Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

They said it couldn't be done... <MOD NOTE POST #109>

• 18-09-2014 6:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

Say GOODBYE to the discrimnatory collective agreement entry clause into GLAS for hill/commonage farmers.

I don't have the details yet as I couldn't attend last night's committee meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Say GOODBYE to the discrimnatory collective agreement entry clause into GLAS for hill/commonage farmers.

I don't have the details yet as I couldn't attend last night's committee meeting.

fair play and thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

foxylock wrote: »
    fair play and thanks.

Fair play is all we were looking for :)

The picket of Enda Kennys constituency office has been lifted and the EU meeting called off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Fair play Connemara Farmer.
    You wouldn't mind sorting out the beef mess, while you're at it.

Fair play Connemara Farmer.
    You wouldn't mind sorting out the beef mess, while you're at it.

I think we'll be taking a well earned trip back to normality for a while after this :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Well done to all involved, the hard work paid off.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jesus, fair play to all of ye up there.
    Well done.

The West's Awake eh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

well done, hard earned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Good man Con, fair play to ye. Others could learn a lot from yer actions...

I hope to have the statement that will be sent out to the press shortly. As I said I don't have the detail yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

I hope to have the statement that will be sent out to the press shortly. As I said I don't have the detail yet.

Well done Con. Your stakeout operation ran like a well oiled machine!! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

cjpm wrote: »
    Well done Con. Your stakeout operation ran like a well oiled machine!! ;-)

Well done Con & all involved

Press Release

Hill Farmers for Action Group

As a result of the meeting between the minister for Agricultures commonage implementation committee and the hill farmers for action group last Friday in Athenry there have been a number of important changes to the GLAS scheme proposals.

The most significant change to the scheme is that the requirement for a 50% collective agreement between farmers for entry into the GLAS scheme has been changed.
    Hill Farmers for action group acknowledge that this was a significant move from the original proposal. Farmers can now apply as individuals for GLAS declaring that he/she is complying with a GLAS commonage management plan.

While welcoming this development there are several important issues that need to be worked out over the coming weeks regarding how the mechanics of the GLAS scheme will work.

As a result of this breakthrough a decision has been taken to pull the picket at An Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s office as of this morning and the planned meeting with the European Commission has been deferred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Any chance of ya to hit a few beef factories now con

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Did Eddie and Co arrive to have there photo's taken and claim the credit.

Would they do such a thing

Reggie. wrote: »
    Would they do such a thing

I am paranoid I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Great result on The 50% Well done.not sure how The old framework plan as a reference is going to be done but We will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Well Done Guys...that's great news !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 PatrickJoseph

That's some turnaround. Well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

An excellent result and well done - people power :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Con is the first keyboard warrier I've come across that is actually a warrier in real life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Credit where credit is due, you can talk the talk AND walk the walk Con.

Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Well done Con! you have created a template which marginalised farmers can use to challenge the insiders who have isolated them in the last few years.

Just to clarify my own role, I don't deserve credit, I did what I could when I could and certainly wasn't the brains of the operation. There are farmers out there who did trojan work on this for a number of years, they're the ones that deserve the credit.

No doubt, like the statement says there's still important work to be done on the detail but I honestly think we're in a better place today than last week when a commonage farmer couldn't even apply to GLAS without 50% agreement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Just to clarify my own role, I don't deserve credit, I did what I could when I could and certainly wasn't the brains of the operation. There are farmers out there who did trojan work on this for a number of years, they're the ones that deserve the credit.

No doubt, like the statement says there's still important work to be done on the detail but I honestly think we're in a better place today than last week when a commonage farmer couldn't even apply to GLAS without 50% agreement.

from agriland

The Hill Farmers for Action spokesman also outlined that where the Department finds a situational arises that less than 50% of active farmers on a commonage apply for the GLAS scheme. It will refer the issue to the Commonage Implementation Committee. But has also committed that no farmers will be refused entry to the scheme.

Where does it say no collective agreement

Eddie downey said exactly what your spokesman said at our last nat exec meeting on the 26th august and he told your guys to give it a chance, we also had a commitment from coveney that no one would be left out because of it, but you didn't want to talk to the dept.

looks like you wasted your time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

Press Release

As a result of the meeting between the minister for Agricultures commonage implementation committee and the hill farmers for action group last Friday in Athenry there have been a number of important changes to the GLAS scheme proposals.

The most significant change to the scheme is that the requirement for a 50% collective agreement between farmers for entry into the GLAS scheme has been changed.
    Hill Farmers for action group acknowledge that this was a significant move from the original proposal. Farmers can now apply as individuals for GLAS declaring that he/she is complying with a GLAS commonage management plan.

While welcoming this development there are several important issues that need to be worked out over the coming weeks regarding how the mechanics of the GLAS scheme will work.

As a result of this breakthrough a decision has been taken to pull the picket at An Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s office as of this morning and the planned meeting with the European Commission has been deferred.

Don't know exact details on the scheme. Say, If there are ten farmers on a commonage. 5 farmers have correct stocking rates and the other 5 overgraze heavily. The farmers with correct stocking rate with get subsidy even though the commonage might be overgrazed/damaged.

Press Release

No, but I sense a disturbance in the force...........
    rangler1 wrote: »
    The Hill Farmers for Action spokesman also outlined that where the Department finds a situational arises that less than 50% of active farmers on a commonage apply for the GLAS scheme. It will refer the issue to the Commonage Implementation Committee. But has also committed that no farmers will be refused entry to the scheme.

Eddie downey said exactly what your spokesman said at our last nat exec meeting on the 26th august and he told your guys to give it a chance, we also had a commitment from coveney that no one would be left out because of it, but you didn't want to talk to the dept.

See the two sentences in bold at the top of this post.

The need for a 50% collective agreement for entry into GLAS is no more.

Don't know exact details on the scheme. Say, If there are ten farmers on a commonage. 5 farmers have correct stocking rates and the other 5 overgraze heavily. The farmers with correct stocking rate with get subsidy even though the commonage might be overgrazed/damaged.

Keeping land in GAEC which will be a requirement going forward to get payment will have a role to play in that. Whether that will fall under Pillar one, Pillar two, or both I am not sure.

I know the Dept are out to address it however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭cristeoir

from agriland

looks like you wasted your time
    Sometimes rangler you come across as a very small minded and petty man:confused:
    Well done to all involved ,great result

No, but I sense a disturbance in the force...........

See the two sentences in bold at the top of this post.

The need for a 50% collective agreement for entry into GLAS is no more.

I'll give you our presidents report on the issue, this is from the minutes on the 26th august
    ''
    - IFA is campaigning strongly to secure a €500m funding allocation for farm schemes under the October Budget and to ensure the Minister opens the farm schemes this autumn so that payments are made to participants in 2015.

- The Commonage Implementation Committee under Chairman Joe Healy will examine cases where there were difficulties over minimum/maximum stocking levels and where the 50% threshold for the management agreement among active farmers or of the commonage area could not be achieved in order to ensure that farmers who wished to participate in GLAS could still do so. This was in line with a commitment given to IFA by Minister Coveney. IFA is urging the Committee to get up and running without delay to progress these issues.

Members expressed dismay at the amount of misinformation, although not coming from IFA officers, at a meeting in Westport the previous week and that Connacht Chairman T Turley had not been allowed to speak at the meeting. IFA is encouraging the Department to hold meetings in the relevant areas to clarify issues on CAP and RDP Implementation. Other points raised were livestock farmer access to TAMs and the need for a Hill Sheep Improvement Scheme. Members called for unity and for everyone to work through IFA structures.''

We had that commitment from the minister that no one would be stopped from entering way before that......you don't want to listen

you don't want to listen[/COLOR]

Dept Ag as of last Friday were still insisting on 50% collective agreement for a hill/commonage farmer to get into GLAS. Thats the facts.

Through negotiation with hill farmer for action group that entry requirement is GONE.

I can't put it any plainer than that.

Dept Ag as of last Friday were still insisting on 50% collective agreement for a hill/commonage farmer to get into GLAS. Thats the facts.

Through negotiation with hill farmer for action group that entry requirement is GONE.

I can't put it any plainer than that.

You see our minutes of the 26th august, We had a commitment from Coveney, exactly as Eddie had put it, you ask the other ED what he was told at that meeting

cristeoir wrote: »
    Sometimes rangler you come across as a very small minded and petty man:confused:
    Well done to all involved ,great result

We've achieved that much, but we still count it a work in progress, the devil will be in the detail, Cons press release only say it's changed, it depends how they expect the commonage to be managed now, Tom Turley would've explained to you in Westport had he got a chance

You see our minutes of the 26th august, We had a commitment from Coveney, exactly as Eddie had put it, you ask the other ED what he was told at that meeting

CA as an entry requirement is gone, that is the change to it. Previous to that one had to have 50% CA before being allowed to apply. No planner would touch a farmer without 50% CA, we've tested that. Now there's no requirement for CA so farmers as INDIVIDUALS can apply without asking anyone.

You'll excuse me if I take Ag's word on it over your Eddies. Knowing what I do. We had John Bryans word on P2 as well, look how well that turned out.

CA as an entry requirement is gone, that is the change to it. Previous to that one had to have 50% CA before being allowed to apply. No planner would touch a farmer without 50% CA, we've tested that. Now there's no requirement for CA so farmers as INDIVIDUALS can apply without asking anyone.

You'll excuse me if I take Ag's word on it over your Eddies. Knowing what I do. We had John Bryans word on P2 as well, look how well that turned out.

You have to admit those minutes are better than any photograph, at least you know we're in there working for you.
    Make sure your hill committee keeps you informed now

You have to admit those minutes are better than any photograph, at least you know we're in there working for you.

Again I will point you back to what Ag was saying on Friday, which is at odds with your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jesus you don't do the IFA any favours Rangler.

TITANIUM. wrote: »

A lot of sh... out there over this, we can only do our best, we have the commitment from Coveney that no one will be stopped and we'll try not to let him out under it.....this is only half solved, if that.
    I don't see anything wrong with my posts, would've left it alone if the smart alecs didn't get goin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

+

"Taxi for Rangler!" I say "Taxi for Rangler!"

Well done con , great ye all stuck together and achieved the right for a lot of people to apply for GLAS .. No point relying on others

Bodacious wrote: »
    +

"Taxi for Rangler!" I say "Taxi for Rangler!"

Well done con , great ye all stuck together and achieved the right for a lot of people to apply for GLAS .. No point relying on others

Am I fired.....I'll just have to go back to my nice sheep enterprise, etc etc.
    Con , are you going to look after the hill farmers now.....must tell Eddie

Bodacious wrote: »

Am I fired.....I'll just have to go back to my nice sheep enterprise, etc etc.
    Con , are you going to look after the hill farmers now.....must tell Eddie

I see IFA claiming credit for the Commonage Implementation Committee now on their site. I note it fails to mention which IFA members initiated and drove on that issue, I guess there is not enough of a spotlight to go when it comes to the grassroots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Rangler you Sound very bitter haha. Give It a break. Your coming across v bad

I see IFA claiming credit for the Commonage Implementation Committee now on their site. I note it fails to mention which IFA members initiated and drove on that issue, I guess there is not enough of a spotlight to go when it comes to the grassroots.

Where the photographer
    Am I paranoid am I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Guys, can we all act a bit more like adults please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Guys, can we all act a bit more like adults please.

Pot kettle black :)

whelan2 wrote: »

Cheeky :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Default position rears it head