Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 'Culchie' an offensive term?

• 17-09-2014 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

Three or so years ago a colleague of mine attempted to reprimand me for using the term 'Culchie'.

He found my 'turn of phrase, and the manner in which you said it on this occasion, both hurtful and insulting to me'.
    A further email explained that there 'is a very fine line between 'honest banter',and 'opinion', and what others may perceive to insulting or hurtful.'

I'm still highly amused by this but then I thought to myself what if the term is offensive? So i thought I'd ask the good people of AH what they thought...

So is 'Culchie' an offensive term that I should try my best to avoid uttering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Do you mean Culchie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Three or so years later and you are still thinking about it.

Let it go...........

(PS I don't find it insulting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Speaking as someone who drives an automatic car, calling manual drivers 'cluchies' is a great insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Not to me. I'm a Culchie. A Woollyback. A Mucksavage. A Mullah. A tae-drinkin', pigs-arse atin', black porter swillin', tractor-shtartin'-wit'-a-belt-of-a-lump-hammer clodhopping moutainly gobshíte of the highest order. And proud of it. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Three or so years ago a colleague of mine attempted to reprimand me for using the term 'Culchie'.

He found my 'turn of phrase, and the manner in which you said it on this occasion, both hurtful and insulting to me'.
    A further email explained that there 'is a very fine line between 'honest banter',and 'opinion', and what others may perceive to insulting or hurtful.'

I'm still highly amused by this but then I thought to myself what if the term is offensive? So i thought I'd ask the good people of AH what they thought...

So is 'Cluchie' an offensive term that I should try my best to avoid uttering?

Maybe he was upset that you were pronouncing it clu..chie

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Speaking as someone who drive an automatic car, calling manual drivers 'cluchies' is a great insult.

It's an honour, really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭BeardyFunzo

Three or so years later and you are still thinking about it.

Let it go...........

(PS I don't find it insulting)

Like I said I'm more amused but ever since we have to watch what we say around this person because if he lost the rag over this there's really no lower limit as to what would upset him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭893bet

Yes but once you pass your driving test its less so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Like I said I'm more amused but ever since we have to watch what we say around this person because if he lost the rag over this there's really no lower limit as to what would upset him...

So you basically don't think it's an offensive term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

don't mind the bleedin bogger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

jimgoose wrote: »
    Not to me. I'm a Culchie. A Woollyback. A Mucksavage. A Mullah. A tae-drinkin', pigs-arse atin', black porter swillin', tractor-shtartin'-wit'-a-belt-of-a-lump-hammer clodhopping moutainly gobshíte of the highest order. And proud of it. :cool:

Don't forget Bogger!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Culchie is like the N word. You can only use it if it has historically being used to demean you, as a means of reclaiming it and thereby taking away it's power to be disparaging.

Basically what I'm saying is, Nial Horan is the Irish Tupac.

osarusan wrote: »
    So you basically don't think it's an offensive term?

I don't, but then again I would consider 'Dub' to be equally offensive (not at all, in other words).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭AndOne

Depends if the Culchie is fat or ugly etc.

You fat ugly Culchie is fairly offensive to them all as they're all fat and ugly :)

Culchie is like the N word. You can only use it if it has historically being used to demean you, as a means of reclaiming it and thereby taking away it's power to be disparaging.

Basically what I'm saying is, Nial Horan is the Irish Tupac.

I see how you got your boards handle. Truth indeed.

I don't, but then again I would consider 'Dub' to be equally offensive (not at all, in other words).

I'd hardly call Dub offensive.. that is just short for Dubliner.

Now if you had of said "Jackeen"!... well holy god......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 gesler

Sounds like the little girl couldn't handle a bit of banter and wanted to use the old [/biggirlsblouse] your insulting me for no reason [/biggirlsblouse] crap to get you to leave him alone

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

It depends on the context in which it's used I guess. Same as Jackeen or whatever else.

stevieob wrote: »

That's enough out of you ya Jackeen!!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Some people will always find a way of being offended. Words are not offensive. How they are used can be offensive. And so what ? Being offended is part of dealing with life.

:mad::(
    hallo dare wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Do you think 'culchie' is so obviously non-insulting that he has no legitimate reason to feel insulted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Some people are very sensitive - they're pussies.

:mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

I'd hardly call Dub offensive.. that is just short for Dubliner.

to really provoke us call us 'Pale-dweller'.;-)

osarusan wrote: »
    Do you think 'culchie' is so obviously non-insulting that he has no legitimate reason to feel insulted?

pretty much. but then again any word can be insulting if you say it to someone in a mean enough way.

B.I.F.F.O!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

B.I.F.F.O!!!!!

BUFFALO

B.I.F.F.O!!!!!

B.U.F.F.A.L.O!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭madmaxi

Go ...... yourself spud muncher!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Rather be a culchie than a skangar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Context context context

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Stephen Fry quote INCOMING

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

madmaxi wrote: »
    Go ...... yourself spud muncher!! :D

AHHH HEEERRRRR!!!!!

Love me spuds!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is culchie more offensive than spud gobbler?

Or welly womble?

Or muck savage?

Or bog slasher?

Or Silage sprayer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Bambi wrote: »

Or welly womble?

Or muck savage?

Or bog slasher?

Or Silage sprayer?

Jealousy is a curious thing.

Old but Gold!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

cournioni wrote: »
    It depends on the context in which it's used I guess. Same as Jackeen or whatever else.

Exactly, all my pale mates ripped the piss outta me before the Donegal hammering of Dublin few weeks ago, they all called me (and everyone else) culchies and would often throw in a few other words after too. And i'd rip the piss back, all fun and games.

Now if someone i didn't know came up to me on a night out and called me a culchie and to f off back to culchieland then i would have an issue and would take offence. Not for the word but for how they said it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Bambi wrote: »

Or welly womble?

Or muck savage?

Or bog slasher?

Or Silage sprayer?

I've never been called a welly womble. But I want to be! :D
    "Bog Trotter" is a common one as well. I have done my fair share of trotting on bogs, slingin' the turf.
    Culchie and Proud! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I got an infraction before for saying people from Dundalk are culchies.

I think folk from the countryside who live on farms, down lanes with grass in the center etc don't take offence, but people from the country who live in grouped dwellings that they try to claim are 'cities' take offence at it.

Dundalk people live in stoating great mansions, hawrse:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Not at all, better to be a Culchie than a Jackeen.

A culchie's worst nightmare is having children that have a Dublin accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I don't like the word, suppose in what term it's used it can be offensive same as you saying jackeens. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭davidfitz22

Nah it's all tongue in cheek :D
    I have never seen anyone being called a culchie out of malice or anger .Dublin people will have a bit of banter with ye and seem to have a quick witted sense of humour just go with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 akkakkman

Yer talking about Kilkenny right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I came close to using it in once when I was at my girlfriend's uncles. something about coppers came up and I said "yeah that's generally popular with... [dramatic pause] those from outside of Dublin"

I remembered they have a slurry pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

akkakkman wrote: »
    Yer talking about Kilkenny right?

Yea, Kilkenny, Cork, Limerick, you know, bog settlements.

We don't even have proper bog down here, 'tis pure fcukan snipe-country, bah. Any chance of a few food parcels? Summa dem Yank Submarine sangidges'd be daycint.