Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crashes involving tourists

• 25-08-2014 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

A co-worker of mine recently had her car written off after being involved in an accident with a tourist. Thankfully she was ok and luckily for her, a garda car was travelling behind her and saw the incident.

It got me thinking of other incidents involving tourists in my local area. I remember a woman was killed a few months ago when a couple of French tourists were driving on the wrong side of the road. Another woman was killed not far from here a couple of years ago when a Dutch guy drove into her on the wrong side of the road again.

I wonder are there many accidents involving tourists in this country and can anything be done to help prevent them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

A co-worker of mine recently had her car written off after being involved in an accident with a tourist. Thankfully she was ok and luckily for her, a garda car was travelling behind her and saw the incident.

It got me thinking of other incidents involving tourists in my local area. I remember a woman was killed a few months ago when a couple of French tourists were driving on the wrong side of the road. Another woman was killed not far from here a couple of years ago when a Dutch guy drove into her on the wrong side of the road again.

I wonder are there many accidents involving tourists in this country and can anything be done to help prevent them?

Half the bikers killed earlier this year were tourists. .....and look at the 2 garda motorcyclists nearly killed last week by tourists in a rental car...

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Both examples you showed are related to driving on the wrong side of the road.

Only what can be done to prevent those kind of accidents, is to switch everyone to drive on the same side of the road on the whole world, but this is rather impossible.

Me, as a person who fairly often switches from driving on the left to driving on the right and I do about 20% of my mileage on the continent, and 80% here in Ireland, even though I switched so many times, I still find it confusing sometimes, and I must admit I happened to me few times, that I drove on the wrong side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭whizbang

Its not strictly tourists. A lot of the issue is driving on quite country roads, for longer periods, with no other traffic. A lot of folk are just not prepared for what might happen.

-More Orthopaedic hospitals per capita in the West!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I was a driver of the Dublin Airport car park shuttle buses and spent my whole day driving round the airport. I shudder when I think of the number of times I drove past the car hire yards at the airport and was confronted by a hire car coming at me on the wrong side of the road, driven by a foreign tourist.

By sheer luck I never hit one of them, but many of my colleagues were not so fortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Im not really sure what you can do tbh. You see road marking and signage around the port areas (ie driving away from Rosslare) informing people to ensure they are driving on the left, but short of marking every road in the country in such a manner, you have to just take it on good faith that someone driving in this country has the cop on to pay very close attention to the fact that they are driving in a different manner than they are used to. My only experience of driving in the US was an exhausing experience as I spent the whole time reminding myself to do everything backwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I wonder are there similar issues on the continent or in the US, with UK/Irish drivers driving on the wrong side of the road?

A really complex issue and the only real way to help prevent these tourist accidents would be for us all to drive on the same side of the road. This might also slightly reduce the cost of cars (production costs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

CiniO wrote: »
    Both examples you showed are related to driving on the wrong side of the road.

Only what can be done to prevent those kind of accidents,is to switch everyone to drive on the same side of the road on the whole world, but this is rather impossible.

Me, as a person who fairly often switches from driving on the left to driving on the right and I do about 20% of my mileage on the continent, and 80% here in Ireland, even though I switched so many times, I still find it confusing sometimes, and I must admit I happened to me few times, that I drove on the wrong side of the road.

I read recently that as much as 1/3 of the planet drives on the left side of the road.
    So if the planet has 7 billion people than approx 2.5 billion drive on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Paulw wrote: »
    I wonder are there similar issues on the continent or in the US, with UK/Irish drivers driving on the wrong side of the road?

A really complex issue and the only real way to help prevent these tourist accidents would be for us all to drive on the same side of the road. This might also slightly reduce the cost of cars (production costs).

Yip - I was well used to driving on either side of the road at the time of renting on a particular trip in France, arguing with the other half about which route to take and I went the wrong way around a roundabout - lucky it was VERY early in the morning and I didn't meet anyone, but still; scary business..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

I really dont get the whole tourist driving on the wrong side of the road thing. Iv been driving in Ireland all my life and I remember the first time I drove in Spain it was fine. I find the fact that youre sitting in a left hand drive car significantly helps things. I dont think I would be as good if I were in a RHD car driving on the right hand side of the road.

Are these tourists just incredibly bad and negligent drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I think a direction arrow painted on the road at every junction on main roads and on busy tourist areas would help. From my own experience of driving on the 'wrong' side that was when I was more likely to make a miatake

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ralphdejones

Why do we and Britian drive on the wrong side of the road anyway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

Don't worry, Donegal COunty Council is working to address the issue

zffbrtc-630x472.jpg

The sign companies and county councils in Ireland always had 'close' links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭pcardin

I might be wrong but I think a loads of countries had driving on left side of the roads but swithced to right side in early stage of motoring era. Only Briatain being ignorant conservative kept driving on left side. As a result all their former colonies and occupied territories have this "wrong side driving" too. :pac:
    Sweden had it too up till '60ties when it was switched to LHD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Right-handed majority, carrying swords (serously).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

We dont. Everyone else drives on the wrong side of the road :pac:

Malta and Cyprus drive on the left as well ;)

Right-handed majority, carrying swords (serously).

For that to be correct, the rest of the world would have to be left handed, which means its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Hogzy wrote: »
    I really dont get the whole tourist driving on the wrong side of the road thing. Iv been driving in Ireland all my life and I remember the first time I drove in Spain it was fine. I find the fact that youre sitting in a left hand drive car significantly helps things. I dont think I would be as good if I were in a RHD car driving on the right hand side of the road.

The thing is it's dead easy, or at least in my experience it is, if you always drive in situations where you get obvious visual clues that the traffic is on the other side, i.e. in towns or cities with lots of traffic and road signs or markings.

It's a different matter, for example, when you drive out of your B&B in the arse end of nowhere at 9am on a Sunday morning, and instinct takes over. Believe me I've done it, and it can be quite scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

bear1 wrote: »
    I read recently that as much as 1/3 of the planet drives on the left side of the road.
    So if the planet has 7 billion people than approx 2.5 billion drive on the left.
    There used to be a really good site that broke the split down in terms of a number of factors like number of countries, population, car ownership levels and land mass but i can't find it any more.

There are however a number of quite heavily populated countries like India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Indonesia and Japan who drive on the left so maybe it could be true. On the flip side, car ownership in those countries (apart from Japan) would be quite low, so who knows?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Alun wrote: »
    It's a different matter, for example, when you drive out of your B&B in the arse end of nowhere at 9am on a Sunday morning, and instinct takes over. Believe me I've done it, and it can be quite scary.
    This and esp. small roundabouts in the middle of no where are a devil to get you on the wrong side of the road...

For that to be correct, the rest of the world would have to be left handed, which means its not.

Napoleon decided that people should drive on the right, along with using Metres and the so forth, and so it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

pcardin wrote: »
    I might be wrong but I think a loads of countries had driving on left side of the roads but swithced to right side in early stage of motoring era. Only Briatain being ignorant conservative kept driving on left side. As a result all their former colonies and occupied territories have this "wrong side driving" too. :pac:
    Sweden had it too up till '60ties when it was switched to LHD.

Misread your post"

i believe its because if you're right handed your sword would be on your belt on your left.
    If its poking out the left,and you're riding on the left, it would hit people.
    so they changed sides to stop pedestrians getting beheaded.
    this of course could be total scutter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Why can't we just switch and drive on the right?

Phase it in gently, across a period of 6-12 months. First the HGV's and buses, then taxis, then cars.
    Be grand.

Why can't we just switch and drive on the right?

Phase it in gently, across a period of 6-12 months. First the HGV's and buses, then taxis, then cars.
    Be grand.

You mean that HGV's and buses would start driving on the other side and then taxis and cars? Sure we'd all be fecking dead from the crashes :D
    IMO I think it's too late now for that.
    If people are still able to drive down the wrong way of a motorway then there is no way in hell would I trust the population to start driving on the other side of the road.

...or not bothered about carrying swords? :pac:

It is true BTW, but some countries changed when their priorities did.

EDIT: Don't take my word for it, do some reading up on it.

Sweden would be one that comes to mind.

Interesting article here suggests Henry Ford played a big part in right-side driving, in designing the Model T LHD. This was never mentioned in my geography class... :D

http://newswatch.nationalgeographic.com/2013/05/31/the-right-and-left-stuff-why-countries-drive-on-different-sides-of-the-road/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

Jaysus and then what happened?!

But the road sign makers would make a killing again, and they have always had a very 'close' relationship with Irish politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭syboit

Hogzy wrote: »

yeah, couldn't imagine have to drive on the left with our own cars where steering is on the right.

Our work place used to be in the Cork airport business park, its amazing after a while you'd spot the rental cars and remember to give them room. I found more often case of bad drivers rather than confused by the change in driving seat, or having to use a clutch.

Had a close call one lunch time going down airport hill when the car in front just stopped, reckon he pulled the handbrake. I was able to avoid them, but the clown who was stuck to my bumper couldn't and went straight into the back of them.

It's quite easy IMO to drive in Europe with a RHD car.
    It's the constant staring I can't stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

You mean that HGV's and buses would start driving on the other side and then taxis and cars? Sure we'd all be fecking dead from the crashes :D
    IMO I think it's too late now for that.
    If people are still able to drive down the wrong way of a motorway then there is no way in hell would I trust the population to start driving on the other side of the road.
    Only joking about the last part but i do think we should join the rest of the world on the RHS

I think our biggest problem would be the border.
    They would have to create a huge number of "connectors" that would move you to the other side of the road.
    It might have been slightly easier if we were a "whole" island.
    The other reason I think we will never be RHD people is because we aren't attached to the mainland so we don't experience the same amount of traffic volume and say Germany/Italy.
    I would agree with you though that I'd prefer it if we were on the other side of the road.

It's quite easy IMO to drive in Europe with a RHD car.
    It's the constant staring I can't stand.

It's nothing to do with the car.
    We used to stare at you when you were here as well.

Was that you hiding in the fecking bushes?!?!?
    The amount of times I tried sending you flirty invitations and got nothing. Feckin tease ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

I had no problem anytime driving in the US or Europe in a lhd car/truck. I'll admit though I did turn out of a field in South Dakota driving the item in the picture below. Three miles down the road I met a car coming..myself thinking look at these idiots on the wrong side of the road...oh crap it's me that's in the wrong:pac:

I'm fairly sure there was brown pants all around in the on coming vehicle :D So it's easy it can happen when you are sitting in the middle.

wwwusfarmercom_zps5237d74b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

They would have to create a huge number of "connectors" that would move you to the other side of the road..
    That's the plan if/when Scotland vote yes:
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/apr/01/scotland-driving-on-right-independence-road-scheme

Note: article may not 100% serious ...

Irish Halo wrote: »
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/apr/01/scotland-driving-on-right-independence-road-scheme

Look at the date of the article ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Irish Halo wrote: »

Yeah more like 99% serious is it?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Friend of the family is currently in hospital in Cork with broken ankle and major bruising. Near Cork airport, driver coming from airport, was seen to fall asleep at wheel, and drove straight into her.

Glad your family friend is ok but I have to ask, was it a tourist who fell asleep while driving on the wrong side of the road?
    Or, a normal driver coming from the airport fell asleep and hit the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

syboit wrote: »
    Our work place used to be in the Cork airport business park, its amazing after a while you'd spot the rental cars and remember to give them room. I found more often case of bad drivers rather than confused by the change in driving seat, or having to use a clutch.

Had a close call one lunch time going down airport hill when the car in front just stopped, reckon he pulled the handbrake. I was able to avoid them, but the clown who was stuck to my bumper couldn't and went straight into the back of them.

For years (and I'm not making this up), the 'Drive on Left' sign at the exit of Cork airport had a French translation saying "Drive on the right". Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

@ OP

This can happen very easily, I was driving home from Arklow recently and noticed in the distance that a foreign reg 7 seater was pulling out onto the road from a lane on the left and they were turning right.

Instead of pulling across the road to the correct lane they pulled into my lane and proceeded to drive straight at me, I had to swerve into the wrong lane to avoid a head on collision.

Needless to say, he got every finger & swear word I had to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

The most hazardous circumstances for this is parking on the wrong side to see a view or whatever and then moving off on that side. I had to admonish the other half for doing this in France, I might not have thought of it either except I had noticed another car pulling out just before.

For years (and I'm not making this up), the 'Drive on Left' sign at the exit of Cork airport had a French translation saying "Drive on the right". Seriously.

SignDriveRight.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Glad your family friend is ok but I have to ask, was it a tourist who fell asleep while driving on the wrong side of the road?
    Or, a normal driver coming from the airport fell asleep and hit the car?

Good question. It's second hand info, afaik it was someone ( not Irish) driving from airport after landing, and fell asleep. That could happen to anyone I guess, nationality or tourist not the issue but another aspect of travellers getting straight into cars on arrival and not capable of safe driving. Something we all need to be aware if when we travel ourselves.

If you read the Tripadvisor forum it is full of people, who have never been in Ireland or any part of Europe, proposing to fly in from Boston and then drive to Dingle via Clonmacnoise. :(