Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

duck boat

• 10-08-2014 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

With the ducks nearly upon us, I'm going crazy on the web looking up accessories for shooting and new gear etc
    Then I came across a yank site that had a few different plans for home made duck boats
    Had me thinking of starting a project sometime in the future for next years fishing and shooting.
    Really just looking to see have any of ye fellas attempted anything like this?
    And if ye have, any pointers/tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭duckman!!

What are ya talking about? A full on build or doing up a ready made boat for the job?
    I have a 12ft sea nymph painted a nice green, then throw the camo nets over it and it looks the job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Full on build, nothing that's gonna be seen as majestic on the water but not a blue barrel between legs either :D I'll try get the PIC and link it up

Something like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭goss101

All the ducks in the world wouldn't get me out on a lake in that thing!!!!
    we use a couple of bamboos attached to the gunnels with clips and then a few camo nets and use some small pegs/clamps to stick the nets to the bamboos, works perfect for us, deadly if ya can get a few rushes in front of you to break up the boat, although we have it painted camo anyway

djflawless wrote: »
    Something like this

I saw pictures like that a few years ago and thought about building 1 for small mountain lakes and put a electric engine on it.

Now that I saw the picture......I want to build it;)
    Would be quite easy, few sheets of 1/4 ply then some fibreglass(worst part)
    It would plenty strong and stable if ya make it wide enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

duckman!! wrote: »
    I saw pictures like that a few years ago and thought about building 1 for small mountain lakes and put a electric engine on it.

Now that I saw the picture......I want to build it;)
    Would be quite easy, few sheets of 1/4 ply then some fibreglass(worst part)
    It would plenty strong and stable if ya make it wide enough!!
    Friend of mine is making something like this. It's called a lay out boat or something like that. Ya use it is the shallows and lie into it put little net or cover over the opening and put the duck decoys around you. He has it built and fibreglassed. Painting it at the minute. Looks the job anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Friend of mine is making something like this. It's called a lay out boat or something like that. Ya use it is the shallows and lie into it put little net or cover over the opening and put the duck decoys around you. He has it built and fibreglassed. Painting it at the minute. Looks the job anyway

Any chance of a pic would love to see it, I have been toying with the idea of knocking one together myself.

juice1304 wrote: »
    Any chance of a pic would love to see it, I have been toying with the idea of knocking one together myself.

I'll organise one tomorrow. I'll call to him and see it and get a pic. It's very basic made just quarter inch ply cut to shape and all completely fibreglassed. I'll try get a total figure of what it's costing too so you will know if it's worth making

Been looking up a few ideas on the Google.some good, some bad, some horrifically ugly :D
    But yeah I see their called a layout boat
    Would love to see a price after building it all!

TonyDH2.jpg

Something like this would be what I would build!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Genius
    image_zps1a94a197.jpg

Feck off yer giving me too many ideas
    Brains on overload :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

How bout just wade into 2 foot of water with one of these on and your sorted
    image_zpsd0176a08.jpg

I went looking for picture of a dog dressed in a duck costume to go with yours,
    But I found this :D

pic15529.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

image_zpsd0176a08.jpg

LOL - reminds me of a Dom Jolly sketch from years ago where a guy dressed as a mallard breaks into a hide containing 2 duck shooters and proceeds to lecture them on the error of their ways:pac::D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I went looking for picture of a dog dressed in a duck costume to go with yours,
    But I found this :D

pic15529.jpg

That brings back bad memories of a JR I used to have!!

Here are the pics of the boat I got tonight. The boat is in primer now and ready for paint. The pics show top and bottom of the boat. It's 11 ft long in total but it was made longer to allow room for a dog to sit into it aswell. He has spent about 250 Euro so far to get it this far on materials

Nice, good look with it!
    You have 2 1/2 weeks do finish it!!
    What are you going to do to it?
    Are you going to camo it or paint it a solid colour?

Jesus that's brilliant ritchie
    Could be a very possible idea to do.
    I really like that sit in camo coffin tho!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Gavin duck

Jesus that's brilliant ritchie
    Could be a very possible idea to do.
    I really like that sit in camo coffin tho!!

It's is too high off the water though the whole point of the layout boat is to be low to the water

Gavin duck wrote: »
    It's is too high off the water though the whole point of the layout boat is to be low to the water

Well if it floats and keeps me generally dry arsed..I don't mind how high it sits!
    Can always add camo and pretend I'm an island :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Here are the pics of the boat I got tonight. The boat is in primer now and ready for paint. The pics show top and bottom of the boat. It's 11 ft long in total but it was made longer to allow room for a dog to sit into it aswell. He has spent about 250 Euro so far to get it this far on materials
    Great job. I was thinking about making a boat like that for years but never got to it. Did u follow a set of plans. ?

snipe49 wrote: »
    Great job. I was thinking about making a boat like that for years but never got to it. Did u follow a set of plans. ?

It's a friend of mine that's doin it. I think he just seen a few videos on you tube and made up his own measurements for it. I'll quiz him more and find out for definite. He has reeds tied together in a mat to cover the top and the boat is going to be painted in a camo colour.

Genius
    image_zps1a94a197.jpg

Well thanks a lot, ever since you posted this I can't stop thinking about making 1:mad:..........so I'm going to make 1:D

This 1 fits in so well with the floating weeds!
    lay-4.jpg

Well thanks a lot, ever since you posted this I can't stop thinking about making 1:mad:..........so I'm going to make 1:D

This 1 fits in so well with the floating weeds!
    lay-4.jpg
    Only problem with this is it looks too comfy!!

Ya, you probably would fall asleep...... But at least the ducks won't see ya ;)

If u can that would be great.

Cut down rushes and made a grass mat out of them have them hanging in the shead drying out going to tackle the paint job on the layout boat to morro just need to get another can of primer to give her another coat before painting ill get riche to post some pictures of the boat when it's done and might post her maiden voyage on u tube the other lads christened her spud they said she! Ed sink like one

Gavin here is the lad making the boat he joined here to explain what he is doin wit it to any 1 interested. I'll attach the reed mat picture to cover the boat

Got the paint job done their now just have to put in the foam and the seating and then take her for a spin ill get Richard to post a picture of it as I don't no how to do it

Here is the finished product :-)

Cracking job lad...ehhh feel free to share your plans :D

I just had a look on the Internet at some of the videos on utube and made some adjustments made it bigger than most of the ones I have seen in order to make room for the dog I have a lab and she is bout 6 stone she is like a small horse have to test her out before the weekend don't even know how stable it will be should be though but I would not recommend it for storm force weather as a wave would probly fill it in one go but then it could be ok only time will tell if any one needs help or advice on building one let me no and I can give them a run down on how I have done mine

great job how did u put the fiber glass on and how did u do the paint work look great.

It's not Fiberglass as such it is300 gram woven roven cloth when u make ur sub frame from ur marine ply u roll ur cloth out over the entire boat and smooth it out with a soft paint brush makeing sure that u leave no creases on the cloth then when u have it smooth mix ur resin and cover the entire boat with the resin thill the sheet is compleat ly wet and is the same colour as the wood u r using leave it to dry depending on the weather may take 6 to 12 hrs to dry then prime with 4 coats of high build primer I used a car primer which is not water proof it 15 euro a tin took 2 tins vrs marine yaght primer 72 euro a tin I then used a flat interdeck marine paint grey colour 27 euro a tin 2 750 ml tins will give four coats of paint on the boat the camo job was two tins of Matt spray paint which I got in the local hardware shop 9.99 a can and some ash leaves from a tree and a few stencils I got on the Internet don't use any gloss spray cans as they are shiny Matt or satin paint and spray from a distance in short burst s or the paint wll run i done the white first cause the black will cover any mistakes or runs u make ill post a video on or ill get Richard to post it its not very hard to do and I was very happy with the result as ye can see in the pictures I am going to make another few in the near future but will probably change a few things I need to angle the back board a little

Where did u get the cloth pal and your paints.