Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hitch Hiking

• 06-09-2014 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭

Has anyone Hitchhiked recently? How did it go?

I am a 50+ male couchsurfing host and have hitchhiked with many couchsurfers around Ireland (All females). We always got lifts within half an hour and sometimes within minutes. never got stuck anywhere. The more remote the road, the more likely a car was to stop for us when it came along.

The only place I ever had to give up was trying to hitch out of Dublin.

Why is it that the people who tell you that hitchhiking is dangerous have never actually done it?

Do you stop for hitchhikers?

Would you stop for a hitchhiker? 2 votes

I would always stop
    0% 0 votes
    I would stop only for a female
    100% 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. RED

Where y'headed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

If ever there comes a time I want to be the main feature on the Six O'clock News, as a dismembered corpse somewhere in a remote location, I will pick up a hitchhiker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Main thing to remember is to never pick up someone who looks like Rutger Hauer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

Mr. RED wrote: »
    Where y'headed?

Didn't ya read the sign I was holding? It said "HOME".

wazky wrote: »
    If ever there comes a time I want to be the main feature on the Six O'clock News, as a dismembered corpse somewhere in a remote location, I will pick up a hitchhiker.

I would rather dismember the drivers who DIDN'T stop for me. :(

Duggy747 wrote: »

Erm Why...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Nomis21 wrote: »

I am a 50+ male couchsurfing host and have hitchhiked with many couchsurfers around Ireland (All females). We always got lifts within half an hour and sometimes within minutes. never got stuck anywhere. The more remote the road, the more likely a car was to stop for us when it came along.

The only place I ever had to give up was trying to hitch out of Dublin.

Why is it that the people who tell you that hitchhiking is dangerous have never actually done it?

Do you stop for hitchhikers?

Why should they get a free ride??

If I saw anybody over the age of 30 hitching I would think to myself why should they get a free ride. Why can they have lived 30 yrs and not done enough with their life to afford a car or at the very least a bus ticket

nc19 wrote: »

If I saw anybody over the age of 30 hitching I would think to myself why should they get a free ride. Why can they have lived 30 yrs and not done enough with their life to afford a car or at the very least a bus ticket

You're off your head brah! I wouldn't hitchhike myself; but I used stop and pick up folk up the odd time.

I mean come on! It's pretty badass;

here I am - Stop your car and let me in!! I don't give a f*** which one of you pick me up!! Not a single f***! All I need to know is; are we going in the same direction!?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hitch-hiked to Killarney on a whim with a friend once. Went on the piss and spent all our monies. Slept in a bus luggage bay with about 20 other randomers but got evicted about 6am by the Hotel staff who worked the grounds of car park.

Went to the edge of Killarney town and stuck out the thumb, got a lift off Dracula.. well, a guy known as 'Paddy Drac' from Dublin who was going to Waterfjord, via Cork, to do a gig for some kids. We must have looked a state but Paddy Drac was a Boss and gave us a lift anyway in his big Ford Granada.

Fair play to Paddy Drac.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Hitch-hiked to Killarney on a whim with a friend once. Went on the piss and spent all our monies. Slept in a bus luggage bay with about 20 other people but got evicted about 6am.

Went to the edge of Killarney town and stuck out the thumb, got a lift off Dracula.. well, a guy known as 'Paddy Drac' from Dublin who was going to Waterfjord, via Cork, to do a gig for some kids. We must have looked a state but Paddy Drac was a Boss and gave us a lift anyway.

Fair play to Paddy Drac.

This IS the craic you see. Some people just wouldn't understand! Fair play Paddy Drac. Ledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭lila1

Dont know if they still do it but years ago myself and my friend hitched lifts everywhere well dont know if you would call it hitchiking but we just stuck out our thumb. We were only 14 qt the time, but if my daughter was to do it now there is no way i would let her. How times have changed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I pick up hitch hikers so I can have someone to talk to, offer them to come around to house for a cup of tea. You know, normal stuff.

lila1 wrote: »
    Dont know if they still do it but years ago myself and my friend hitched lifts everywhere well dont know if you would call it hitchiking but we just stuck out our thumb. We were only 14 qt the time, but if my daughter was to do it now there is no way i would let her. How times have changed

Alas it is a dying art.

To Paddy Drac!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

lila1 wrote: »
    well dont know if you would call it hitchiking but we just stuck out our thumb

Yea that's it alright that's the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Mr. RED wrote: »
    This IS the craic you see. Some people just wouldn't understand! Fair play Paddy Drac. Ledge.

Ha, yeh! Just googled 'Paddy Drac' and he's on FB still doing his thing. Fair play Mr Drac! Thanks for the spin nearly 20 years ago :)

Nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Ruu wrote: »
    I pick up hitch hikers so I can have someone to talk to, offer them to come around to house for a cup of tea. You know, normal stuff.

Hope you offer a nice hot bath or shower, maybe
    a bed for a nnight or 4 :D

Perhaps they do it for fun? Thats why I do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I stopped picking them up when the price of lime went up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭keano25

Pulled in on the mobile once, looked in the mirror and saw this fella with a rucksack coming up behind me like Linford Christie.

Put two and two together and started to slowly drive along the hard shoulder.

After about 50 yards he gave me the finger, I gave him a beep and off I went.

Was quiet funny at the time.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I am a 50+ male couchsurfing host

You really need to think about minimising the likelihood of getting picked in a lineup dude.

Funny you say that because the guards used to pay me 20e a go to be available for lineups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blowin3

Had to drop my wive to catch a 530am bus to Dublin. On the way back home I came across two dicks thumbing at a zebra crossing one was acting like he was about to cross the other when the traffic stopped going to the window looking for a spin home. Needless to say I smiled and said sorry and moved on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I used to hitch a lift when I was a student and broke, but that happened in the 80s. Most of the 80s was a blackout for me but I presume it went ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hitch hiking is the preserve of foreign backpackers and the 'professional' drinker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Maybe people come to Ireland these days more prepared and with more money. It was certainly the norm up to the early 90s. I saw two female backpackers a few weeks ago in Galway hitching from Spiddal into the city. Not 1 car stopped in 1/2 hour. I was a bit surprised at that to be honest, I would have thought someone would have stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Erm Why...?

He's terrible at making conversation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭blowin3

Maybe people come to Ireland these days more prepared and with more money. It was certainly the norm up to the early 90s. I saw two female backpackers a few weeks ago in Galway hitching from Spiddal into the city. Not 1 car stopped in 1/2 hour. I was a bit surprised at that to be honest, I would have thought someone would have stopped.

With two I might stop one girl on her own no way. People are too worried now a days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I used to "thumb" (as we call it in Mayo) from Galway to home and back no bother - the closer to home the easier it got obviously.

But a big shout must go to John, never got his second name, in 2006 - was thumbing to Knock Airport from Galway to catch a hastily booked flight to visit a sick relative, he was going to Charlestown but drove me all the way to the airport - and when he stopped at a petrol station, not only did he leave me alone in his car (I could have done anything!) he came back with a bottle of pop and a Mars bar because "I looked hungry"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Are you Larry Murphy?

keano25 wrote: »
    Pulled in on the mobile once, looked in the mirror and saw this fella with a rucksack coming up behind me like Linford Christie.

Put two and two together and started to slowly drive along the hard shoulder.

After about 50 yards he gave me the finger, I gave him a beep and off I went.

Was quiet funny at the time.

Oh the fun we had doing that years ago. First the look of delight on their face as you stopped, then a little inquisitive look as you move away slowly, then the full blast of anger, two fingers etc. as you put the boot to the floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I gave a lift to two backpackers who were walking towards killarney from Farranfore in the pouring rain. They weren't even hitching and were on the other side of the road. Turns out they were Dutch and somehow thought Killarney was easy walking distance from Kerry airport. When they realised how far it really was they were very grateful.
    I wouldn't normally do it but it was lashing and I figured bad guys would hardly travel in pairs and carry huge rucksacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I hitched a fair bit, here, England (not so great), australia and NewZealand, really enjoyed it...
    Last time I hitched here wasn't so successful... (car was Knackered wasn't waiting for the bus) waited ages for a lift. Bus passed by , in the end my brother stopped, laughing his ass off ....
    I wouldn't stop with the kids in the car, never stop in the work van and rarely see anyone anyway... I'd stop if they looked like a tourist and am definitely ageist..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    I hitched a fair bit, here, England (not so great), australia and NewZealand, really enjoyed it...
    Last time I hitched here wasn't so successful... (car was Knackered wasn't waiting for the bus) waited ages for a lift. Bus passed by , in the end my brother stopped, laughing his ass off ....
    I wouldn't stop with the kids in the car, never stop in the work van and rarely see anyone anyway... I'd stop if they looked like a tourist and am definitely ageist..

"ageist"? Do you mean the younger they are the greater chance of you getting them in to the car

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    "ageist"? Do you mean the younger they are the greater chance of you getting them in to the car

More or less, If they're in 20s or early 30s then yeah, after that I'd think are they a bit odd or weird...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

Karl Stein wrote: »

Went to the edge of Killarney town and stuck out the thumb, got a lift off Dracula.. well, a guy known as 'Paddy Drac' from Dublin who was going to Waterfjord, via Cork, to do a gig for some kids. We must have looked a state but Paddy Drac was a Boss and gave us a lift anyway in his big Ford Granada.

Fair play to Paddy Drac.

I grew up where he lived, sound man alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I pick hitch hikers all the time. When they introduce themselves I respond with... "Do you mind if I call you number 21?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I always pick up hitch hikers but they pay me at the end of the trip. Feckers always say 'Well are ya busy?'

I think it's some sort of euphemism in the hitch hiking community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

then make a jacket out of their skin and a table from their legs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Picked up my first ever hitchhikers last week- was on a bumpy little laneway heading to Mizen Head and they were clearly backpacking tourists. They were quite nice and very appreciative- I would have felt like a dick to drive by, especially when I would have seen them in the visitors centre a few minutes later anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

You for real?. Jeez.... Glad I live in such an open minded country full Of :rolleyes:

I regularly pick up people looking for a lift, due to the fact that public transport is not reliable in the rural area I live in. We don't all live in big cities with a real transport system, a few years ago they cut a lot of rural buses and it's had a huge impact on rural communities. I am glad to say the village I live in is a community who look out for each other, we are not ageist thank god ;)

I would never think about it, it's just what it is and who cares why?..

I recently picked up a 50 y/o Brazilian man travelling the world, and had been in Ireland 3 weeks. Fascinating to listen to hs travels, why he was travelling etc, but to be honest, if anyone needs a lift I am happy to stop because I can

Back in the day I often hitchhiked from Roscoff to the South of France and back. It was easily done in the 80's.

I once got picked up by an attractive young french girl just outside Roscoff.

I told her that it was the first time that a single girl has stopped for me to give me a ride and I suggested to her that perhaps the girls might be frightened of me?

Her answer... "Tout le monde ont peur de tout le monde"

Hitchhiking is a great way to learn a foreign language :)

Nomis 21 you fecker....I've no idea what that means ...
    Best I got was " c'est Ne pas interdit faire l'camping sur l'plage .... Or something like that ... Quite a few times ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Nomis 21 you fecker....I've no idea what that means ...
    Best I got was " c'est Ne pas interdit faire l'camping sur l'plage .... Or something like that ... Quite a few times ...

"Tout le monde ont peur de tout le monde..."

"Everyone is frightened of everyone"

(She wasn't frightened of me though, which was cool) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

When in college years ago, got a lift from a guy driving a big 1 year old jag. He was playing motivational tapes(as they were back then) on his stereo. He talked about how brilliant they were and how they helped him focus and hell, who was I to argue- penniless student Vs guy in big Jag.

Wonder where he is today. Hopefully enjoying a great retirement somewhere, real decent guy he was. His key point was hey, believe in yourself, keep yourself going. Had a lot of respect for him at the time, no nonsense kind of guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

fineso.mom wrote: »
    I gave a lift to two backpackers who were walking towards killarney from Farranfore in the pouring rain. They weren't even hitching and were on the other side of the road. Turns out they were Dutch and somehow thought Killarney was easy walking distance from Kerry airport. When they realised how far it really was they were very grateful.
    I wouldn't normally do it but it was lashing and I figured bad guys would hardly travel in pairsand carry huge nucksacks.

:P

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Duggy747 wrote: »

Or Christopher Walken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Because they think it's dangerous I guess. :)

Paddy Drac - brilliant!

Where y'headed?