Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First suspected of Ebola in Ireland (dismissed by HSE)

• 15-08-2014 7:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Someone has suspected Ebola, being transferred to isolation in the Mater hospital today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Phoenix wrote: »
    Do we all panic now?http://www.thejournal.ie/ebola-1621206-Aug2014/
    Well be grand sure won't we?

Just in work now but I'm going straight home and lock the doors. I hope my employer will understand but I won't be back for the next 4 weeks just to make sure. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Can't catch it from forums ... All good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

EbolaaAaaaaaaa get away from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I bet the fecker only wanted to start their weekend early. Didn't think they'd be locked in a room in the Mater for having "the flu."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I am sure details will emerge but my guess its someone who was travelling in Africa that may have a flu.

Better safe than sorry, but if it is Ebola, considering the standard of hygiene and overcrowding in our hospitals...

We Fooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

The things some ***** will do for a day off work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Ebola and Ivory, live together in perfect harmony.
    Side by side on my piano...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I am sure details will emerge but my guess its someone who was travelling in Africa that may have a flu.

Better safe than sorry, but if it is Ebola, considering the standard of hygiene and overcrowding in our hospitals...

We Fooked.

Ebola wouldn't stand a chance in our hospitals, the superbugs would have that **** for breakfast.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

They say that you can only get it from direct contact with bodily fluids from an infected person, would that be through sex or would speaking up close and inhaling their breath transmit it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

MOD

Merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Anyone feel this is a Utopia theory behind it & Zmapp the trial vaccine sounds like it will turn everyone to Zombies......

dixiefly wrote: »
    They say that you can only get it from direct contact with bodily fluids from an infected person, would that be through sex or would speaking up close and inhaling their breath transmit it?

Sex or someone gawkin' on you on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

"Suspected" is the key word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

dixiefly wrote: »

Sneezing can spread jt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

That game of plague on Android is gettin outta hand lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Ah sure give him or flat 7up be grand like

He's not too stick to stir it himself. I'll be here all day with a spoon if he's not going to do it himself and I have to get the messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Given the state of our hospitals I wouldn't be too confident is us dealing with an outbreak adequately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

blaze1 wrote: »
    Anyone feel this is a Utopia theory behind it & Zmapp the trial vaccine sounds like it will turn everyone to Zombies......

Nope

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Lads, time to break out the .12 gauge. Or samurai swords if you're in Clondalkin.

Oh how they sneered when we watched all those zombie movies for research purposes... Our time has come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

January wrote: »
    Someone has suspected Ebola, being transferred to isolation in the Mater hospital today.

Transferred from where though?

There's some doctor in the Mater ecstatic that he gets to play with the clean room and NBC suits at last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

testicle wrote: »
    Transferred from where though?

Liverpool :D

Biting someone will cause infection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Time to implement zombie pandemic plan alpha 2 bravo.
    Remember lads, aim for the head...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Poor bastard. Hope it's a false alarm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oink wrote: »
    Lads, time to break out the .12 gauge. Or samurai swords if you're in Clondalkin.

Oh how they sneered when we watched all those zombie movies for research purposes... Our time has come!

I'm thinking of installing these here Remote Sentry yokes, only with arse-loads of ammunition pre-loaded:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Ah sure give him or her flat 7up be grand like

Or a glass bottle of lucozade with the squeaky orange cellophane and some grapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Not good if true. Where was this patient before they were transferred to the Mater? They get off the plan and the first thing they do is hug or kiss people that are there to welcome them... Boom virus could already be in 10 other people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Good thing I have no friends and therefore no one to catch it off :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

cloud493 wrote: »
    Good thing I have no friends and therefore no one to catch it off :cool:

Just wait until the infected hoards are kicking your door down. It'll happen eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭nilsonmickey

What the hell is Ebola?

o1s1n wrote: »
    Just wait until the infected hoards are kicking your door down. It'll happen eventually.

Sure thats what the machine gun is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What the **** are we doing with flights still operating from possibly affected regions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Good Ebola or bad Ebola?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭nilsonmickey

Wasn't there a boxer from Mayo called Ebola?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

the room is being prepared.......the patient transfer hasn't even been requested yet.......pointless article really

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

HSE denies reports of suspected Ebola case in Ireland
    The Health Service Executive hast denied that there is a suspected case of the Ebola virus in Ireland.

It had been reported this morning that a patient suspected of contracting Ebola was to be transferred to the National Isolation Unit in Dublin’s Mater Hospital.

However, the HSE has since said that “there are no confirmed, or suspected, cases of Ebola in Ireland”.

"The National Isolation Unit in the Mater Hospital is used for patients with a variety of infectious diseases," a HSE statement read.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Is the original story just click bait by The Journal then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Somebody in the journal jumped the gun here. No confirmed or suspected cases according to HSE on RTE1 just now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

SW wrote: »

Jesus the Journal should be prosecuted for inciting panic in that case

Unless they know something we don't :eek:

Dammit! They wont give me a refund on my flight to Madagascar. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Somebody in the journal jumped the gun here. No confirmed or suspected cases according to HSE on RTE1 just now

Ah yes my two most trusted sources of information. I feel happier already.

Just offf to stock up on canned goods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Dammit! They wont give me a refund on my flight to Madagascar. :-(

You can't fly. Only have a port and it's closed.

I suspect its big pharma wanting Ebola to spread so we all need to buy the vaccine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Jesus this really isn't the kind of the kind of thing anyone should jump the gun on.

Were the Journal trying to incite national panic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

cloud493 wrote: »
    Unless they know something we don't :eek:

or it's a glorified tabloid.....looking for free publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭JBRowan

WE ALL GOING TO DIE, IT EVERYONE FOR THEMSELVES.