Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jailed criminals get €19m in pocket money from State

• 18-08-2014 7:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Here's an after hours special just to cheer you up this Monday morning

Convicted criminals have been paid almost €19m in pocket money from the State while serving time in Irish prisons during the past five years.u

Every prisoner receives a daily cash allowance which they can use to make purchases from the up prison shop or put it away safely for use after their release.

Figures obtained under the Freedom of Information Act reveal that €18,922,294 has been gifted to detainees of the State's 14 prison institutions in this manner since 2009.

Prior to 2013, all inmates were entitled to a flat-rate gratuity payment of €2.35 per day. However, the system has been reformed to provide for three levels of payment to incentivise good behaviour in prisons.

A standard rate of €1.70 per day now applies but this is increased to an enhanced rate of €2.20 per day if a prisoner is compliant, and can be reduced to €0.95 per day if a prisoner misbehaves.

Prisoners who participate in cleaning or maintenance duties while behind bars can earn an additional €1 per day on top of their basic daily allowance.

The pocket money can be spent on discretionary items from the prison tuck shop, such as cigarettes or magazines. It can also be saved and made available upon release.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/jailed-criminals-get-19m-in-pocket-money-from-state-30515047.html#sthash.zWvVD4Si.dpuf

Do you think they should be paid anything ? A standard rate of €1.70 per day now applies but this is increased to an enhanced rate of €2.20 per day if a prisoner is compliant, and can be reduced to €0.95 per day if a prisoner misbehaves.

I think the different three levels of payment is a good idea as it encourages and rewards good behaviour through work. What your opinion ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Who said crime doesn't pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

old_aussie wrote: »

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)

YEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

donvito99 wrote: »
    old_aussie wrote: »

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)

YEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

Day made. Thank you old_aussie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

What is the point of this thread? Get people riled up?

Their punishment is loss of liberty. I'd love to see a prison guards opinion on this. I don't think taking away any tiny luxury they have will achieve anything good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

In other news the State has reduced the amount it pays to prisoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

If you're gonna make prison be about reform and rehabilitation then giving them a days pay for doing a days work is probably a good place to start.

Personally I'd scrap the reform & rehabilitation part, because it's not having the desired effect, and I'd make the criminals sh*t scared of being sent down, like any of those places on "Banged Up Abroad" but you'd never get it past those bleeding hearts in the ECHR and Amnesty International. That's a whole other thread anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you're gonna make prison be about reform and rehabilitation then giving them a days pay for doing a days work is probably a good place to start.

Personally I'd scrap the reform & rehabilitation part, because it's not having the desired effect, and I'd make the criminals sh*t scared of being sent down, like any of those places on "Banged Up Abroad" but you'd never get it past those bleeding hearts in the ECHR and Amnesty International. That's a whole other thread anyway.

Those prisons in banged up abroad are completely empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

2.35 a day?!

And here's me slogging my guts out (ahem) when I could be getting that kind of payout....

kneemos wrote: »
    Those prisons in banged up abroad are completely empty.

It's got nothing to do with reducing the crime rate, I'd be happy enough with just reducing the cost to run the prisons.

If you want food, clean water or medical and dentistry care in those spots you pay for it yourself.

You lock them up for doing things you do have some kinda responsibility
    This isn't top of my own "things to be annoyed about" list I have to say

It's got nothing to do with reducing the crime rate, I'd be happy enough with just reducing the cost to run the prisons.

If you want food, clean water or medical and dentistry care in those spots you pay for it yourself.

You want the relatives to pay for the prisoner?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

You wouldn't be availing of too much luxury on 1 or 2 euros a day! Especially if you smoked or something!

kneemos wrote: »
    You want the relatives to pay for the prisoner?

A lot of those prisons have factory workshops. Even Gordon Ramsay set up a kitchen making cakes for sale by prisoners in Birmingham. Turned a profit too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

It seems a fairly insignificant spend when you consider some of the wastage that goes on in other areas of government spending.

I wouldn't have a major problem with it, if it improves prisoner behavior in these prisons then why not.

It ranks fairly low down on the list of issues currently facing the judicial system, garda force & prison service in this country.

- Lack of space in our prisons
    - One of the highest incarceration rates for non-violent crime in Europe,e.g.non payment of t.v. licences
    - A disconnect between the judicial system & the people.
    - Extortionate legal fees in general
    - Corruption & incompetence in our garda force

A lot of those prisons have factory workshops. Even Gordon Ramsay set up a kitchen making cakes for sale by prisoners in Birmingham. Turned a profit too.

The Mountjoy kitchen is held in fairly high regard and caters a lot of the functions we would have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Anybody who knows of anybody in prison knows that the pocket money is insignificant to prisoners.The only prisoners it benefits are those with no visitors. The majority of prisoners have their kitty's topped up by friends and family on visits by however much.

To say this allowance aids rehabilitation is void.If anything,paying prisoners an hourly rate of work and restricting visitors giving money to prisoners or gifts will be far better for rehabilitation as it gives them a certain independence.The more you work,the more you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

It can be saved upon their release.

€2.20 x 365 days is €803. By how many years?

It can be saved upon their release.

€2.20 x 365 days is €803. By how many years?

That's some amount to be saving! :eek:

Assuming of course that they never buy a bar of chocolate or a bag of crisps, or a bottle of deodourant.

FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

NipNip wrote: »
    That's some amount to be saving! :eek:

Assuming of course that they never buy a bar of chocolate or a bag of crisps, or a bottle of deodourant.

FFS.

Shure, don't they get all that handed to them, like bars of soap to wash themselves with and I presume deodorant. You wouldn't need chocolate or crisps, its not a school's shop here. It can be saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The money should be used to buy prison guards more tazers

Shure, don't they get all that handed to them, like bars of soap to wash themselves with and I presume deodorant. You wouldn't need chocolate or crisps, its not a school's shop here. It can be saved.

It's a fine line tbh. It's all well and good saying it should be saved until release but if you give certain types of prisoners the best part of a grand on release no good will com from it. On the other hand those who don't save anything and just get their weeks payment when released often find themselves waiting a few weeks without money while their Welfare is sorted and end up back doing what got them locked up in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

leonidas83 wrote: »
    It seems a fairly insignificant spend when you consider some of the wastage that goes on in other areas of government spending.

I wouldn't have a major problem with it, if it improves prisoner behavior in these prisons then why not.

It ranks fairly low down on the list of issues currently facing the judicial system, garda force & prison service in this country.

- One of the highest incarceration rates for non-violent crime in Europe,e.g.non payment of t.v. licences
    - A disconnect between the judicial system & the people.
    - Extortionate legal fees in general
    - Corruption & incompetence in our garda force

Nobody has ever been jailed for non payment of TV licence.

People have been jailed for not paying a court order fine. What this fine relates to is irrelevant.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Nobody has ever been jailed for non payment of TV licence.

People have been jailed for not paying a court order fine. What this fine relates to is irrelevant.

And even at that a lot of them are 'jailed'.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    And even at that a lot of them are 'jailed'.

Not really.Cup of tea and out.
    Most of them are probably playing the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Hoop66 wrote: »
    2.35 a day?!And here's me slogging my guts out (ahem) when I could be getting that kind of payout....

Yes but you have to pay for your mortgage/rent, food, entertainment, medical expenses etc but these guys get all that for free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Berserker wrote: »
    Yes but you have to pay for your mortgage/rent, food, entertainment, medical expenses etc but these guys get all that for free too.
    Think you're forgetting the bit where they're, umm, not allowed to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

realies wrote: »
    Convicted criminals have been paid almost €19m in pocket money from the State while serving time in Irish prisons during the past five years.
    leonidas83 wrote: »
    €19m could help build another prison?

the_syco wrote: »

Sure then we'd have even more prisoners to pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

This news story was released to take the heat off public servents getting €8 per hour more than private sector and also talk of returning increments.
    Remember Our leaders (the rich) want middle classes to blame the lower classes to protect their greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

do they get wispas in gaol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

€19m over 5 years less that €4m a year...

I don't have a problem with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Doom wrote: »
    This news story was released to take the heat off public servents getting €8 per hour more than private sector and also talk of returning increments.
    Remember Our leaders (the rich) want middle classes to blame the lower classes to protect their greed.

Is that you Jim Corr?

the_syco wrote: »

Which wall of the prison would 19ml build exactly?

Jaysus, I heard that too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

do they get wispas in gaol?

Yes, but Wispa is a slang term in jail for something you'd probably ratehr not get.

No problem with them getting the cash, but not sure about the saving it bit. That said, how much are you really gonna save in, say, a two year stint?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Yes, but Wispa is a slang term in jail for something you'd probably ratehr not get.

No problem with them getting the cash, but not sure about the saving it bit. That said, how much are you really gonna save in, say, a two year stint?

€1606, if yer man's calculations above were accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

So you'd rather they repeat their offences with having no money when they've served their time? It's something to get them back on their feet, somewhat...

[Obviously this doesn't apply to serial repeat offenders]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

BeerWolf wrote: »
    So you'd rather they repeat their offences with having no money when they've served their time?
    With a criminal conviction, most will find it hard to get a legit job when they leave prison, esp now when employers can be picky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Holsten wrote: »
    What is the point of this thread? Get people riled up?

Their punishment is loss of liberty. I'd love to see a prison guards opinion on this. I don't think taking away any tiny luxury they have will achieve anything good.
    There's a lot of groups more deserving of that money. Family/friends can give them money if they need little luxuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Doom wrote: »

If that's true, it's fcuking scandalous. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Prison Service saves tens of millions of euros by employing prisoners at a fraction of the minimum wage.

A Prison Service spokesperson said 'Jobs that would normally be carried out by a paid and pensioned worker are being done at a fraction of the cost by prisoners. The prisoners also gain experience and skills that can help them move into employment on release. This initiative has saved the tax payers of the country tens of millions of euros in the last 5 years alone'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Not a bad deal at all for the felon. Apprenticeship to trade, free board and lodgings, paid training and a bitch for, er, wifey duties.
    How do I apply? Do I need a bit of pull?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

So what is the bare minimum that should be provided to a person once incarcerated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Id have no problem with prisoners getting paid a little for doing jobs around the prison, however getting a flat rate regardless is unacceptable.

So just by sitting on their ass someone can accumulate around €600 a year! Insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭TGJD

Each like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Who cares. Out of all the stupid pointless things to be pissed off with this country for, this is very low on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭TGJD

cloud493 wrote: »
    Who cares. Out of all the stupid pointless things to be pissed off with this country for, this is very low on the list.

I agree. I honestly couldn't give a ****. It's a pittance and gives them something for when they get out having paid their debt to society. Does anyone genuinely think this is a big deal? Or worth caring about even a little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Will everybody who wants to spend the next year in a small room please line up. Bucket to **** in is included. The room is rent free. You neighbours may include murderers, arsonists and kiddie fiddlers. No, you won't see any posh people - they're in the hospital wing.
    We'll pay you €2 every 24 hours. We apologise if this isn't enough to stop the angry guy you live with from threatening to rape your children unless you pay him €10,000.
    Oh look, the queue has gone.