Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should have got that years ago!!

• 10-09-2014 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭

What tools or work items have you bought recently that you should have gotten years ago?

Recently we got an air powered grease gun(draper) to plug into an airline out in the field (supply line on air brakes) makes a big difference in speeding up things that just cant be explained.
    Also got a battery powered impact wrench so much faster to changed points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

4 slice toaster is the job in the morn! Esp when the brothers are around. Seriously two meal bins instead of a shed has saved the back and lungs. After that A lot of small things like proper calf pens Just to make things easier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

- Jockey Wheel for cattle trailer
    - Auto-dimming Welding mask
    - Imperial Spanner set, freebie but still !!!!
    - Proper grease-gun
    - Anti-backing bar for cattle crush
    - Calving camera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

What tools or work items have you bought recently that you should have gotten years ago?

Recently we got an air powered grease gun(draper) to plug into an airline out in the field (supply line on air brakes) makes a big difference in speeding up things that just cant be explained.

Fault finder for electric fence and another mobile calf feeder. Oh yea and a JCB instead or the hape of shyte of a Manipoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dosing hook

whelan2 wrote: »
    Dosing hook

Good one great yoke. We have a line overhead the length of the crush. Hang dose container connect hook and all you're carrying is the hook iykwim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

A decent crush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

A new tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Proper sheep hurdles (12) Saves so much hassle and cursing.
    Leaf blower
    Weighting scales for lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

A new tractor

*waits for Mahoney to say no, a decent contractor* :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Dead right,Air impact gun , zips the points off, skinned knuckles a thing of the past!
    A pole saw, the greatest thing since you know what, made a cage for one of the loaders now cut branches for fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

A crush gate in the calving pen,
    Lockable feeding barrier
    Meal bin
    Log splitter
    Tractor with 4wd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Baling twine and pallets. The were expensive enough but I got free straw and fertiliser with them. Can be used for several jobs around farm.:D

Seriously though, an auto wash on milking machine. A great yoke. Mess round with two drums in the dairy? Not me, just press button and go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Timmaay wrote: »
    *waits for Mahoney to say no, a decent contractor* :p

Yeadh and a new baler and wrapper,feck it go for a fusion no need for another tractor and your da then!

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yeadh and a new baler and wrapper,feck it go for a fusion no need for another tractor and your da then!

Looked at a new lelyfusion the other day. Fine yoke. Silage2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

I thought you were saving for a new slurry tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Pallet truck - makes the corners of sheds usable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Pole saw, new head gate on the crush/ putting a man gate behind the first animal for castrating etc... saves so much hassle!

And it's around a few year now but the 30ft bale trailer with decent rack front and bar on the back! Saves so much time drawing straw!!

grazeaway wrote: »
    I thought you were saving for a new slurry tank?

I am.

The tornado baler wrapper or their new continuous baler? Think ya'd need the laptop plugged into the Massey for the continuous baler, they're putting recommended hp @170!

Zr105 wrote: »
    The tornado baler wrapper or their new continuous baler? Think ya'd need the laptop plugged into the Massey for the continuous baler, they're putting recommended hp @170!

Combi. Have big massey ordered

Haven't seen any in action but they seem to be a good enough yoke!

Zr105 wrote: »
    Haven't seen any in action but they seem to be a good enough yoke!

Ah im only yankinh mjs chain. Have looked at nothing. Seen that new continuous baler. Complicated yoke with too much to go wrong

Haha i was guessing that alright lad! The tornado does seen to be a good yoke tho, just cant break in as mchale got their with the fusion first!

Yeah the continuous is a serious lump of a yoke, thought the way they were doing it was clever tho! Certainly seemed better to me than the krone idea that basically holds up the crop in a belted chamber whilst bale is tying!

ganmo wrote: »
    Pallet truck - makes the corners of sheds usable

And a rainy day and a new parlour!

Yank away if that's what ur into,not my chain though......;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Geared reels. Every lad with cattle should have at least one.

Better than 10 lads to round up cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

Muckit wrote: »

Close em in or electrocute the fcuk outa them :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

+1 on the air lube system. Got it a few years ago. Brilliant on machines that guzzle grease.
    Now where would you go about getting the impact tool? Would recommend a glove on your other hand though!!

Fault finder for electric fence and another mobile calf feeder. Oh yea and a JCB instead or the hape of shyte of a Manipoo

Where to buy the fault finder??

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Proper sheep hurdles (12) Saves so much hassle and cursing.
    Leaf blower
    Weighting scales for lambs.

+1 on the leaf blower. Excellent for blowing down the combines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

A smaller tractor. For years I thought bigger was better. 170-200 hp all the way. Got a 90 hp massey and love it. The diesel it saves is unbelieveble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

Dawggone wrote: »
    Now where would you go about getting the impact tool? Would recommend a glove on your other hand though!!
    The quad driver got one first a De-Walt 18v? from a local hardware store, he's an ex- royal engineer/tanky on medical discharge but still anal about his toys and maintenance..... hehe, stays in tool box on the quad so we got a Milwaukee on recommendation from a dealers fitter for workshop ordered off the web.
    +1 on the leaf blower. Excellent for blowing down the combines.
    Would you not have a road compressor for blowing down combines? Have one here use it for blowing down grain stores also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Air compressor for the soft tires late at night or early in the morning plus for cleaning down the knotters of the square baler

New parlour with loads of bells and whistles .can now milk over 70 cows comfortably in 45 minutes and feed cows to potential.
    6 rotor grass Tedder,gives really high dm silage and cones into its own if a half chance comes to knock silage.
    Contracting out slurry and fertliser spreading in spring.keaves time to look after cows and calves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

mahoney_j wrote: »
    New parlour with loads of bells and whistles .can now milk over 70 cows comfortably in 45 minutes and feed cows to potential.
    6 rotor grass Tedder,gives really high dm silage and cones into its own if a half chance comes to knock silage.
    Contracting out slurry and fertliser spreading in spring.keaves time to look after cows and calves

Will it become more common in the future as guys get that few more cows even less time to get more contractors in? You can make hell of a lot more money a day in the office reviewing cows etc than to pay someone to drive a tractor around.
    Would it nearly make sense for a beef farmer to do abit for a few neighbours going down the dairy root, not too much that he'll never get done on time just a bit extra in the pocket..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

Quad for us was major change. Gift really plus a sprayer for the back. Only 2400 so not that big of a spend

Proper cattle box. Way safer loading!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Muckit wrote: »

+ 1 on that. The older cows can even tell if you have it connected to the fencer or not. Great job in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

For us old gob****es

The Haybob every yoke before that was bollicks , ditto the transport box

Small grinder for sharpening blades, specially in a baler

+ 1 on that. The older cows can even tell if you have it connected to the fencer or not. Great job in fairness.

Do they still do the trick of ganging up and pushing the new bint up against the fence to test it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Do they still do the trick of ganging up and pushing the new bint up against the fence to test it

Bint?
    Did you ever do a bit of Square bashing?:D:D

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Bint?
    Did you ever do a bit of Square bashing?:D:D

No but father was one them merchant navy wallas who got it in his head a farm would be a great place to bring up kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

whelan2 wrote: »
    Dosing hook

ive my dosing hook thrown as far as I could pelt it

waste of time in my view

I use automatic syringe and bang it into them get the job done

Good one great yoke. We have a line overhead the length of the crush. Hang dose container connect hook and all you're carrying is the hook iykwim

Was that you or did you rob that idea from the dairy farmer mag a while back? !

Cattlepen wrote: »
    A smaller tractor. For years I thought bigger was better. 170-200 hp all the way. Got a 90 hp massey and love it. The diesel it saves is unbelieveble

90hp is a big tractor for some. A 135 is a small tractor and a miser on juice!!!

Where to buy the fault finder??

Gallagher Smartfix is the one I have. Got in local agri store €110. Points you in direction of short. If you can't sort I could mail one to you. I'd imagine you're resourceful enough to sort it.

Do you need it to fence out the neighbours cows as yours indoors

Will it become more common in the future as guys get that few more cows even less time to get more contractors in? You can make hell of a lot more money a day in the office reviewing cows etc than to pay someone to drive a tractor around.
    Would it nearly make sense for a beef farmer to do abit for a few neighbours going down the dairy root, not too much that he'll never get done on time just a bit extra in the pocket..

Never work, people would feel dairy guys are taking advantage like rearing heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

ive my dosing hook thrown as far as I could pelt it

waste of time in my view

I use automatic syringe and bang it into them get the job done

Thank god I'm not the only one who can't stand the hook gun. Far too much waste with it in my opinion. At least one in every ten cows will drop her head and spit it out. Also a fcuker to try squeeze a few gallons of zanil through one. Would prefer to have someone with me on the day of dosing and do them right, or the alternative(which brings me back on thread!) is the head-scoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Thank god I'm not the only one who can't stand the hook gun. Far too much waste with it in my opinion. At least one in every ten cows will drop her head and spit it out. Also a fcuker to try squeeze a few gallons of zanil through one. Would prefer to have someone with me on the day of dosing and do them right, or the alternative(which brings me back on thread!) is the head-scoop.

A guy I worked woth in Cambridge had a pneumatic dosing gun. It shot it down the animals throat so fast that they couldn't throw it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

That is extremely condescending. And sure maybe the dairy man can throw us beef farmers a few shillings and we can tug our forelock at him like the peasants thatused to open gates for the gentry! Learn how to spell too

Cattlepen wrote: »
    That is extremely condescending. And sure maybe the dairy man can throw us beef farmers a few shillings and we can tug our forelock at him like the peasants thatused to open gates for the gentry! Learn how to spell too

Told ye