Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murtagh Thursday @ Southwell

• 06-08-2014 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭

Johnny sends over 2 very interesting horses to Southwell tomorrow.

7.35 Steuben, opened @ 6/1, backed into 7/4.

And guess who used to have this one, the man himself, Barney Curley. Now with Murtagh, and has been off track for 653 days. Goes in off 57 tomorrow, was once rated at 100 when coming from Germany to the UK in '12. Surely any sort of a decent run tomorrow will have this one in front crossing the line. (Bet365 must have took a hammering on this one as won't lay me more than €154 @ 7/4)

8.05 Bwindi @ 6/4

Fallon booked for this one. He has been stepped up in trip over the past 2 runs and now hit's the 1m6f distance and is getting better with the further they go. Beaten fav and 2nd LTO in Wexford over 1m4f and no reason why he won't be thereabouts tomorrow over 1m6f. Not exactly much on paper to beat either so this could complete Murtaghs raid nicely.

*Bet365 max bet on the double is €0.00, I have been referred to a trader. Anyone able to get anything on it? Paddy Power seem to be the same, max bet, €0.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I was able to put money on the double via the iPhone app.

I only put 20 on though because that's what I had in my account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭shmeee

And while on about Barney Curely, Ex-Barney Curley head lad Niall Moran has one going in Sligo tomorrow in the 6.10. The Drunken Dr, off track 587 days. The only horse traded on betfair in the race and will more than likely be feck all of a price tomorrow and not the 25/1 that is forecasted.

Both those horses is gone odds on now....

Did a €20 double @ 7/4 and evens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

and Des Donovan who was one of the trainers involved in Barney's 4 horse coup has one backed from 16/1 into 7/2 in the 2:30 Yarmouth, and another from 6/1 into 2/1 in the 3:00 Yarmouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

All I can say is LOL at those prices. Far too late to be getting on now, if you want to take a punt, best off waiting until closer to post time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

Two others also getting backed

15.00 Yarmouth Champagne Charley
    16.50 Brighton Hejaz

Think this might just be punters starting to guess now.

All I can say is LOL at those prices. Far too late to be getting on now, if you want to take a punt, best off waiting until closer to post time.

Some joke to be honest, knew that The Drunken Dr wouldn't be a price like forecasted with apes on betfair killing it last night. Bet365 opened @ 2/1 like FFS and PP and BV went bigger but sure come half 10 it was gone to nothing also. Powers have since suspeneded betting. I've a bet on the double in Southwell since last night, nothing major got on but wouldn't be getting involved now at the prices.

One I like now and in the 6.10 is Sean Airgead and when I can back him @ 6s e/w, it's a bet to nothing I feel and the so called coup may have opened the door for value in the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

The 4 fold on bet 365 is now 34/1

Can't see how an unraced horse in a maiden can be involved in so, bought for 1,900gns only in the 2.30. A pure unknown, at least the ones off track had some sort of rating in the day and may bring back some of that form. The other Yarmouth one likewise, a bit exposed by looks of it but did seem held up LTO. I think punters are latching onto anything they see that is related now and making a lucky 15 out of so.

And because of the Gamble on Des's horse in the 2.30, Arthur Martinleake looks a great bet now @ evens.

shmeee wrote: »
    And because of the Gamble on Des's horse in the 2.30, Arthur Martinleake looks a great bet now @ evens.

I'm waiting on a drift on Arthur Martinleake myself. Anything odds against is incredible value in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

isn't the trainer of that Karl Burke another of Barney's friends?

Think Storm Lightning looks a fantastic bet at 9/2 in the 4:20 at Brighton. Won over course and distance the time after last and was competitive over the extra furlong last time out. Only 3lbs higher from the last win. Ground should suit today, proven over course and distance, George Baker's been riding very well and I don't see anything particularly strong in the field. Only Corals still have the 9/2 available, it won't last.

2.20 incase lads are wondering, looks a decent bet to be fair!

Think you mean 14:20

Got this one in a double with Who's That Chick in the 4:20.

2:20 - sorry lads, half asleep today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Money coming hard Frankie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Fairly certain that its not a Barney gamble at all and people are just putting 2 & 2 together.

Barney wouldn't use a 2 year old debutant in a gamble! I think place laying the lot of them is the way to go. Murtagh's both might win but wouldn't be going near either.

I think the overall most will be closer to last than first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I think Living It Large should win this.

What on earth happened there? Came from nowhere to third.

Bang in Trouble opens at 8/1.

Nuts and lads backing it @ 6/4 a few minutes ago.

I'm with the favourite @ evens anyway.

They can't give Bang i9n Trouble away on the exchanges, out to 18's.

And the drift comes massively, 16s now. And as said, an unraced horse would not be targeted by Barney. Bookies are smiling now as no best price in multiples done in store and punters took 7/4 and the likes all morning.

Straight back in to 15s from 25s on the exchanges. Will be plum last though I reckon.

Can't see how an unraced horse in a maiden can be involved in so, bought for 1,900gns only in the 2.30. A pure unknown, at least the ones off track had some sort of rating in the day and may bring back some of that form. The other Yarmouth one likewise, a bit exposed by looks of it but did seem held up LTO. I think punters are latching onto anything they see that is related now and making a lucky 15 out of so.

Easy money!

That was an unreal drift on Bang In Trouble, signs were there for all to see and why anyone would have got involved at the short prices, I'd never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

and Des Donovan who was one of the trainers involved in Barney's 4 horse coup has one backed from 16/1 into 7/2 in the 2:30 Yarmouth, and another from 6/1 into 2/1 in the 3:00 Yarmouth

One of the weirdest gambles ever. Backed from 12/1 into 6/4 and last time I checked it went back out to 9/1 before the off.
    /
    Duly well beaten then after breaking ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

People need to realise that because a horse goes from 12's to 6/4 does not necessarily mean that there has been a load of money punted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 KTS2014

Wouldnt be surprised if this Barney chap and the trainer of the favourite in the 2.30 were in cahoots to get a bigger price on the favorite? Surely touched oddds against when Bang in Trouble was 6/4?

Just a theory but never seen such a gamble then such a drift!

People need to realise that because a horse goes from 12's to 6/4 does not necessarily mean that there has been a load of money punted.

Bookies wouldnt take much on any of them horses, the prices only lasted for a handful of minutes last night when they opened. And then all best were maxed and referred to trader.

That's all the accums gone now and bookies laughing!

KTS2014 wrote: »
    Wouldnt be surprised if this Barney chap and the trainer of the favourite in the 2.30 were in cahoots to get a bigger price on the favorite? Surely touched oddds against when Bang in Trouble was 6/4?

Just a theory but never seen such a gamble then such a drift!

Biggest I could get was even money. Betfair were around the 10/11 anytime I checked.

Didn't see odds against anywhere before the race anyway.

And the next one on a drift now too here in Yarmouth, 11/4 out to 8/1 for Champagne Charley.

I'm going with Silvala Dance in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 bigwil

No poppy 3.10 could be a tip <snip>

Is it a tip so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

And the next one on a drift now too here in Yarmouth, 11/4 out to 8/1 for Champagne Charley.

I checked it about 20 minutes ago and it was EVs, is now 10/1. WTF

Biggest I could get was even money. Betfair were around the 10/11 anytime I checked.

Didn't see odds against anywhere before the race anyway.

Fair enough just a hunch i had.
    By the time i thought of it favourite was no price at all!

Get in ya daisy!!!!! 5/1 winner.

Is it a tip so?

I think it might have been.

bigwil wrote: »
    No poppy 3.10 could be a tip <snip>

Get up that yard. 7/1.

Great follow up to my 5/1 winner.

Thanks man!!!

Whosthis wrote: »
    I think it might have been.

Would have had a 5er e/w on him had it been confirmed as a tip.
    May send boards.ie the bill for €42.50 for not having a thread open :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Nice steady punt for a change today on second time outer in the 6.35 at Newcastle, Park Glen,12s-3s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Crazy day of gambles obviousy nothing behind most of it. Id still be suprised if the gambled on Murtagh horse went down.

Buredyma looks a good bet to me in the 4:00 in Yarmouth. @ 5/2

Will like the bit of ease in the ground , cant say the same about the odds on favourite!

Value bet to me

Think Hala Hala might try nick this from the front.

Buredyma looks a good bet to me in the 4:00 in Yarmouth. @ 5/2

Will like the bit of ease in the ground , cant say the same about the odds on favourite!

Value bet to me
    Well done. Think the favourite will be going into the notebook for me though. A more experienced pilot would have gotten it home.

Cheers! Yeah really didnt fancy that favourite at all. One for the future though alright. A lot to be said for jockey experience especially in a small tactical field.

Winnings going on the Murtagh double later on. Cant resist!

Both of Mullins runners fancied later on in Sligo more so the bumper one who I just got a call about. Double at short side of 5/2.

Hate throwing up bets in quick succession but whos that chick in Brigton 4.20 must be worth a look @9/2

Definte question marks over the ground for the front 2 in the market.
    Course form is also key around Brigton which whos that chick has.
    Oisin Murphy on board is a huge bonus for me.

Well worth the 10 e/w!

Hate throwing up bets in quick succession but whos that chick in Brigton 4.20 must be worth a look @9/2

Well worth the 10 e/w!

I'm on this too, 5/7 at Brighton.

edit: made a balls of that, only 2/7, was looking at place stats. Anyway, fingers crossed.

Well worth the 10 e/w!

WD, great shout!

If only Storm Lightning did the business earlier