Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How are you saving money/budgetting?

• 29-08-2014 8:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Since we all seem to still be squeezing the pennies, how are you saving money?
    As for me, I'm

- I quit smoking, which is saving me an astonishing €50 a week, €200 a month, and I smell nicer and no longer cough
    - I don't really socialise that much, and when I do I always try to not waste money on take away food and ****e I don't need, when I can cook much better at home.
    - I live real close to the train station, and its actually much quicker for me to get the train to work than drive, so thats more money saved.
    - I play video games a lot, so stopping paying the outrageous prices on the high street such as Gamestop helps a lot, theres always deals to be found.
    - Cinema subscription.
    - Doing the weekly shop in NI, I have a 20% discount card in both sainsburys and Marks and spencers UK, go up once a month, buy a load of stuff, and freeze it to use throughout the month.

How about you, AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I light my cigs with fivers now instead of fifties :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I have trained my cat to be a cat burglar

No recession or budgeting in my cat den anymore.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Don't concentrate 100% on savings, if your employer is doing well start thinking about increasing revenue...

I leave my CVs on the printer and I leave recruitment websites open on my laptop when I go to lunch. It helps get a payrise if you do it before the next pay/performance review.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not. Bills are my luxuries!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Restricting the kids' diet to brown rice, tomato sauce and LIDL cornflakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Sure thats all healthy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

Took a year to get out of €12,000 debt, on top of cashflowing bros wedding €1,500 and about €2,000 in medical bills. Paid off the last of it on Wednesday, DEBT FREE!!

Found the only was to do this was to save using a strict budget and any wage increases and bonuses went straight on debt. Having nothing each month and maxing out my credit cards scared me too much.

To save during the last 12 months I:

- Cut drinking to every 4 weeks sometimes every 6 and didn't drink too much
    - Stopped buying more rounds then I should and rounds of shots randomly
    - Went out and didn't drink at times
    - Had to learn to say NO when going places
    - Reduced amount I spent on Xmas and birthday presents
    - Reduced going out to meals with GF. We cooked indoors instead
    - Stopped buying very expensive clothes
    - And lastly, SAYING NO NO NO, delaying pleasure now so I can have it in the future. I am not going on 2 weekends away with my mates because I don't want to put it on the credit card. The lads know that I was trying to get my finances in order and know that from October i will be able to go on any weekends away from then on.

Some of the above will change now that the debt is gone, like buying nicer clothes and more expensive holidays. That said I have found it invaluable to have an Emergency Fund (small at the start like €500) in case something unplanned happens like car needing repair. My Emergency Fund is now just under €5k and the pressure is off. I'm cashflowing ALL of my holiday next month and never plan on being in debt again unless its for a Mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

Family, Friends, Religion.

These are the three demons you must slay in order to stay debt free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

talla10 wrote: »
    Family, Friends, Religion.

These are the three demons you must slay in order to stay debt free.

Seems a tad bit extreme to murder people because you're bad at budgeting but i'll go with your idea.

Can i tell them that an internet man told me to do it if i get caught?

We never had these problems when we payed tithes to the church! Just sayin'.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

catallus wrote: »
    We never had these problems when we payed tithes to the church! Just sayin'.

Nor when we were slaves. Bring back slavery to abolish debt!

Not too many people agree with me when I say it out loud, but I firmly contend that modern society is based on slavery. Anyone who works for money is a wage-slave. If we went back 100 or 150 years and showed a normal person modern economies in the West they'd consider most workers to be contracted slaves. I do get funny looks off people when I tell them this.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Ha Ha, savings, I try to save but the expenses keep mounting up so the savings soon go pay for the latest expenses. No, I do not spend much on luxuries. My luxury this week was a 2.99 smoothie. I don't smoke or drink either.

Not too many people agree with me when I say it out loud, but I firmly contend that modern society is based on slavery. Anyone who works for money is a wage-slave. If we went back 100 or 150 years and showed a normal person modern economies in the West they'd consider most workers to be contracted slaves. I do get funny looks off people when I tell them this.:cool:

You don't understand the definition of the words "slave" or "slavery".

That would explain the funny looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I just budget so only need 11k to get through the year. Anything after that is saved with the odd expensive thing.

You don't understand the definition of the words "slave" or "slavery"....

Just because I don't subscribe to the propaganda of the elites?

Yeah, that must be it.

/backs away slowly

Hey! Come back and answer me this! Why should a man love his fetters, though they be made of gold?!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

cloud493 wrote: »
    - Doing the weekly shop in NI, I have a 20% discount card in both sainsburys and Marks and spencers UK, go up once a month, buy a load of stuff, and freeze it to use throughout the month.

Here, where do you get these cards?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

From family members who work for these businesses :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

From family members who work for these businesses :cool:

Lucky sod!

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Cancelled UPC - I know some people who spend the guts of 200 quid a month - eye watering. And then complain they have no money for a nice holiday.

I always buy a good quality phone outright and get a cheap SIM only monthly bill pay plan. No long contracts an changing phone every year. Have my Nexus4 for 2 years now and hope to have it for at least another 2 or 3.

Cycle to work. Fill the car with petrol and it does me for 2 months as it only gets used on the weekend or for longer trips. Speaking of cars, I also buy a car outright. Plenty of very decent 2nd hand cars to be had. Last one cost me 3k and is still going strong. No monthly repayments.

Don't eat out for lunch or even grab a sandwich. That can add up quickly. Cook meals at home and make enough to freeze some and also have for lunch during the week. Big pots of stew are perfect for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Quit smoking and stop socializing!? Sorry but i value my happiness more than money :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I just don't buy much. Never actually consider budgeting or saving. The one time i did i saved six grand in four months. Then spent it on a four month holiday.

Quit smoking and stop socializing!? Sorry but i value my happiness more than money :)
    Does smoking make you happy?

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Does smoking make you happy?

It sure does.

Lovelytastyummyfags :)

It sure does.
    I really don't understand that. I can think of so many better ways to spend that money.

I did (do?) love smoking, but the benefits of quitting smoking outweighed the negatives. I no longer reek of stale tobacco. I no longer have an awful hacking cough all day long. And I'm saving a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I did (do?) love smoking, but the benefits of quitting smoking outweighed the negatives. I no longer reek of stale tobacco. I no longer have an awful hacking cough all day long. And I'm saving a fortune.
    Off them about three weeks myself. Don't miss them. Don't miss a smelly house. Don't miss the cough.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    I really don't understand that. I can think of so many better ways to spend that money.

I can't i enjoy it, people enjoy different things and spend their money differently makes no odds to me what you enjoy spending your money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I fitted myself with an "Off" switch so I can simply store myself in the closet and power down when I am not serving the Collective Machine. 'S efficient annat, innit?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

ulinbac wrote: »
    Took a year to get out of €12,000 debt, on top of cashflowing bros wedding €1,500 and about €2,000 in medical bills. Paid off the last of it on Wednesday, DEBT FREE!!

Found the only was to do this was to save using a strict budget and any wage increases and bonuses went straight on debt. Having nothing each month and maxing out my credit cards scared me too much.

To save during the last 12 months I:

- Cut drinking to every 4 weeks sometimes every 6 and didn't drink too much
    - Stopped buying more rounds then I should and rounds of shots randomly
    - Went out and didn't drink at times
    - Had to learn to say NO when going places
    - Reduced amount I spent on Xmas and birthday presents
    - Reduced going out to meals with GF. We cooked indoors instead
    - Stopped buying very expensive clothes
    - And lastly, SAYING NO NO NO, delaying pleasure now so I can have it in the future. I am not going on 2 weekends away with my mates because I don't want to put it on the credit card. The lads know that I was trying to get my finances in order and know that from October i will be able to go on any weekends away from then on.

Some of the above will change now that the debt is gone, like buying nicer clothes and more expensive holidays. That said I have found it invaluable to have an Emergency Fund (small at the start like €500) in case something unplanned happens like car needing repair. My Emergency Fund is now just under €5k and the pressure is off. I'm cashflowing ALL of my holiday next month and never plan on being in debt again unless its for a Mortgage.

This post depresses me. I dont do any of the above (as i I dont do the things that the poster has cut back on). I probably could cut back on buying clothes a bit but what i do buy are not designer label clothes.

I always make my own lunch and bring it into work

I havent been on a holiday (even within ireland) in three years

I dont ever buy take away tea or coffee

I walk to and from work.

I do have a mortgage and that soaks up some money along with bills and general house maintenance. I only bought the house a few years ago so I didnt get some crazy mortgage before anyone says that.

I dont have any debt apart from my mortgage.

After all of that I still have no money at the end of the month :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm terrible at saving. I am terrible with Money, full stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

- Got off bill-pay phone contract, such a waste for my usage. Saving of E30+ a month.
    - Have direct debit to a savings account which occurs day after pay day.
    - Put a good bit into the Credit Union per month too (no set amount).
    - Wear my dirty clothes in the shower, save a fortune on the washing machine :P

I'll be quitting smoking soon enough, so that should help...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I put 10% of my wages into the stock purchase scheme we have at work. At least then I can't touch it for months...

I also put a good chunk of my wages into savings. And then take it out if I need to.

Also don't bother with phone contracts. Just bought an unlocked phone and spend €20 per month on credit. We have the cheapest upc internet deal at home. Don't have any TV channels, just stream everything from the internet. Buy most my shopping in Lidl. Very rarely drink, but that's what I've always been like...not trying to save money from not drinking! Don't use credit card. Still have one but my limit is €600 just incase!

Could be a lot better though. I still spend a good bit if money on clothes and make up that I don't need. And our rent is quite expensive..but everyone's is really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I'm getting fairly strict about just shopping in lidl and aldi. I bought crackers in Supervalu thinking they were great value for 1 euro, only to realise they were 39cent for twice as many in lidl. :(

I am buying in bulk also. I have a 1kg block of cheese in the fridge. It's like a power lifters dumbbell.

I find myself cycling instead if using the car the odd time, saving on tolls and juice.

I'll admit wearing a dressing gown during the day instead of running the heating. Not good I know.

I also tend to do dinner dates with the other half with those living social deals and the like. Usually ends up about half price. Also for the odd social night out, I'll drive into town, hug a few club lemons and save on taxis and the cost of booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

This post depresses me. I dont do any of the above (as i I dont do the things that the poster has cut back on). I probably could cut back on buying clothes a bit but what i do buy are not designer label clothes.

I havent been on a holiday (even within ireland) in three years

I dont ever buy take away tea or coffee

I walk to and from work.

I do have a mortgage and that soaks up some money along with bills and general house maintenance. I only bought the house a few years ago so I didnt get some crazy mortgage before anyone says that.

I dont have any debt apart from my mortgage.

After all of that I still have no money at the end of the month :-(

Hey GreenBicycle,

Wasn't out to depress.

Curious as to how a mortgage and bills soak up so much that you have nothing left?

Have you ever written down exactly what you spend in a week? As your making your own lunch (that was another thing I left out), are you sure that you might not have bought too much house for your income or did you have loads of wage cuts etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

kylith wrote: »
    Off them about three weeks myself. Don't miss them. Don't miss a smelly house. Don't miss the cough.

I was smoking 40 a day. I switched to rollies. Then gave up 4 months ago. The first month I was loaded, then the next month a load of bills came in and ever since all the spare money just seems to disappear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

This thread belongs in the Cavan section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Grayson wrote: »
    I was smoking 40 a day. I switched to rollies. Then gave up 4 months ago. The first month I was loaded, then the next month a load of bills came in and ever since all the spare money just seems to disappear.

I wouldn't have been smoking anywhere near as much, and only ever smoked rollies, so there wouldn't have been that much of a saving, maybe a tenner a week. What didn't help was the €50 of herbal additives I was getting through every week with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

anncoates wrote: »
    Restricting the kids' diet to brown rice, tomato sauce and LIDL cornflakes.

"I spent the next three years in a POW camp, forced to subsist on a thin stew made of fish, vegetables, prawns, coconut milk, and four kinds of rice."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WILL NEVER LOG OFF

Don't concentrate 100% on savings, if your employer is doing well start thinking about increasing revenue...

I leave my CVs on the printer and I leave recruitment websites open on my laptop when I go to lunch. It helps get a payrise if you do it before the next pay/performance review.
    Are you sure that's wise?

If my employee was leaving job-hunting 'tracks' around everyone else in the office, I'd presume she wasn't happy, and i'd be less inclined to give more responsibility, for fear of being left in the lurch.

that's in a small local business though. maybe large employers feel differently.

While this makes perfect sense, I just cant do it. I really really look forward to lunch Mon-Fri and going out to get a nice sandwich/bap/wrap/panini or soup or salad and a tasty coffee. Work would be such a drag otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

kylith wrote: »
    I wouldn't have been smoking anywhere near as much, and only ever smoked rollies, so there wouldn't have been that much of a saving, maybe a tenner a week. What didn't help was the €50 of herbal additives I was getting through every week with them.

I will say I am a lot healthier though and although I know I could hardly afford smoking it was the health benefits that were the main reason i quit.

On tuesday I smoked something herbal for the first time since I quit. Bit worrked it might bring back cravings for cigarettes but I'm fine :)

To remain on topic. I started making my own lunch for work, but i found that because the canteen here is pretty cheap my savings weren't much (few euro a week) so i stopped. I switched from billpay to payg. I never order takeaway and I hardly go out at all.

I created two spreadsheets. One has all my regular monthly outgoings, the other has all my regular weekly expenses. This means that i know how much leaves for rent etc... and I know how much i spend on food etc. I then removed unnecessary items from my lists and allocated myself a weekly budget to stick to.

My only treat is 2-3 starbucks a week and a bottle of whiskey every month or two. I'll have a whiskey in the evening occasionally when I'm watching TV.

Are you sure that's wise?

If my employee was leaving job-hunting 'tracks' around everyone else in the office, I'd presume she wasn't happy, and i'd be less inclined to give more responsibility, for fear of being left in the lurch.

that's in a small local business though. maybe large employers feel differently.

Trust me, it works - if the employee is valued or "indispensable", this will work a treat. If the employee is a waste-of-space chancer then, not so much.
    Actually it's really all about perception. Even if the employee know they are "average", this "trick" can show an employer that they are ambitious and value themselves. Perception is way more important than how hard or long a person works each week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Cutting down on drinking has been a biggie for me. I literally have saved thousands in the last few years by taking this measure. But, I don't think I would have taken this measure if I also didn't desperately want to cut down the amount I drank anyway.

Saving going really well these days.. Teaching English and doing extra work on Sundays and Thursday evening. Haven't budgeted in a long time. Won't give numbers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

ulinbac wrote: »
    Hey GreenBicycle,

Wasn't out to depress.

Curious as to how a mortgage and bills soak up so much that you have nothing left?

Have you ever written down exactly what you spend in a week? As your making your own lunch (that was another thing I left out), are you sure that you might not have bought too much house for your income or did you have loads of wage cuts etc?

Ah god, I wasnt giving out about your post, I was more envious of you if anything! I just wish I had the option to make those lifestyle choices!

no the house is not outside my price range, maybe I am just trying to get it the way I want it too quickly and sacrificing things like holidays too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WILL NEVER LOG OFF

Trust me, it works - if the employee is valued or "indispensable", this will work a treat. If the employee is a waste-of-space chancer then, not so much.
    Actually it's really all about perception. Even if the employee know they are "average", this "trick" can show an employer that they are ambitious and value themselves. Perception is way more important than how hard or long a person works each week.
    maybe if there were a verifiable job offer then a counter-offer would arise, but leaving your cv in the printer seems like an empty threat, even a little hostile, and bad for office morale.

just my opinion, if it's working for you then more luck to you