Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef Genomics Scheme

• 16-09-2014 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭

What's the story with the payment for this scheme? haven't heard anything since I send off the samples a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

What's the story with the payment for this scheme? haven't heard anything since I send off the samples a few months ago.

Haven't heard but be well out in the year I'd say as 2 of my calves are still "too young" to record info on ICBF ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Anyone get anything back on the cow/bull dna tests.
    See ours is being evaluated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

Farrell wrote: »
    Anyone get anything back on the cow/bull dna tests.
    See ours is being evaluated

What section is that in again? i seen ours were being evaluated about a month ago but can't find it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

skoger wrote: »
    What section is that in again? i seen ours were being evaluated about a month ago but can't find it now.

From memory, I think euro star, then bgs genotype

Thanks. They're still being evaluated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Bodacious wrote: »
    Haven't heard but be well out in the year I'd say as 2 of my calves are still "too young" to record info on ICBF ..

Alright bod you seem to know your stuff on the online craic. Im all paperwork and hard copies here.
    How much of this stuff can be done online. And where would a lad go about it. Thanks.
    Apologies mods if im gone to far off topic.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Alright bod you seem to know your stuff on the online craic. Im all paperwork and hard copies here.
    How much of this stuff can be done online. And where would a lad go about it. Thanks.
    Apologies mods if im gone to far off topic.

http://www.icbf.com/ How far have you got? Can you register calves on-line?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    http://www.icbf.com/ How far have you got? Can you register calves on-line?

I just fill out the duplicate form and send it off.
    I've literally done nothing online.
    Spose you think im a troglodyte. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    I just fill out the duplicate form and send it off.
    I've literally done nothing online.
    Spose you think im a troglodyte. ;-)

Same here must look into it! :-)

Glad to hear that im not the only one

First step is to register with the dapt of ag, http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/agfoodiehelpvideos/howtoregisterforagfoodie/

Let me know how it goes, any questions just ask, this is free, but there is a small charge, I think it's 60yoyo a yr to register with icbf. The best thing about registering calves online is that they query if you are trying to register a calf too soon after the previous calf. It prevents you getting the blah blah letter in the post.

First step is to register with the dapt of ag, http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/agfoodiehelpvideos/howtoregisterforagfoodie/

Let me know how it goes, any questions just ask, this is free, but there is a small charge, I think it's 60yoyo a yr to register with icbf. The best thing about registering calves online is that they query if you are trying to register a calf too soon after the previous calf. It prevents you getting the blah blah letter in the post.

Will do blue. Fair play to you

blue5000 is spot on, agfood.ie is free, you can register your own calves , if you sell on the land you can print off your own movement certs and don't need to be faxing cork to get permits in post, at any stage you can view your herd profile as department see it.. no wondering is that cow n calf showing in my herd yet etc

my advice would be to start off with agfood.ie and when you get knacky at it , join the icbf .. I could live without the icbf membership but as im in a BTAP group I have to have it

now getting back to genomics id say you will get a hard copy to fill in calf quality, docility, etc etc whether its on paper or filled in on icbf its handy few bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

now getting back to genomics id say you will get a hard copy to fill in calf quality, docility, etc etc whether its on paper or filled in on icbf its handy few bob

Had forgotten all about that and did all ours earlier that were of age on agfood along with all the calving difficulties!

Useful thread for me :p

Animal Events Recording System--> Beef Data Program/
    Additional Genetic Information.

Easy enough to figure out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭LivInt20

blue5000 is spot on, agfood.ie is free, you can register your own calves , if you sell on the land you can print off your own movement certs and don't need to be faxing cork to get permits in post, at any stage you can view your herd profile as department see it.. no wondering is that cow n calf showing in my herd yet etc

my advice would be to start off with agfood.ie and when you get knacky at it , join the icbf .. I could live without the icbf membership but as im in a BTAP group I have to have it

Lads don't get confused.

Beef Genomics Scheme involved taking ear notch sample on cows and stock bull and sending in the post.
    This scheme is to enable ICBF build a database of genomics based on these samples.

Beef Data Programme is where you need to complete data on calves born in the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Are these schemes not a total waste of time since horsemeat as factories are gearing up to deal with the glut of dairyx stock and will barely look at a high genetic merit continental?

LivInt20 wrote: »
    Lads don't get confused.

Beef Genomics Scheme involved taking ear notch sample on cows and stock bull and sending in the post.
    This scheme is to enable ICBF build a database of genomics based on these samples.

Beef Data Programme is where you need to complete data on calves born in the herd.

you're right but you cant be in one without doing the other but yes I collectively called it beef genomics which is incorrect and I had my genomics samples done and was just waiting for last 2 calves to go over the 5 months of age to complete task and get payment on both

agriland saying beef genomics payments to start this week

http://www.agriland.ie/news/coveney-announces-e35m-genomics-package/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Not too bad, anyone know when BTAP will be paid?

'Twas Xmas day last year and I got E825, not too bad ! Not sure have heard zero from Teagasc lately

agriland saying beef genomics payments to start this week

http://www.agriland.ie/news/coveney-announces-e35m-genomics-package/

no sign of any beef payments on agfood,,.. any of sheep grassland scheme paid I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

no sign of any beef payments on agfood,,.. any of sheep grassland scheme paid I wonder?

Says Beef Geonomics has been paid on Agfood so should hit account tomorrow :D
    40 euro per calf.

Ours is in!

Mine showing on Agfood also so Aib tomorrow I'd say!

The beef data E20 per calf must be paid in early 2015 so. It's all something anyway towards feeding them

Mine showing on Agfood also so Aib tomorrow I'd say!

The beef data E20 per calf must be paid in early 2015 so. It's all something anyway towards feeding them

i didn't get paid til June for last years but I'd some Sept/Oct born calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Where do you go on a good.ie to see this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Are people getting texts from the department when genomic payments go out? I got none.

Limofarmer wrote: »
    Where do you go on a good.ie to see this.

Log on to agfood.ie, there is dropdown box that starts with I think, beef payments?? not sure now, but third or fourth line down is personal payments summary for 2014, says mine was paid today, aib are 'minding' it (or as Father Ted would say ''letting it rest in the account'') for a while.:mad:

Are people getting texts from the department when genomic payments go out? I got none.

No text here either . I tend to only use icbf for all data recording. I only register calves and do movements on agfood. Beginning to doubt myself now that I am not fully compliant to qualify for payment 😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

Yes I got text today. Money was in account yesterday.

Log on to agfood.ie, there is dropdown box that starts with I think, beef payments?? not sure now, but third or fourth line down is personal payments summary for 2014, says mine was paid today, aib are 'minding' it (or as Father Ted would say ''letting it rest in the account'') for a while.:mad:

I get this when I click on beef schemes

Applications for 2014 BDP/BGS Schemes closed on 12th May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

I get this when I click on beef schemes

Applications for 2014 BDP/BGS Schemes closed on 12th May

Go into financial self service and it should be latest payment. I got paid today but got no text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Go into financial self service and it should be latest payment. I got paid today but got no text.

Several people on here have mentioned the "financial self service" module on the Agfood.
    I just can't locate this section on the website!
    Any ideas??

Brass Tag wrote: »
    Several people on here have mentioned the "financial self service" module on the Agfood.
    Any ideas??

join the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Just trying to log in to agfood on mobile for first time but can't seem to get in anyone any ideas. will ring in the morning just wondering is there something I am doing wrong

i got one earlier on today and money's in the bank. ;)

Any ideas??

It's on the list on the left just below beef schemes on the first page after logging in. I'm on the laptop, mobile might be different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

Got a letter from Dept today telling me there was a payment waiting to go into my bank but there was a prob with my acc,hopefully it's the BGS andBDP payments,might be able to afford a turkey after all this year

Any ideas??

When you log in and hit this screen below, click on that link I have arrowed.

332080.jpg

Kovu wrote: »
    When you log in and hit this screen below, click on that link I have arrowed.

332080.jpg

Thank you Kovu .
    Now I know I'm not losing it . Believe it or not that option is missing from the list on my screen . Best get on to dept in morning

Once again thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Kevin the sheep

skoger wrote: »
    It's on the list on the left just below beef schemes on the first page after logging in. I'm on the laptop, mobile might be different

Can't find this anywhere either its just nitrates and sps anima! Events scheme and other things don't see anything about beef schemes is it agfood you log onto or department web sight or is all the same

Sorry was wrighting at time kove thanks

Thank you Kovu .
    Now I know I'm not losing it . Believe it or not that option is missing from the list on my screen . Best get on to dept in morning

Once again thank you

No problem. Strange that it's not on your list of options. :confused:

Will ring the agfood tech support am and report back what I find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Kevin the sheep

Not on mine either

I never noticed it until about two months ago to be honest. Report back with your findings about why it's not there for you!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Jonblack

You must ask the dept to add this .

Jonblack wrote: »
    You must ask the dept to add this .

Thanks i will do that this morning .

I must have missed that day at school. 😞

Tech support very helpful. To get that button added to the screen I need to fill out a form with phone number and pps number and sign it . It is being sent out by post today to me. button can't be added until the form is back and processed .

funny thing is I always get the text messages about sfp in account so they do have my phone number.

All sorted so I would advise anyone else that does not see the financial services button to contact dept of ag tech support to get it sorted out .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

Tech support very helpful. To get that button added to the screen I need to fill out a form with phone number and pps number and sign it . It is being sent out by post today to me. button can't be added until the form is back and processed .

funny thing is I always get the text messages about sfp in account so they do have my phone number.

All sorted so I would advise anyone else that does not see the financial services button to contact dept of ag tech support to get it sorted out .

Thanks for that info.

Thing is, I have used Agfood for years.
    You would think they would send an email, or put a notice on the website, regarding changes and additional features being added over time.
    Didn't get a mail and there is nothing on the website to advise clients that there are additional or new features available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

got a text this morning, was showing processed on Agfood yesterday
    still not in account,

and santy just submitted his invoice