Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you talk to yourself?

• 24-08-2014 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭

I have full blown conversations with myself out loud every day. Its always when i am alone - in the car, shower or around the house etc and can be about anything really.

For example sometimes i imagine i am in an interview situation answering certain questions. Other times i might try and explain a certain topic to myself, then questioning myself to see if i really understand it. I think these are good methods to help you for real world situations.

I think this is a pretty common thing that the majority of people do, its just never really talked about or people would probably deny it.

Do you talk to yourself and if so what about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

I have full blown conversations with myself out loud every day. Its always when i am alone - in the car, shower or around the house etc and can be about anything really.

For example sometimes i imagine i am in an interview situation answering certain questions. Other times i might try and explain a certain topic to myself, then questioning myself to see if i really understand it. I think these are good methods to help you for real world situations.

I think this is a pretty common thing that the majority of people do, its just never really talked about or people would probably deny it.

your crazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzy man:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I used to do this in the car until i had a dash cam fitted.
    Once i realised what i sounded like on the audio, i started thinking my rhoughts in my head instead;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I do that too.
    No you don't.
    Yes I do.
    Don't mind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

No, but I do find myself answering questions that I don't remember being asked :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I've noticed recently that I do it a fair amount. Especially in the shower when I re-live arguments and win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Yes, when I want an intelligent opinion on something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I used to, but then I fell out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Yeah all the time. I do it at work a good bit, and realised it's probably irritating so it's now turned to whispering to myself. I'm not sure if that's any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

The conversations can be better. . .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

the brilliant thing about talking to yourself is there can be no losers in the argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 JackGM

Roquentin wrote: »
    the brilliant thing about talking to yourself is there can be no losers in the argument

I find a way :L
    I'm my own worst enemy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

No but I laugh to myself alot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I hate when someone deletes a comment that you have replied to and it looks like you are talking to yourself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes. Anyone who doesn't talk to themselves is a straight up liar. Out loud or in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Oh hell yeah. Especially every time I post here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

I'd say almost everyone has an internal dialogue going on, the volume is turned down. I also reckon it's usually quiet negative- comparing themselves, judgeing themselves, weighing up situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭daviecronin

Ya sher I talk to myself a good bit and I often think a lot when I'm trying to sleep and cringe my whole body remembering something embarrassing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Not out loud! Jaysus.

I mutter to myself, or have 'conversations' with myself silently but with my lips moving. I'm usually reliving previous conversations, but I'm much smarter and wittier the second time around. :)

I talk to myself unexpectedly sometimes "Oh god, I'm late!" "Don't forget the bread, Candie!" etc. It's embarrassing when someone else hears me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Who in this thread hasn't just spoken out or at least internally verbalised their post before clicking 'post quick reply'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

Yeah I do this all the time. Glad to see I'm not the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Stop interrupting me internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

It's fine talking to yourself in the comfort of your own home.

It gets embarrassing when, seemingly unconsciously, you get into conversation with yourself in the street, or at work.

I was in work recently, having a full-blown verbal argument with an email on my iPad, only to discover a colleague was sitting at the back of the room.

I pretended I knew she was there along, and asked for her opinion, but we both knew I was cuckoo at that stage….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I more 'narrate myself' than talk to myself

she wrote before farting silently and preparing to blame the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

When moisturising I have caught myself saying "it rubs the lotion on its skin or else it gets the hose again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I talk to the voices in my head. Is that the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Sometimes when I'm in a car I look out the window to catch pedestrians talking to themselves. It's quite a ubiquitous phenomenon actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Yeah, I'll talk myself up when there's something unpleasant I have to deal with "Come on you can do it, on the count of 3 etc.
    or when I'm extremely mad I'll curse the object of my anger in an explosive soliloquy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

In my head, yes. Usually before I fall asleep. But, I guess that's just thinking....
    Never out loud though.

I do, but I live alone so I'd probably forget how to speak if I didn't do it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Yeah all the time. I am an only child and my parents were never at home so I have always talked to myself and often had imaginary friends to keep me company (must point out that I knew they weren't real/there I just wanted someone to talk to so I would pretend there was) that sounds crazy/pathetic. Now I am at home with a 2 year old with delayed speech and my oh works 12 hour days so I pretty much talk to myself all day hoping my daughter will pick up speech. E.g. Mama is going to make toast with butter and jam.

I was in college one day, stuck on something and I'm so used to talking to myself I was mumbling about ways to do it, then I just laughed and thought *ck this I'm going home. The girl 2 computers down from me looked terrified of me haha. Funny thing is I have always done it and no one has ever looked at me the way she did.

Bet I sound really strange now. Just another reason why you should have more than one child. Loneliness is a strange old thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

PLL wrote: »
    Yeah all the time. I am an only child and my parents were never at home so I have always talked to myself and often had imaginary friends to keep me company (must point out that I knew they weren't real/there I just wanted someone to talk to so I would pretend there was) that sounds crazy/pathetic. Now I am at home with a 2 year old with delayed speech and my oh works 12 hour days so I pretty much talk to myself all day hoping my daughter will pick up speech. E.g. Mama is going to make toast with butter and jam.

I was in college one day, stuck on something and I'm so used to talking to myself I was mumbling about ways to do it, then I just laughed and thought *ck this I'm going home. The girl 2 computers down from me looked terrified of me haha. Funny thing is I have always done it and no one has ever looked at me the way she did.

Bet I sound really strange now. Just another reason why you should have more than one child. Loneliness is a strange old thing.

My sister had myself and our brother around and still had an imaginary friend. We must have been awful siblings :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Yes I do it. And I apologise to myself.

Don't ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

I do - my manager in work pointed it out I was all of 17 talking about how i was going to do something..
    In my current job people point it out all the time as " are you talking to yourself again" andto be honest thats all that is said but i do play out situations in my head that may or may not happen in the future... glad to know others are as mad as me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭FierceMild

Yes, I develop some kind of tourettes when I'm stressed where I just blurt stuff. I missed the bin when I was disposing of a teabag and said "Fcuk you, Marty Morrissey" and then mumbled "Sorry" when I was picking it up off the floor. It's weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Of course. How else am I supposed to get expert advice? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I occasionally tell the telly to fcuk off, mostly when watching football or there's an advert I despise on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Peg14

Only when I'm studying. Talking to myself constantly helps me immensely with understanding and remembering stuff. Other than that, I really do not strike up a convo with myself. My sister, on the other hand, records herself with the vid camera with no intention of posting it online (she says she uses it as a mirror even though she has another mirror clearly beside it) of her putting on her make up while talking toherself nonstop in the most silly American accent. She is so noisy I can hear from outside every evening. My dad talks to himself a lot too, a way of organising out his thoughts I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Of course I do!
    Shir I couldn't talk to a nicer chap;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yes. Anyone who doesn't talk to themselves is a straight up liar. Out loud or in your head.

More than anything, they're lying to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭chinacup

Candie wrote: »
    I mutter to myself, or have 'conversations' with myself silently but with my lips moving. I'm usually reliving previous conversations, but I'm much smarter and wittier the second time around. :)

I talk to myself unexpectedly sometimes "Oh god, I'm late!" "Don't forget the bread, Candie!" etc. It's embarrassing when someone else hears me.

I've done this a number of times in public, especially when I'm in a rush/flustered.

"You're going the wrong way!"
    "Oh no post office!"
    "Sh1t, car"

^Some of the recent ones (:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭chinacup

I more 'narrate myself' than talk to myself

she wrote before farting silently and preparing to blame the dog.

This too!! I've always wondered if other people do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

All the time, don't always realise I'm doing it either, even in public. Have full on conversations with pets as well, the cat's a real bitch, he's great for a gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 JackGM

More than anything, they're lying to themselves.
    And the voices won't like that, now will they?
    -no, no not at all
    -definitely not
    -don't tell him that!
    -shhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I do but I usually talk to myself in Christopher Walken or Arnie's voice.

I've a load of animals so I tend to talk in various voices to them, full blown conversations. At this stage they probably only react to Walken :pac:

"Hey rabbit, it's, time for you and your, furry friend, to dine on...........SOME...........kale! Nibbble nibble, you, baa-stids!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 429 ✭✭Export

You is all crazeez!
    Genuinely, I don't talk to myself. I know someone however who can be silently gesticulating while clearly having some sort of imaginery conversation lol.
    It's not a good sign!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Of course I do, I need to talk to somebody sound & smart once in a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Its the people gesticulating on the phone that amazes me still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Moat_Cailin

Only to seek expert opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

I do if I **** up, I would curse and swear out loud at myself