but I STILL think it's absolutely stupid that they have blues and don't have any exemptions under the RTA…..what's the point?? (Yeah yeah yeah…..seen the previous posts about needing them while being escorted…..if that's the case then what's the point in having them at all?? Sure various other vehicles get escorted without blues).

Walts. While the vast majority of riders (or any other Vol for that matter) are there for the patient or the job in hand, there are a number who purely join for the whole battenburg/blue lights thing………if they are acting within the law then I have no problem, if they are outside the law they should be nailed. For example the bike that was seen yesterday on blues with no escort, what's that about? The group themselves say they don't use blues except for under escort, but if they had blood then fair enough……but why say one thing and do another? So what's the story there? (I didn't see it so can't confirm).

Marked up vehicles. Why in the name of jaysus would anybody want one of these unless they are a total and utter Walt?? I've spent years driving on blues with a statutory provider and it's clowns like these who confuse the general public into thinking they are an ES vehicle……..I don't care what anyone says, it's ridiculous.

The new accounts: I don't know if that's aimed at me, but I've been a member on boards for a while now, I don't comment if I have no interest. I'm not one to nitpick, but if I have a question I'll ask it……..and the posts on this, coupled with the thread on the ESF, alongside videos, pictures and Facebook posts just goes to prove that somebody (several somebodies) are telling porkies left right and centre.

I have respect for anyone involved in ANY Vol Org that gets out of bed to do a job for a stranger for no pay……….but in my eyes, if a person is a clown then he or she is a clown. If it walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck then it's a f*cking duck.

Seriously, why do you care what someone collects?

This thread has been a bit of an eye-opener. There are three or four new accounts with the same agenda all backing each other up trying to generate a bit of controversy for whatever reason. It's all a bit sad if you are grown adults.

I hadn't heard of blood bikes until I read this thread, but I think it's a good idea. As I already have an advanced qualification (one that teaches blue lights) I decided to volunteer.
    Based on what I read here I decided that BBE was the saner option in my geographical area.

Maybe you'll be allowed to do escorts with blues and no gloves if you play your cards right. And if your really good maybe you'll be allowed to bring your own personal ambulance to events and put the Bloodbike east logo on it.

Seems to be what's happening at the moment.

I have respect for anyone involved in ANY Vol Org that gets out of bed to do a job for a stranger for no pay……….but in my eyes, if a person is a clown then he or she is a clown. If it walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck then it's a f*cking duck.

There's 3 or 4 of them following mammy around this thread.

Maybe you'll be allowed to do escorts with blues and no gloves if you play your cards right. And if your really good maybe you'll be allowed to bring your own personal ambulance to events and put the Bloodbike east logo on it.

Seems to be what's happening at the moment.

I'm capable of thinking for myself, thanks.

Please explain? Ta…….this thread is getting confusing as to what angle people are making…….

This is the problem I have with it. When is enough enough? When do these lunatics decide that the Waltism is gone far enough? I was at a seizure once where a guy who was on scene shoved a spoon into the victims mouth (to stop her swallowing her tongue, which can't happen!!)……this resulted in broken teeth. The person stated he was a doctor. I asked him to stay on scene because I wanted his name and medical number after I treated the casualty.

Needless to say when I turned around he was gone. There are enough idiots around without them claiming to be something they aren't…….it's a danger to the general public and it shouldn't be allowed. What percentage of the general public know the difference between the NAS, DFB or any of the private or voluntary ambulance services?? Answer: Very few.

It's hard enough do your job properly and safely while transporting and treating sick people without clowns like this making up fairytale vehicles with full markings and blue lights……..I wish the law would come down and take them off the road.

This isn't about Blood Bikes……..this is about these other vehicles being used. It's f*cking ridiculous.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeuJ_6skbF4

The incident that you mention was one isolated incident.

This person could drive around a city all day long and not come across anything.

The only way i see there was a problem is if this person turned up to calls and started treatment but then you'd have to question how he knew of the call.

I'd also have to ask if you know what qualification this person has.

Have you ever heard of a scanner?

Qualification of who? The guy in the clip? I'm assuming he has no qualification seeing as he had no ID, no official pre-hospital ID, he has a provisional license so he can't be working with an ambulance service, has previous of impersonating police and paramedics.

If you're talking about the clown that shoved a spoon into my casualties mouth, well I presume he had no qualifications either because A) You can't swallow your tongue, it's myth, and B) A spoon isn't how you protect a patients airway.

Have you ever heard of a scanner?

Qualification of who? The guy in the clip? I'm assuming he has no qualification seeing as he had no ID, no official pre-hospital ID, he has a provisional license so he can't be working with an ambulance service, has previous of impersonating police and paramedics.

If you're talking about the clown that shoved a spoon into my casualties mouth, well I presume he had no qualifications either because A) You can't swallow your tongue, it's myth, and B) A spoon isn't how you protect a patients airway.

Course I've heard of a scanner. Have you ever heard of tetra. Apart from DFB i believe all of the East coast ambulance wise are on tetra so unless he was spending his days driving around dublin a scanner would be no use to him.

I'm asking about the qualifications of the member of bbe that has the ambulance.