Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What can be done to clean up O'Connell Street ?

• 06-09-2014 11:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭

Dublin's O'Connell Street is so run down its like one big open air public toilet. Also its basically a no go area after 10pm.

For Irelands main street you think the government would put some effort into maintaining it but they don't.

O'Connell Street should be more like dame street or grafton street.

The street must give tourists a very bad impression of Ireland.

What can be done to make O'Connell Street a Street to be proud of and not a hell hole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭bitemeluis

soap n hot water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Gardai? More Gardai?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Move it out of Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Build cycle lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

A hand grenade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,173 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

More junkies to attack and piss off the junkies already there!

Then some kinda junkie eating lions that will get rid of the junkies that got rid of the original junkies.......

Im still working on what will get rid of the lions bare with me!

Make it a main road, then there won't be any room for pesky pedestrians to be anti-social!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Starting to think O'CS isn't actually all that bad, despite countless, countless threads to say otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Draft in a few southsiders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Snipers on the GPO & THE GRESHAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It's sad that scum have taken what would be a nice place.

They should sell that knitting needle and sell for scrap.

More cops would be a start but untill laws are changed and the legall system is overhauled in this century we are doomed.

Kids run wild and scum bags that have never worked a day in their life roaming around terrorising good decent people.

In city all the time and have seen some amount of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

donvito99 wrote: »
    Starting to think O'CS isn't actually all that bad, despite countless, countless threads to say otherwise.
    This.

And just lol at "no go area after 10pm"

Op's been watching too much Death Wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I'm gonna have to go with the moving it out of Dublin option as well. There is no other way.

K4t wrote: »
    This.

And just lol at "no go area after 10pm"

Op's been watching too much Death Wish.

Ive walked up and down that street so many nights/mornings at this stage and its been no different then what happens on Grafton street actually ive had more hassle from knob heads going into Dandelion then ive had from anyone on O Connell street.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I've never thought O'Connell Street was that bad tbh, I've been in other parts of Dublin which seemed way worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 wall85

"No go area after 10 PM"

Are you serious.Its perfectly safe. Its not Iraq.

SBeen threatened with a syringe and spat at and had my appearence slagged and other things.

A lot go about their business and may find no hassel or not see things going on but there are things happening but like any city or town its not just Dublin with a problem.

Few weeks ago at 2318 on a Sunday a young man was walking I can only guess home with a box of stuff and a guy came running up to him shouting obcenities and throws 2 punches to back and side of his head. this man that was hit just kept his head down and tried to get away but then 6 scum bags were around him.

Not one person on a very busy O'Connell st helped and he was only spared by a taxi driver shouting stop leave him.

These scum bags then turned on the taxi driver who put himself out there.they didn't account that there was more than 1 and ended up backing down after 1 had a friendly chat in scum bags ear.

they went back down the street smashing glasses and kicking bottles and windows and left to do their thing.

Such a lovely society we live in where these tools get handed everything but still destroy everything for anybody else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Often stayed in the Kingfisher & Jurys Inn around the corner, love the vibrancy of the area. I'm not blind to the issues that are sometimes there, but ive never had an ounce of trouble there. Would feel safe walking up & down there any time of the day or night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭mylefttesticle

Jumboman wrote: »
    Dublin's O'Connell Street is so run down its like one big open air public toilet. Also its basically a no go area after 10pm.

For Irelands main street you think the government would put some effort into maintaining it but they don't.

O'Connell Street should be more like dame street or grafton street.

The street must give tourists a very bad impression of Ireland.

What can be done to make O'Connell Street a Street to be proud of and not a hell hole?

That's funny I have just walked the whole length of it and I still have my wallet, arms, legs, eyes, clothes.
    Damn wheres my runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

This Dublin bashing is getting really fcuking annoying, and very fcuking boring. It's nowhere near as bad as people like to make out. I've walked home after every night out through o Connell St and not once have I seen even so much as a fight. Seriously we don't have a problem here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

This...with some collateral spread equally thru other parts of "the pale"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

That's funny I have just walked the whole length of it and I still have my wallet, arms, legs, eyes, clothes.
    Damn wheres my runners.

How tall are you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

Fine Gael are great at licking arseholes in Brussels, therefore I see no reason why they couldn't lick O'Connel street clean from one end to the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Load of guff. O'Connell st is a bustling hive of activity - the purest capitalist area in the country. Capitalism has some rough edges, but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Not one person on a very busy O'Connell st helped

Including you.

People in glass houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭qdawg86

I'm gonna have to go with the moving it out of Dublin option as well. There is no other way.

You have my full support..........I wish people who repeatedly threaten this would actually go and do it though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Get rid of the anti north Dublin elements in DCC.

Seriously

Including you.

People in glass houses.

Due to what I was in control of at the time I could not but was only ready to jump out and help as if he had been knocked to the ground.

I have been attacked from behind not in Dub but it's not a nice situation to be in.

I am telling how it was and I couldn't believe it when they went and started on the taxi driver as he was twice the guys size for starters.

Glass houses whats that meant to be for have you ever been in a situation like that and have you helped others as I have even when I wasn't on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Gongoozler wrote: »
    This Dublin bashing is getting really fcuking annoying, and very fcuking boring. It's nowhere near as bad as people like to make out. I've walked home after every night out through o Connell St and not once have I seen even so much as a fight. Seriously we don't have a problem here
    Yep, in the last year I have seen punch ups in Ennis, Thurles, New Ross, Arklow, Wexford town, Sligo city, Castlecomer and Bundoran but in 34 years I can count on one hand the amount of fights ive seen at home

I think culchies just love to hate us, we are the man utd of ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

Dynamite.

Or a brush and pan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

. Seriously we don't have a problem here

Some of the nastiest pieces of work I've ever encountered, f**k Dublin, mickey mouse s**thole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

Y

I think culchies just love to hate us, we are the man utd of ireland

You mean once great, but now massive underachievers??

The only way to deal with anti social behavior and scumbags in general is to invest in education and nip that behavior in the bud before these kids grown into scummy teenagers/adults........looking down your noses at these people will change nothing. They are a product of our society.

And once you deal with the behaviour- the areas these people live in won't be "no go areas after 10pm"

In the mean time, if you don't like a particular area.....f**k off somewhere else :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Ive walked up and down that street so many nights/mornings at this stage and its been no different then what happens on Grafton street actually ive had more hassle from knob heads going into Dandelion then ive had from anyone on O Connell street.....

Just a few weeks back a Scumbag on O'Connell thereated to "smash my face in" because I wouldn't give him a cigarette and I don't even smoke!

There is no getting around it the street is full of Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 wall85

qdawg86 wrote: »
    The only way to deal with anti social behavior and scumbags in general is to invest in education and nip that behavior in the bud before these kids grown into scummy teenagers/adults........looking down your noses at these people will change nothing. They are a product of our society.

And once you deal with the behaviour- the areas these people live in won't be "no go areas after 10pm"

In the mean time, if you don't like a particular area.....f**k off somewhere else :pac:

There usually dumb as a brick, and are just scummy from birth. Nothing is gonna change this. You know by the look of them that they are scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

You don't see much actual fighting on O'Connell street probably because the Garda do break it up fast but if your there as much as you say have you honestly never seen some one throw a dig on O'C street, I really really doubt it!
    Over the years two mates have had random attacks on O'Connell street/on the streets directly beside it, and thats incidents I either saw or saw the aftermath of.

Have a funny but sort of frightening story about how stuff is just ignored by people in that area. On a friends Birthday he went a bit demented on the caffeinated alcoholic beverages and refused to go home or see sense, our inebriated solution to this predicament, 6 of us grabbed his arms and legs and hoisted him up and started carrying him down the street. Nobody batted an eye about a big gang of men carrying a struggling man literally screaming his lungs out for help, learned two things that night, one that it would be ridiculously easy to kidnap someone, two if your ever in that situation don't be one of the people grabbing the legs as its not fun having someone try and kick you in the head :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

dd972 wrote: »
    Some of the nastiest pieces of work I've ever encountered, f**k Dublin, mickey mouse s**thole.

Did someone from Dublin ride your missus or something?

Your last 2 posts seem to suggest a deep seething hatred for Dubs, who shat on your cornflakes?

I hate Cork, but I don't mouth off about it....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,342 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's the top end of O'Connell Street that's more of a problem than the Liffey end. When are they starting work on the much talked about new shopping centre supposed to breathe new life into Upper O'Connell St?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,676 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Nuke it from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Go Pearse Street Grada station and when a Garda opens the door between the public and staff area, you can see the whole of O Connell Street on CCTV. The Gardai constantly monitor the street for issues. No city is perfect, even cities that are close to perfection. I have lived in ultra rich and almost problem free Munich(everyone is fit, the public transport is amazing, very few drugs and city is safe). But even at the main train station in the middle of the city, I have seen fights in the middle of the day, almost everyday. I have seen prostitutes picking up clients on the street and even this week I seen someone almost being bottled. But you wouldnt see any of that on O Connell Street.

Dublin is a pretty large city and really huge considering how small Ireland really is. Its going to have social problems. But its not the third world city, that people make it out to.

Jumboman wrote: »
    Just a few weeks back a Scumbag on O'Connell thereated to "smash my face in" because I wouldn't give him a cigarette and I don't even smoke!

There is no getting around it the street is full of Scumbags.

Ya it is but there all over the place u could meet them in any part of town. O connell Street can be messy but half the time or even more then that you walk down it without any issues.

Town is just messy at night full stop but there's many reasons for that it's the same in any big city really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

One of the first things they could do to improve O'Connell Street is to get rid of the amusement arcade that acts as a magnet for Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

hfallada wrote: »
    Go Pearse Street Grada station and when a Garda opens the door between the public and staff area, you can see the whole of O Connell Street on CCTV. The Gardai constantly monitor the street for issues. No city is perfect, even cities that are close to perfection. I have lived in ultra rich and almost problem free Munich(everyone is fit, the public transport is amazing, very few drugs and city is safe). But even at the main train station in the middle of the city, I have seen fights in the middle of the day, almost everyday. I have seen prostitutes picking up clients on the street and even this week I seen someone almost being bottled. But you wouldnt see any of that on O Connell Street.

Dublin is a pretty large city and really huge considering how small Ireland really is. Its going to have social problems. But its not the third world city, that people make it out to.

Monitoring is one thing
    Acting on the monitoring is completely different...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

It's fit for a nuclear bomb tbh. The guards don't give a toss, despite the aircoach travelling through from dublin airport with all of the fresh tourists watching the scores of junkies going about their daily junkie business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Drakares wrote: »
    It's fit for a nuclear bomb tbh. The guards don't give a toss, despite the aircoach travelling through from dublin airport with all of the fresh tourists watching the scores of junkies going about their daily junkie business.

So is New York, Paris , Amsterdam, London, Singapore to mention a few any safer to spend a day?

wall85 wrote: »
    There usually dumb as a brick, and are just scummy from birth. Nothing is gonna change this. You know by the look of them that they are scum.

That's a ridiculous thing to say.

Support kids from a young age in getting an education and the social problems will drastically reduce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Draft in former mayor of new York Rudolph Giuliani.

qdawg86 wrote: »
    That's a ridiculous thing to say.

Support kids from a young age in getting an education and the social problems will drastically reduce.
    A lot of these thugs and scum bags have everything handed to them including completely free education.

A lot of the time is down to family conditions and honestly parents of these thugs need to be held responsible.

I hate the way society or government to blame does be used. Just bring your kids up properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Oconnell st itself is grand.

The areas which are crawling with addicts are Abbey, Marlborough and Talbot streets, bachelors walk, summer hill, gardiner st, irish life centre, the clinics and hostels around lord edwards st and christchurch, merchants quay, the whole of the red luas line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

You don't see much actual fighting on O'Connell street probably because the Garda do break it up fast but if your there as much as you say have you honestly never seen some one throw a dig on O'C street, I really really doubt it!
    Over the years two mates have had random attacks on O'Connell street/on the streets directly beside it, and thats incidents I either saw or saw the aftermath of.

Doubt it all you like, not once seen it on o Connell St. Tbh I can't recall having seen a fight anywhere in the city.

As for the junkies, I accept that they are there but I barely notice them, never once had a bother from them. Really, if you have a problem with somewhat unsavoury looking characters hanging around purely for that reason, you shouldn't travel to other countries - I've seen hookers hanging around and getting business in Prague, been persistently offered drugs, day and night in both Prague and Lisbon. These were both right in the city centre too. And no didn't have any problems, didn't feel intimidated. Felt a little annoyed with Lisbon as it was so bloody constant.