Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phil hogan -new E.U. farming commissioner.

• 10-09-2014 6:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭

Accordind to the front page ofhttp://independant.ie phil hogan will be the new commissioner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

jjf1974 wrote: »
    Accordind to the front page ofhttp://independant.ie phil hogan will be the new commissioner

Wonder how he will get on with rebellious French dairy farmers next spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

jjf1974 wrote: »

Doubt it will make a lot of advantage to us. Ray McSharry got plenty of hassle when he was an Ag. Commissioner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Doubt it will make a lot of advantage to us. Ray McSharry got plenty of hassle when he was an Ag. Commissioner

McSharry made the tillage and beef enterprises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

If he does get it, will it be game on for butter fat reference reduction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Probably a reward for implementing property tax and water charges here. Give him a chance and he'll be doing the same with agricultural land and bored wells. I guess he won't be running in the next general election. He'd be lynched if he went out canvassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dawggone wrote: »
    Wonder how he will get on with rebellious French dairy farmers next spring.

Not very well I'd guess.. I've seen him in action and he'd be pig headed, loves to bully his own way though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

God help us all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

he wont do irish farmers any favours anyway he is such an aragont assh56e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

the man was a clueless and pig headed in his last post, water charges and the new building regulations are his legacy, both a complete mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

the man was a clueless and pig headed in his last post, water charges and the new building regulations are his legacy, both a complete mess

Probably the two single biggest cockups of the current government! Both had some merit introducing them, but if they tried they couldn't have made more a shambles of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Probably a reward for implementing property tax and water charges here. Give him a chance and he'll be doing the same with agricultural land and bored wells. I guess he won't be running in the next general election. He'd be lynched if he went out canvassing.

We'll worry about that if or when it comes around, meanwhile stop giving them ideas ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Sam Kade wrote: »
    We'll worry about that if or when it comes around, meanwhile stop giving them ideas ;)

Sure werent we paying rates on land up until the late 70's. Its been mentioned again lately in the Dail about returning to something similar. Maybe not now as residential property prices are on the rise. Valuations for property tax will surely rise when thell be reviewed in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Sure werent we paying rates on land up until the late 70's. Its been mentioned again lately in the Dail about returning to something similar. Maybe not now as residential property prices are on the rise. Valuations for property tax will surely rise when thell be reviewed in 2016.
    It's mainly city properties are going up in value property in towns and in the country are at a standstill. So you cannot raise tax on any property that isn't increasing in value. Unless they will take a higher % of the value in tax.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Timmaay wrote: »
    Probably the two single biggest cockups of the current government! Both had some merit introducing them, but if they tried they couldn't have made more a shambles of both.

and he gets rewarded for it...tells you all you need to know about Enda's "loyalty first and competence last" political ethos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

Does mean the collective agreement on commonages will be passed?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I hear he got the job. Chinese curse 'May you live in interesting times' is ahead of us now.:o

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

skoger wrote: »
    Does mean the collective agreement on commonages will be passed?

No.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I too find his appointment rather uninspiring to say the least:(

As do I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

As do I.

Sorry I don't know what happened there as I seemed to have deleted that post somehow:confused: Anyways I'm not suprised there isn't much enthusiasm for this appointment among farmers in marginal areas given this goverments record on the substantive issues to date. I see Ming had a good cut at him on the radio today:D

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Sorry I don't know what happened there as I seemed to have deleted that post somehow:confused: Anyways I'm not suprised there isn't much enthusiasm for this appointment among farmers in marginal areas given this goverments record on the substantive issues to date. I see Ming had a good cut at him on the radio today:D

Waiting for that to come up on RTE Radio Player to hear it.

Next election will be interesting, I won't be voting the same way as last time out, certain of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Next election will be interesting, I won't be voting the same way as last time out, certain of that.

Your not the only one - I'd be embarressd at this stage to mention who I gave a No2 to last time out:(

Waiting for that to come up on RTE Radio Player to hear it.

will you not be running

You're right there.

good man, now dont forget your roots, good republican county and all that

you and ming would make a good tag team

good man, now dont forget your roots, good republican county and all that

you and ming would make a good tag team

Reckon you took me up wrong there CB, would have nothing to do with politics, dirty, dirty business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Ye should've heard Ming at 1oc. All farmers in the East are ranchers, all have second homes in Eastern Europe. Talk about canvassing while he made some good points about hill farmers this stuff does him no favours. It was actually funny

He's just as funny in person, had some great lines in Westport.

Collective agreement is about as sensible as trying to herd butterflies, or something to that effect.

He's just as funny in person, had some great lines in Westport.

Collective agreement is about as sensible as trying to herd butterflies, or something to that effect.

Is he good craic? Strikes me as clever bit intense I'd say?

Very clever, seemed relaxed to me anyway. Well able to tell it how it is and put his point across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Any link to mings speach at 1?

did he mention granite worktops at all

Any link to mings speach at 1?

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/news-at-one//

I can't say I have heard much I disagree with in Mings interview.

Skip to 6.40 into interview, you'll avoid the boring bit that way.

Very clever, seemed relaxed to me anyway. Well able to tell it how it is and put his point across.

i actually have come to like the man, he seems very measured and knows his stuff, i would say europe will get some shock

He's big into fair play for people which is a quality lacking in Ireland.

did he mention granite worktops at all

Leather trousers ha

boat shoes

boat shoes

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,512 ✭✭✭secman

Another Irish politician rewarded for ineptitude................ really beggars BELIEF that we did have a competent person to nominate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

The only good thing I can think of saying about him is that surely he can't be as bad as Maire Geoghan Quinn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

donfers wrote: »
    and he gets rewarded for it...tells you all you need to know about Enda's "loyalty first and competence last" political ethos

Well if he had the opposite ethos he'd have sent Leo varadker but he'd probably end up screwing every farmer in the country just to get back at Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

tanko wrote: »
    The only good thing I can think of saying about him is that surely he can't be as bad as Maire Geoghan Quinn.

Don't be suprised. Uncle phil made dick Roche look good.

Just goes to show that you don't need brains to get on in irish politics just a good thick neck. I wonder how the lads in Europe will take to his tall tales, no doubt he ll continue to make us irish look a joke in the EU.

It's like the saying about who gets the plumb jobs, " it's not what you know but who you know"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Well if he had the opposite ethos he'd have sent Leo varadker but he'd probably end up screwing every farmer in the country just to get back at Kenny.

Don't worry young Leo will no doubt have an eye out for a nice number in Europe too once he manages to knife his way past covney to the top table in FG and if that dosent happen he ll have an exit plan to someone like labour or if rumours are to believed the return of the PD's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

IFA welcoming the appointment of Hogan really says it all. Requim mass for Irish farming has been announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Wooly Admirer

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/news-at-one//

I can't say I have heard much I disagree with in Mings interview.

Skip to 6.40 into interview, you'll avoid the boring bit that way.

A nice well balanced piece there! Heard him and Eddie Downy on Matt Cooper this evening also, cringed the whole way through, Cooper couldn't get them off quick enough. Ming using language like 'Ranchers' with houses in eastern europe. You'd swear everyone farming east of Shannon are flying around in helicopters like JR. Dallas, pissing down on lads in the West - what a load of rubbish.

I'd like to see the breakdown of the data he's using on the millions that will be moving from West to East.

A nice well balanced piece there! Heard him and Eddie Downy on Matt Cooper this evening also, cringed the whole way through, Cooper couldn't get them off quick enough. Ming using language like 'Ranchers' with houses in eastern europe. You'd swear everyone farming east of Shannon are flying around in helicopters like JR. Dallas, pissing down on lads in the West - what a load of rubbish.

I'd like to see the breakdown of the data he's using on the millions that will be moving from West to East.

Farming Independent did a piece, backed up by research, on the SFP early in the CAP negotiations some time. Quite a chunk of it was being used for investment including property outside of Ireland.

Ming is talking in terms of the Ciolos flat rate proposals. In that respect he's correct.

Haven't heard the Matt Cooper piece yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

IFA welcoming the appointment of Hogan really says it all. Requim mass for Irish farming has been announced.

ye can quit yer moaning now.. Big Phil is in with his big sneary head on him.. he the type of man that gives you a stonker of a bill and takes pleasure in delivering it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I just can't get past his first incarnation on don't feed the gondolas back in the nineties.