Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

High bike wrote: »
    theres more than dew needed around here the ground is like the road

That is a fact. Ground cracking up already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

A few of the calves today. Starting to shape up a bit now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Panch18

A few of the calves today. Starting to shape up a bit now.

Smashing calves there Limestone - a credit to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Shocking screws of yokes!! Show us the good calves let ya!! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Shocking screws of yokes!! Show us the good calves let ya!! :D

:D Theres a few screws around the place dont worry. The fella that's not tagged will be the pick of them yet. Just a fortnight now. A few more aswell, bundle of yearling heifers and a 2yo blonde heifer that's gone to the bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,755 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

:D Theres a few screws around the place dont worry. The fella that's not tagged will be the pick of them yet. Just a fortnight now. A few more aswell, bundle of yearling heifers and a 2yo blonde heifer that's gone to the bull.

Serious cow and calf in the first pic.
    What's that planted in the background of the top last pic? Not that fooking Sitka spruce?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Few spare calves :pac:

D7LYNaxXoAAUGhW.jpg

Serious cow and calf in the first pic.
    What's that planted in the background of the top last pic? Not that fooking Sitka spruce?:mad:

Great breeding cow. Have a real nice heifer off her from last year. Loads of lads have tried to buy her off me. Ya Sitka spruce, poor land up there. My place was a sea of moss and rushes there up to a few years ago but a good spray of mcpa and plenty of fert and gran lime and it's useable again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Great breeding cow. Have a real nice heifer off her from last year. Loads of lads have tried to buy her off me. Ya Sitka spruce, poor land up there. My place was a sea of moss and rushes there up to a few years ago but a good spray of mcpa and plenty of fert and gran lime and it's useable again.

Have you any calves off the charolais bull you bought last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Lovely stock, that heifer is a beaut.
    What bull did you put on her?

rushvalley wrote: »
    Have you any calves off the charolais bull you bought last year?

Ya the most of those calves in the pics are off him.

Lovely stock, that heifer is a beaut.
    What bull did you put on her?

Limo stock bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭johnnyw20

13 and half month old simmental cross bull I bought for €150 as a calf in for finishing at the moment 510kg last week. Should leave me a few quid hopefully. How would he roughly grade? An O+?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

What type of fert did you use there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

When you say you had it rinsed - you mean the IBC or the sprayer?

Will you go again with it Say?

Very interested to see how it works out over time...

Can I change my mind??

I'd say the seaweed treatments (both) have been fairly positive.
    The place has greened up grand with good growth. Even my yellow bits have darkened and thickened up. No drought stress here. Ground is cracking open though.
    Lesson learned is that you need a dry day to spray but a wet day the next day to wash it off the leaves into the soil.

tanko wrote: »
    What type of fert did you use there?

Got 4 bags of 18-6-12/acre last year and 2 so far this year. All my indexs are low so nearly always go with 18-6-12 or 10-10-20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Got 4 bags of 18-6-12/acre last year and 2 so far this year. All my indexs are low so nearly always go with 18-6-12 or 10-10-20.

Yeah, was thinking the same myself.
    I take it you're happy wirh the results when using granlime on ground like that.

When calving young works out! This is the Salers heifer who broke into next doors ch bull & calved at 22 months. Doing great thankfully :)

D7UdEcKXoAA3OTU.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,987 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

When calving young works out! This is the Salers heifer who broke into next doors ch bull & calved at 22 months. Doing great thankfully :)

[]

As the auctioneer in Mountrath mart used to say 'Nice outfit'!

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

tanko wrote: »
    Yeah, was thinking the same myself.
    I take it you're happy wirh the results when using granlime on ground like that.

I've no choice really. Wouldn't travel it with a lime spreader. Place isint as coarse as it was anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

[][/QUOTE]
    As the auctioneer in Mountrath mart used to say 'Nice outfit'![/quote]

Another auctioneer locally is renowned for "super suckler" and letting an odd roar into the mike for added emphasis.

"Smasher!

"You're a judge!"

Another auctioneer locally is renowned for "super suckler" and letting an odd roar into the mike for added emphasis.

Or anyone who knows Pj, breaks into song on occasion :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

PJ is a fair man to keep the same tempo all day. "Give it again and the middle of the deck" feature frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,755 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Or as the auctioneer who sells a lot of pedigree bulls says - which part of the bull isnt worth e50?.
    He'll also 'take a little one off you' when trying to get the last bid and then say ' I didn't say you had a little one'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,496 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

johnnyw20 wrote: »
    13 and half month old simmental cross bull I bought for €150 as a calf in for finishing at the moment 510kg last week. Should leave me a few quid hopefully. How would he roughly grade? An O+?
    Some grade of an O anyways
    Finishing as a bull or squeezing him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭golodge

Twin heifers doing fine just one week on grass. Both will be AI'd at the end of June.
    DSCF3072.jpg

Another heifer for AI soon too.
    DSCF3049.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

golodge wrote: »
    Twin heifers doing fine just one week on grass. Both will be AI'd at the end of June.DSCF3072.jpg

Another heifer for AI soon too.
    DSCF3049.jpg
    They are cracking heifers. What age do you AI them at.

They are grazing beautiful diverse meadows and do you receive top up EU payments in your farm/area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭golodge

Base price wrote: »
    They are cracking heifers. What age do you AI them at.

They are grazing beautiful diverse meadows and do you receive top up EU payments in your farm/area?
    Thank you. They are 20months old now. They were too small to calve now and don't want any fall calving, so just kept them a bit longer.

We do get EU payments, for the land and for the sucklers. However, the number of cows, we get payed for, are counted from 10 years ago...