Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best and Worst Internet Words?

• 12-08-2014 3:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭

I hate "meh" . Oh, you don't care? Congratulations. Why don't you fcuk off instead of trying to look cool and edgy on the internet?

I always find "amirite?" at the end of a funny post quite funny.

What about ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

u ok hun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

Best word - 'roflcopter'

Worst word - 'SWAG' or 'YOLO'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

TCP/IP

What's it supposed to even mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Gubbernment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

KungPao wrote: »
    TCP/IP

What's it supposed to even mean?

T - Take
    C- Care
    P- Pal

I - Internet
    P - Porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

"Orly"?
    Featuring some sort of owl.

I don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

it has to be

Banned

Both worst and best…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

YOLO = Best.Word.Eva.

Especially if you're the last person online... in COD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Did people say Banter all the time before internet?

If not, then Banter.

edit: for the worst word, obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Nemeses wrote: »
    YOLO = Best.Word.Eva.

Especially if you're the last person online... in COD!

Why are your kind allowed to live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Why are your kind allowed to live?

Because YOLO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭yozico

'Murica

elefant wrote: »

If not, then Banter.

Sure, we are all here for the bants!

---

I hate the word "noob" or "n00b" as internet nerds would write

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,035 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ceks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

elefant wrote: »

If not, then Banter.

Pre-internet it was a perfectly acceptable word used to describe playful dialogue. Now it's how shaved apes describe their every utterance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

#bantz

Pre-internet it was a perfectly acceptable word used to describe playful dialogue. Now it's how shaved apes describe their every utterance.
    Well, you don't seem to be up for the banter today, Philo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Simples

Can be very condescending

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

"Lol"

Jesus I hate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

It's a phrase as opposed to a word, but that boards meme, coke and hookers, gets on my wick.

And a more internet-wide one: bat**** crazy.

Ahhh!

Worst.. Anything doge.

Best.. When some of the funniest threads on the internet years ago were on bodybuilding.com?, I thought their use of "no homo" was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭deex

For me, the worst is definitely the whole "ermahgerd" meme thing you see idiots post on Facebook (moreso a year or two ago than now, thank ****), usually accompanied by a picture of a girl wearing braces.

And then you'd see "conversations" going back and forth where the people would just type things out like:

ermergerd... gerstbusters
    ermergerd... perteters

etc etc.

Or maybe that was just the idiots I know, idk. Acting like it was the funniest thing they'd ever heard.

Also, let's not forget "epic fail," "me gusta," "forever alone," ... shut uuuuuuuupppp!

I'm struggling to think of any that I do like... :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Me, I'm amused how "WiFi" has become a synonym for "Internet connection". Just put it all in the Cloud, you'll be grand. :mad:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

pwned (bad word)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

TheBrinch wrote: »

That's tomorrow night sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Lump O Lard ( LOL ). Some people are just so mean.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Twitter, tweet, anything with a #, wum, troll etc etc

I can't think of a good internet word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

this thread is soooo amazeballz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

For my first few years on forums, I thought QFT meant "quit f*cking talking". The amount of bizarre arguments I had with people who responded to me with it made a lot more sense after that.

imho's my favourite internet word, just toss it all over the place and it makes me immune to criticism because it's not someone else's opinion I'm spouting off about, or some kind of bizarre notion of a universal one, it's my opinion ...and what's more, it's humble; you can't get angry with a humble opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Not a fan of 'lol' if I'm honest.

Best stuff is definitely from the bodybuilding forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Not a fan of 'lol' if I'm honest.

Best stuff is definitely from the bodybuilding forum.

Any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

deex wrote: »
    For me, the worst is definitely the whole "ermahgerd" meme thing you see idiots post on Facebook (moreso a year or two ago than now, thank ****), usually accompanied by a picture of a girl wearing braces.

And then you'd see "conversations" going back and forth where the people would just type things out like:

ermergerd... gerstbusters
    ermergerd... perteters

etc etc.

Or maybe that was just the idiots I know, idk. Acting like it was the funniest thing they'd ever heard.

Also, let's not forget "epic fail," "me gusta," "forever alone," ... shut uuuuuuuupppp!

I'm struggling to think of any that I do like... :|

Ermahgerd.....berks!

Best- "like a bauce"

Worst- "lol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Alot

I quite like the old "sauce" instead of "source".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭aqn29swlgbmiu4

Noobs, meh, doin it for the lulz

Acronyms imo tbh tbf. Iykwim.

Ffs. Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Internet term used in life, someone saying "hashtag"
    eg "we made a huge mistake, hashtag oops not again"
    **** off you brain dead ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

'Boom' annoys the fook outta me, and dying.com, hungover.com etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Use those as filters for people you interact with.

Why though?

Confused.com :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I despise both ":L" and "xD", but I use them because they're still better than "lol".

The pac face is my favourite.

:pac: :D

I despise both ":L" and "xD", but I use them because they're still better than "lol".

I hate this little fella :rolleyes:

Always used really passive aggressively by people who are losing an argument. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Some people are addicted to using him.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I hate him.:(

:L takes me back to my Bebo days, it used be the best smiley back then.

The rofl smiley you see on some forums is also very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Don't forget about the condescending passive aggressive smiley face. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Candie wrote: »
    I hate this little fella :rolleyes:

Always used really passive aggressively by people who are losing an argument. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Some people are addicted to using him.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I hate him.:(

Fatty keeps giving out to me over using it... :rolleyes: I use it to kind of say "oh well!" in a less camp manner :p

I hate its use in arguments though.