Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No desire for fast food. Complete social outcast?

• 05-09-2014 11:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭

I was in the pub this evening having a few after work. Managed to get in my 2500 calories. Feeling slightly worse for wear - we headed down towards the local chipper. Big talk about battered sausages, onion rings, garlic and cheese chips; spice burgers, and chip baguettes. A rather large friend of mine boasted that he was going to eat an entire fried chicken drowned in curry sauce.

As we entered the chipper I told the lads that I didn't feel like eating fast food. You'd think that I had taken each of them aside individually and told them that I'd seduced their Mother - before ignoring her calls. Getting right thick.

Does anyone else not get a major goo on them for fast food after a night on the beer? Prefer a pint of water and a hearty breakfast in the morning? And if you don't, what does eating chips out of a metal tray do for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

I'd fookin love a kebab right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

I didn't feel like eating fast food
    Ok, fine.

Then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Not gonna lie, I often go on the beer just because I know how much I am gonna enjoy the fast food at the end of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I like fast food and fast women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I don't really like eating when drunk, nothing tastes right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I like fast food and fast women.

You mean you like your food how you like your women. Fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Meh. I enjoyed a few beers tonight.
    Managed to get in my 2500 calories. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

errlloyd wrote: »
    Not gonna lie, I often go on the beer just because I know how much I am gonna enjoy the fast food at the end of the night.

That is what I'm trying to understand. You'd wander down Wexford Street on a Saturday night and see lots of men with kebab sauce wandering down their face and onto their shirts'. After filling your belly with beer I don't see why you'd want to devour a kebab. Doesn't it make you feel worse? Should the recovery eating not take place the next day after deciding how bad the hangover is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

**** you, OP.

Now I want fast food :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Eramen wrote: »
    People hate it when they perceive that someone else is maybe doing better for themselves OP.

When you're not engaging in fast food, they are subconsciously questioning their own additive/unhealthy habits which in turn is putting them on the defensive. I wouldn't worry about it too much, however annoying it might be.

Yeah. He wasn't meeting them after he ran the iron man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Eramen wrote: »
    People hate it when they perceive that someone else is maybe doing better for themselves OP.

When you're not engaging in fast food and exercising a bit of responsibility, they are subconsciously questioning their own addictive/unhealthy habits which in turn is putting them on the defensive.

dude you're over thinking it...

Yeh but....did you seduce their mothers?

Odd that the OP counted his beer calories. Sounds like 10 beers? Or was the 2500 calories the entire day.

I generally don't go on sessions anymore ( although saying that I will tomorrow) but food after beer is because you tend to loose self control and it does taste good. Specially the spicy stuff. I have no idea if I really like kebabs but I do when drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Large taco cheese chips and a quarter pounder with cheese pleasee with a spice burger doner kebab and batter burger and bottle of club orange.

Yeh but....did you seduce their mothers?

Hard to ride after fast food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

So order your food and tell the clerk, no hurry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some lads lose the run of themselves with a few drinks on board, I find it repulsive the way they gorge on these big fat greasy meals, it either puts them to sleep or initiates a vomiting episode. I prefer to head back to a house for a nightcap and listen to a few tunes before bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Soakage after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I love my cider and I adore single malt whiskey, but I have no interest in eating fast food. An apple when I come home is good enough for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭EunanMac

No desire for fast food. Complete social outcast?

Would you prefer if you did ?
    Nope, neither do I, so we're just very lucky. Count your blessings.

But he didn't have any fast food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I've heard that the 'gossip from the servants down the cellar' are appalling while a gent is trying to maintain his stroke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

I like fast food without alcohol... Am I a social outcast too?

But he didn't have any fast food

My bad he didn't, he had his calorie intake as part of a controlled diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I sat one morning in Zaytoon in Temple bar watching one of me mates and me girlfriend eating what could only be described as a ''Thick soggy purple wrap''

I was fairly drunk at that stage but not that ****ing drunk!.

I sat one morning in Zaytoon in Temple bar watching one of me mates and me girlfriend eating what could only be described as a ''Thick soggy purple wrap''

I was fairly drunk at that stage but not that ****ing drunk!.

On yeah. Zaytoons. And abrakebabra. Can't say if either is any good because only ever eaten there drunk.

Basically after beers you probably aren't hankering for a salad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You made this all up. You were at home all night with your collection of mannequins.

On yeah. Zaytoons. And abrakebabra. Can't say if either is any good because only ever eaten there drunk.

Basically after beers you probably aren't hankering for a salad.

I have distant memories of enjoying a kebab in Zaytoon how i dont fecking know!

Pure muck. Ive actually got to stage where i prefer making a nice sambo when i get home fecking cheaper as well. Thats if i get that far though!! last week i ended up asleep in the hall........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Having done the minimum amount of reading, I think it's to do with salt.

Going on the beer in particular causes lots of urination which means you run low on salt. Salt already tastes delicious, but it tastes even more delicious when you're madly craving it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I think I'm broken. There's nothing I love more than eating terrible food (mostly Chinese) but when I'm drunk, I have no interest in it at all. The more drunk I am, the less likely I am to have anything. So, usually I just sit in supermacs, barely able to keep my head up, hiccuping, while everyone else mows into their burgers and chips.

Same when I'm hungover, no interest in eating and it's the one day of the week terrible food is justified. I used to live with 5 boys, who'd all be hungover on a Sunday and their day would go something like
    Sausages and eggs for breakfast.
    Die on the couch with coke Pringles and almond magnums
    Dinner which was usually a pizza or food from supermacs
    Maybe a takeaway that night.

I'd be lucky if I was back eating the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. RED

Having done the minimum amount of reading, I think it's to do with salt.

Going on the beer in particular causes lots of urination which means you run low on salt. Salt already tastes delicious, but it tastes even more delicious when you're madly craving it.

TO THE SALT CELLAR!!!!!!!!

I think I'm broken. There's nothing I love more than eating terrible food (mostly Chinese) but when I'm drunk, I have no interest in it at all. The more drunk I am, the less likely I am to have anything. So, usually I just sit in supermacs, barely able to keep my head up, hiccuping, while everyone else mows into their burgers and chips.

Same when I'm hungover, no interest in eating and it's the one day of the week terrible food is justified. I used to live with 5 boys, who'd all be hungover on a Sunday and their day would go something like
    Sausages and eggs for breakfast.
    Die on the couch with coke Pringles and almond magnums
    Dinner which was usually a pizza or food from supermacs
    Maybe a takeaway that night.

I'd be lucky if I was back eating the next day

Thats just being a ****ing savage i dont understand how eating a ton of total ****e food fixs anything makes me feel worse!.

A good spicy Indian curry does the job. Actually theres something that will sober anyone up after a night out something incredibly hot! I had a burrito one time at about 4 in the morning which was dosed in all kinds of hot sauces when i went to the jacks i actually lost my speech for a good while just mumbles!! Well i clearly wasnt that drunk anymore :pac:

COME ON PEOPLE!! LET'S BE REAL!! WHO'S GOING TO JOIN ME???

SERIOUSLY!!!

TO THE KITCHEN!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ahh I do love a 4am burger king

Just hate the 1pm repeater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

what does eating chips out of a metal tray do for you?

No one else asked, so I will.

What feckin chippers serve chips in a metal tray!?!

deco nate wrote: »
    No one else asked, so I will.

What feckin chippers serve chips in a metal tray!?!

Metal Joe's. In town. They're actually more metal boxes. Really edgy place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Mr. RED wrote: »
    Metal Joe's. In town. They're actually more metal boxes. Really edgy place.

What town? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

In the sober light of day I'd rather have a lobotomy than a spice burger or a kebab, but once I'm pissed all common sense and impulse control goes out the window, and I'll have what anyone else is having and probably lose half of it by dribbling it down my face.

I think it's just a part of drinking culture in Ireland, not helped by the fact that most fast food places will be the only food joints that stay open til 3am to facilitate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Mr. RED wrote: »
    COME ON PEOPLE!! LET'S BE REAL!! WHO'S GOING TO JOIN ME???

SERIOUSLY!!!

TO THE KITCHEN!!!!!!

you get started, ill follow you in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

you get started, ill follow you in.

I’ll be right behind ya. ;):D:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I want some fast food so bad right now./

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Buzz lightdecade

What do you lie about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭caolfx

Since starting to eat healthily and exercise my cravings for fast food have waned significantly. Even after a night out.

I'd rather make my own burgers from lean mince if I wanted one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

I was in the pub this evening having a few after work. Managed to get in my 2500 calories. Feeling slightly worse for wear - we headed down towards the local chipper. Big talk about battered sausages, onion rings, garlic and cheese chips; spice burgers, and chip baguettes. A rather large friend of mine boasted that he was going to eat an entire fried chicken drowned in curry sauce.

As we entered the chipper I told the lads that I didn't feel like eating fast food. You'd think that I had taken each of them aside individually and told them that I'd seduced their Mother - before ignoring her calls. Getting right thick.

Does anyone else not get a major goo on them for fast food after a night on the beer? Prefer a pint of water and a hearty breakfast in the morning? And if you don't, what does eating chips out of a metal tray do for you?

Uh, what did you go to the chipper for? And why are you measuring your booze intake in calories.

You're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

SuperOito wrote: »
    Since starting to eat healthily and exercise my cravings for fast food have waned significantly. Even after a night out.

I'd rather make my own burgers from lean mince if I wanted one.

Being pissed and cooking is not a good idea,a buddy of mine set fire to his apartment when he decided to cook a post session feed & fell asleep while waiting for it to cook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

My BF and most his pals don't, and since I've started going out with him, neither do I! \o/

Whereas, when I'd go out with college friends, I'd always indulge afterwards. So for me, it appears I go with the flow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

"I'm a very stylish and sophisticated person and everyone who eats a kebab is a pleb.." is what I have taken from this. I love kebabs. Meaty Stuff in a handy pastry plate..what's not to like? No washing up either. Win- Win.

Yep, kebabs done well are lovely. Grilled marinated meat, lots of veg, hot sauce, nice bread, what's not to love?

Zaytoon is good, very good.

You have to be absolutely off your face drunk to eat Abrakebabra. You could eat Zaytoon any time.