Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Several lumps on heifers neck

• 13-08-2014 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭

Noticed a few lumps on a heifer weanlings neck the other day. They seemed to come overnight and as there was a small rash around her eye i thought it was ringworm and treated for that. However as now some of the lumps are the size of small golfballs i know its not that. She is still eating and thriving and they seem not to be bothering her. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

k mac wrote: »
    Noticed a few lumps on a heifer weanlings neck the other day. They seemed to come overnight and as there was a small rash around her eye i thought it was ringworm and treated for that. However as now some of the lumps are the size of small golfballs i know its not that. She is still eating and thriving and they seem not to be bothering her. Any ideas?

get a vet id say,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Did you give them any injections lately. I have a bullock with a big lump on his neck but it was a reaction to one of the injections he got off the vet. The vet told me it can happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

our big angus stock bull has loads of big lumps under his skin-no not his balls:rolleyes:- will take a pic tomorrow and post it, he has them this years and are doing him no harm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

pmsl Whelan:D:D

An allergic reaction k mac? I think greengrass had a photo of a jersey heifer he had with a similar overnight appearance of lumps on her.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Photo?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Five or six years ago I had a BBx weanling that developed some lumps under his jaw, throat, upper neck area. He was amongst 60 odd other mixed bred calves but non of them showed any of the same signs. At the time (about this time of the year) the vet reckoned that it might have been an allergic reaction to harvest mites. Apparently dogs and cats can suffer from them :confused:
    Anyway the vet gave him an injection and gave us a bottle so that we could inject him every second day for a fortnight.

Here's the lump on my bullocks neck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Reggie, that looks like he got a stab of something and it has formed an abcess (sorry for spelling!) if you haven't injected him recently. I remember our vet having to lance something that looked like that and horrible pus and gunk came out. I'd say you need vet to look at it in case there is muck in it that can poison him if left too long.

Yup, looks like an abcess alright. Is it rock hard Reggie or is it a bit squishy in the middle? If it's a getting softish it's ripe for lancing when your vet is next out. Word of warning though....don't stand in front of them when they're being squeezed, some of the crap in them can quite literally pop out.

Our bull

It developed after an injection that was given by the vet for a swollen foot. It appeared about an hour afterwards and the vet said that it sometimes happens with that particular injection as it was potent stuff. The name escapes me at the minute

Rotavec corona causes a lump too

whelan2 wrote: »
    Rotavec corona causes a lump too

What would that be now. A few others got the lumps from the injection but they died down after a while

Cows get it to stop scour etc in calves. Its a vaccine. I wouldnt go bursting the swelling on your lad. Vet here says it will burst when its ready

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Yup, looks like an abcess alright. Is it rock hard Reggie or is it a bit squishy in the middle? If it's a getting softish it's ripe for lancing when your vet is next out. Word of warning though....don't stand in front of them when they're being squeezed, some of the crap in them can quite literally pop out.

looks hard ,

if soft get a syringe and needle & make sure it's actually puss that's in there
    Our bull

how long is he like that

Cows get it to stop scour etc in calves. Its a vaccine. I wouldnt go bursting the swelling on your lad. Vet here says it will burst when its ready

Yeah I think I remember the vet looking at it and since it was a hard lump he said to leave it

Jt65 he is like that a few years. Vet said hes grand

would you consider housing and bathing daily in warm water with dettol or savlon added, thought it was smaller from description but that needs a little care id say. looks similar to dirty syringe reaction, but saw similar in cows along jaw under ear and burst after bathing but needs to be cleaned out well when it does with syringe like used for some fluke dosing again using diluted disinfectant even teat dip. where it is it could cause a TB injection reaction,so id be extra careful and tell vet to test other side of neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

greysides wrote: »
    Photo?
    Will put some pics up when i get the chance. No injections recently Sandy so cant be allergic reaction to that. Don t think its an abysus the lumps look soft

Hope greengrass doesn't mind me using this post of his, anything like the photo on this? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90994298&postcount=1125

Will put some pics up when i get the chance. No injections recently Sandy so cant be allergic reaction to that. Don t think its an abysus the lumps look soft
    thats strange one for sure. id bathe it but would not poke it with needles , that sort of place is like somewhere an animal shouldn't get prod of anything into like bushes, top of neck maybe but front of shoulder

Hope greengrass doesn't mind me using this post of his, anything like the photo on this? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90994298&postcount=1125

some thing like that i have seen when we kept poultry and vet called it fowl TB in cattle got rid of hens, vet said cattle would be rejected in factory over it , when hens went it took a year to clear.was there a diagnosis in that case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

sandydan wrote: »
    some thing like that i have seen when we kept poultry and vet called it fowl TB in cattle got rid of hens, vet said cattle would be rejected in factory over it , when hens went it took a year to clear.was there a diagnosis in that case.

Hold on explain that again there please?
    TB?

TB?

Avian tb is the top lump in tb testing

Bit worried now. We never had tb
    First yr on out farm there. Hope they haven't picked up something

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Reggie, if that lump is centred on where you injected the animal it's a bit in the wrong spot.

Injecting in the neck there's a few things you want to dodge.

First, along the very top of the neck, the Nuchal ligament which helps hang the head onto the body is very dense so it's hard to inject into.
    It also has a very small blood supply so anything put there isn't going to leach into the circulation in anything like a normal time frame.

Secondly, the shoulder area and the spinous processes of the neck bones that extend up from the body of the vertebrae.

Thirdly, the head and the spinous processes of the neck at that end.

Lastly, the neck bones themselves, the windpipe, gullet, major blood vessels and nerves of the neck i.e. the entire bottom half of the neck.

Looking at the picture the lines delineate those areas. The centre of the area left is the target area.

It's vital on a calf, with its poorly developed musculature, to be careful as there's much less room for error.

318439.jpg

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Bit worried now. We never had tb
    First yr on out farm there. Hope they haven't picked up something

Avian tb is harmless to then

sandydan wrote: »

With respect, I think someone somewhere is getting mixed up.

To the best of my knowledge Avian TB does not cause cutaneous lumps except during a TB test. The reason we do a double injection test, compared to countries that don't, is that we have a lot of Avian TB in the wild bird population (and thus in poultry that have contact with them). The dual injection is to avoid sending animal which are reacting due to contact with wild birds only to the factory as TB reactors.

Greengrass, please reduce 'threat level' to one. :)

Adam Grant

Greysides what are these?

W2, I've not seen anything like those before so TBH I'd be guessing. Best guess is a skin form of timber tongue- something I've learnt about but not seen in any parts of the country I've worked. Otherwise, perhaps a benign subcutaneous tumour?

Adam Grant

W2, I've not seen anything like those before so TBH I'd be guessing. Best guess is a skin form of timber tongue- something I've learnt about but not seen in any parts of the country I've worked. Otherwise, perhaps a benign subcutaneous tumour?

He has them a few years and no ill effects yet

Reminds me of something I read here in Fig 2 a while back. Can't even remember why I was reading that at this stage but the photo stuck with me for obvious reasons!
    (may want to read that later whelan & enjoy your cocktails instead :P)

He has them a few years and no ill effects yet

Showed it to father and he said it looks like a form of wringworm?
    We had some weanling bullocks last yr that git wringworm and had lumbs on there face like that after

Reminds me of something I read here in Fig 2 a while back. Can't even remember why I was reading that at this stage but the photo stuck with me for obvious reasons!
    (may want to read that later whelan & enjoy your cocktails instead :P)

Jaysus, near puked in my pint

TB?
    to be honest with i cannot explain his remarks , he is retired now but i will ask him if i meet him, maybe ask my own vet if i think of it nest time we meet. but that time hens wandered all over the place, including over any freshly laid concrete floor where we had left door open to help set. fecking nuisance cackling too gave me headache .:p

Showed it to father and he said it looks like a form of wringworm?
    We had some weanling bullocks last yr that git wringworm and had lumbs on there face like that after

We bought him a few years ago. Never remember him having ringworm but he could have had it before we got hin

Jaysus, near puked in my pint
    at this unearthly hour of the night:D:D

With respect, I think someone somewhere is getting mixed up.

To the best of my knowledge Avian TB does not cause cutaneous lumps except during a TB test. The reason we do a double injection test, compared to countries that don't, is that we have a lot of Avian TB in the wild bird population (and thus in poultry that have contact with them). The dual injection is to avoid sending animal which are reacting due to contact with wild birds only to the factory as TB reactors.

Greengrass, please reduce 'threat level' to one. :)

thanks for reassuring advice. its a while back since i saw it .but lumps were more down legs ,ive never seen lumps on cattle like those any way.if thirty years ago id worry about warbles but then i wouln't be able to get that near to them either. jeyes fluid is effective against ringworm ,but since my vet lanced ringworm a few years ago they have disappeared completely,but again it didn't look like that either. have any blood tests been done, just asking

Lumps down the legs are most likely 'Skin TB'. Most commonly present in vague lines along the lower legs and maybe extending up to the lower neck.
    About the size of a small/large marble. They are not very common but will be seen more in some locals than others.

Threat level one!!!

A harmless skin nodule along the lymphatic system caused by infection with a soil-dwelling member of the Mycobacterium Complex of bacteria.
    Sharing some similar antigens with Bovine TB it causes a partial reaction to the tuberculin just as Avain TB does.
    There are a lot of soil-dwelling mycobacteria, indeed it's likely that at some point in the past M. bovis was a soil living organism seeking adventure in a new world.

Adam Grant

Reggie, if that lump is centred on where you injected the animal it's a bit in the wrong spot.

Injecting in the neck there's a few things you want to dodge.

First, along the very top of the neck, the Nuchal ligament which helps hang the head onto the body is very dense so it's hard to inject into.
    It also has a very small blood supply so anything put there isn't going to leach into the circulation in anything like a normal time frame.

Secondly, the shoulder area and the spinous processes of the neck bones that extend up from the body of the vertebrae.

Thirdly, the head and the spinous processes of the neck at that end.

Lastly, the neck bones themselves, the windpipe, gullet, major blood vessels and nerves of the neck i.e. the entire bottom half of the neck.

Looking at the picture the lines delineate those areas. The centre of the area left is the target area.

It's vital on a calf, with its poorly developed musculature, to be careful as there's much less room for error.

318439.jpg

Excellent bit of info there greysides. Cheers for that.

The vet injected him that day and if memory serves me correct it was a job to get him injected so once the needle went in it was staying where it was.

Reggie the pic of your bullock reminds me of a lump you somethimes get after injecting copper. It can last a few months too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭hopgirl

We have a calf born in July even though she calved on her own. he was weak as the muscles in his front legs were weak couldn't stand up properly. He was given two injections one for muscles to help him and an antibotic as he fell in to the drain the next morning. ( our fault as we tried to get him to suck). We were tagging him yesterday that is when I noticed the lump just bellow his shoulder near neck line. It seems to be lose and it is not big. Also his hair is falling out on his behind, a bit on his back of leg and a bit on his ear. The most loss of hair is from his behind.

hopgirl wrote: »
    We have a calf born in July even though she calved on her own. he was weak as the muscles in his front legs were weak couldn't stand up properly. He was given two injections one for muscles to help him and an antibotic as he fell in to the drain the next morning. ( our fault as we tried to get him to suck). We were tagging him yesterday that is when I noticed the lump just bellow his shoulder near neck line. It seems to be lose and it is not big. Also his hair is falling out on his behind, a bit on his back of leg and a bit on his ear. The most loss of hair is from his behind.

I'd be calling a vet

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'd be calling a vet

Thanks I was saying to mum to call for the vet but she said to wait for the test sample tag to come back, it say if there's anything wrong with the calf. It only tests for BVD?

How old is he? If it's the combo tags you're using stick them in him quick ;)

hopgirl wrote: »
    Thanks I was saying to mum to call for the vet but she said to wait for the test sample tag to come back, it say if there's anything wrong with the calf. It only tests for BVD?

Yeah as far as I know

How old is he? If it's the combo tags you're using stick them in him quick ;)

19 days old limousin bull. He has grown in height wise but hard to know with weight wise. His tagged now.
    Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah as far as I know
    sound thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Pappa J

While ye are talking about lumps, anyone get infections in calves ears about a month after tagging them. Had about 5% of calves tagged getting this problem. No pattern as to whether it was because of the National id tag or the BVD tag.
    Any suggestions ???

Pappa J wrote: »
    While ye are talking about lumps, anyone get infections in calves ears about a month after tagging them. Had about 5% of calves tagged getting this problem. No pattern as to whether it was because of the National id tag or the BVD tag.
    Any suggestions ???
    No real problems with infections. We had 2 problems out of 300 odd calves where we had to cut one of the tags out to treat the infection. All calves are bought in from 10 days on.
    We did have a problem with calves loosing one tag. The lost tags just fell out, not pulled or ripped out. From the 300 odd calves reared this year we have had to apply for 32 replacement tags of which only 3 tags were ripped from the ear.
    It reminds me of the old days when the first Yellow tags appeared to replace the brass tags. A good wind would blow them out of the cattle's ear's :eek:

There was a problem with one batch of tags but it could have been 2013 tags.

Adam Grant