Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The red pill

• 02-09-2014 8:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Papaya and coconut

What's this "red pill" I've been hearing about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

You're supposed to take it OP not hear it, listen to your psychiatrist's instructions next time.

Sudafed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

It gives the woman an erection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

It's a pill that you swallow and it's red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Its an alternative to Viagra that came out after the patent cliff. Its called Mycoxafloppin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Take the blue pill you really don't want to know how deep the rabbit hole goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Rabbits are filthy with myxomatosis anyway, you should stay as far away from their holes as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Forget the red pill.

Dragonsfcukingcars is where it's at.

http://np.reddit.com/r/dragons****ingcars/comments/zqy66/how_in_the_****_did_i_get_here/

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Bunch of idiot aggressive woman hating fcukos with dumbassed sexist ideas. Like if a PUA and a wife beater got together to write a course in how to be a kunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Take the blue pill you really don't want to know how deep the rabbit hole goes!

Yeah, like I'm really goign to beleive what an Agent tells me....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

What you won't hear is that's about self improvement and being a better man, becoming more assertive, being more healthy, getting fit, and having higher quality friends mixed in with the study of evolution and social mores, what causes the rise and decline of civilisations and the study of societies past and present, by people who want to learn these things.

Terrible stuff.

beano345 wrote: »

Outlines pretty starkly how deranged it all is. No exaggeration needed to make them look absolutely poisonous.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Adamantium wrote: »
    What you won't hear is that's about self improvement and being a better man, becoming more assertive, being more healthy, getting fit, and having higher quality friends mixed in with the study of evolution and social mores, what causes the rise and decline of civilisations and the study of societies past and present, by people who want to learn these things.

Terrible stuff.

I love how people try to attach some sort of nobility to bottom of the barrel misogyny. They get so alpha and worked up defending it too. It's an online community for sexist man-children to get all preachy and take their anger out on their keyboards because deep down they know all women (evil manipulative bitches the lot of them) love a good solid dose of masculine posing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Papaya and coconut

Ok read some links about it, I agree with parts and disagree with others. For one thing I agree you should look women's actions in determining what attracts them rather than what they say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Papaya and coconut

I love how people try to attach some sort of nobility to bottom of the barrel misogyny. They get so alpha and worked up defending it too. It's an online community for sexist man-children to get all preachy and take their anger out on their keyboards because deep down they know all women (evil manipulative bitches the lot of them) love a good solid dose of masculine posing.

The ironing is delicious.

Candie wrote: »
    Outlines pretty starkly how deranged it all is. No exaggeration needed to make them look absolutely poisonous.

Ye. bunch of mentallers

Ok read some links about it, I agree with parts and disagree with others. For one thing I agree you should look women's actions in determining what attracts them rather than what they say.

There's guaranteed to be a poster with a single digit post count defending the lunacy, on every last one of these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Wow,

Thats some pretty interesting theories...... It all smacks of "we hate women fan club".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

There's guaranteed to be a poster with a single digit post count defending the lunacy, on every last one of these threads.
    Don't worry, it's the same poster. If he spent as much energy on trying to find a good woman to set him right, he wouldn't hate them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

More learning and changing?

Just stay as you are it'll be fashionable sooner or later.

humanji wrote: »
    Don't worry, it's the same poster. If he spent as much energy on trying to find a good woman to set him right, he wouldn't hate them all.

I always nurtured the hope it was the same poster. One of these days he'll meet an actual woman and he'll swallow all kinds of pills in panic. :)

Theoretical women are much easier to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Have read thread, but still don't know what the red pill is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Terrible stuff.
    Seriously?

It's about adhering to extremely rigid ideas of what it is to be a "man", an "alpha" and women's place in relation to that.

It's virulently anti-feminist and they seem to see themselves as persecuted and not getting everything they feel they're owed, not because of themselves but because of society. Their off-reddit site is called feministvictims.com, for christ's sake.

They resent women because they feel they control the "sexual marketplace".

Some gems from their "constitution".
    Women are irrational and inconsistent, they have a capacity for logic but it is not their modus operandi, that is to say that they must exert the effort to be logical as it is not their factory setting. A logical woman is easily baited into becoming emotional; women are easy to compromise.
    Women are machiavellian in nature, this means they are comparatively proficient at being manipulative versus the typical male.
    Women are depreciating assets, their major asset and unique selling point is their sexual beauty and fertility. Most of them squander their best years on “riding the cock carousel” which means ****ing lots of different guys in nightclubs, having flings, being generally irresponsible and riding through life on easy mode getting ahead from no real talent, but because she’s pretty and can give men with money and power sexual favours. Women are born, their ability to conceive children is what makes them women.

You may occasionally find a "hey, this will help you be more assertive" theme but it's being assertive for the wrong reasons.

It's Elliot Rodger if he were a forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

humanji wrote: »

This is what you get for pinning your hopes on the Rose of Tralee winner.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Grandeeod wrote: »

In a nut-shell its a pro male sub-reddit who devalue women as objects to conquer.

Grandeeod wrote: »

A subreddit where romantically unsuccessful men gather to discuss strategies to attract women, and to express their outrage at the feminist illuminatti's domination of the worlds press, academic institutions, and government. Women's privilege knows no bounds in the modern world, and all think far too much of themselves.

They also are very knowledgeable on what women find attractive in men, although by all accounts they never manage to attract any themselves.

P.S. The Red Pill and the like further distances men from women by creating a space where these divisive philosophies are talked round in circles and normalised. The constant discussion of how bad men have it has the effect of talking them into it.

Terrible stuff.

If it were actually about self improvement that would be fine and we'd all be behind that. Don't take sh!t from anyone, don't put women on a pedestal - absolutely.
    It's the "you wouldn't expect a dog to understand greek philosophy, so similarly accept women for the simple creatures they are, for sex and cleaning only, and here's how to manipulate them to the point of being emotionally abusive" we have a problem with

Vicxas wrote: »
    In a nut-shell its a pro male sub-reddit who devalue women as objects to conquer.

Wow! So its the fault of the matrix?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Who said it was noble? There not attaching anything it, except what's there, if anything it's a very barebones hard fundamental assessment of where a man is at in his life. Its mostly about learning about being happy and having your own life worth enjoying without a woman or needing a relationship simply because of social pressure and getting into a 2nd rate one for the sake of it.

My father always said, for as long as a man wants to sex with a woman the woman is master. The only free man is the gay and the elder. Woman controls man with HIS penis.

A subreddit where romantically unsuccessful men gather to discuss strategies to attract women, and to express their outrage at the feminist illuminatti's domination of the worlds press, academic institutions, and government. Women's privilege knows no bounds in the modern world, and all think far too much of themselves.

They also are very knowledgeable on what women find attractive in men, although by all accounts they never manage to attract any themselves.

P.S. The Red Pill and the like further distances men from women by creating a space where these divisive philosophies are talked round in circles and normalised. The constant discussion of how bad men have it has the effect of talking them into it.

Now I get it. Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'm surprised no-one has mentioned it yet bus isn't this the philosophy this mad fecker subscribed to?

It's gas but that question gets asked on /r/theredpill quite often. Try it yourself and sit back and enjoy the hate.

stmol32 wrote: »
    It's gas but that question gets asked on /r/theredpill quite often. Try it yourself and sit back and enjoy the hate.

I don't have the stomach for it tbh, it's hard to laugh off the hate when it's aimed directly at my particular gender and age. I am the enemy as far as those guys are concerned.

It'd be like a 30's Jew poking Hitler with a sh!tty stick outside a gas chamber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Eau de pilule rouge

Faint odour of desperation with a distinctive top note of hatred with a final underlying note of rapeiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Smidge wrote: »
    Eau de pilule rouge

Faint odour of desperation with a distinctive top note of hatred with a final underlying note of rapeiness

Don't forget the fedoras and shïtty facial hair.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm surprised no-one has mentioned it yet bus isn't this the philosophy this mad fecker subscribed to?
    Well Elliot Rodger was a complete fookin psycho to be fair. If anything he subscribed to what these eejits describe as "blue pill" notions and when that wasn't working went actively batshít crazy on the back of it. Even by the most extreme end of the red pill philosophy he wasn't one.
    If it were actually about self improvement that would be fine and we'd all be behind that. Don't take sh!t from anyone, don't put women on a pedestal - absolutely.
    It's the "you wouldn't expect a dog to understand greek philosophy, so similarly accept women for the simple creatures they are, for sex and cleaning only, and here's how to manipulate them to the point of being emotionally abusive" we have a problem with
    +1000. The thing is they actively preselect the type of women who do actually fit this stereotype they have. The PUA stuff is designed to winnow down possible women into those that fit their philosophy. And yep, there are enough of them. Just like there are enough men who are all about sport and posturing and being "men"(tm). And the two tend to meet up in the middle.

Hell if you read these red pillers so many of them are as sensitive as the "feminised" people they berate. They can't discuss another man in appreciative terms without adding "no homo" as a qualifier. Yea way to go with being secure in being a man, you child. Any bloke who qualifies with NO homo, is like those who claim they're afraid of heights, but are actually afraid of falling.

It's also a very American thing. Just like the ivory tower feminist bullshít stuff that is popular too. A nation that has become unsure of itself that is now taking that out inwardly on each other. Just on the legal front and where you might stand should a relationship go wrong IMHO you'd be mad to get hitched in the US if you're male. Too much to lose.

Personally I would broadly divide people into Cool or Twats or I don't really care. If I had to divide genders I would block it down to Men and Dicks and Women and Chicks. These red pillers are describing Chicks. And yep they're pretty on the money with that description too. Though miss the fact that they're all too often Dicks or boys waiting to find out how to be Men.

Personally I'd be purple pill. I take both sides of this almost exclusively online wankology with an equal pinch of sodium chloride.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It'd be like a 30's Jew poking Hitler with a sh!tty stick outside a gas chamber.

Love it :pac:.

I wouldn't really recommend anyone argue with them unless you're a really first class troll (I mean the funny ones, not the annoying ones).

A lot of the people on that subreddit are there to argue with them but I think I'm like you, I don't have the stomach for rationally arguing with people on the internet who'll just never acknowledge your point no matter what.

It's the same reason I stay miles away from certain threads on here, I stick to the threads where there's at least an outside chance of banter.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's the same reason I stay miles away from certain threads on here, I stick to the threads where there's at least an outside chance of banter.
    Naw I say dive right into such threads S. Way more fun, gets one out of the comfort zone and can often spark a better debate.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Naw I say dive right into such threads S. Way more fun, gets one out of the comfort zone and can often spark a better debate.

I know what you mean and I really love having a debate with people who disagree with me (they're not to know my opinions are actually always right :pac:)

The problem is I've been on here long enought to spot the threads where I just know I'll get unnneccessarily angry and kill me keyboard again, who needs it.

To be honest I'm quite please with the way this thread is shaping up so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Hey MAN! Keep taking that BLUE pill like the rest of the SHEEPLE if you want. Other wise, come join us bunch of SHREWD & ENLIGHTENED MAVERICKS who know the REAL TRUTH.

We are like FIGHTS CLUB and the MATRIX

Pull the WOOL out OF your EYES, before the WOLF in WOMENS CLOTHING catches you, SHEEPs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Still though I learneded a new word.

hypergamous

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well Elliot Rodger was a complete fookin psycho to be fair. If anything he subscribed to what these eejits describe as "blue pill" notions and when that wasn't working went actively batshít crazy on the back of it. Even by the most extreme end of the red pill philosophy he wasn't one.

I agree he was a pyscho, indeed a complete fookin one at that, but I remember after there was some interesting debate about whether he did it just because he was mental or did his anti-women views have anything do with it.

I confess I completely forgot about the subtle differences between the red pill thinking and blue pill thinking in the mens rights movement. I'd never even heard of the mens rights movement until Eliot Rodger had his little incident (the little incident where he murdered all thhos people because he couldn't get a ride).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 fignfnfn

I agree he was a pyscho, indeed a complete fookin one at that, but I remember after there was some interesting debate about whether he did it just because he was mental or did his anti-women views have anything do with it.

I confess I completely forgot about the subtle differences between the red pill thinking and blue pill thinking in the mens rights movement. I'd never even heard of the mens rights movement until Eliot Rodger had his little incident (the little incident where he murdered all thhos people because he couldn't get a ride).

I've only just begun reading up about the red pill thing but if you think the differences are subtle between blue pill and red pill thinking you obviously don't understood it very well.

I think there are some interesting ideas, some of which I believe are true others false in the red pill theory. It'seems unfortunate that people here prefer to discuss the type of people that frequent reddit rather than the actual theory of discussion. It's a classic ego defense mechanism imo.

I'd subscribe to a lot of PUA and "Real Social Dynamics" ideas and believe they apply to the real world. The red pill followers would be better off looking into the type of stuff rsd teaches. It's a more helpful resource. Some of the red pill ideology is just plain wrong.

fignfnfn wrote: »
    I've only just begun reading up about the red pill thing but if you think the differences are subtle between blue pill and red pill thinking you obviously don't understood it very well.

I think there are some interesting ideas, some of which I believe are true others false in the red pill theory. It'seems unfortunate that people here prefer to discuss the type of people that frequent reddit rather than the actual theory of discussion. It's a classic ego defense mechanism imo.

I'd subscribe to a lot of PUA and "Real Social Dynamics" ideas and believe they apply to the real world. The red pill followers would be better off looking into the type of stuff rsd teaches. It's a more helpful resource. Some of the red pill ideology is just plain wrong.

With that one sentence you reveal how steeped you are in the philosophy. Part of the indoctrination seems to be to teach acolytes how to dismiss any questioning of the ideology as an ego defense thing.

Red Pill thinking isn't exclusive to reddit, and PUA isn't the keys to the kingdom.

To be honest I'm quite please with the way this thread is shaping up so far.
    Maybe because you agree with the majority of posters? I prefer a thread where I don't. Forces me to dig in deep and think more on why they hold a certain worldview. Like I said it forces me to think. Sometimes to even take the devil's advocate angle, just to examine the underlying reasons why people hold such a view. Is it something they believe because they took an objective stance and it makes sense, or is it something to believe because the group ok's it kinda thing.

Let's take FDFF's post(which I would agree with for the most part) and take an opposing scalpel to it:
    FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    It's about adhering to extremely rigid ideas of what it is to be a "man", an "alpha" and women's place in relation to that.
    I'd be onboard here.
    It's virulently anti-feminist and they seem to see themselves as persecuted and not getting everything they feel they're owed, not because of themselves but because of society. Their off-reddit site is called feministvictims.com, for christ's sake.
    Well 20 years ago I wuld have happily described myself as a feminist, but I wouldn't now, or would be much more discerning about that label. For me too much of the radical(particularly US) end of that movement has encroached on the truism that gender equality is a given. The pay gap is a nonsense and provably so. The education gap has gone the opposite way. Medically women are far more catered for in research and treatment and have far more social support(how many mens shelters are there, yet men make up half of all abused spouses). Divorce is in the majority of cases in favour of women and instigated by women two thirds of the time. The patriarchy is an ivory tower nonsense and provably so in the vast majority of men's experience. And spoutings of rape culture have descended into near farce. A crisp company puts up ads of scantily clad women and it's "rape culture" yet the same "feminists" are strangely silent on events like the recent revelations of the actual rape and sexual trafficking of over 1500 girls in the UK.
    They resent women because they feel they control the "sexual marketplace".
    Well they're pretty right on that one, or at least it is more a "sellers market" and has been for a good while. It certainly has since the real patriarchy chose which women ended up with which men which has gone from western society. OK in the vast majority of romantic encounters who does the approaching? Who has the yay or nay from the get go? Men? Nope. Women drive romantic relationships and drive the stages of them too for the most part.
    Some gems from their "constitution".
    Yep it IS daft, but look more closely at the culture 90% of this guff comes from and why a generation of young men might buy into this guff.
    It's Elliot Rodger if he were a forum.
    Nope. He was a nutjob. End off. But if we're talking "pills" he was squarely "blue pill". He bought into the Hollywood myth and because he was a creepy weirdo all his money and cars got him nowhere. If he had been "red pill" he may well have hated women as much, but he would have likely taken a different tack and gone for the Chicks(tm) who were out for his money and cars.
    Still though I learneded a new word.

hypergamous
    Yep though...
    From the Wiki:
    Studies of heterosexual mate selection in dozens of countries around the world have found men and women report prioritizing different traits when it comes to choosing a mate, with men tending to prefer women who are young and attractive and women tending to prefer men who are rich, well-educated, ambitious, and attractive.[8] Evolutionary psychologists contend this is an inherent sex difference arising out of sexual selection, with men driven to seek women who will give birth to healthy babies and women driven to seek men who will be able to provide the necessary resources for the family's survival. Social learning theorists, however, say women value men with high earning capacity because women's own ability to earn is constrained by their disadvantaged status in a male-dominated society[citation needed]. They argue that as societies shift towards becoming more gender-equal, women's mate selection preferences will shift as well. Some research supports that theory,[9] including a 2012 analysis of a survey of 8,953 people in 37 countries, which found that the more gender-equal a country, the likelier male and female respondents were to report seeking the same qualities as each other rather than different ones.[10] However, Townsend (1989) surveyed medical students regarding their perception of how the availability of marriage partners changed as their educational careers advanced. Eighty-five percent of the women indicated that "As my status increases, my pool of acceptable partners decreases" (p. 246). In contrast, 90% of men felt that "As my status increases, my pool of acceptable partners increases" (p. 246).[11]

So the science is a little more in the red pill camp on that one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 fignfnfn

With that one sentence you reveal how steeped you are in the philosophy. Part of the indoctrination seems to be to teach acolytes how to dismiss any questioning of the ideology as an ego defense thing.

Red Pill thinking isn't exclusive to reddit, and PUA isn't the keys to the kingdom.

Which ideology are you referring to?

You'll have to clarify what "keys to the kingdom" is.