Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have penalty points?

• 27-08-2014 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 seanbarrow

Got two yesterday for not wearing a seat belt on main street, the guard could walk faster than I was going but the law is the law I guess.

My van is just out of DOE too, but the didn't mention/notice that.

So I could have got 9 (I think)

That leads me to think, has anybody met a prick of a guard at the wrong time and gotten a ball of points? Interested to hear a few stories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

No I've none

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

18 years of marriage count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I got 2 sets of 2 points in the space of a week, for going slightly over the limit coming into a town. Pure sickening when you see some sh!tty driving on the main roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Bizarrely I don't, which is odd, as I have nothing but contempt for some of the nonsensically low speed limits in certain parts of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I got 2 sets of 2 points in the space of a week, for going slightly over the limit coming into a town. Pure sickening when you see some sh!tty driving on the main roads.

I got 2 sets of 2 as well in the space of a month but I think their up early next year.

I will say one thing, it certainly worked on me cause I'm uber conscience of my speed now and seldom if ever go over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Bizarrely I don't, which is odd, as I have nothing but contempt for some of the nonsensically low speed limits in certain parts of Dublin.

If you're breaking the speed limit I hope you do get some soon. I am experiencing more and more aggressive pr*cks overtaking me and cutting me off on roundabouts etc cos they have nothing but contempt for anyone else on the road but themselves and it's getting quite sickening now and a little bit scary too. I pretty much keep to the speed limit and am not a slow driver, aggressive drivers are now the norm not the unusual and it stinks. No, no penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

seanbarrow wrote: »

That leads me to think, has anybody met a prick of a guard at the wrong time and gotten a ball of points? Interested to hear a few stories.

Interesting how you word that. It could translate to:

"Has anybody met a guard doing his job onetime you were breaking the law"

It's understandable that people get annoyed for getting caught speeding by a camera when they were slightly over the limit. That system I don't agree with.

But you'd have to be an idiot to get caught for a seat belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Four in two days ten years ago, none since, somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

None in 14 years.

Before I left Perth I was already on my way to losing my license a second time due to points.

You can't speed anywhere in Perth. Not even 1km or you're find. Multinovas everywhere, and nice wide straight roads with ridiculously low speed limits. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Luckily i havent been caught yet. I did get a penalty notice in the post once but i sent it back with the name of the mechanic who was fixing the car at the time on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

None in my 7 years of driving and himself has none in his nearly 20 years of driving. We both drive motorbikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I had but they've expired, I now have ZERO points!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I got stopped for speeding and got two points and a 70€ fine. Guard was really snotty and I was mad so I sped off and less than 2 minutes later got zapped by a speed camera. Another 2 points and 70€ fine.
    Both have expired and I have learned my lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

I got stopped for speeding and got two points and a 70€ fine. Guard was really snotty and I was mad so I sped off and less than 2 minutes later got zapped by a speed camera. Another 2 points and 70€ fine.
    Both have expired and I have learned my lesson.

The system works !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Got two yesterday for not wearing a seat belt on main street, the guard could walk faster than I was going but the law is the law I guess.

People whinging for Gardai not doing their job, and then whinging again when they do their job.
    There's just no winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm 38 and been driving since I was 17 , never had a point, don't know how I've got away with it but I have . I'd say I'm a carefull driver but by the letter of the law I break law every day .

I once set out not to break the law driving my car and as I went to work driving though the 3 villages I have to go though I had cars backed up behind me , the pressure was huge!!!! I had to increase my speed to keep in flow with the traffic .

I await the abuse I'm going to get for saying this . :0)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

People whinging for Gardai not doing their job, and then whinging again when they do their job.
    There's just no winning.

Catching people breaking the law = Their job.
    Catching me breaking the law = Not their job. Why aren't they out catching real criminals, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

2 points for speeding, I deserved them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I had but they've expired, I now have ZERO points!!!

Mine expired a couple of months ago too, yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm 38 and been driving since I was 17 , never had a point, don't know how I've got away with it but I have . I'd say I'm a carefull driver but by the letter of the law I break law every day .

I once set out not to break the law driving my car and as I went to work driving though the 3 villages I have to go though I had cars backed up behind me , the pressure was huge!!!! I had to increase my speed to keep in flow with the traffic .

I await the abuse I'm going to get for saying this . :0)

I don't think anyone would abuse you, its probably how most people try to act. Its a fine line trying to observe the limit and yet make 'reasonable progress'

Its folk who weld themselves in the overtaking lane of motorways doing 119.5 kph that bring out the red mist in me. All I would say to them is, its not your job to regulate the speed of other drivers, keep left and mind your own business.

For the record I've two points, 68 in a 50 zone, south Dublin early on a weekend morning during Christmas heading for the Airport. 15 months left on them. Thankfully the accompanying breath test was a nil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Babooshka wrote: »
    If you're breaking the speed limit I hope you do get some soon.

Cheers.
    I am experiencing more and more aggressive pr*cks overtaking me and cutting me off on roundabouts etc cos they have nothing but contempt for anyone else on the road but themselves and it's getting quite sickening now and a little bit scary too.

As I said, I have contempt for some of the "nonsensically" low speed limits in Dublin.

The driving which you highlight is because, as you point out, those drivers have contempt for other road users. I do not.
    I pretty much keep to the speed limit and am not a slow driver, aggressive drivers are now the norm not the unusual and it stinks.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Been done for speeding twice.

Although I have a UK licence, so no points!

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

I've never been caught speeding but I've had to take a few for the wife when she was getting close to double figures. All written off now though.

We've a fleet of 20 or so work vehicles & every one of them gets Pavel Datsyuk listed as the offending driver when a fine comes in. I think Pavel went home about 6 years ago, he wont be best impressed if he ever came back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Got 2 points and an €80 fine last year for speeding.
    143kph in a 120 zone on an empty motorway. I was yapping and didn't realise what speed I was doing. A bit of a sickener but sure what can ya do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Got 2 points and an €80 fine last year for speeding.
    143kph in a 120 zone on an empty motorway. I was yapping and didn't realise what speed I was doing. A bit of a sickener but sure what can ya do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭bmc58

Zero points after 35 years.But lucky a few years ago when I overtook a car in a sort of dodgy spot .Garda car was coming against me,flashed lights at me and he followed me.I pulled in and waited for him and expected some punishment.I ate massive humble pie and he let me off with a warning and a tongue lashing.Nice Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

No, haven't got any.

I usually try and stick to the speed limits, but the pressure you feel by other road users (as mentioned by another poster) is sometimes a bit too much for me. I can't say I'm proud of it, but I have broken speed limits just in order to try and get away from bumper-sitters. :(

Cheers.

You're welcome :D I don't think some laws make sense like not being able to buy drink from a supermarket before noon on a Sunday but I am not gonna break any laws to try get my hands on some just because I disagree with the laws. Too many drivers making up their own rules - for whatever justification you wanna give it, it's still not on. Boring as it is, stick to the laws and you won't get points. (Or like you you will just get away with it...for so long only though!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I was a fecking eejit in the car when I was younger and managed to get 4 points in the one day on the same stretch of road.
    I Have a clean as whistle licence now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Don't you get three now for not wearing a seat belt? I think they upef it from two to three on the first of August!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I had 8 at one stage, all for speeding, but they've all expired now. Got 4 within a week of eachother first, then the other four within two weeks of eachother about 8 months later. The good thing about that was that they were all cleared around the same time too.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    I had 8 at one stage, all for speeding, but they've all expired now. Got 4 within a week of eachother first, then the other four within two weeks of eachother about 8 months later. The good thing about that was that they were all cleared around the same time too.

Kinda scary, that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

I don't drive so I should hope not. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

8 or 10 I think and I couldn't care less! yolo etc.

Babooshka wrote: »
    Kinda scary, that.

My commute alone was 1,000km a week, so law of averages, really. What pissed me off most was that in my 6-odd years of doing that kind of mileage, I never once saw a checkpoint on a winding, dangerous stretch of road, but all four times I was caught it was in areas where the speed limit had just changed down from 100 to either 80 or 60. Actually, that's a lie, on one occasion the speed limit was about to change up; I was about 25m away from the sign and accelerating when the Garda jumped out of the bush pulled me in. All of which does nothing for perception of a lot of people that speed checks are more about generating revenue than they are safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

I have 2 points. Was pulling into an estate with no belt and on the phone and didnt have licence on me . He only gave me 2points and 80 euro fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I got 2 (is it 2 for speeding?) for doing 60 in a 50 zone. Not long after I paid the fine I got a letter telling me that they'd reversed the points and I got my money back. I still have no idea why. I'm super careful about speed limits now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

No, but that is really pushing the boundaries of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Jazzzman wrote: »
    8 or 10 I think and I couldn't care less! yolo etc.

You'll care if you get a few more and end up disqualified from driving for six months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

doubledown wrote: »
    You'll care if you get a few more and end up disqualified from driving for six months...

if if if

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Dial Hard wrote: »
    My commute alone was 1,000km a week, so law of averages, really. What pissed me off most was that in my 6-odd years of doing that kind of mileage, I never once saw a checkpoint on a winding, dangerous stretch of road, but all four times I was caught it was in areas where the speed limit had just changed down from 100 to either 80 or 60. Actually, that's a lie, on one occasion the speed limit was about to change up; I was about 25m away from the sign and accelerating when the Garda jumped out of the bush pulled me in. All of which does nothing for perception of a lot of people that speed checks are more about generating revenue than they are safety.

Little known fact (even among the guards, I understand) is that you are allowed to speed up once the sign with the higher speed limit is in sight, as long as your speed doesn't exceed what's on the sign, though.

It's also true the other way around, you're supposed to slow down coming up to a sign with a lower speed limit, so that when passing the sign you only do the allowed speed.

My driving instructor had a guard call his station at one point as she insisted on this being part of the rules of the road. Guard apparently got a dressing-down by his superior and told to stand himself somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

I have 2 points. Was pulling into an estate with no belt and on the phone and didnt have licence on me . He only gave me 2points and 80 euro fine

rottie 11 wrote: »

We heard you the first time.

Shenshen wrote: »

It's also true the other way around, you're supposed to slow down coming up to a sign with a lower speed limit, so that when passing the sign you only do the allowed speed.

.[/quote

Quite impossible to do this on some roads due to every single driver speeding, like coming off the N7 at the red cow for example, the sign says slow to 30 on approaching the slip, you would cause a crash if you slowed to 30 there cos everyone else is doing 70 or 80 (in a 60 zone... before the sign changes to thirty).It's a scary joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I don't, by some miracle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I have 2. Got them doin 88 ina 100 km zone. I was overtaking a slow kunt that had held up a line of about 20 cars for MIlES We were all in an overtaking lane, up hill where slow vehicles stay left. I was towing a caravan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Zero points myself and I don't particularly worry about arbitrary limits either - I drive according to the conditions (visibility/weather, road surface, traffic volume, location etc) rather than what it says on a road sign that a lot of the time is too high/low for the stretch of road anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

2 points was caught on the phone the day before the big fines came in. I was lucky only had to pay €80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

None but some speed limits need to be looked at as they are ridiculous