Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know any other boardsies IRL?

• 21-08-2014 9:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

I'm wondering how many of y'all know other boardsies in the real world ( :eek: ). If so, do you know them from Beers or what?

I don't know any of ye, yet it's kinda weird that I spend so much time here yet could walk right past any of you guys in the street.

Do you know other boardsies? 143 votes

Yep
    0% 0 votes
    I know myself (and I know mine enemies)
    80% 115 votes
    I ‘know’ them in the Biblical sense
    19% 28 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't know any either Ronan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

c_man wrote: »
    I'm wondering how many of y'all know other boardsies in the real world ( :eek: ). If so, do you know them from Beers or what?

I don't know any of ye, yet it's kinda weird that I spend so much time here yet could walk right past any of you guys in the street.

No

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Yeah i know a few.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

:Yeah, a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I know a few, go to college with one or two, one lives up the road from me, we are the silent community that only we know we're a part of :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Yeh, but only through Boards - I can't think of any boardsies I knew before finding out they were on Boards. Well one or two, but they wouldn't be regular posters - they just have a Boards account.
    I've met Boardsies in real life at beers or else I haven't met them but know their real-life identity through Facebook, email, WhatsApp. Quite a lot of them actually.
    Not in contact any more with most of the ones I know in either capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I know a good few from beers n stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I know a few, go to college with one or two, one lives up the road from me, we are the silent community that only we know we're a part of :cool:

The Special Criminal Court was brought in for that kinda craic man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I've met a few, a few people also know my username from nosing while I was logged in.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Feck no! Why would I want to know nerdy virgins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

antodeco wrote: »

Yeah... virgins... pffff....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Cos you'd have a lot in common...

I also think they all have cooties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Do you not like young women who haven't had sex yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

The Special Criminal Court was brought in for that kinda craic man.

Oh crap! I know nothing!!

Do you not like young women who haven't had sex yet ?

The problem is that they don't like me :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I love when some eejit down the pub tries to explain boards.ie to me like someone explaining quantum physics to a bull calf, and I just sit there with a stupid vacant look on my face, all the while trying to figure their username. :)

Ha, I just copped IRL means In Real life. Thought it was short for Ireland. Was very confused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ha, I just copped IRL means In Real life. Thought it was short for Ireland. Was very confused!

Inland Revenue Listening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Only the one i shared a cell with in the joy.

'she' had a big schlong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I met one, lovely it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Yeah know a **** ton of ye, did the no pants dance with a few too, but virtually everyone on boards knows another member irl

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yeah a few hundred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Yup! Met my significant other through boards and all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I've met a few

Does knowing my bf's username count as really knowing a boardsie very well? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Only the one i shared a cell with in the joy.

'she' had a big schlong.

Ahhh right. Mr Snooty pants is it. Grrraaannnnddddd. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Its Only Ray Parlour

I know of one because he has his Skype account attached to his Boards account and his personal name is his Skype name. I've never talked to the guy, he hangs around a bunch of nerds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

I only know one active poster here but because Ireland's Ireland, I honestly expect to find out I know at least a few more and have mutual friends with damn near everyone. The ones from Longford are probably somehow related to me too, cos Longford's Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I've met plenty, and am engaged to one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I expect to be invited to the wedding thread.

Y'WHA....?????? :eek: News to me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I know quite a few. Haven't been to a beers in a pretty long time but still have some great friends from this site. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

No.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Know quite a few and married to a Boardsie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I know a few dozen. About 15 came to my wedding and one was a bridesmaid :)

The first time I met 2 boardsies, they came to stay with me for the weekend.

That could have ended in murder! but it didn't and now they're really good friends.

I've met many boardsies.
    Some of them I met only once or twice, others are people I became friends/acquaintances with; most of these I'm not longer in contact with (some by choice, others by circumstance) but I still have a few boardsies on my FB friends list.
    Even went out with a boardsie for a while (they fall into the "no longer in contact with by choice" category! :pac: )
    I might meet more in the future, though I'd feel very awkward meeting (or re-meeting) people who knew me under a previous pseudonym. :o

Some of my best friends are boardsies. Just home from boozing with one (minus the booze for me :(). Going to see two more tomorrow and another Saturday. Then next weekend going to electric picnic with five of the fcukers :D

I was at EP a few years back, met a guy who was buddies with a friend of a friend, hanging around with them and I kind of tripped over (turned out my leg was broken but that's a different story), and the guy says "whoopsadaisydoodles" my heart stopped for a second. Turned out he was a boardsie who started using my username in real life :pac:

He's one of my bessies now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I know at least 3 boardsies in real life. Only 1 of them really posts regularly though.

I also made a Facebook friend through Boards if that counts. I only add people that I'd be happy to sit and have a pint with though, so I hope she realises what an exclusive club I let her join. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Why do you want to know?
    I'm here on my laptop and I love the banter.
    But to meet someone I would be shy.
    Love beer though. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I know a few who don't know that I know they're on boards at all...which keeps it interesting. It can be a surprising portal into other peoples unedited thoughts on different issues.

No doubt someone has identified me too though,that's a less fun thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I know 1 person who I'm in school with.

But there's others I've never met but would still consider friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I closed my account because two guys at work (both boardsies) spotted who I was logged in as. :pac:
    One of them still posts and would be relatively well known on AH - although hasn't posted in a while. The other rarely posts and wouldn't be known.

After I closed my account, someone said on one of those "People who have closed their accounts" threads that he didn't know me/I didn't know him but he spotted me around the place as he lives nearby and knows people I know (recognised me from the one time I put a photo up). Freaked the fuq out of me. :eek:
    Never worked out who he is. He has closed his account since too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

I don't know anyone IRL.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Magaggie wrote: »
    I closed my account because two guys at work (both boardsies) spotted who I was logged in as. :pac:
    One of them still posts and would be relatively well known on AH - although hasn't posted in a while. The other rarely posts and wouldn't be known.

After I closed my account, someone said on one of those "People who have closed their accounts" threads that he didn't know me/I didn't know him but he spotted me around the place as he lives nearby and knows people I know (recognised me from the one time I put a photo up). Freaked the fuq out of me. :eek:
    Never worked out who he is. He has closed his account since too.
    I know the feeling...

I once got a PM with the heading I KNOW WHO YOU ARE,

Seriously is the scariest moment ever :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I don't know anyone IRL.

As in anyone in real life? Like anyone. Regardless of Boards?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Are you a perv? Or do you just pretend to be a Mod to pull? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

No, but I don't know any irl people irl. /antisocial

And that's the end of that chapter.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

We used to have a Social Group to organise astro/indoor soccer for Limerick Boardsies. Had one or two small Beers nights in town too. Most of the other mods/Cmods/Admins I've met at bigger nights out are legends too.

I got to know loads of posters off one of the forums I used to mod, but that group has moved on since.

I make no effort at all to hide my real name though. Anonymity never appealed to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Blank verse?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Blank verse?

Most of the time!