Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously what do you think about the most you wish you didnt?

• 06-09-2014 1:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

When your alone or even just deep in taught and ignoring whats going on around you do you ever think about things and find they just made you feel worse?

For example since my school days ive went threw stages of basically wondering am i pissing my life away.

I lie in bed some nights everyone else is asleep but im there thinking what the **** will become of me and my life in the end? I have this fear that time will just pass me by and one day it will be to late.

So ya on that depressing note :pac: What goes threw your mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I was that soldier.
    Once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Food.

I'm constantly thinking about food. What will I eat next, what will I do for lunch at work tomorrow, when do I need to go food shopping next. What's that he's got there?

I seriously spend about half of my day thinking about my stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My dog needs out for a wee wee at 7am and I'm here posting bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I think I can relate to the OP.

Mine is my age.

I'm constantly paranoid about where I am at, professionally, for this stage in my life.
    And should I have a pension?
    And don't other people my age have mortgages?
    And why have I not travelled more for my age?
    And do I appreciate that I will be thirty in a few years?

And as much as people say "enjoy your twenties", all I can think of is how I'm wasting them, therefore in the process, am actually wasting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

conorh91 wrote: »

Mine is my age.

I'm constantly paranoid about where I am at, professionally, for this stage in my life.

And as much as people say "enjoy your twenties", all I can think of is how I'm wasting them, therefore in the process, am actually wasting them.

Im unemployed about two years or so every day that goes by that i dont look like ending that i do just get this feeling that the situation is only going to get worse!

Mine is my age.

Please tell me your username is not a reflection of your age and you are not, in fact, a mere 23 years old.

THAT'S AN EMBRYO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Another one for pissing my life away. I'd have panic attacks about it a few years ago. I see people around my age who've done a lot, and can't help but feel I've basically wasted my life. I make art no one cares about, trying to be in an a profession it's near impossible to get into and living with barely any drive to do the things I do really want to do. Mostly I'm lazy and it's my own fault, but advice like "Don't be lazy" does no good. I always figured, from 20 onwards, I'd die and that'd be that, nothing to show for it but some shitty songs on archive.org. My epitaph will read "He is in death as he was in life, lying down."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Im unemployed about two years or so every day that goes by that i dont look like ending that i do just get this feeling that the situation is only going to get worse!
    That's a tough one. Ever thought about emigration? I've been sad to see plenty of friends leave, but it's even worse seeing them waste their own time here.
    beks101 wrote: »
    Please tell me your username is not a reflection of your age and you are not, in fact, a mere 23 years old.

THAT'S AN EMBRYO.
    Yeah I know, but it's all relative. I am friends with plenty of 20-year olds and 21-year olds, and they're going through periods of huge opportunity, but as you start approaching the mid-twenties and your career is decided, your path is a bit more settled.

1st world problems eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Murray007

My childhood, struggle to forget it but can only dampen it down like a smouldering fire threatening to destroy me constantly.

That's a tough one. Ever thought about emigration? I've been sad to see plenty of friends leave, but it's even worse seeing them waste their own time here.

Yeah I know, but it's all relative. I am friends with plenty of 20-year olds and 21-year olds, and they're going through periods of huge opportunity, but as you start approaching the mid-twenties and your career is decided, your path is a bit more settled.

1st world problems eh.

My son is only about ten months old i dont think emigration would be for me for many reasons.

To be honest for anything that makes me feel crap i could probley find something to make me feel good but my problem is i have an incredibly dark mind that tends to take over a lot of what i do.

Basically most of the time im a very negative person :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

I was sent to a mission once back in a day when I used to live in a place that used to send young lads out...
    I wish I could come back from there like I was before.
    I think I wish the world is nice, there is no evil, there is just my girl in the garden and my kids playing...
    I also wonder if I will be picked by a random scumbag on the street... I wish I will at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Rucking_Fetard

and living with barely any drive to do the things I do really want to do. Mostly I'm lazy and it's my own fault,
    How To Work The Willpower Muscle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Parents/relatives growing old.

Ever since my Nan died 2 and a half years ago there hasn't been a day gone by without me thinking that (if nothing unfortunate happens in the meantime) I'll have to look after them when they're ill sometime in the future, in the knowledge that there's not an awful lot of time left for them to live. The fact that my Dad has a bad heart and had a heart attack at just 48 (and is at risk of getting more) doesn't help, it's also not nice knowing that I carry the same genes.

I worry about an awful lot of random shít also, quite paranoid in general.

Christ I'm a miserable aul bollocks tonight, I'm off to laugh at other people's misfortune to distract myself from death and shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My family. I think about the past a lot. Things that have happened that make me closed off and bitter. I should let them go, people tell me this all the time, but when it really hurts you then I don't think it's as easy as just "building a bridge".

I dont know if its the same but i hold grudges big time when it comes to people and i let it affect how i view them in nearly every way.

Theres a couple of people i have to deal with regularly who i wont go into details about but i wish i didnt have to be around them at all but thats pretty much impossible in some situations so i find i cut myself off out of certain events and its got to the stage where im planning ahead when ill have to do it next :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I hate my Mother. She put us all through some awful stuff and I think a lot of my negativity comes from her and everything that happened. I haven't spoken to her in years. I don't want her at my wedding. I won't go to her funeral. Hearing people say "She's your Mum, you have to love her!" makes me wish she was their Mother, too, and they'd have had just as miserable a time as the me and my Sister's did. I still have nightmares about her over ten years later :(:( .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Intelligent people think things over too much.
    It's nature's way of equalising.

It might sound daft, but try applying it to the people you know.

Usually (not always) the ones who leave school earliest and go about their business will be the ones least likely to end up asking questions of themselves.

The ones with the higher IQ will usually be the ones who are more prone to thing like depression etc.

Nothing to ack that up apart from my own experience.

Intelligent people think things over too much.
    It's nature's way of equalising.

It might sound daft, but try applying it to the people you know.

Usually (not always) the ones who leave school earliest and go about their business will be the ones least likely to end up asking questions of themselves.

The ones with the higher IQ will usually be the ones who are more prone to thing like depression etc.

Nothing to ack that up apart from my own experience.

In that case I'm a genius!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

In that case I'm a genius!

haha, well good for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

What the hell is a tracker mortgage?

Also the fear of never been able to afford a mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

When your alone or even just deep in taught and ignoring whats going on around you do you ever think about things and find they just made you feel worse?

For example since my school days ive went threw stages of basically wondering am i pissing my life away.

So ya on that depressing note :pac: What goes threw your mind?

Since we are born some choices are made for us. You probably couldn't join the mafia or become a nun. I'm guessing you're in your 20s, so its probably too late to become a ballet dancer or a world class gymnast.

But there's still a huge scope out there. Despite Ryanair the world is still a huge place. I think if I was in a similar "rut", I'd think about VSO - probably wait a while for the Ebola thing to calm down.

When you get older you think about people that are no longer in your life.

I lie in bed some nights everyone else is asleep but im there thinking what the **** will become of me and my life in the end? I have this fear that time will just pass me by and one day it will be to late.
    Well its always too late for something. I never was a prefect at school and I probably never will.

If you knew for certain, what was in store wouldn't that make life intolerable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Mine is my age.

I think of similar things, on the same age.

I see friends and people I went to school with in relationships, working full time in their industry, moving out, travelling, emigrating....while I'm stuck here, living at home again working part time trying to find work in my sector.

I'm starting to feel like I'm lagging behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

My childhood still keeps me awake at night, still gives me shortness of breath, still gives me nightmares. I'd love to have the zapper thingy from Men in Black to wipe it all away but I don't think that can erase scars so deep.

The fact that I have no friends. This bothers me a lot too. Nobody to chat to, nobody to spend time with or have fun with, just nobody, only me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Mollyd90

Mine is my age.

Sounds like you are having a quarter life crisis. I went through it when I was 25/26. Worrying about my career and future and I had done with myself since leaving college. And comparing myself to others my age and especially people in my class at school. My priorities became more grown up ones instead of buying a new top to go out etc and drama in my friends lives

Have to say nearly 10 years on I think I'm getting it again. 35/100 life crisis maybe? Thinking about have I progressed far enough in my career for my age and experience. Why I don't have any investments other than pension and what I should do in this area. My lifestyle compared to my peers.

What I'm thinking about mostly in the last week: When the economy eventually turns around how I'm going to make money in it because I didn't make any in the last one. So any suggestions would be appreciated :-D coz I haven't fecking clue.

Nope, still not acceptable. You are but a child.

God you know, I think I've spent Every. Single. Birthday freaking out over my age and my 'progress' in accordance with that, am I in the right job, right country, right relationship or no relationship at all I'M GOING TO DIE ALONE WHY IS EVERYONE ELSE GETTING MARRIED / HAVING BABIES / BUYING HOUSES etc

And do you know what, what other people are doing and how they're living their lives is absolutely none of your business. Fcuk all to do with you. You're young enough to decide tomorrow, or next year, or the year after, or five years from now that you're in the wrong career and you want to start all over again. And yeah it might mean you're not a millionaire by the time you're 30 but what good is that if you're in the wrong career anyway?

I'm 29 now with a career that others would have envied; they in turn have done things that I've not gotten around to coz I've been busy climbing that ladder and traveling the world - nowhere close to a mortgage or marriage or babies or any of that shebang. Only signed up to a pension last year and even at that, thought 'jesus surely I'm too young for this sh1t'.

In the end you'll do things at your own pace, allowing for many fcuk ups and mistakes and wrong turns along the way. And that will be a bumpy enough road in and of itself without beating yourself up over other people's perceived achievements.

/ rant. I had no breakfast this morning. 23. Sheesh.

beks101 wrote: »
    23. Sheesh.

You know though, it's easy to say that when you're a bit older, but it's hard to see that when you're at the age you're at. When you're 50 you may laugh at a 30 year old who says similar things, but when it's you that's caught up in it, all the rolleyes from the older folk mean nothing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

That at 33, the best years have passed. My 20s (particularly past 24) were very eventful and it was a whirlwind of interesting stuff. Like a Friday or Saturday night...if you get me? Where as now, life is more like a Sunday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Mine is my age.

Ah now! I'm a couple of years older than you and never think about those things. I thought you were going to be in your 30s...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Wasted time,my time is running out I won't be young again and I know I won't be around to live my better days again but if I had a second chance I'd probably do it all the over same again..fun times!

One thing that's struck me since having a child is I'm aware how quick life goes but God the ten months or so since he was born have flew in!

I do look at him now and think jesus wasn't that long ago I was thinking all he does is sleep and can't wait for him to have his own personality all of a sudden it's nearly his 1st birthday!

It's sad but I've seen how people end up when they get older he's innocent now I wish he could stay that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 johnjameson

Spiders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

The one that got away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

I worry about my health and future but when things are good, I worry about my family. When they're good, I worry about friends and when I've nothing to concern myself about them, I start on my own mortality...

Sometimes I think I'm/ we're programmed to suffer a base level of anxiety at all times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

If you don't understand the OP first post get some of your favourite fresh fruit. The more perishable the better. Don't eat it. Put it into a clean bowl. Now watch it. Put on a radio or something but don't listen attentively. Continue to watch the fruit. Until it has gone putrid and there is a pong about the room. Completely.

Ofcourse I don't have the time for this. I’ll keep following the thread though. ;)

gugleguy wrote: »
    If you don't understand the OP first post get some of your favourite fresh fruit. The more perishable the better. Don't eat it. Put it into a clean bowl. Now watch it. Put on a radio or something but don't listen attentively. Continue to watch the fruit. Until it has gone putrid and there is a pong about the room. Completely.

Ofcourse I don't have the time for this. I’ll keep following the thread though. ;)

???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Having babies before my biological clock goes PING! and work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭defrule

Mine is my age.

Exactly what goes through my mind...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

The fact that I have no friends. This bothers me a lot too. Nobody to chat to, nobody to spend time with or have fun with, just nobody, only me.

Ah here! You HAVE to come to the next Boards Beers meetup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

newmug wrote: »
    Ah here! You HAVE to come to the next Boards Beers meetup!

Oh god, I don't know if I'm interesting enough for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

My sister who I fallen out with. The fact that I can't change the past.
    And the fact that I've fcuk all saved for my kids to go to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

? Dude if you have a pulse you're too interesting for the boards meet up.

And do u think most of the members on here are? Haha :-)

Lisha wrote: »
    My sister who I fallen out with. The fact that I can't change the past.
    And the fact that I've fcuk all saved for my kids to go to college.

I guess as long as your still around there's still time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Work
    Should I have health insurance
    How can I afford life insurance
    Generally money and work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think about how I got a good degree in a growing industry about 10 years ago, and I didnt grasp the opportunity it gave me with both hands. I could be sitting pretty now, the recession just something that happened to other people. I think the older I get the more galling it's going to become.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

I think about my ex who dumped me 2 years ago by text even though I shouldn't. I haven't had a gf since.
    I think about the fact I've just turned 24 and I've only had 1 gf. I only have 1 really good friend. My school mates are all in relationships. I think about how everyone else on the likes of Facebook seem to have an amazing active social life whilst I just work and go out on a Friday. Its all part of the anxiety I suffer from. Its a nasty mental illness. I've a good personality, most people that get to know me end up liking me. Ive done some cool things like travelled to asia solo and a teaching myself guitar this year. But anxiety has held me back from so much. I just wish it would fcuk off and let me enjoy each day as it comes. Just live in the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Honestly I don't have any regrets it might sound cheesy but at least when I die I can say for better or for worse I've always done things my way.

All my screw ups (and there have been many) have been as a consequence of my own actions and thus I take pride in them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Everything, I can't turn my brain off. It's thinking all the time, and usually quite negatively.

roro1990 wrote: »
    I think about my ex who dumped me 2 years ago by text even though I shouldn't. I haven't had a gf since.
    I think about the fact I've just turned 24 and I've only had 1 gf. I only have 1 really good friend. My school mates are all in relationships. I think about how everyone else on the likes of Facebook seem to have an amazing active social life whilst I just work and go out on a Friday. Its all part of the anxiety I suffer from. Its a nasty mental illness. I've a good personality, most people that get to know me end up liking me. Ive done some cool things like trabelled to asia solo and a teaching myself guitar this year. But anxiety has held me back from so much. I just wish it would fcuk off and let me enjoy each day as it comes. Just live in the momwnt.

My girlfriend before we met she had never had a proper boyfriend where together bout 4 years now really it means nothing if u meet the right person u will click either way!

I lost contact with a lot of my friends I've a couple now but it's better that way there very close friends i no I can trust them. No one needs a ton of friends! Even one good mate is great :-)

Don't ever go by what people do on Facebook it's all mostly false bull**** most Facebook users only post when they want to brag about something or get attention in reality there life's are normally no different to most people.

I'm probably one of the most negative people u could meet but I'm fine once I'm not alone or I'm busy so think about it that way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

Its a consequence of leading such easy lives.

Do you think the people in Gaza/Iraq or other war torn countries give thought to these petty things? They spend their days trying stay alive and build some sort of life for themselves, not worrying about 'Why are all my Facebook friends getting married and I'm still single'.