Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CX beginner training in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Alek wrote: »
    Raam, can we actually join you one day? Just to watch and chat, maybe some practice on the side (without disrupting your training)

Hi Alek,
    I'm sorry but we can't open up the training to non-club members.
    However, the drills we practised are no secret...

1. Cornering
    Cornering as fast as we can around a small circle, where we ride in a line and the last man has to pass all the others on the outside. Do that a few times in one direction then repeat in the other. That is from my first image. The circle is probably 10m diameter or something like that. Hold the wheel in front.

2. Dismount Techniques
    step through and step behind
    This vid the lads are all doing step behind: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdRyXQN90Kc
    In this one we can see step through: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2V-cW3lPQk
    The step through can help with maintaining momentum but is a wee bit trickier.
    Practice both a load of times on the straight and while cornering.
    Practice remounting. Loads of vids on youtube.

3. Starting: one foot on the ground, sprint as hard as you can in a straight line into a tight corner. Ease off when you get around the corner and go back to the start. Repeat a few times. Preferably with 3 or 4 of you shoulder to shoulder to mimic the start of a race.

4. Barrier work
    Dismount and jump over the barriers and remount. Start slow and increase your speed. Do one at a time and then shoulder to shoulder. Repeat till death.

5. Slalom
    Set a few cones a couple of meters apart. They don't have to be in a straight line. Slalom through them. Practice tripoding. That is: cornering sharp with one foot out. Handy for slippery conditions when you might need to help keep upright. Repeat till death.

6. 30-30-30
    In a largish triangle course, 30 seconds good effort on the bike on the first part, then dismount at speed and run the next edge with the bike, either shouldered or pushing it, then on the last edge, remount and recover. Repeat till death.

7. Some single track work
    Find some single track and ride it. Hold the wheel in front.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

No worries. Thanks a lot for the tips!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

I plan on doing some training later on in the week in the park if anyone cares to join me. Possibly Wednesday or Thursday of this week from about 5 - 5.30.
    It will include some technical stuff - slaloms through tress with loose surface as fast as possible, some flat out single track, some mounting and dismounting and running up hills with the bike on yer shoulder, crashing into trees etc.

Which park Lenny?

Also, bit early for me. Can join about 6pm the earliest.

phoenix park. no problem joining in whenever you want - will arrange something close to the time.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

I should be free Wednesday from 6pm so i might join yous.

Wednesday 6pm then?

^^^ I don't know yet which day I will be there. Should know tomorrow though.

Ok, either Wed or Thu is fine with me.

right - so lets meet at 6 on Wednesday. Meet on the main road, just beside the zoo. Open invite to everyone.

This is still go for this evening - I was in touch with a couple of people, but, if anyone is planning on turning up let me know in advance via pm if possible, so we will wait for you.

Enjoyed that this evening- Lenny schooled us in the ways of CX

KarateKid_dealership2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

colm18 wrote: »

God help you so!

Thanks a lot Lenny, it was fun! Now I can say I'm hooked.

No promised beer handups though? Had to refill later.

colm18 wrote: »

KarateKid_dealership2.jpg

wax on, fall off.

enjoyable session.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭daragh_

Was good craic. Thanks to Lenny for not laughing :)

Saturday or Sunday, 3pm, at the ZOO, some technical stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Saturday or Sunday, 3pm, at the ZOO, some technical stuff?

How technical are you talking? Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

I'll be out next week some evening.

Practicing my dismount/clamber back on.

Some bruising and I may not be having any more children.

Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

colm18 is doing very well with dis/remounting and no spd pedals, so I wouldnt worry about this ;) besides we will certainly do some singletrail practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

How technical are you talking? Haven't gotten my SPD pedals yet so won't be able to mount or dismount.

You will be in the lion enclosure, so quite technical.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    You will be in the lion enclosure, so quite technical.

I don't know about that...I've heard lions can get quite cross...

colm18 is doing very well with dis/remounting and no spd pedals, so I wouldnt worry about this ;) besides we will certainly do some singletrail practice.

Well anytime Sunday suits me.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

Are there any dates published for the Fixx or North Dublin leagues?

After family negotiations it seems that Sunday is out for me. Anyone for today, 3pm, in the lions enclosure ?

Anyone up for this wednesday, 6 pm?

I'd be up for it.

lennymc wrote: »
    Anyone up for this wednesday, 6 pm?

Count me in

See yiz there