Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summerslam aftermath thread

• 18-08-2014 8:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Thoughts on the show? Poll added in a moment

Rating 73 votes

0% 0 votes
    0% 0 votes
    1% 1 vote
    1% 1 vote
    1% 1 vote
    5% 4 votes
    12% 9 votes
    13% 10 votes
    50% 37 votes
    13% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

My thoughts on Summerslam is that it was a good show much better than last few PPV's.

The Miz vs. Dolph Ziggler - great opener, these guys have good chemistry with each other, they should continue this feud over IC title.

AJ Lee vs. Paige - the match was meh, they weren't giving enough time to have good match with each other.

Rusev vs. Swagger - the match was ok, I think the match should of been where you have to get the flag from a pole so that Swagger could get a victory out of this feud. I gotta give Rusev credit for his selling in this match.

Ambrose vs. Rollins - this was match of the night, I loved everything about this match, lumberjack elements of this match didn't bother me.

Bray Wyatt vs. Chris Jericho - This match was good, much better than their match at Battleground. I am glad that this might be the end of their feud.

Stephanie McMahon vs. Brie Bella - I don't really what to say about this match, it was really there to setup a feud between Brie and Nikki.

Roman Reigns vs. Orton - not the best match in the world, but this match was really to give Reigns a signature victory at a big 4 PPV.

Lesnar vs. Cena - as people have said already this was a squash match for Cena. I am very interested were they go from here.

I'll give Summerslam 5 out of 10.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Gave it an 8.

Cena vs Lesnar was fascinating to me, and I adored the story behind the match. When the first F5 came, I rolled my eyes and thought it was going to be a spot match, but as it developed and it became clear what was happening....it was brilliant storytelling imo. That they were brave enough to basically have a squash match for the main event and Cena took such a beating....loved it. Leaves it open to a rematch ("If that F5 hadn't caught me early, the match would have been different, so let's go one more time!"), and will make whoever beats Lesnar look great by proxy.

Ambrose/Rollins was really, really good. Orton/Reigns, Jericho/Wyatt and Swagger/Rusev were really solid, with all the right winners. Ziggler/Miz was good too, and thrilled for Dolph. AJ vs Paige was grand too.

While the ending was spoiled and painfully obvious to the Steph/Brie match, I still thought it was preformed well. Steph surprised me with how good she looked in the ring; she was better than a lot of the divas with the spots given to her, and honestly, I wouldn't be against her wrestling more in the future (AJ vs Steph could be gold on multiple levels).

No dud matches imo, the right winners in every match, and better yet, every coming out looking good or sympathetic in the right places. Really enjoyed the show.

8/10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Lord TSC is on the ball. Personally loved Swagger/Rusev as Rusev came out of the match really strong. I said it a last week but I wonder if Rusev will be used to rehab Cena after his loss to Lesnar.

Summerslam at times can fall short of feeling like a "Big Four" style event but that wasn't the case this year. Glad they didn't have any skits and minimal celebrity bull**** too. The video packages were tightly edited so it was more match-match-match pace wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,321 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Enjoyable PPV. Agree with TSC on the matches with exception of Paige/AJ which I thought was poor, even Steph/Bella was better than that, which was surprising because I thought that match was going to be a disaster.

Main event was brilliant. They managed to make Lesnar tearing Cena apart for 20 minutes great to watch.

You have to wonder if we are going to get another Undertaker-Brock match:
    i648CT6dmecp6.gif
    ibeMJDwfLeSnw0.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

rovert wrote: »
    You have to wonder if we are going to get another Undertaker-Brock match:
    i648CT6dmecp6.gif
    ibeMJDwfLeSnw0.gif

I think so. Everyone wants to see taker go out on a high and I being a huge taker fan would love to see him get his revange on lesnar and then retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

mxph3 wrote: »
    I'll give Summerslam 5 out of 10.

5 out of 10, damn you are a hard man to please. technically 5 out of 10 would signify an average show not a good one ;)

personally thought it was a great show, not as good in-ring as last years summerslam or 2002 but tons of drama and some incredible storytelling throughout the night.

surprised brie and steph wrestled an actual match until the finish. very surprised how they booked the main event. ambrose is the top babyface in the company crowd reaction wise and rusev did probably the best sell job in wwe in i don't know how long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

rossie1977 wrote: »
    5 out of 10, damn you are a hard man to please. technically 5 out of 10 would signify an average show not a good one ;)

personally thought it was a great show, not as good in-ring as last years summerslam or 2002 but tons of drama and some incredible storytelling throughout the night.

surprised brie and steph wrestled an actual match until the finish. very surprised how they booked the main event. ambrose is the top babyface in the company crowd reaction wise and rusev did probably the best sell job in wwe in i don't know how long.

I would give it a 7 out of 10 but AJ Lee vs. Paige match didn't really deliver and Cena vs. Lesnar was not a great match to watch. I gave WrestleMania a 9 out of 10 this year and just don't think that this PPV is on the same level as WrestleMania.

BvS3QXcCIAEFYgM.jpg

summerslam moving out of la to the east coast next year.

alot of people speculating msg and barclays but i doubt wwe would highlight the fact its new york/new jersey if the show was held in new york given new jersey is the ugly stepchild.

rumour this morning its red bull stadium in newark capacity 25,000. strange choice given they could have run a much bigger venue like yankee stadium or even metlife if they wanted to go real big next year..i guess the rent is cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Very happy with that PPV. MOTN was easily Rollins vs Ambrose and I'm very happy to see this feud continue.

Loved the Cena beatdown, probably the most one sided match I've seen since Ryback was squashing jobbers.

Jericho and Wyatt was a good match. Right person won so I'm happy.

Rusev and Swagger was a solid match(excellent selling by Rusev).

Orton and Reigns finished really well. Reigns looked excellent throughout the match.

Steph and Brie wasn't bad either as was Paige and AJ.

Also glad to see Dolph is a champ again. The white IC belt will look very good around his waist.
    8 out of 10 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Ziggler v Miz: Solid opener, the sequence towards the finish was awesome. Happy for Ziggler, he really deserves a good IC title run.

Paige v AJ: Short, but I enjoyed it. They made the most of their limited time. Creepy Paige is great.

Swagger v Rusev: Good match, very impressive selling from Rusev. Swagger looks strong by not tapping. Doubt this feud is over.

Rollins v Ambrose: Match of the night. Just a fun, fun match. I remember saying Ambrose needed to win to keep up his momentum. I was wrong. Such a good performance and the crowd were into him so it's all good. I sighed so much when Kane showed up though.

Bray v Jericho: Meh tbh. Jericho looks way over the hill now =/ It wasn't bad but I was hoping for better.

Steph v Brie: Predictable but it was fine for what it was. Much better then I expected. Steph's attire alone made it watchable.

Reigns v Orton: Orton carried the hell out of this match and he did a good job. OK match, nothing better then you'd see on RAW though. Reigns is MILES off a main event spot and I really fear fans will not accept a main event push for the forseeable future.

Lesnar v Cena: Never seen a main event match like this. But it was awesome. Lesnar kicked his ass and looked an unstoppable monster. It probably dragged 3-4 minutes too long for the route they went but there you go. Props to Cena for taking that kind of punishment.

8/10 show. I really enjoyed it.

I'll just leave this here;

yqhjwSb.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

Wasn't too impressed with Jericho v Wyatt and Orton v Reigns though the latter picked up in the final stretch. Those house show matches they were working together certainly helped. Paige v AJ was weird like they were going for a sexualised type of creepy.

Very good show overall. Lesnar destroying Cena was quite a sight to behold. Curious to see who and where now for Brock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Didn't care much for the show, most of the undercard didn't rise above TV match level and I was disappointed that the Rollins/Ambrose match had so much silliness involved when they're the last two that need that stuff. 5/10.

Brock was on a whole other level though. Even if the main event wasn't a great match per se, Brock's performance was just fantastic (fair play to Cena for being his rag doll). If Cena is the one to beat Brock after that though...

Didn't care much for the show, most of the undercard didn't rise above TV match level and I was disappointed that the Rollins/Ambrose match had so much silliness involved when they're the last two that need that stuff. 5/10.

Completely disagree. It was something different and something you don't see usually. It was really fun and entertaining and fit in with Ambrose's character.

Result didn't even matter. I just sat there grinning like an idiot with enjoyment.

steph giving ronda and her pals the sign

DigitalHeavenlyAmericanbulldog.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

rossie1977 wrote: »
    steph giving ronda and her pals the sign

DigitalHeavenlyAmericanbulldog.gif

Sweet Jesus her arms there.....she'd legit rip most fellas apart!

Can think of worse ways to go mind you......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

Sweet Jesus her arms there.....she'd legit rip most fellas apart!

Can think of worse ways to go mind you......

Ah here now, shes flexing as much as she can there while making the gesture. You can see her "lock in" her arm muscles.

Id like to see her arms compared to Ronda or even Cyborg for more lols, then you would see a woman who is actually capable of smashing a man.

On a side note, I like when UFC and WWE crossover, I really wish they would do more stuff together.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Completely disagree. It was something different and something you don't see usually. It was really fun and entertaining and fit in with Ambrose's character.

An overbooked match with way too many parts diluting from the issue at hand with a bit of dated '90s crowd brawling thrown in wouldn't be my definition of different. Those two could've done something special but instead we just got a bunch of nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

KfKGozrm.jpg

Brock just biding his time in WWE until he gets that final superfight in the UFC he craves so much. Bones could easily jump to heavyweight in the future...

It would be a licence to print money for UFC if it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Is that smile on Brocks face, or has he just had a stroke??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ziggler v Miz neither of them interest me at all Ziggler is just a spot machine nothing more to me and the Miz is well the Miz.

Swagger v Rusev both had good story telling which made me care about what was going on.

Rollins v Ambrose the stand out players in the WWE right now no more needs to be said.

Reigns v Orton just really showed how green Reigns and really isn't ready for a huge push yet.

Bray v Jericho was what it was nothing great at all.

Paige v AJ was sloppy for the two wrestlers involved but I enjoyed.

Steph v Brie was fun and it progressed the storyline with a nice twist.

I said weeks ago Lesnar needed to destory Cena for his win at Wrestlemania to mean anything I am really glad they went that way.

Overall 8/10 for me.

Oh nearly forgot the pre show..Cesaro jobbing to RVD.. WTF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

There's a reason they call him No Job Bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I said weeks ago Lesnar needed to destory Cena for his win at Wrestlemania to mean anything I am really glad they went that way.

Yeah I would agree. I think it has reassured people that breaking the streak wasn’t an utter waste. To be honest it makes Lesnar look even more impressive. Going through guys just become you can- pretty cool. Going through HOF megastars because you can- phenomenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I like the idea of Sheamus going against Brock. Granted, it'll take some work, but remembering Sheamus' run with Show, I salivate at the prospect at what he and Lesnar can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The way Heyman has been speaking of Brock in recent times on podcasts etc as well he has been saying that Brock was not healthy the last few years. he is healthy now, and a healthy Brock is an unstoppable beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭savemejebus

gimmick wrote: »
    The way Heyman has been speaking of Brock in recent times on podcasts etc as well he has been saying that Brock was not healthy the last few years. he is healthy now, and a healthy Brock is an unstoppable beast.

Funny, with how red his face went so quickly and the amount of sweating he was doing last night I thought he was going to have a heart attack in the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

It was a really fun show. I can't remember the last PPV that had me so entertained from start to finish. The matches weren't technical classics by any means, but they all told their stories perfectly...except for RVD beating Cesaro (Which had be shouting **** off too many times in the Woolshed :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

Usually I'd be quick to criticise Cena but fair play to him for losing so convingly last night. Think Cena should get to look competitive in a rematch at Night of Champions. Also it was a good job it was Cena in the match and not anyone else on the roster because it could take years to try and rebuild anyone else from that defeat.

I enjoyed the first 4 matches but would have liked if Paige vs AJ and Ambrose vs Rollins were given longer. Rusev vs Swagger was a very good match, just a pity the storyline was utter dross. Really was bad form the disrespect the commentators gave the Russian national anthem given how sensitive they are about their own anthem.

I thought Wyatt vs Jericho was fairly poor, bar the countdown being used for Jericho's entrance, and would have preferred if the match was shorter. Also would have preferred if the Stephanie vs Brie match was shorter but it was much better than what I was expecting.

Reigns vs Orton was just okay but if the plan is to put the belt on Reigns at mania I hope those plans change, barring a massive improvement from Reigns. He is not good enough in ring to be champion and to add to that he doesn't have a good promo.

Gas the Shield lads did the same taunt:

doYDQEM.gif
    JWkK9PG.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Wonder is Cena going to take time off to sell the mangling he got or will he be out on Raw all smiles and sunshine tonight.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

rovert wrote: »
    Gas the Shield lads did the same taunt:

I've caught similar in the past, more in relation to the "Fist Out" taunt.
    Can't help but feel it's being done so that when the two do inevitably feud, there's a great recap video set to go....

An overbooked match with way too many parts diluting from the issue at hand with a bit of dated '90s crowd brawling thrown in wouldn't be my definition of different. Those two could've done something special but instead we just got a bunch of nonsense.

Crazy talk.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Thoroughly enjoyed summerslam, every match had it's high points. Would definitely agree that Ambrose/Rollins was MOTN, Ambrose crazy over nearly to Bryan levels discounting the 'Yes' chants.
    Enjoyed both divas matches too, Paige/AJ was a little short but AJ's dive off the top rope was kinda cool, as was Paige's sick DDT. Steph really impressed me, selling well and the counter to Brie's almost dive through the ropes was clever. Love how they played on her strength being a factor too. Nikki's heel turn was so obvious even my wife who doesn't watch wrestling called it.
    Dolph/Miz was another good match, Miz is vastly underrated as a worker IMO. Sold the Zig-Zag like a champ too. Hopefully this feud continues.
    Flag match was great, I never really appreciated Swagger at all but Zeb has won me over. Rusev is being built up massively have to wonder who beats him first... Cena? Nah...I hope. Reigns would be my bet.
    Second best match of the night was definitely Reigns / Orton. Ortons counters (powerslam/RKO) are a joy to behold.
    Hopefully this was the end of Jericho/Wyatt. Haven't enjoyed Wyatt since this began as every feud he's in has followed the same format. They don't seem to mesh that well in ring either.
    Brock/Cena was exactly how I hoped it would be, the F-5 within 30 seconds was another WTF moment, not quite on a par with the streak ending but with Cena involved was pretty close. 16 suplexes, damn Brock is a beast! Dying to see where they go next with Brock on a part-time contract.
    All in all, an 8/10 for me.

Crazy talk.

Those two could've had one of the matches of the year. Instead it was overbooked nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Palo Alto

It was great fun, like the best of Shield matches. Sure they'll be having a few more matches this feud no doubt, really hope for a cage match.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Those two could've had one of the matches of the year. Instead it was overbooked nonsense.

Done to set up the cage match no doubt

Going in circles here.

First match of many, I really enjoyed it and Ambrose lost nothing in defeat.

I'll just leave this here;

yqhjwSb.gif

Not to go off on a tangent but ROH TV showed Kevin Steen's best moments this weekend. They showed this from Kevin's favourite match ever against Nigel McGuinness:

mld2qeX.gif

Going in circles here.

First match of many, I really enjoyed it and Ambrose lost nothing in defeat.

My problem is it's the second month in a row I've gone into a show really looking forward to an Ambrose/Rollins match and come out disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is it too soon for a Reigns and Lesnar feud, he seems the natural next choice for Lesnar imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

What I'd love to see is Brock have a few feuds where he is playing pure bully. Whether it be Cena or Bryan, feck even Taker. Would be a great to hear Reign's music hit whilst Brock is destroying somebody (the fans care about) and hits Brock with the "pick on somebody your own size" spiel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Somebody needs to be really fed to Brock now though, with a decent build.

Someone that we actually think is gonna be the guy to stop Lesnar, and then bam Lesnar does it again anyway (obviously not a squash match though because only Cena could survive that)

Lesnar has now been built to the point where he could be the real deal.

Sheamus would've been a decent guy to feed to Lesnar now if he hadn't slipped down the card in the last few months.

Not really in my opinion, who would actually think Sheamus has a chance?

CSF wrote: »
    Not really in my opinion, who would actually think Sheamus has a chance?

Him as much as anyone they'd stick against Lesnar, I figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Realistically, he only needs two opponents. One for Survivor Series-ish and then someone for the Rumble. After that, he can feud with Reigns whoever wins the Rumble. Sheamus would be good for the Rumble, as it is far enough away for him to be built up again and is already fairly big name who wont suffer much from being murdered by Brock.

No clue who could do the Survivor Series-ish match other than a rematch with Cena.

Think AJ and Paige saw the old Gail Kim and Taryn matches and decided to try that approach but it didnt work as well. I enjoyed it (bar the result of course) and think people are being harsh on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

Triple H's selling for Brie's dropkick was awesome. Between that and putting Daniel Bryan over clean at Mania he is really giving these up and comers the rub.

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Him as much as anyone they'd stick against Lesnar, I figure.

I just think he needs to go against somebody who people are going to believe can win. Bryan, Reigns, Ambrose. Turn it into the most epic feud possible but then have Lesnar win anyway.

A lot of people may say he should put somebody over but IMO he is the short to medium term future IMO.

Remember that once Reigns or whoever beats Lesnar, all that has been built up is gone, and there's no guarantee that they'll be able to make the main event as epic as Brock can.

Ambrose looks like he wandered in off the set of Bum Fights.

Okay, now I wanna see Ambrose/Lesnar. Heyman's 'what the f**k?" reactions to Ambrose would be worth admission alone.