Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conservatives are in general happier people than liberals

• 22-08-2014 9:55pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭

Conservatives, by their inherent nature, are happy people as they are content with the status quo. Liberals, on the other hand, exist in a permanent state of anger and are always complaining and protesting about something - "more immigrants, more dole, everyone except me is a Nazi Communist Jew". It seems their end game is the eradication of the straight white male. Paradoxically, these malcontents would be more miserable if all of their goals were achieved as they would have nothing left to fight against. Protesting is their favourite hobby.

Case in point: I was having drinks with some work colleagues recently and we were having a good time with some lighthearted jovial banter. Then one guy steers the topic of conversation to Gaza - instant buzzkill. Everybody else just stared awkwardly into their drinks in silence while he soapboxed for 10 minutes about how Hamas is justified in murdering the occupiers. The same guy walks around work wearing a keffiyeh. He looks like a complete moron.

PS: I refer to liberals and conservatives in the American sense. Use the labels left-wing and right-wing if your political worldviews don't extend beyond your parish.

Inb4 angry liberals prove my point that they are angry, miserable people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Potato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Only good part of this thread is that I now know what a keffiyeh is, because I googled it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Liberal. I always feel the urge to spit before and after I use that word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Libruls! Raaaarrrr! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I'd consider myself to be a Liberal left wing Nazi

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

In fairness. Lefty types do come across as never being happy. Constantly looking to get offended on others behalf.

Oftentimes when the very people they are getting offended on behalf of.. couldn't give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A conservative in the pub talking with real people?

I don't believe you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Possibly true in relation to very conservative types - ignorance being bliss and all that. But then again people very far to the right seem REALLY angry.
    Liberal. I always feel the urge to spit before and after I use that word.
    True monsters with their "live and let live" attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I'm way too busy to be a leftie.

Where do they get the time for all that protesting??

It's usually in the middle of the working week too, for added annoyance towards the rest of us trying to go about our business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The classic rant pops to mind:

' Nabby pabby liberals who would let rapists live in women's changing rooms Jeff!'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭truffle5

Reminds me of that Simpsons episode where Lisa decides to take a righteous stand for women's rights and join the football team. She feels deflated when she discovers there are already several girls on the team and admits that she isn't really interested in football anyway. Liberals are never happy. Eternal contrarians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Name a funny conservative comedian...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nazi here and I'm positively ecstatic.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I've never heard of a happy conservative. If they're not complaining about "the gays" or "the foreigners", they're complaining about "the liberals". Miserable bunch, the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Things change all the time, so if it's someone's inherent nature to only be happy when things stay the same then they won't be happy very often. Conservatives often like protesting and getting their knickers in a twist over issues too. If you don't believe me just wait and see them come out of the woodwork in the run up to the marriage equality referendum next year. Or look back at the ruckus they made during the X case legislation bill thingy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭truffle5

Intolerant feminists foaming at the mouth ranting abut the patriarchy and roaring at men to "know your place."
    Pro-Palestinian protesters fighting the Gardai, burning the Israeli flag and destroying Israeli produce in supermarkets.
    Al Sharpton looking under rocks for perceived racism.

Such a happy bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Only good part of this thread is that I now know what a keffiyeh is, because I googled it.

What's a keffiyeh, then? I couldn't be arsed googlin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

humanji wrote: »
    I've never heard of a happy conservative. If they're not complaining about "the gays" or "the foreigners", they're complaining about "the liberals".

And women, too. I could say atheists but they largely (I'm aware there's exceptions) fall under "de libruls".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Conservatives are generally nasty, hateful, self-serving scum compared to liberals -at least when it comes to social issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Possibly true in relation to very conservative types - ignorance being bliss and all that. But then again people very far to the right seem REALLY angry.

Ignorance isn't solely a conservative trait. Liberals can be plenty ignorant of the way the world works, and it's inherent in their philosophy to want to change that, until the frustration subsides as they come to the realisation that the world is never going to be the way they want it to be. Their philosophy encourages defragmentation and decentralisation rather than a cohesive strategy to overcome a conservative majority. They care about everything and lack the focus to concentrate their combined efforts on one thing.

Liberal monsters with their "live and let live" attitude.

That's a libertarian outlook surely more than a liberal one? Liberals want everyone to think the way they do, which is the antithesis of 'live and let live'.

Extremists though from both schools of thought are always angry, and were angry before they ever adopted a conservative or liberal stance, then channelled their anger and frustration into that ideology.

truffle5 wrote: »
    Intolerant feminists foaming at the mouth ranting abut the patriarchy and roaring at men to "know your place."
    Pro-Palestinian protesters fighting the Gardai, burning the Israeli flag and destroying Israeli produce in supermarkets.
    Al Sharpton looking under rocks for perceived racism.

Such a happy bunch.

Intolerant conservatives, foaming at the mouth, ranting about other people's choices and lifestyles, and roaring at everyone who isn't a straight, white male to "know your place."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

endacl wrote: »

Sabaa_Nissan_Militiaman.jpg

I've never heard of a happy conservative. If they're not complaining about "the gays" or "the foreigners", they're complaining about "the liberals". Miserable bunch, the lot of them.

And women, too. I could say atheists but they largely (I'm aware there's exceptions) fall under "de libruls".

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Conservatives are generally nasty, hateful, self-serving scum compared to liberals -at least when it comes to social issues.

" Live and let live" they said.

"If only they'd let us" they said.

This thread could almost write itself!

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I'm way too busy to be a leftie.

Where do they get the time for all that protesting??

It's usually in the middle of the working week too, for added annoyance towards the rest of us trying to go about our business.

It's actually the other way around.

Example 1
    Two people of differing ethnicities wish to marry because they love each other.

Liberal reaction: "it's all consensual. Can't seem to find anything wrong with it after investigating it, seems ok, and nobody is getting hurt".

Conservative reaction: "it's ****ing sick! That's why!!"

Example 2:
    Two people of the same sex wish to marry because they love each other.

Liberal reaction: "it's all consensual. Can't seem to find anything wrong with it after investigating it, seems ok, and nobody is getting hurt".

Conservative reaction: "it's ****ing sick! That's why!!"

It's you guys that try all you can to cause a fuss and keep things exactly as is, or even more locked up if it suits ye better -even if that means holding up and delaying the inevitable for as long as absolutely possible.

Try talking about social housing or single mothers, or God forbid, immigration, to get a glimpse of how furious and petty some conservatives are. Nothing happy about those little campers.
    Inb4 angry liberals prove my point that they are angry, miserable people.

Pre-emptively calling anyone who replies with disagreement angry and miserable in an attempt to only garner replies in agreement with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

They took our jobs!!!

Dey duk our jobs!!!

Dey durk dur duuuur!!!

DURK BA DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURRR!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I think it's a bit stupid branding someone as a conservative or a liberal, I just find it a bit simplistic tbh, especially considering a person could have conservative economic views and liberal social ones. I don't know why people are so eager to pigeon hole, not only others, but themselves.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair H wishy washy liberals can be offence seeking missiles looking for the next offence meme to get the feels over and both Libs and Cons tend to miss both cogent argument and irony all over the place. Objectivity is nearly always lacking in both(though the Libs tend to make this worse by claiming it for themselves), so that one would be a dead heat in whinging. Both extremes are narcissist just aimed in different directions. Though I would contend extreme Libs win on self restrictive speech and euphemisms to actually say what they want to say and both are afraid to buck the sacred cows and groupthink of their particular ism.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Case in point: I was having drinks with some work colleagues recently and we were having a good time with some lighthearted jovial banter. Then one guy steers the topic of conversation to Gaza - instant buzzkill. Everybody else just stared awkwardly into their drinks in silence while he soapboxed for 10 minutes about how Hamas is justified in murdering the occupiers. The same guy walks around work wearing a keffiyeh. He looks like a complete moron.

Next time you're speaking to him, talk a little lower than normal.

He just might say "You'll have to speak up,I'm wearing a towel!"

Can I just at this point distance myself from the OP who seems to be shovelling an awful lot of shyte in there in an attempt to, well, stir shyte. They're clearly not a happy bunny.

Not all conservatives hate those whose opinions differ from their own, and we're not all angry, hate mongering bastards either.

Myself, yep, I'm a conservative and happy bunny, and I've met many liberal people who are happy in their nappies, but there's always going to be that outspoken minority on either side that give all conservatives/liberals a bad name, simply based on the most obvious bloody targets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Most self-proclaimed liberals are anything but. They are gibbering lefties who see the world through the red-tinged sunglasses of delusion. All online slacktivisism. The typical online social justice warrior who ticks all the usual boxes that need to be ticked. Most of them grow out of it when they get a decent job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

endacl wrote: »

Type o hat parently. Towely kinda thing. Looks pretty snug. Not sure how practical. looks like'd keep unravelling. Much effort. Western hat better. Less effort. Less upkeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Sabaa_Nissan_Militiaman.jpg

So.......

Is it 'old dude', or 'PLO scarf'....?

The more extreme and genuine a conservative person is, the less likely they are to be happy. They're on the losing side of almost every argument. If they sincerely believe all the shite they spout, it can't be easy to watch everything they care about being constantly eroded by progress.

That said, a lot of conservatives (especially online) are just obnoxious cunts who get a strange kick out of being self-consciously unpleasant.

Most self-proclaimed liberals are anything but. They are gibbering lefties who see the world through the red-tinged sunglasses of delusion. All online slacktivisism. The typical online social justice warrior who ticks all the usual boxes that need to be ticked. Most of them grow out of it when they get a decent job.
    That's fairly condescending in fairness.

I'm left-centre and socially liberal, I won't lose my views on anything any time soon.

Does it work in reverse when social conservatives grow out of it when they read a book or something?

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    That's fairly condescending in fairness.

I'm left-centre and socially liberal, I won't lose my views on anything any time soon.

Does it work in reverse when social conservatives grow out of it when they read a book or something?

Because that's not condescending at all...

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Because that's not condescending at all...

I know, it's called satire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Gotta wonder about people who rush to agree with the man who makes this statement.... :rolleyes:
    It seems their end game is the eradication of the straight white male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Does anyone else find it funny that he's never met a liberal that's happy. I wonder why?

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Does anyone else find it funny that he's never met a liberal that's happy. I wonder why?

I've met plenty of liberals that are happy though Lyaiera? It's only the extremist types on both sides are unhappy, and the more unhappy they are, the more extremist they are. Here's John Cleese's take on it that demonstrates the concept to a tee -

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 ran_home_

conservatives are less flaky , more sure of who they are and what they stand for , work harder , have more staying power , more self control , more discipline , more common sense

the right always wins out in the end , they throw liberals an odd sop ( FG allowing gay marriage referendum next year to labour etc )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Yikes OP, I hope you never stumble across Fox News or your world would be turned up side down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

If conservatives are happier why do they die younger?

ran_home_ wrote: »
    conservatives are less flaky , more sure of who they are and what they stand for

"The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt." - Bertrand Russell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 ran_home_

Yikes OP, I hope you never stumble across Fox News or your world would be turned up side down.

i hate fox news conservatives

pat buchanan is my idea of a conservative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I hate the terms "liberal" and "conservative" because they're fairly useless labels for describing people. Most people are conservative about some things and not others.

There are plenty of people out there in Ireland who are liberal on social issues and conservative on economic issues.

For example, it's not unusual to be in favour of gay marriage, female bodily integrity, gender equality, legalisation of recreational drugs and a social safety net while at the same time being in favour of tougher sentencing for criminals, lower taxation, reducing government waste, an end to social welfare as a lifestyle choice and the right to protect one's property.

I think a lot of people fall into this category.

tl;dr
    OP is silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Liberals, by their inherent nature, are happy people as they are content with living and letting others live. Conservatives, on the other hand, exist in a permanent state of anger and are always complaining and protesting about something - "more laws, less dole, everyone except me is a pinko commie slacktivist neckbeard shinnerbot". It seems their end game is the eradication of anyone who isn't a straight white male. Paradoxically, these malcontents would be more miserable if all of their goals were achieved as they would have nothing left to fight against. Meddling in the private lives of others is their favourite hobby.

Case in point: I was having drinks with some work colleagues recently and we were having a good time with some lighthearted jovial banter. Then one guy steers the topic of conversation to drug abuse - instant buzzkill. Everybody else just stared awkwardly into their drinks in silence while he soapboxed for 10 minutes about how anyone caught smoking a joint should be sentenced to 10 years in prison. The same guy walks around work wearing a Crucifix necklace. He looks like a complete moron.

PS: I refer to liberals and conservatives in the American sense. Use the labels left-wing and right-wing if your political worldviews don't extend beyond your parish.

Inb4 angry conservatives prove my point that they are angry, miserable people.

Jesus ****, I think I dropped about 10 IQ points following such a simplistic line of rationale for 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I think that's bollox, conservatism stems from bitterness and negativity in my opinion, rich people who want to maintain a status quo, fear or dislike of people who are different to them.

Liberals are more relaxed and openminded, accepting of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Well the verrrry hardline left is pretty angry all right (ditto its polar opposite) but a person who's simply centre-left and has liberal views but can have some moderately conservative ones too... is miles off the very hardline left.

The OP, of course, knows this.