Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Outdoor cubicles and cold weather

• 14-08-2014 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

Was thinking about topless cubicles but I'm just wondering if anyone has experience of them in really icy conditions. Would there be a problem with cows slipping? Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Of course they would just like any concrete yard. We put very rough finish on our passages but no hard weather as yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

kevinm177 wrote: »
    Was thinking about topless cubicles but I'm just wondering if anyone has experience of them in really icy conditions. Would there be a problem with cows slipping? Cheers

are you prone to icey weather? we dont really get lots of very Cold weather in this country on a regular basis, expect up in high ground. just wind and rain.

there was a lad on here (delaval) put them in last year down in KK somewhere. he has a serious amount of cows and was very happy with them. last i Heard he was thinking of putting more. from what i recall he tried standoff pads Before but reckoned these were a much better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭kevinm177

No more prone to it than anywhere else. It's just a consideration is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

kevinm177 wrote: »
    No more prone to it than anywhere else. It's just a consideration is all

Have salt ready and a bit of sand. That's what we put down if we get a bad spell for winter milkers crossing the yard.

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Don't think cold is the issue it the wet. You have an enormous volume of soiled water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

How many pages did we get to the last time, search it and you will find it was well covered the last time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

keep going wrote: »
    How many pages did we get to the last time, search it and you will find it was well covered the last time

Probably 100's of pages, lads went missing in action, some guys bodies were never found.

But there has been one of two reincarnations out of the ashes of that train wreak of a thread.

Willfarman wrote: »
    Don't think cold is the issue it the wet. You have an enormous volume of soiled water?

not too worried about soiled water, I would love to have it where I am as I burn up every summer and it would be great if I had 400000ltrs to spread. Lots of talk about cows getting hurt on them in other threads but this seems to be coming from people who dont actually have them, so I was just wondering if anyone had experience of cows getting hurt in icy conditions. I know last year we got no frost here but I think that was an exception

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Honestly, how were the OC's in the recent snowy weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Saw a clip on FB from Ballyhaise college and they are calving down cows on the outwintering pad.
    Said they were very comfortable.

Here you go.
    New principal has turned the place on its head, fair play to him, no messing straight to business sort of guy.

https://www.facebook.com/TeagascBallyhaiseCollege/videos/965211816971147/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Awful lot of bitching going on here. As if no one had issues with cows and snow the last few days? I had one shed Of milkers stand most of the night because the snow was drifting into the

http://www.facebook.com/IrishFarmersJournal/posts/10157154783358835

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

I now have topless cubicles too after a bay of a shed collapsed under a snow drift. Nothing hurt thankfully. I won't be replacing the roof until the summer when I have time. It makes little differ as I have loads of capacity in the tanks after getting them emptied last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,220 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Just after reading the Greenfield update on farmers journal website. They got it bad. Serious work they went through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Just after reading the Greenfield update on farmers journal website. They got it bad. Serious work they went through
    I read that article. To be honest I'm not in favour of outdoor cubicles. There was a pic on the IFJ of indoor cubicles that were covered with drifting snow and the cows didn't seem to use them. One wonders how cows fared in uncovered cubicles with the East wind/snow.
    IMO if we Irish farmers have to subject our livestock to NZ type systems to make a living then its a sad state of affairs for animal husbandry :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Base price wrote: »
    I read that article. To be honest I'm not in favour of outdoor cubicles. There was a pic on the IFJ of indoor cubicles that were covered with drifting snow and the cows didn't seem to use them. One wonders how cows fared in uncovered cubicles with the East wind/snow.
    IMO if we Irish farmers have to subject our livestock to NZ type systems to make a living then its a sad state of affairs for animal husbandry :mad:

Cool the jets it was a freak event ,not ideal for cows could be 30 years before we see it’s like again ,easy for keyboard warriors to comment .greenfield parlour and cubicles/oad totally exposed but they still kept cows fed and got cows milked .huge praise should go to the team there for there efforts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

My indoor cubicles are like a quagmire after the snow even though I have them sealed from the elements. It will take a few days to get them dry and clean, just imagine a department official calling this weather, he'd want to be some cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Cool the jets it was a freak event ,not ideal for cows could be 30 years before we see it’s like again ,easy for keyboard warriors to comment .greenfield parlour and cubicles/oad totally exposed but they still kept cows fed and got cows milked .huge praise should go to the team there for there efforts
    I ain't no keyboard warrior nor a veggie/vegan so chillax and douse your jets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I get the impression that animal welfare wouldn't be high on your priorities the you reacted to that NZ comment. Learn from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

What's the difference in cost for roofing per cow, a neighbour pricing a shed 65 by 50 at 10000, would it hold 65 cows at 150/cow extra, what's outdoor cubicles costing per cow.
    As with sheep, sheds are for the farmer not the animals, but this has been a rotten year for animal outdoors.
    Farmers should be shown the bad days before they commit, it said last night on journal that cows hadn't been milked since thursday morning until last night in greenfields.
    There was a farm walk on an outdoor march lambing farm in Februrary, They're about a week into lambing now!!!!! wonder how many went home from that farm walk thinking they were going outdoor lambing, a lot of young farmers at that farm walk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I get the impression that animal welfare wouldn't be high on your priorities the you reacted to that NZ comment. Learn from it.

So you could have a nz system in ireland with the cows well fed and in good condition farmers happy and cows are happy, but you could have a neighbour down the road with an indoor system with cows fading away, cows not performing farmer stressed aswell but hey he has a big shed to hide that from view and also hell be known as the great lad to spend money etc and the low cost farmer is seen as the bad farmer.
    The best farmer i ever worked for was an irish farmer doing his best to run a new zealand system, there were farmers in the area with there pedigree cows, sheds and feeding cows concentrates year round etc and there fertility figures werent close to where we were when i left for nz. Then the farmer i was with in NZ was running a system similar to most irish farmers just with no sheds the cows were not in as good condition as back home and again the fertility wasnt as good either despite using artificial aids for breeding.

All i heard when working on the farm back home was "must be rough on stock there" must be up to there knees in sh#t" "cows must be starved" i said lads its plain in simple if there was stock suffering i wouldnt work there whether its an indoor or outdoor unit.
    It just sickens me that in this day and age any young farmer making a go for himself and trying something different, is belittled and begrudged by farmers of his own generation and generations beforw him who are mostly just farming the system and a few cattle run around the farm for a few months just so they can draw down the payments

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

An insulting ignorant comment ,of u only knew the hours and effort put in over last few days to keep things going and keep stock fed watered and content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

wrangler wrote: »
    What's the difference in cost for roofing per cow, a neighbour pricing a shed 65 by 50 at 10000, would it hold 65 cows at 150/cow extra, what's outdoor cubicles costing per cow.
    As with sheep, sheds are for the farmer not the animals, but this has been a rotten year for animal outdoors.
    Farmers should be shown the bad days before they commit, it said last night on journal that cows hadn't been milked since thursday morning until last night in greenfields.
    There was a farm walk on an outdoor march lambing farm in Februrary, They're about a week into lambing now!!!!! wonder how many went home from that farm walk thinking they were going outdoor lambing, a lot of young farmers at that farm walk

The dairy farming gig is hugly focused on return if investment, that's how they pay such high rental prices to armchair farmers😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

alps wrote: »
    The dairy farming gig is hugly focused on return if investment, that's how they pay such high rental prices to armchair farmers😎

The armchair farmers make money from the land. Work hard or work clever.

An insulting ignorant comment ,of u only knew the hours and effort put in over last few days to keep things going and keep stock fed watered and content

Their eye is on the windfall at the end causing them to keep investment to an absolute minimum. I think they've gone too extreme.
    Treat it as an investment maybe but it's animals not goods they're dealing with.
    Big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Lol.

Interesting read on a Sunday morning.

Indoor or outdoor doesn’t really matter a damn.
    Post photos of ye’r cows people. I’ve only seen one photo posted of cows not caked in shyte this winter, and that’s Keepgrowing. Doesn’t he have OCs?

Any other photos of cows they may as well have them on slats....

I bought a Charolais bull yesterday and he’s caked also. Will be clipped when he arrives because I couldn’t be looking at him.
    Any cow not lying up on cubicles here gets culled. The majority of the time they cull themselves anyway due to high scc...

If a cow gross output €2500+/yr, I don't think €300 is high rental to facilitate that,

Can one therefore draw the conclusion that dairy farmers are the only farmers that are profit focused...? No!

Edit. Apologies you’re only having a cut at Wrangler...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

Base price wrote: »

Exactly. With climate change high on the global agenda and our already extremly high animal welfare standards being examined more we can't just bury our heads in the sand. Pictures which have being circulating on social media and that article in the journal about cows huddled together outdoors to stay warm unable to be mlked and with cubicles buried in snow is not what I want to see in Irish ag and does us a great disservice. Imo, cows need shelter from these conditions no matter how rare they occur. If u can't justify the cost of having a roof over your cows and an enclosed milking parlour that can be used in these conditions what's the point of it all? By the way the article didn't mention where the calves were taken to be warm?

Can one therefore draw the conclusion that dairy farmers are the only farmers that are profit focused...? No!

Edit. Apologies you’re only having a cut at Wrangler...

Again

Anyway someone died in the EU and made dairy farmers God , so armchair farmers are not the only ones creaming it at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

You won’t be a young farmer for long. Years pass quickly so it’s important to future proof the place.. it’s not just the cows you’re sheltering in the long term.

I do know. Are you the only farmer that got snow and frost over the last few days? ☃️

Good milk price this year so no subsidised ski holiday...the ski holiday came to ye!

When ye were on ye’er Ski holidays did ye not see the set-up that livestock farmers had?

I’ll get my coat...:)

Willfarman wrote: »
    You won’t be a young farmer for long. Years pass quickly so it’s important to future proof the place.. it’s not just the cows you’re sheltering in the long term.

Always had the idea of being a miserable b#stard and farming til i drop, last few years i said f#ck it work hard in your 20s get farming in your 30s in my 50s take a step back and in my 60s well i hope ill be lile the lads in my class thst are white collar workers, retired.
    Im not planning on farming till i drop anymore so a young mans set up suits me tbe finest

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod noteOk we're all a bit stressed with the weather the last few days, let's not be bitchy with everyone here. Read over your comment before you hit the 'submit reply' button. Thanks

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

blue5000 wrote: »
    Mod noteOk we're all a bit stressed with the weather the last few days, let's not be bitchy with everyone here. Read over your comment before you hit the 'submit reply' button. Thanks

This thread was a car crash before and should be closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Obviously an emotive subject. :)
    They're usually the best discussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If you were to base decisions on the past few days, then you wouldn't be milking cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

What I don't get about the whole cheapo outdoor cubicles' thing is the feeding.lads burst their arses to cut top quality silage and given its Ireland is rain's a damn lot during the winter ,is it not pointless giving cows that silage and it pissing rain on it.personally I wouldn't change from my roofed cubicle shed.it was dear at the time but fcek it,it will be paid for in a couple of yrs time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A few lads I follow on twitter have put in topless cubicles the last few years but have already put in poles for a roof when cash flow allows it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

But sure that would defeat the whole purpose of the perceived greenfield mantra, the bollocking that went on with their out-wintering pad for years and the cost of maintaining it would of paid for the roof tenfold over the outdoor cubicles they finally relented to putting in, calf mortality rate of 8% is pretty high to that jk alluded to as been normal god knows what it will be at after the past week.....
    Lads can defend the place all they want but theirs definitely animal welfare issues their that are preventable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

mf240 wrote: »
    If you were to base decisions on the past few days, then you wouldn't be milking cows.

You would not be farming!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I had an angus bull on the side of a mountain eating hay, reckon he was happier/cleaner than any animal. Pretty good sheds here but drenched, took my eye off the ball this winter with buildings and I'm paying for it now, had a rda and a cow with peritonitis. Think cows were a little below bcs and I'm paying for it now.. Calves haven't loss one tho coughing and scour seem to be starting, not a happy year so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

jaymla627 wrote: »
    But sure that would defeat the whole purpose of the perceived greenfield mantra, the bollocking that went on with their out-wintering pad for years and the cost of maintaining it would of paid for the roof tenfold over the outdoor cubicles they finally relented to putting in, calf mortality rate of 8% is pretty high to that jk alluded to as been normal god knows what it will be at after the past week.....
    Lads can defend the place all they want but theirs definitely animal welfare issues their that are preventable

Greenfield is an startup experiment... It'd be a pretty poor experiment if they just replicated moorepark.. What they show doesn't work for them is as important as what does...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Greenfield was a demonstration....

For years the Moorpark model lacked the credibility of a stand alone, financially independent unit, freed of the constraints of experiments and trials, and it's associated staffing requirements..

This is it..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I had an angus bull on the side of a mountain eating hay, reckon he was happier/cleaner than any animal. Pretty good sheds here but drenched, took my eye off the ball this winter with buildings and I'm paying for it now, had a rda and a cow with peritonitis. Think cows were a little below bcs and I'm paying for it now.. Calves haven't loss one tho coughing and scour seem to be starting, not a happy year so far
    Pretty much the same here.around here people say when youre making **** silage that tis better than a pike of snow but lately i have been debating that.i had the cows in super order at drying off but they have slowly lost condition over winter and im putting down to second cut delayed 5weeks aand first cut 3weeks late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

It begs belief how navive some people on here are. They become blinkered by costs costs and nothing else. Cheap first day is generally not always the solution on a longer term approach..... but its fashionable by some. Also the one amazing factor in all this and only been eluded by 1/2 people, is the MAN OR WOMAN!!!!! Is he OR she not worthy of a decent faciliates so as they may enjoy life and the family???????
    25 vs 55 is a hell of a difference. 25 year old WILL BECOME 55 ......read into yourself.
    Finally people should look at condition of the cows on Greenfields site....picture speaks louder than words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

joejobrien wrote: »
    It begs belief how navive some people on here are. They become blinkered by costs costs and nothing else. Cheap first day is generally not always the solution on a longer term approach..... but its fashionable by some. Also the one amazing factor in all this and only been eluded by 1/2 people, is the MAN OR WOMAN!!!!! Is he OR she not worthy of a decent faciliates so as they may enjoy life and the family???????
    25 vs 55 is a hell of a difference. 25 year old WILL BECOME 55 ......read into yourself.
    Finally people should look at condition of the cows on Greenfields site....picture speaks louder than words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They got half a page on the indo today for their poor animal welfare.
    That's all we need

joejobrien wrote: »

Shookest and miserablest farmers and cows i ever worked for were high cost set ups, draw your own conclusion

Better living everyone

They got half a page on the indo today for their poor animal welfare.
    That's all we need

Is there a link for that. Sound