Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Small dog scratching at my door

• 03-09-2014 1:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭

Since this evening there's a small female Yorhshire Terrier scratching at my door obviously lost.

I tried telling it to f-@k off in a nice way but it won't listen.

I told the kids earlier and the missus no way we're taking it in as we have a small dog already.

But, my heart strings are being pulled now at this stage and I feel myself feeling sorry for it, what will I do with the thing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Ah OP, take the bloody thing in for the night. It will settle down, you'll get a rest and then you can sort out trying to find its owner in the morning :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

How many hours has it been scratching at the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Get rid of the wife and kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The poor thing thinks you and the kids are it's real home...aww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Would you not instead report it missing instead of telling it to f@£k off?

stevek93 wrote: »

Is there a missing dog phone line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

How many hours has it been scratching at the door?

Herself found it earlier this evening and decided ( in her great wisdom ) to take it for a walk with or own to try and find the owner. It was kind if around the estate all night and I didn't hear anything until 20 minutes ago again.
    The kids are getting attached already.

I actually opened the door while ago and said for f€?k sake come in but it went into submissive mode and just kinda lied on the mat.

My own dog who's not 1 year old yet had a jump on her after their walk which I quickly stopped, could it be possible that a female in heat goes looking for a male?

Jesus, another scratch just there..

I tried online earlier there's a site for missing pets, rang two numbers but not it.

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Herself found it earlier this evening and decided ( in her great wisdom ) to take it for a walk with or own to try and find the owner. It was kind if around the estate all night and I didn't hear anything until 20 minutes ago again.
    The kids are getting attached already.

I actually opened the door while ago and said for f€?k sake come in but it went into submissive mode and just kinda lied on the mat.

My own dog who's not 1 year old yet had a jump on her after there walk which I quickly stopped, could it be possible that a female in heat goes looking for a male?

Jesus, another scratch just there..

The females wouldn't generally do that. I'd say its just cold and frightened.
    Get some food and tempt it in with it under the proviso that all know its not being kept.

Smidge wrote: »
    The females wouldn't generally do that. I'd say its just cold and frightened.
    Get some food and tempt it in with it under the proviso that all know its not being kept.

Going back down there now, hang in a minute..

And don't tell it to fukc off again, they generally dont like that and get frightened ;)

There is a Facebook page for missing dogs afaik. Or send a tweet to the Garda twitter page with a picture of the dog.

Remember when my friends dog went missing someone brought it into the local Garda station and they put it up on their Facebook page.

There is a Facebook page for missing dogs afaik. Or send a tweet to the Garda twitter page with a picture of the dog.

I have seen a lot of people put up pics on their own FB pages of lost dogs and its amazing how successful it is!

Remember when my friends dog went missing someone brought it into the local Garda station and they put it up on their Facebook page.

The Guards have a Twitter page!

What goes on there?

I am at a serious disadvantage if i find a missing pet as not on facebook or the twitter machine, is there any other way?

I have seen a lot of people put up pics on their own FB pages of lost dogs and its amazing how successful it is!

True or even one of the selling pages that has a lot of friends ask them to put it up.

I am at a serious disadvantage if i find a missing pet as not on facebook or the twitter machine, is there any other way?

Surely the kids granted they are old enough?

And don't tell it to fukc off again, they generally dont like that and get frightened ;)

No sign of it. Not sure if next door is after taking it in as I heard him coming back from work 5 minutes ago. He's a nice enough fella anyway.
    If she comes scratching again I'll let ye know.
    It toying with my emotions at this stage.

Me too !

No sign of it. Not sure if next door is after taking it in as I heard him coming back from work 5 minutes ago. He's a nice enough fella anyway.

Leave a bit of food outside she might come back hopefully you don't attract any wild life now :P

Can't sleep now, going outside for a look for her.

Surely the kids granted they are old enough?

Dont have kids but the local church is on facebook so guess thats one option.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

If it comes back dont be a heartless fook and let it in, good karma an all that! if you are gonna post on facebook about it being missing be careful who you give the dog to therees alot of ****ed up individuals that use small dogs like that as bait dogs, just make sure as best you can its to the right owner..

Give the dog abit of grub an water it wont kill yeah!

evo2000 wrote: »
    If it comes back dont be a heartless fook and let it in, good karma an all that! if you are gonna post on facebook about it being missing be careful who you give the dog to therees alot of ****ed up individuals that use small dogs like that as bait dogs, just make sure as best you can its to the right owner..

Give the dog abit of grub an water it wont kill yeah!

You should know by the dogs reaction when it meets his owner if it starts slobbering all over its face and what not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

You should know by the dogs reaction when it meets his owner if it starts slobbering all over its face and what not.

Depends on how long they have had the dog, if it's a pup
    It may do that with someone that is nice to it, talking to it in a friendly tone.

deco nate wrote: »
    Depends on how long they have had the dog, if it's a pup
    It may do that with someone that is nice to it, talking to it in a friendly tone.

Thats true as well depends on the dog really. I'd check if it she is being looked after well hair trimmed right nails etc and not to skinny.

Also if she has collar or micro chipped.

Just back from a walk around outside and no sign of it. Tried whistling etc.

There was a collar on her neck but no name and she looked in fairly good condition , that's why I didn't take it in immediately as they don't just appear out of no where.

If she comes knocking again I'll take it in and let ye know.

I said to my wife earlier you can't be taking in every creature that comes to the door, what if a horse came knocking would you take it in ? ...I would she said.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Just back from a walk around outside and no sign of it. Tried whistling etc.

There was a collar on her neck but no name and she looked in fairly good condition , that's why I didn't take it in immediately as they don't just appear out of no where.

If she comes knocking again I'll take it in and let ye know.

I said to my wife earlier you can't be taking in every creature that comes to the door, what if a horse came knocking would you take it in ? ...I would she said.....

haha xD Ah still tho tis not a horse! help when you can help! :P

Small Dog Does A Runner.

At work now and just heard from herself the dog showed up outside.

We've taken it in and she was fairly thirsty. Herself put ads in the local shops etc, contacted the rescue centre.
    I don't fancy sending it to the rescue centre, they'll put her down .

The only problem now is to keep my own dog from mounting her every chance he gets.
    Getting attached already.
    Herself looked at me this morning across the table when I told her the dog was scratching during the night and the rest as if I'd murdered it, wasn't in the good books.

That's the danger, get attached and the owner will show up after a few days..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Could you bring it to a vet and see if its microchipped? The vet might even know the owner if its a local vet/dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mauzo! wrote: »
    Could you bring it to a vet and see if its microchipped? The vet might even know the owner if its a local vet/dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

are any of your friends/work mates on FB - there are plenty of fb pages for missing dogs - they could post on your behalf
    also depending on your location there might be a local fb page aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

messrs wrote: »
    are any of your friends/work mates on FB - there are plenty of fb pages for missing dogs - they could post on your behalf
    also depending on your location there might be a local fb page aswell

There's a FB page called Lor's lost dogs. It seems to have a high success rate of reuniting lost dogs. You should try that.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Stick it up here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055413146&page=162

When my dog went missing, someone on boards posted up that they knew where it was. I then went and collected her! Boards is a small community with a big population!

I said to my wife earlier you can't be taking in every creature that comes to the door,

She took you in, didn't she :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Hate that line about not taking in every animal is it really that hard to give one small dog shelter when it needs it.

PucaMama wrote: »
    Hate that line about not taking in every animal is it really that hard to give one small dog shelter when it needs it.

The problem with this is that if you take in one dog, you need to take in the next. At some point in time, you will have a mini farm in your house. Eventually, due to the cost of feeding the animals, you and your wife will have a massive row. You'll keeping fighting and the kids will be getting upset. After may 2 or 3 years of constant arguing, and being on the breadline just to feed the animals, you and your wife will split up. Your kids will be heartbroken. They will have to spend the week with mammy and the weekends with daddy.
    Overtime, resentment will kick in. More money now being spent on feeding the animals. Poor little Jenny will have to start working at the age of 16, because you will have spent all her college money. As more animals appear, more financial pressure will be put on you. You have to mortgage your house. But what about the animals? Where will they stay? You have to rent a cheap flat for all the animals. But the cost is so high. Jenny will now have to go on the game and become a heroin addict. The cost of the heroin and animal care/food is too much. Jenny will get in with a wrong crowd and be arrested for trying to smuggle 1.5 million euro worth of heroin into the states. She gets 24 years. And guess what? You're still stuck at home with all the animals, with no wife, no house and a daughter who is in prison for drug trafficking.

All because you took in one little animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

antodeco wrote: »
    The problem with this is that if you take in one dog, you need to take in the next. At some point in time, you will have a mini farm in your house. Eventually, due to the cost of feeding the animals, you and your wife will have a massive row. You'll keeping fighting and the kids will be getting upset. After may 2 or 3 years of constant arguing, and being on the breadline just to feed the animals, you and your wife will split up. Your kids will be heartbroken. They will have to spend the week with mammy and the weekends with daddy.
    Overtime, resentment will kick in. More money now being spent on feeding the animals. Poor little Jenny will have to start working at the age of 16, because you will have spent all her college money. As more animals appear, more financial pressure will be put on you. You have to mortgage your house. But what about the animals? Where will they stay? You have to rent a cheap flat for all the animals. But the cost is so high. Jenny will now have to go on the game and become a heroin addict. The cost of the heroin and animal care/food is too much. Jenny will get in with a wrong crowd and be arrested for trying to smuggle 1.5 million euro worth of heroin into the states. She gets 24 years. And guess what? You're still stuck at home with all the animals, with no wife, no house and a daughter who is in prison for drug trafficking.

All because you took in one little animal.

Hey leave me out of this!

How much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Keep the dog for a week. Whichever dog you prefer, feed the other to it. Circle of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭DLMA23

I tried telling it to f-@k off in a nice way but it won't listen.
    When did dog's start understanding the term 'fook off'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

DLMA23 wrote: »
    When did dog's start understanding the term 'fook off'?

My bitch understands it so well at this stage that she can tell others to fook off just by looking at them.

antodeco wrote: »
    Stick it up here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055413146&page=162

When my dog went missing, someone on boards posted up that they knew where it was. I then went and collected her! Boards is a small community with a big population!

Just after putting an message on that thread so fingers crossed. Will bring to the vet tomorrow to check for microchip.

Glad the dog came back hopefully she finds her owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

If your dog went missing, wouldn't you hope that someone would take the poor dog in, make sure it is fed and kept safe until you were found.

Chinasea wrote: »
    If your dog went missing, wouldn't you hope that someone would take the poor dog in, make sure it is fed and kept safe until you were found.

Yes and now have done.

I understand now why the dog would not go away when I told it to F?€k off from the door..... It's from a Polish family so probably didn't understand English !

Anyway the dog has been reunited with its rightful owners who live not too far from us. The dog spent a night on our sofa in a blanket, fed, watered and petted by us.

After the hand over this evening my youngest boy of 6 cried because he was getting fond if it and he's a ' tough guy ' normally.

All's well that ends well.