Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pedigree limousin sale

• 26-08-2014 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

Hi folks
    I was thinking of going to the Roundhill & Castleview sale in September to buy a nice limousin heifer , any one being looking at the catalogue what do ye think and what money will the reach..
    Cheers folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

is there any interest in pedigree stock at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Very little

Was going to but a few nice pb heifere to improve genetics of pb herd as prices are low-or so I taught, lads looking for stupid money for heifers not much better than me own I recon they will still have them next spring

I have more mass on me own heifers now tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

It's not that long ago that a couple of Cerberus daughters made around €12,000. (If you can believe the prices at those sales)
    I saw Carwin Hillery being sold for €5,600 a year ago at Ray Carolans dispersal sale. She won the senior all Ireland heifer final at cappamore show for Dan Tynan last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Donnelly24

Was also looking at going for a look would ye bother or is the market to slow to justify buying a heifer for big money

Donnelly24 wrote: »
    Was also looking at going for a look would ye bother or is the market to slow to justify buying a heifer for big money

Why not, surely the time to buy is when prices are "cheaper" than normal. There's lots of talk that there's no money to be made in cattle but lads with export quality stock are getting €3 plus per kilo at the moment. A bad one eats as much as a good one and an ounce of breeding is worth a tonne of feeding and all that.
    A top quality heifer bought this week will hopefully breed generations of top quality stock. Most of the best herds in the country started of with one or two quality animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

whelan2 wrote: »
    is there any interest in pedigree stock at the moment?

I see the glen rock heifer made 125000 guineas at Carlisle last week. Maiden heifer. Just a vantastic line not even new blood line.

Vantastic sons are going to breed cows that won't have enough milk to feed a mouse unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

There's a full sister of Castleview Gringo for sale at at Roscrea Lim sale. Interesting to see what see makes.

Have you used Gringo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

We have a pred bull that a fella came to see he offered two gand for him we would have sold him but we are having an awfull time the last or two getting g the commercial cows in calf part time farming we do.
    So we kept him he has them all done,its a bitch to keep him from the pred cows though no amount of wire_will stop him when he has the horn
    There is a PIC of him on the photo thread don't mind the rushes
    He also did one or two of a neighbours cows who had a bull running with them but kept breaking

Was looking at the Catolgue there's a few vanstatic heifers for sale also a half sister a heifer which made €10200. Has anyone looked at the Catolgue what ye think ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭Deano7

Donnelly24 wrote: »
    Was looking at the Catolgue there's a few vanstatic heifers for sale also a half sister a heifer which made €10200. Has anyone looked at the Catolgue what ye think ?

I'll b at it but only buying if there is something CHEEEEAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

At a castleview sale? Good luck but I don't think you'll get it there

What ya think they'll average at ??

At a castleview sale? Good luck but I don't think you'll get it there
    Bogman, would you rate Castleview higher than roundhill?
    I think Roundhill breed a more beefier animal, but Castleview breed a better balanced animal with easy calving and milk etc.

Don't think the big money will be paid and if it is there will b great value in roscrea.

tanko wrote: »
    Have you used Gringo?
    Not yet. I was waiting till his calving figures came through. ;)
    I will next year .

Not yet. I was waiting till his calving figures came through. ;)
    I will next year .

Good thinking. Sounds like he's well worth a try.

Bogman, would you rate Castleview higher than roundhill?
    I think Roundhill breed a more beefier animal, but Castleview breed a better balanced animal with easy calving and milk etc.

They're two top class herds. To rate one ahead of the other you would have to ask somebody more into the limo game than me. I can't pretend I'm an expert but from the outside looking in it seems to me that round hill have gone more down the route of British sires in recent years. More an observation than a criticism.

It's true but the maternal bulls don't get the big money.

Deano7 wrote: »
    It's true but the maternal bulls don't get the big money.

A well known breeder said recently "before the sale farmers spend a lot of time looking at the figures in the catalogue, when they get to the sale they spend a lot of time looking at the bulls with the biggest back ends".

Very true. Can't argue about that statement.
    I just think French sires tend to be a bit easier calved and a bit more balanced but then again I'm sure somebody who knows more can prove me wrong

In one of the heifer classes at tullamore there was a daughter of Ozeous (OZS), I thought she was a nice looking animal but was smaller than the tanks of heifers beside her. The judge fired her to the end of the line straight away and that was that. It made me smile anyway.

Very true. Can't argue about that statement.
    I just think French sires tend to be a bit easier calved and a bit more balanced but then again I'm sure somebody who knows more can prove me wrong

I reckon the best Limousin cattle are in Ireland and the UK. They only go to France for new Genitics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Anyone go?

Prices up on Limousin website now.

Where exactly are the prices, can only get the catalogue?

Keep going down to the bottom of the Home page. They are on the Tweet feed on the left hand side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Just had a look at the prices. Look on the face of it to be a strong sale. High clearance. Top price €8k!!!

Anyone go to the Glebepark Limousin Dispersal Sale - Tuam Mart, Sat 6th September 2014 at 4pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

I went for a look. Great herd of ped limousin . Good prices and at same time good value for money. Some were bought for export

What kind of prices? Was it a haltered sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Took a look at gringo there. Good terminal sire but no milk. Replacements would nearly want to be from half FR cows i.e. bred a good 3/4 bred cow.

Jeez JDI, you were up early.:rolleyes: I wouldn't use Gringo for replacements either. No milk plus you'd end up with a very big cow.

Not much use now though as it's not bright till after 6 :rolleyes:

Anyone go to the 'Drumeel' Pedigree Limousin Dispersal Sale' tonight at Granard Mart (at 6pm) ?

I went to the breeding heifer sale in carrigallen mart this evening, 32 heifers for sale, most were only average. A few very nice ones, best prices -
    Dec 13 CWIX 345 kgs €1000,
    HCAX heifer 545 kgs €1340,
    Black limx 500kgs €1405,
    Lm x shorthorn 520kgs, Feb 13, €1350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Did ya buy tanko?

No, kept my hands in my pockets. Haven't bought anything since 1999 and can't remember how to do it:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Just hand over a wad of cash tanko, be grand:P

No, kept my hands in my pockets. Haven't bought anything since 1999 and can't remember how to do it:D.

Wave your finger in the air and wink alot.
    That way you'll buy the mart out;-)

Would it be safe to cross over into the wild whest carrying wads of cash?:D

Depends on what area tanko. I can provide an armed guard if it's for meself:D

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Depends on what area tanko. I can provide an armed guard if it's for meself:D

Leitrim is known for that :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

I went to the breeding heifer sale in carrigallen mart this evening, 32 heifers for sale, most were only average. A few very nice ones, best prices -
    Dec 13 CWIX 345 kgs €1000,
    HCAX heifer 545 kgs €1340,
    Black limx 500kgs €1405,
    Lm x shorthorn 520kgs, Feb 13, €1350

They were nice prices....were they good quality types with the white in the right places?
    Breeding heifers are getting dear from now on. I saw similar 500k types all making 1300 plus but in fairness they were very classy.
    Springers must be due a lift when you see those prices for bullers.

They were nice prices....were they good quality types with the white in the right places?
    Breeding heifers are getting dear from now on. I saw similar 500k types all making 1300 plus but in fairness they were very classy.
    Springers must be due a lift when you see those prices for bullers.

If I remember correctly the first two were yellow heifers, long and nice shape. The black one was a beauty, great shape, power and length. I think there was a little white under her belly. The shorthorn X limo was well coloured with nice shape and length. They should all make good cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Woodcliffe

Had my first Gringo Calf today (Heifer), the dam was Rocky x Lambarstown,

she calved 3 days before her time with a whopper of a calf, i left her calf right to the shoulders and then slipped on the jack. i had a bit of trouble at the hips. the cow had a small bit of paralysis. i got her up and everything is fine. overall Im happy with the newborn great length and height compared to some of the calf's i got this year.

Tips: definitely wouldn't use on a heifer or small cow.

Hi Woodcliffe - Welcome to boards.
    I'm not surprised at Gringo being hard enough to calve. He is by Vantastic, who he is very hard calving. Still ICBF have Gringo at 6.6% and 91% Rel.
    New proofs were due out yesterday, so it will be interesting to see what Gringo is at now.

What's Gringos code?

just do it wrote: »
    What's Gringos code?

GWO- Here's the ICBF for him.