Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is the duck shooting going

• 08-09-2014 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Has not being a bad start so far for me 4 mallard and a wigeon very early for wigeon but there was 4 on the pond sat night shot 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Not too bad, the flight ponds have plenty of ducks but I haven't been to the lough or the shore yet so don't know the state of the divers yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

I was out last night I have never seen as many mallard and teal it was pure joy to see them. I shot 2 teal and a mallard but after a while we just watched them flighting. Lots of young birds and we didn't release any so that made it even better, without a doubt the most memorable first evening I have ever had. Should be a good season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

was out on the 1st to the 3rd shot my first two teal and my mate shot four mallard. I didn't think there were all that many about great craic all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Weather has me bollixed!!
    2 flood ponds I usually shoot for duck are dryed up
    But sure that's the fun of it I suppose!
    Only thing that worked out well is I'm getting plenty of steadiness on the new dog
    Been out 4 evenings and 4 mornings.
    1 mallard and snipe is all I've to show for it
    Not for lack of a bad shot either!only missed 1 mallard and 3 snipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

not been a great start here missed 4 mallard the 1st and missed another last night and heard 2 coming of a pond tonight as i entered, ill bag one at some stage not alot of water around here either but few days of rain will sort that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Gonna take feckin 40 days and 40 nights for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I rose two snipe other night. Completely forgot they were in season ha. Stood there looking at them and saying Jaysus when are they in season again :D
    No duck yet and tbh don't think il end up with any either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Woodcock shot

I was out the 1st for an hour, missed a mallard and shot one of two teal that got up out of a drain in front of me,
    Was out Sunday morning and missed teal and mallard so went home pissed off, still it's great to be meeting them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fabwing

I was out on the 1st and was beaten to my spot by some very early birds, but its still very early in the season, I much prefer to shoot one or two ducks later in the season as they taste much better in cold weather, and do go off as easy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

shot my first ever duck opening day but only winged it and didnt have the dog with me so i raced home to get her and went straight back to the stream where i shot em and spent the next hour with a friend ,my lab and his three springers chasing a very lively duck up and down the stream but every time a dog got close he dived under the water and made his escape so i returned home duckless, i walked the same stream two days later with the lab and rose two ducks from the very same spot and dropped the first one with the first shot, went for the second but the gun had jammed but was still delighted to see the pup make short work of her first duck retrieve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

shot my first ever duck opening day but only winged it and didnt have the dog with me so i raced home to get her and went straight back to the stream where i shot em and spent the next hour with a friend ,my lab and his three springers chasing a very lively duck up and down the stream but every time a dog got close he dived under the water and made his escape so i returned home duckless, i walked the same stream two days later with the lab and rose two ducks from the very same spot and dropped the first one with the first shot, went for the second but the gun had jammed but was still delighted to see the pup make short work of her first duck retrieve

If that happens to me I put a second shot in it if it's safe.

Be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    If that happens to me I put a second shot in it if it's safe.

Be

never got a chance he was only ever in the open for a second or two and when he was there was always a dog or two right behind em it was a nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

shot 7 mallard the open evening, lad with me got 2 and a greylag. I could have had a lot more mallard but id enough and was hoping for a goose to pass.. Great to see so many mallard about, I havent been out since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ericslevin

Not too bad, have 8 mallard,2 teal and a tufted duck. Got the tufted on a pond the 1st never seen them on a pond before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 JOHNERS

out my self noting yet bad weater coming hopfully it gets good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 PDAhunter

3 mallard and a teal so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

2 mallard got so far. Hopefully the weather will help get things going properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Got seven between four of us on Friday evening and checked the two flight ponds today and they are back feeding on both which is great.

Mallards 05oct: http://youtu.be/48mIoJvlzeQ

Teal pond 05oct: http://youtu.be/fezgMchi_98

3 teal and one mallard so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

5 Mallard so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

im finding numbers down due to weather i guess.iv got in around the 30 mark.got 4 fine drakes last night all on the go pro but they are **** in low light.got a lovely shot on a crow which i thought was a gray their is a nest close by while waiting for the duck.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZteT4C5gTdE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Remember me?

5 mallard and a teal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

seeing good numbers of duck around bit of rain has made a big difference but still yet to drop one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Decided to wonder down to the pond this eve to have a look at the flight lines, I was just going to wonder down and bash down some reeds to get a hide ready. the Father persuaded me to take the bang stick with me, glad I did, saw loads of teal, i had no decoys out but had a call in the pocket, called away for a few min and 7 or 8 mallard came in, managed to get one for the pot👍

924A92D5-3BEC-4489-A759-D1B8E49F04CE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 WATERFOWLER

Not bad was out sunday got 2 mallard, and 1 teal.Weather is to mild at the moment i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

17 shot i think between a couple of us,getting better the last couple weeks

We were out today got 4 mallards and 1 teal between 2 of us. Just got home before the rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ericslevin

Going good so far lads. Have 22 mallard. 3 teal. 4 wigeon and a tufted duck. Just been ta sports den today gettin shells for the pheasant. Wont be long now lads. Still havin trouble uploading pictures just gettin use to this

Was on walking the dogs on 1 of my permissions today to see was there any water on it and a big flock of widgeon flew out over the field in front of me. Cant wait for these fields to flood..

http://youtu.be/wu7uy7KfAwM

5 mallard drakes yesterday happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

6 mallard 2teal 1widgeon Monday evening a lot of widgeon on the move.

Hope the widgeon are moving my way so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

Have 36 shot so far. 25 of which were mallard the rest were teel... these were shot between me, the father and uncle over saturdays.. we also have 5 traps set for mink and have caught 28 since june. The place is just crawling with mink.

That's great shooting shooting u must live in a good area for duck shooting ?

Got my first widgeon of season Friday night,

Evening flight in Offaly last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Padd2

not a bad start here been out twice have 1 mallare and 3 teal.. went for an evening tidal flight and had a lot of teal moving !! i didnt get a single one but the lad with me bagged 7 teal!!

Going ok, missing a few but 4 teal, 1 mallard and a widgeon so far, a duck will be a bonus from now on though