Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Until we get all the queer youths in Atlanta situated, I'm not going anywhere."

• 03-09-2014 5:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Says Rick Westbrook of the Lost N' Found organisation which helps gay young fellas in Georgia USA overcome homelessness.

Many are made homeless by their families after being kicked out for coming out.

Westbrook's organisation are converting a dissused old building in Atlanta into a halfway house for gay lads and they received a welcome boost this week thanks to a $10,000 donation from Daniel Pierce, the young fella who recorded his family's reaction to him being gay, put it on you tube and made a killing for himself fair play to him.

Now I don't have a problem with anyone building a hostel for gay young fellas. But I'm wondering if such a thing would be tolerated here or even permitted. After all, we believe in equal rights for all - Something which we'll move even closer to next year when the nation votes for gay marriage.

But doesn't building a hostel for gay lads discriminate against straight people?

Would the gays and lesbians not be up in arms if heterosexuals built a hostel that was only for straight people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Leabeans and hetrosexuals? It's the splellers I have a problem with.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Well the pictures certainly cleared up any confusion I may have had....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

"Euro for a fabulous hostel?"

Christ I'm scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

mike_ie wrote: »
    Lucky you.

I got as far as the village people and I'm halfway through 'In The Navy' now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

endacl wrote: »
    Leabeans and hetrosexuals? It's the splellers I have a problem with.

Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

You knew this was coming! :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lapin wrote: »
    Would the gays and lesbians not be up in arms if heterosexuals built a hostel that was only for straight people?

Interpreting an attempt to provide sanctuary for people who've been turned away into a "what about the majority" whine. Well done.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

So, does building a shelter for homeless people discriminate against housed people? Does a rescue centre for abandoned dogs discriminate against frogs?

Where will it end?!?

In answer to your question though, no. It doesn't discriminate. It caters for particular circumstances, pertinent to the homelessness. I've no problem with that. A person would have to be pretty short on things to have a problem with if they had a problem with that.

Case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's Pavee Point I really have a problem with myself - they were useless when I went to them looking for a car loan and a trip to the States. Racists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I have to admit I laughed quite a bit when I clicked on the USA link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Now I don't have a problem with anyone building a hostel for gay young fellas.

Hardly a hostel in fairness - it's like calling a battered women's shelter a 'hostel for recently single females'. Neither of which anyone with half a brain would be shouting 'discrimination' over, one would hope....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Neither of which anyone with half a brain would be shouting 'discrimination' over, one would hope....

In the style of the OP, may I present?

Interpreting an attempt to provide sanctuary for people who've been turned away into a "what about the majority" whine. Well done.

Hey, I said this.
    Now I don't have a problem with anyone building a hostel for gay young fellas.

How is that whining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

You should have used a picture of Justin Bieber for lesbians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In the style of the OP, may I present?
    If you look closely, you'll see that picture is a fake. The elephant's shadow is falling the wrong direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

If you can have shelters exclusively for men/women, cant see any problems here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Says Rick Westbrook of the Lost N' Found organisation which helps gay young fellas in Georgia USA overcome homelessness.

Westbrook's organisation are converting a dissused old building in Atlanta into a halfway house for gay lads and they received a welcome boost this week thanks to a $10,000 donation from Daniel Pierce, the young fella who recorded his family's reaction to him being gay, put it on you tube and made a killing for himself fair play to him.

Now I don't have a problem with anyone building a hostel for gay young fellas. But I'm wondering if such a thing would be tolerated here or even permitted. After all, we believe in equal rights for all - Something which we'll move even closer to next year when the nation votes for gay marriage.

But doesn't building a hostel for gay lads discriminate against straight people?

Jesus yes. That's almost as bad as them charitys for the blind not giving money to people who can see, or people with no legs getting all the sympathy and nobody caring about people who have two not great legs.

That wouldn't really anger them no. Now if you were to refuse to make them a gay cake, that's a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

White straight males have only themselves to blame. Give an inch, take a mile!

Down with this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

catallus wrote: »
    White straight males have only themselves to blame. Give an inch, take a mile!

...as the actress said to the Bishop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,758 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

I wonder would they turn away a straight homeless person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

tommy2bad wrote: »

That's what he said :p

Somehow I doubt it tbh, the more the merrier :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I couldn't care less about Atlanta and their homelessness situation.

It is far away and has nothing to do with me. Let them sort out their own problems.

However, now that I realise that there is pro-gay stuff involved - good God, this is outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm sure they would look after him or her, at least if they were in Ireland. All the homeless charities are in contact with each other regularly.

I think this is a great thing. A lot of homosexual people do have experiences like that. Giving them a place and time to rebuild their lives is so hugely valuable. I imagine the specificity of gay men is to provide as safe an environment as possible where expertise in that area can be put to most use.

Now permit some whataboutery, I think there's also a need for shelters/hostels for transgender people who have lost their home.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I'm sure they would look after him or her, at least if they were in Ireland. All the homeless charities are in contact with each other regularly.

Yep, very much this. There are numerous charities and organizations in Ireland that provide support services to people who find themselves homeless, and people who find themselves at risk of becoming homeless, and many organizations will tailor their specific support services to the individual needs of their clients*, whereas other organizations will prefer to use a more holistic and multidisciplinary approach to the issue of homelessness in Ireland.

Now permit some whataboutery, I think there's also a need for shelters/hostels for transgender people who have lost their home.

I think you just blew up the After Hours gender whataboutery machine Lyaiera! ;)

*'Clients' isn't a word I prefer to use myself as for me people are people no matter what their circumstances, and for me the word 'clients' just irritates me having been there myself. I'd rather be viewed as a person than this 'professional' nonsense, strange and all as that sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

You couldnt actually be serious with that last part? were you joking?? Because if not then thats the most ridiculous thing Ive ever heard, has a straight child ever been thrown out of their OWN home simply for being straight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

tommy2bad wrote: »

That's what he said..........
    Sorry couldn't resist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,833 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

So, does building a shelter for homeless people discriminate against housed people? Does a rescue centre for abandoned dogs discriminate against frogs?

Where will it end?!?

In answer to your question though, no. It doesn't discriminate. It caters for particular circumstances, pertinent to the homelessness. I've no problem with that. A person would have to be pretty short on things to have a problem with if they had a problem with that.

Case closed.

HATE CRIMES!

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    HATE CRIMES!

ME TOO!!

°°°°°

ME TOO!!

Go commit your hate crimes some place else.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Atlantis never had these problems. Also -"situated"..is he from Belfast originally?

This has been like reading a picture story book like in primary skewel.

The OP was particularly good for thems that don't read good or do other stuff good and I wish all threads were so easy for the slow witted, like myself, to follow. The Rose of Tralee is really pretty and sweet looking btw.

Anyway, no it doesn't discriminate, it targets and caters to a specific need and I wish them all the very best in that pursuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'd put down money that if such a thing was built here you would have some fcuker claiming it was a gay sex house and all the rooms had glory holes and a special altar to Satan adorned with defaced bibles.
    Atlantis never had these problems. Also -"situated"..is he from Belfast originally?

Atlantis sank because the gays shagged the buoyancy out of it. True fact.

kowloon wrote: »
    I'd put down money that if such a thing was built here you would have some fcuker claiming it was a gay sex house and all the rooms had glory holes and a special altar to Satan adorned with defaced bibles.

I'm gobsmacked it's being proposed in Atlanta! They're going to need all the goodwill they can get. The Bible Belt is a vipers nest of prejudices.

There'll be grafitti, threats, and a visit from the Westboro clan at the very least.:(

nullzero wrote: »
    Go commit your hate crimes some place else.

I think you're reading endacl wrong there nullzero. Different charities and organizations will indeed have different client profiles, it's not anything like hate crimes to discriminate against people who don't fit their client profile.

It sucks donkeys for sure if you don't fit their profile, but some organizations find a targeted client approach with services specifically tailored towards that profile, is a more effective strategy than other organizations that use a more holistic approach that caters to the whole person*, and not just a specific client profile.

*Even then, taking the holistic approach into account, those organizations may have specific criteria of their own before a person can avail of their services, eg no drugs or alcohol dependency, no certain specific mental health issues, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The poor queers, in fairness

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Welcome to the hotel tsan Fran tsiiiisco !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I seriously doubt a straight person would be turned away -- they'd be informed that they would be sharing rooms/communal showers with gay men and they'd have to be comfortable with that.

A gay homeless shelter simply reaches out to gay homeless men who may feel intimidated in other shelters and being around others who are like you can help you psychologically (ie making you feel normal after rejection for being 'different').

For comparison, gay clubs are often full of straight people - in fact a gay club in Paris called LeQueen became so 'trendy' with straight people that it's no longer a gay club cos they were making more money from straight customers!!! "They took our our club":P

A gay hostel/shelter/cafe/club/whatever is not exclusively for gays but simply place where people can guarantee that they will be safe to be themselves. It doesn't forbid straight people at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

For comparison, gay clubs are often full of straight people - in fact a gay club in Paris called LeQueen became so 'trendy' with straight people that it's no longer a gay club cos they were making more money from straight customers!!! "They took our our club":P

Dey took oor clurb!

I don't know, if the charitys mission statement makes it's primary focus the housing of people made homeless as a result of their sexuality, then they certainly can (and should) turn away a straight person if it means a bed won't be available for their target demo.

Mission drift is a dangerous thing for a charity with a primary aim. There are other shelters that straight people can feel comfortable in, which might not be true for the gay homeless population.

°°°°°

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I think you're reading endacl wrong there nullzero. Different charities and organizations will indeed have different client profiles, it's not anything like hate crimes to discriminate against people who don't fit their client profile.

It sucks donkeys for sure if you don't fit their profile, but some organizations find a targeted client approach with services specifically tailored towards that profile, is a more effective strategy than other organizations that use a more holistic approach that caters to the whole person*, and not just a specific client profile.

*Even then, taking the holistic approach into account, those organizations may have specific criteria of their own before a person can avail of their services, eg no drugs or alcohol dependency, no certain specific mental health issues, etc.

Nice text block. My comment was just a simpsons reference.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Some hostels will cater to certain needs. Young familes, younger men, women only, older men etc....

It's not about discriminating, just providing someone with a shelter that they can feel safe in. I would Like to think that such a shelter for young gay men in Ireland wouldn't be necessary but if it was, it wouldn't be an issue in establishing.

In regards to turning people away because they don't meet the 'criteria', no homeless shelter would do that, but priority would be given to those that they are trying to cater for. If someone was turned away, it wouldn't be done without trying to get the person booked into another shelter or getting them in contact with relevant services.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Discrimination shouldnt be an issue. just roll in on skates wearing hot pants.
    The names Diesel.

In regards to turning people away because they don't meet the 'criteria', no homeless shelter would do that, but priority would be given to those that they are trying to cater for. If someone was turned away, it wouldn't be done without trying to get the person booked into another shelter or getting them in contact with relevant services.

You've made a statement, and then you contradict your own statement immediately afterwards. Homeless shelters unfortunately will, and do turn people away, and often make no attempt to refer the person to another more suitable services provider.

In one particular case where there was an altercation between services users of a particular organization, one person was given a train ticket and put on a train, sent down the country and with nobody there to meet them at the train station, this person was left to their own devices to find the hostel services they only had the name of. If I hadn't met them that morning, they wouldn't have had any chance of finding the the place they were looking for in a city that was completely unfamiliar to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Candie wrote: »
    I'm gobsmacked it's being proposed in Atlanta! They're going to need all the goodwill they can get. The Bible Belt is a vipers nest of prejudices.

There'll be grafitti, threats, and a visit from the Westboro clan at the very least.:(

I think the racial aspect of this situation is very interesting. This shelter seems to be targeting young, White men who have recently come out to their families and found themselves being rejected. Many White folk have strong Christian beliefs in that area.

However, Atlanta is like the capital for Black Americans right now. There is a significant Black gay community there and many current slang terms originated from this particular community. [Tea, Laid to the Gods, huntey] Although many Black Americans have strong conservative opinions related to homosexuality and marriage equality, Atlanta seems to accept and embrace the Black gay community.

I think the racial aspect of this situation is very interesting. This shelter seems to be targeting young, White men who have recently come out to their families and found themselves being rejected. Many White folk have strong Christian beliefs in that area.

However, Atlanta is like the capital for Black Americans right now. There is a significant Black gay community there and many current slang terms originated from this particular community. [Tea, Laid to the Gods, huntey] Although many Black Americans have strong conservative opinions related to homosexuality and marriage equality, Atlanta seems to accept and embrace the Black gay community.

That's nice to hear. :) I don't know Atlanta (beyond the worlds busiest airport), but I know it's reputedly a hotbed of (white) fundamental Christianity. I didn't know the charity in the OP was specifically targeting white men, and I'm a little uncomfortable with that as gay homelessness is a color blind issue and I feel it should be addressed that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Hey, I said this.

How is that whining?

It's the bit after that which they were referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Candie wrote: »
    That's nice to hear. :) I don't know Atlanta (beyond the worlds busiest airport), but I know it's reputedly a hotbed of (white) fundamental Christianity. I didn't know the charity in the OP was specifically targeting white men, and I'm a little uncomfortable with that as gay homelessness is a color blind issue and I feel it should be addressed that way.

I doubt that they would turn away anyone based on their race or ethnicity. I just mean that within this urban center, I think there are two gay communities. One that has many members who feel ostracized and marginalized while the other community has many members who are celebrated and copied.

Here's the organization's website:

http://lostnfoundyouth.org/about-us/

It's the bit after that which they were referring to.

I wasn't - repeat wasn't whining.

Go and suss out the difference between whining and throwing a couple of harmless questions out there for reasonable discussion.