Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slurry storage options

• 15-09-2014 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Is there rules of thumb as to when either a lagoon or above ground tank become more economical than slayed tanks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

just do it wrote: »
    Is there rules of thumb as to when either a lagoon or above ground tank become more economical than slayed tanks?

Friend putting in lagoon for 150 cows atm
    Says its costing 30k job done and dusted.
    Said same size tank in concrete with stats was 90k
    Seems a bit much imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Friend putting in lagoon for 150 cows atm
    Says its costing 30k job done and dusted.
    Said same size tank in concrete with stats was 90k
    Seems a bit much imo

What was the equivalent concrete tank without slats? They could be added later with a roof if planned right maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I find if you have a good mixing system with the tower it's the job as you can spread whenever you want, without having to spend a day agitating.

Milked out wrote: »
    What was the equivalent concrete tank without slats? They could be added later with a roof if planned right maybe?

Never asked that. Its a 50m x45m lagoon now I think.
    He's going outdoor cubicle route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Never asked that. Its a 50m x45m lagoon now I think.
    He's going outdoor cubicle route

+ automatic scrappers straight to lagoon?

Nor yet. He will in time im sure. Cubicles not going in till November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭solwhit2

They don't be long filling in January and February when there is heavy rain breaks my heart drawing water out of it.my neighbour put in a tower 7 years ago and reckons it was a great investment it cost him about 20 grand .

solwhit2 wrote: »
    They don't be long filling in January and February when there is heavy rain breaks my heart drawing water out of it.my neighbour put in a tower 7 years ago and reckons it was a great investment it cost him about 20 grand .

How many m3 does it hold? Concrete or steel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭solwhit2

How many m3 does it hold? Concrete or steel?

Steel , he says it takes just over 200 thousand gallons. There is actually a lot of them up around my area but these lads are all milking over a 100 cows.it seems quiet cheap but would the last long?.There must be some pressure on them when there full.

As lonv as a underground tank I believe.
    Grant made thay tank so cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

What's the largest you can go with tower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Neighbour has one for 400 k gallons I have a 180 k finrone steel tank can add an extra ring and another 60 k gallons

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Neighbour has one for 400 k gallons I have a 180 k finrone steel tank can add an extra ring and another 60 k gallons

Approx what ground area would 400k cover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

No answer for that sorry!.

Yes in high rainfall areas the cost comparison is different alright. What's the story with agitation and drawing slurry from towers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The largest I've seen with a precast concrete tower is 4240m3 (933,000 gals), from 2 different companies. Seen a 630,000 gal glass lined steel tank in NI on a big dairy unit - 27m diameter by 5m high

70 square meters. - but thats depending on what height different suppliers would give you.

Scrap that... totally wrong

Yes in high rainfall areas the cost comparison is different alright. What's the story with agitation and drawing slurry from towers?

Mostly a reception pit under ground that would hold 5000 gals approx, slam shut valve between the tower and reception pit. Vacuum tank it out of that then.

The largest I've seen with a precast concrete tower is 4240m3 (933,000 gals), from 2 different companies. Seen a 630,000 gal glass lined steel tank in NI on a big dairy unit - 27m diameter by 5m high

That's 575 m2
    1.25 acre?
    Am I right?

Christ that puts my 1000m3 in the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

That's 575 m2
    1.25 acre?
    Am I right?

Correct, hardly small!! Wouldnt be quick to empty!!

Need another 200m3 of slurry storage, at that size am I just better off going for a slatted tank?

That's 575 m2
    1.25 acre?
    Am I right?

I'm getting 0.142 acres area..... am I getting it totally arseways?

10000 square metres in ha
    729 square meteres taken uo by tgat tank you seen in north.
    Im getting 0.19

7yExee.png

10000 square metres in ha
    729 square meteres taken uo by tgat tank you seen in north.
    Im getting 0.19

Yeah. The 30m diameter tank takes up 0.19 acres.

The 27m tank takes up 0.142

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Volume of cylinder is pi × radius squared × height

→22/7×12^2×4
    →22/7×144×4 = 1, 810 M3 (400k gallons approx

So a tank with radius of 12 Meters (diameter 24 M) and 4 meters high would hold 400k.
    Assume that tank 4m high but I think dept. take some height for what they call freeboard

4M would be a 3 band tank

You are right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Volume of cylinder is pi × radius squared × height

→22/7×12^2×4
    →22/7×144×4 = 1, 810 M3 (400k gallons approx

So a tank with radius of 12 Meters (diameter 24 M) and 4 meters high would hold 400k.
    Assume that tank 4m high but I think dept. take some height for what they call freeboard

4M would be a 3 band tank
    Spot on Daisy, I would be old school cubic ft x 6.25 gallons. Why do you write pie (3.14) as a sum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

It would be (in irish builders terms) a fair size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Spot on Daisy, I would be old school cubic ft x 6.25 gallons. Why do you write pie (3.14) as a sum?

Simply because I post of phone and the is no symbol for it (pi) on phone.:)
    While on subject of converting
    Cubic feet multiplied by 0.02832 gives cubic meters (1000 litres)
    Cubic meters multiplied by 35.31 gives cubic feet

Obviously dividing by same also works in reverse.

Thanks be to god for the smartphone, saves doing all these calculations!

Ah yea correct, there is 10,000 square metres in a hectare not 1,000 my bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I have one that holds 200k gallons put in 40 years ago with 10k gallon tank underneath, there was an awful crust this so we dug it out with a trackndigger on a lowloader, theres no propellor on mine so it can be hard to agitate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

As for the pressure in these overground tanks, it's actually very little. Every 10metres in height would only give 1 Bar water (slury) pressure.

There's an engineer talking ;)