Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

eating meat is eating a corpse"

• 07-08-2014 8:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

An animal rights group has said it is in negotiations to place a billboard ad in Dublin showing a human leg on a plate.

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) said the planned campaign comes as gardaí are investigating the discovery of human remains at a recycling plant in Dublin.

In a press release, PETA said that "eating meat is eating a corpse" and urged people to take up a vegan lifestyle.

PETA spokeswoman Yvonne McNulty-Taylor said: "Maybe this tragedy will cause people to think about where their meat comes from every time they sit down to eat."

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0807/635652-peta/

I don't get these people at all, I am all for humane treatment of animals but they go to far, we all have to live a vegan lifestyle and eating meat is eating a corpse so they say.
    So next time your hungry pop down to the local cemetery, it be soul destroying.

Seriously they need to get a life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Just ignore PETA and they'll go away. They're scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

If the damn things were not meant for eating they'd taste crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Fecking idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I hate PETA and I'm a vegetarian. They are like the Youth Defense of the animal rights world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Yeah this one time I got a book called road kill recipes .
    So I went out ,got some road kill and cooked it . It was delicious . I still don't know what to do with his bike .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Double Qtr Pounder with cheese right now. Mmmmmmmm......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm the world's biggest vampire then :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Wonder if they've ever taken any medicine, or if they wear shoes...
    I ****ing hate those crusty pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I like to eat animals alive, much better. Not eating corpses then.

Peta never fail to screw up their public relations.

They just come across as extremist nutjobs that people don't want to be associated with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    Yeah this one time I got a book called road kill recipes .
    So I went out ,got some road kill and cooked it . It was delicious . I still don't know what to do with his bike .

Scrap dealers will take it. Thats where I sent all the wheelchairs from my time on a vegetable only diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I feel sorry for veggies, I really do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

While I really hate and despise PETA for the damage they do to any animal rights campaign, I can't really argue their semantics here... there's not many people in this country who would eat a live animal, are there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Wouldn't mind sinking my teeth in that thigh to be honest. :)

Eating meat is eating a corpse.

And guess what? I don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

A tasty tasty corpse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

If God didn't want us to eat animals, he wouldn't have made them out of food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Mena wrote: »
    If the damn things were not meant for eating they'd taste crap.

Animal flesh doesn't taste nice. It's horrible.

That's why we either heat it and / or flavour it: to make it palatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I prefer my corpses dead as it's hard work running after Zombie chickens for something to eat

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

If they love animals so much,
    Why do they eat their food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Ya can eat him

Eating meat is eating a corpse.

And guess what? I don't care.
    My only care about animals is how they are cooked. I love cows, especially medium-rare cows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

You get extremist lunatics in every walk of life. PETA are just one of a long list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Vegetarians are pro-animal life, but yet encourage the eating of their foods..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I sear the outside of my steak to kill any bacteria on the surface, the inside is barely even warm and trust me on this, it's delicious. How do you make your potatoes palatable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Speak for yourself. I've eaten raw plenty of times. Prefer cooked of course but not palatable? Don't agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

Thats where I sent all the wheelchairs from my time on a vegetable only diet.

ha brilliant comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Shenshen wrote: »
    While I really hate and despise PETA for the damage they do to any animal rights campaign, I can't really argue their semantics here... there's not many people in this country who would eat a live animal, are there?
    By definition a corpse is specifically the dead body of a human. They could say that eating meat is like eating a corpse and they might a have a point. But saying that eating non-human meat is eating a corpse is wrong by default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭bboybaboy19

You mean cook it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭macplato

I beg to disagree! Raw beef is absolutely delicious.

And yes, eating meat is eating a corpse, I have an acute awareness of this fact every time I buy, prepare and eat meat - this is why I always make sure to find out what kind of life the animals I eat had, and how they died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

That's it i'm never eating eat meat again.

Just fish, chicken, burgers, veal on Fridays, deer, but only in season and if necessary, the sweetest meat of all human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Peta are spas, they'll have to pry a steak from my cold dead hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Mena wrote: »
    Speak for yourself.

I was.
    alias no.9 wrote: »
    I sear the outside of my steak to kill any bacteria on the surface, the inside is barely even warm and trust me on this, it's delicious.

Warming is still denaturing.

Most people that eat rare / raw steak with add pepper sauce or other form of flavouring also (including myself).

Same with sushi / shashimi -- dipping sauces will be used.

Very few people crave the taste of raw flesh and will feel satisfied chewing it cold, the way they would with a piece pf fruit for example.
    How do you make your potatoes palatable?
    Cook them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Cook them.

Then what are you on about?

Double Qtr Pounder with cheese right now. Mmmmmmmm......

I really want one now! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Ah lads. Now we're all cannibals?

I love my pets and all but circle of life, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

Peta are a bunch of blunt sporks. Useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I have two chicken fillets in the oven right now.
    They're gonna be delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I bbq'd some delicious corpse pieces earlier. Mmmmmm

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Shenshen wrote: »
    I've eaten oysters. They're alive. I'd give grubs and ants a go if I was stuck. I'd defo give a go to the warm blood the Masai drink fresh from the cow. I gather it tastes like the finest steak in liquid form.

No, we cook it because cooking releases more nutrients from the food. And not just with meat, cooking liberates more nutrients from many veggies too(and renders them safe to eat in many cases. Eat a raw potato and get back to us).

The two things that made humans what they are today were tool use and cooking. Both bypassed evolution and externalised it and allowed us to exploit novel food resources better than nearly any other animal. This is why some veggie propaganda stuff is bollocks when they compare the teeth and guts of humans to other animals and bleat "oh look we're not predators" *weak whinge*. We need neither the canines, carnassial teeth nor the stronger stomach acid of predators because cooking and tool use takes their place. We also don't need the triple stomachs of ruminants either. Humans don't need to vomit up their veggies to break it down a second time.

The agricultural revolution has been with us for around 10,000 years. Many genetic changes have come along with that change in diet. However we're still meat eaters. Omnivores who can survive on pretty much anything(except excessive refined sugars)

As for animal flesh tasting horrible? That might well be down to personal tastes(and gut ecosystem and immune system). I'd eat raw steak on occasion. Not cooked, not heated, but raw at room temperature. Personally I prefer it not so aged, but that does make it more chewy. Goes down a treat. Then again I've fairly high Neandertal DNA so maybe I'm just representing my peeps here. :)

I actually did go veggie for a time, around six months. An ex was and since she had a spectacular arse I went along with it. As you do. When you're young and daft. Yep I am that shallow. Anyway, it really didn't suit me one little bit. After a fortnight or so I felt like the living dead. My guts were really suffering. Roughage? You'd think, only (TMI!!) I was bound up solid like the women in those ads stuffing crap in their handbags*. Was about as regular as a three legged horse with St Vitus dance tapping out a tango. My libido went to crap with it. That's when I though Ehhh WTF, when I realised I'd gone all monk like and barely cared. Within a few days to a week of getting back eating meat I was rejuvenated, though it took a solid month to get back on track.

This debate will likely never be settled as the other aspect that made humans so successful is that we can eat pretty much anything. Individuals differ because that makes sense for a survival point of view. You have to keep weirdoes like me around in case we go full ice age again. Horses for courses. No diet fits all. I mean I'd make an Atkins diet look like it wasn't really trying yet my cholesterol and triglyceride levels are well under recommended levels. Ditto for inflammation markers. Someone else might have a heart attack within a month of the same diet.

*word to the wise lass, stop eating processed shíte and empty calorie crap and you won't need Yakult or whatever to "rebalance" your arse. Same goes to the bloke with heartburn so bad he needs animated firemen to douse down his stomach with hoses of alkaline white shíte. Eat less, eat better and your arse and stomach will be happy. Simples. OH and lads, if you can't see your dingdong without leaning forward that's a pretty solid sign you're eating shíte and too damn much of it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Reminds me of the Tommy Cooper joke:

I was having my dinner in a restaurant last night when I called over the waiter and said 'This chicken is cold'
    He said 'I hope so, its dead' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'd eat raw steak on occasion. Not cooked, not heated, but raw at room temperature.
    Nice party trick :P Could also come in handy for bets, as well :D

As for Please Eat The Animals, sure, why not? As for "eating meat is eating a corpse"; I'm hardly going to eat a living one now, am I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

I have been trying to cook a chicken in the oven for the
    Last 5 hours, but the Fecker keeps blowing the gas out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭LeBash

What do PETA think will happen to all the animals if we stop eating meat and dairy? I doubt the farmers would be out milking in the morning if nobody was drinking milk and with in a day half the animals on farms would be killed in a low cost not so humane way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

PETA should go and picket the Serengeti. Fecking lions are killing and eating all those poor gazelles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

If you ever have the misfortune to be dining out with a militant vegan who won't let you eat in peace, a good trick is to order 3 meat dishes, preferably from 3 different animals. That way you're not only cancelling out the meat they're not eating, but actually causing more meat to be consumed than if they kept their mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Vegans. We don't eat meat. Just food that looks like meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

PETA, a never-ending source of hilarity and tasteless campaigns to push their agendas.

There's rights groups that do good and fight for better conservations / treatments of animals and then there's PETA, who reinforce the stereotype of campaigners as nutjobs living in a bubble.

And it's carcass, not corpse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I remember seeing a "you don't eat your pet" campaign by them once. Asked the person who posted it what their dog ate. They deleted the comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

This thread makes me want to eat full irish breakfast.